The Patron Saint of Mexico, and of all the Americas, is the Virgin of Guadalupe. According to legend, she appeared to Juan Diego Cuauhtlatoatzin on December 9, 1531. In his vision, she was a teenage girl of indigenous complexion, and spoke to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Frank, our tour guide was friendly, accommodating, and extremely knowledgeable. He brought this ancient sight to life with his passion for the history and the people of Teotihuacan. He did the same at the Shrine of Guadalupe. The silver store where we stopped had beautifully hand-crafted jewelry and no-pressure salespeople. We also stopped at a shop that offered ceramics, jewelry, clothing, sculpture and a variety of cactus-alcohol - educational and fun. All-in-all we had an amazing day and would recommend this tour for those wanting to know as much as possible about these ancient and sacred sites.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

An excellent trip. We got so much more than I'd expected. Not only the Teotihuacan Pyramids and the Shrine but also a visit to the 3-cultures site, a silver-smiths, as well as visit to see some rare Mexican dogs, learn a little bit about Agave, taste Tequilla's and see some beautiful sculptures. Our guide was informative, friendly and approachable, all-in-all a day that exceeded my expectations. Great value for money!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful tour. Lots of information. The pyramids were amazing, and the shrine even more amazing. Frank, our guide, was excellent.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was amazing! There were seven other travelers, 2 from Australia, 3 from Mexico (Cabo San Lucas) and 2 from New York City. The tour operators, Mildred and Martin were very friendly and very knowledgeable. I was picked up at the JW Marriott in Polanco right on time. On our way to pick up the other tourists, we stopped to take pictures of various things, such as the Angel of Independence Shrine. Our first "real" stop at Tlatelolco and the St. James Church included an unexpected addition to our tour, an EARTHQUAKE! Fortunately for us, the 7.2 quake was centered 170 miles southwest of us. People streamed out of buildings and things were swaying, which made it a touch scary for a moment but things went back to normal as people realized there was no immediate damage and we continued on our way. We stopped for a 15 minute discussion from Mildred and then we continued on to Teotihuacan. It took about an hour to get to the pyramid complex. First, we stopped at a market. I liked the stop, which included tequila tasting although the vendors are very pushy. After about 45 minutes or so at this marketplace, we finally got to the the Teotihuacan site. It of course was amazing. There were long lines but it was worth it. Again, Mildred filled us in on all sorts of information about the site. We stayed for a few hours, then we left for the included lunch, which was at a restaurant right outside the compound. The lunch was excellent. It was buffet-style and the food was outstanding. You are responsible for drinks, however but they are reasonably priced. Finally, after a thunderstorm, Martin navigated some back streets and got us to the Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe. The complex once again was amazing. It rained again but it was refreshing. It was nice to visit on Good Friday! I cannot recommend this tour enough. Martin and Mildred are as friendly as anyone I have ever met and the price is right; you should GO!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Our tour was supposed to be to the pyramids and the shrine of guadalupe. Out of the 7 hour tour, we were taken to shops that the tour guide knew and left there for more time than we actually spent at the pyramids or the shrine. Also at the pyramids, while all other tour guides were explaining details about the pyramids, our tour guide let us on our own which defeats the purpose of the tour. Similarly, we spent less than 30 minutes at the shrine. I would have been able to better these two attractions on my own as the tour guide didn't really help with anything. He appeared intoxicated and even when he tried to explain, nobody was able to comprehend.

To summarize, we spent about 2 hours in total traveling, 2 hours exploring and 3 hours at the over-priced shops known to the tour guide where the tour group (4 ppl) didn't really want to visit. This was my first Viator tour and I didn't honestly expect such a bad experience.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was highly knowledgable. We enjoyed very much going to the pyramids. It was awesome. The food, great as well. And the visit to the shrine of Guadalupe was a "must"

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Fantastic! Words do not communicate the wonder of this tour! It is something to experience for yourself. Our guide, Frank (Francisco) was so informative and congenial, giving embellishment to all the sights and historical features along the way. Our lunch which was included, was great. The Shrine of Guadalupe was very moving to see, the old and new basilicas, the original relics, the spontaneous procession and arrival of pilgrims from all over Mexico, made it forever memorable.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Found this tour ok but it wasnt an honest description of the tour. First we were picked up and first stop was to a tourist trap silver "demonstration" and then to the Shrine. We were then taken to another tourist trap to see stone work and more silver, with tequila tasting (that bit was ok!) and by this time is was 1pm and we asked when we would be going for lunch and the guide said 3pm, so we requested (insisted) we eat before the pyramids.Lunch was an ok buffet. We were then taken to the pyramids and given a brief briefing and left to our own device and met to return at 4.30pm. So we were picked up at and dropped off at 5.30/6pm...thats a full day not a half day tour.
The hotel pick up and drop off was good but would probably just make your own way there if you dont want to be herded through tourist shops. Didnt feel we learnt anything more from our guide than we had from the Archaeological museum the day before. We were lucky to be with a good group of people so it was tolerable.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Places are wonderful, but the tour stops in many unwanted shops and you loose a lot of time. We only had 30 minutes in the Shrine and 1h40 in the Pyramids, for a full day trip. Lunch was only at 4PM and we were starving. Van was overbooked. Go for a private tour or one that have an early arrival at the pyramids, so you have more time.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Very knowledgeable guide. Liked going to The Plaza of Three cultures in addition to the planned Shrine and Teotihuacan. The actual pick-up time was uncertain. Glad my hotel helped in getting that settled. The main concern I have was the exorbitant time spent at the gift shops at both the Shrine and Teotihuacan. These places that wanted your money really cut into the time we could have spent viewing what we had paid to do!!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The trip to Teotihuacan, and the Shrine of Guadalupe was really good. I booked this trip before I arrived in Mexico city via the internet. The company contacted me at my hotel and reconfirmed. Everything has handled very well by the tour company.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

Not my favorite. We spent the morning going to the shrine and then a factory that produces souvenirs, saving the highlight of the trip for the hottest part of the day. Would have preferred to go to the pyramids first and the rest in the afternoon. Also, drinks(water) was not included in lunch price.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It was a great experience. Shrine of Guadalupe tour was interesting and nice place to go for religious blessing. I booked with lunch and food was great. The small tour of tequila tasting before the pyramid was fun. It would be very helpful to read about the history before visiting the pyramid site.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This was a fantastic tour. Harvier the tour guide could speak good English and he really knew information regarding this area. There was no rushing, lunch was an excellent way of tasting the Mexican cuisine and the tour of the shrine was quite an emotional journey for myself. Great day had!!!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

PIck up at hotel on time. Spent about an hour picking people up at other hotels. Van was completely packed with no wiggle room. Too much time shopping for tequila and arts and crafts at Teotithuacan. Trip to Guadelupe shrine execellent. Pyramids we fascinating. Tour guide was good. Spent almost an hour at end of Teotithuacan visit waiting for stragglers then spent over an hour at Tequila farm having mediocre lunch. Recommend travelers research other alternatives to the Viator offering. This was a very long day, most of which was a waste of time waiting for people, shopping, sitting in traffic, crowded intoa Chevy van Would not do this again.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message