At the heart of a beautiful old neighborhood that was once reserved for Mexico City's aristocratic upper crust, lies pretty Plaza Jacinto, surrounded by shady trees, cobbled streets, and lovely old mansions. It's a fine place to explore any time, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The guide Alexandro did a good job. You get to see local markets, travel on the subway and local buses. All the three markets are very interesting and gets you up close with the real city. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Markets Tour: La Merced, Sonora and San Juan Markets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide was amazing in her knowledge and pride of the city and food of Mexico. Before the tour I was indifferent to Tacos, now I am a Taco gourmet! My whole family enjoyed the tour and that is saying a lot given our differing tastes. We also got a Metro (subway) ride, dispelling all of our US fears about Mexico City public transportation and saving us a bunch of cab fares. Very Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mexico City Food Walking Tour: Tamales, Tacos and Quesadillas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I had an amazing morning at the markets with Alejandro. This is truly a travel-like-a-local tour. I'm not sure I would have found my way through the markets myself, but he guided us like a pro and gave us an inside look at all of the colorful, delicious and exciting aspects of life in Mexico City.

Doing what: Mexico City Markets Tour: La Merced, Sonora and San Juan Markets

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great! got to see the markets in action and the last market where the tour ended had lots of Mexican art, jewelry, pottery, etc. to purchase at great prices.

Doing what: Mexico City Markets Tour: La Merced, Sonora and San Juan Markets

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

So glad we chose this tour! Our guide was very good, friendly, perfect English and provided great information. So interesting to see a more local side of Mexico City.

Only administrative things kept this from being a five star - 1) The site should note the public transit tickets are not included in the fee. The metro is very inexpensive so we did not mind the cost but were not prepared with the small change they like. 2) One meeting location for the tour start would be best. We met at the location we were provided, then walked 20 minutes to the other meeting location, only to have the people we were suppose to pick up cancel. Thankfully we still saw everything we wanted despite the delayed start, but avoiding the extra walking on a long walking tour would help.

Doing what: Mexico City Markets Tour: La Merced, Sonora and San Juan Markets

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Too fast for me. The guide was knowledgeable, but I felt like I didn't have true browsing time.

Doing what: Mexico City Markets Tour: La Merced, Sonora and San Juan Markets

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour guide was great. Information about food or stuff used for different traditional festivals could also be provided during tour. The option of using email to confirm pick up time should be provided as tourists may not be able to find phone to contact the local agent.

Doing what: Mexico City Markets Tour: La Merced, Sonora and San Juan Markets

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Today's tour was very disappointing. To start with, the meeting place for this tour was different to the one given on your printed ticket. When I finally confirmed the meeting place (Amigo Hostel Mexico City) and arrived 15mins prior to departure, I was told to take a seat and the tour guild will be by at 10am to collect me. I remained in this room until 10:25 (25mins after the tour was suppose to commence.)

After we had confirmed I was in the right place for the right tour, I then found out I was the only person paying for the tour. Everyone else participated for FREE!!!

Finally we set off to enjoy what was suppose to be a 4hour tour, it lasted for 2.5hours. What was suppose to be a 3 market tour (La Merced, Sonora and San Juan) was a 2 market tour. There was NO history about the markets and how they began shared with us. We simply followed the leader.

I have been on the road travelling for the the last 3.5years and without a doubt this has been the worst tour I have ever done.

I'm a very unhappy customer.!

I hope you take the time to read this.

Doing what: Mexico City Markets Tour: La Merced, Sonora and San Juan Markets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message