For visitors looking to experience how Mexico’s other half lives, there is no better place than Polanco. This upscale neighborhood in the Miguel Hidalgo borough of Mexico City is home to some of the wealthiest and most influential families in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Wonderful experience. The tour guide was very sweet, and made a point to suggest things to do the rest of the weekend so we maximize our time in Mexico. Polanco is such a charming neighborhood. I did the early tour which was great. I can imagine the evening tour is nice as well, roaming around as the sun sets and the town comes alive.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great and fun Tour. The guide Leticia was very good, polite and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We'd never been on a food tour before, so had no idea what to expect. Lety did an extraordinary job. She is warm and friendly and really knows about food and cultural traditions. We went to seven different places, with a wide variety of cuisines. At the first location, we sampled three very different kinds of mole. Lety took us to a traditional cantina, where we sampled traditional cantina food. Oaxacan food at another location. Wonderful marlin in escabeche (though not everyone in our group liked it). Traditional tacos. Desserts in the form of both artisan (amazing!) chocolate and Mexican ice cream made with locally available fruit (in this case, mamey, which was delicious).

As we were walking around, Lety talked about some of the buildings, parks, and history of some of the statues. When we got to the various restaurants, she was very knowledgeable about the food and culinary traditions. Everyone on our tour had a good time, and, evidently Lety's tour set a very high bar because one member of our group had done a food tour in Barcelona and said that it paled in comparison!

There was quite a bit of walking, so wear comfortable shoes and bring a hat and sunscreen.

One suggestion: do NOT eat breakfast before you go! Although the food at each location is a "taste," it all adds up to more than enough food, and you'll want to savor everything.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Connie was great.. Informative and proud to show me around her neighbourhood.

Highly recommend this tour.. Weather you are a visitor to Mexico City or lived there your whole life. You'll be sure to learn something new.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome! My guide Lety was great and had 7 fun and unique places to take me to try some typical and not so typical Mexican cuisine. I would recommend this on one of your 1st days to get the lay of the land and line up some great meals the rest of your trip.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Polanco is an amazing part of the city so pretty and this tour is worth doing the places you go all the food is amazing and our guide Lety was awesome! We will defiantly do this again next time we visit!

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed a great morning with our guide Lety. We visited 6 different types of 'eateries'', with excellent descriptions of the different foods we were tasting. From tamales to tamarind ice cream, a wonderful walk around the lovely Polanco area, with Lety giving us an insight into the history of not only the food of Mexico City, but its history and culture also. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Best way to start a trip - walking with friendly, knowledgeable guides while tasting your way through a beautiful bustling neighborhood. Our small group size (only 6!) ensured a very personalized experience, lots of opportunity for questions and conversation. The food and beverage selections were expertly chosen and provided a unique way to learn about Mexico's culinary traditions. Our walking route took us past many interesting buildings and parks, with our guides pointing out everything of cultural significance. It was like strolling with a group of friends! Afterward, we felt comfortable walking, shopping and dining all around the Polanco area for the rest of our trip, thanks to this perfect introduction.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message