• USD ($)
  • English
The Patron Saint of Mexico, and of all the Americas, is the Virgin of Guadalupe. According to legend, she appeared to Juan Diego Cuauhtlatoatzin on December 9, 1531. In his vision, she was a teenage girl of indigenous complexion, and spoke to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful tour. Lots of information. The pyramids were amazing, and the shrine even more amazing. Frank, our guide, was excellent.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Our tour was supposed to be to the pyramids and the shrine of guadalupe. Out of the 7 hour tour, we were taken to shops that the tour guide knew and left there for more time than we actually spent at the pyramids or the shrine. Also at the pyramids, while all other tour guides were explaining details about the pyramids, our tour guide let us on our own which defeats the purpose of the tour. Similarly, we spent less than 30 minutes at the shrine. I would have been able to better these two attractions on my own as the tour guide didn't really help with anything. He appeared intoxicated and even when he tried to explain, nobody was able to comprehend.

To summarize, we spent about 2 hours in total traveling, 2 hours exploring and 3 hours at the over-priced shops known to the tour guide where the tour group (4 ppl) didn't really want to visit. This was my first Viator tour and I didn't honestly expect such a bad experience.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was highly knowledgable. We enjoyed very much going to the pyramids. It was awesome. The food, great as well. And the visit to the shrine of Guadalupe was a "must"

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Fantastic! Words do not communicate the wonder of this tour! It is something to experience for yourself. Our guide, Frank (Francisco) was so informative and congenial, giving embellishment to all the sights and historical features along the way. Our lunch which was included, was great. The Shrine of Guadalupe was very moving to see, the old and new basilicas, the original relics, the spontaneous procession and arrival of pilgrims from all over Mexico, made it forever memorable.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Found this tour ok but it wasnt an honest description of the tour. First we were picked up and first stop was to a tourist trap silver "demonstration" and then to the Shrine. We were then taken to another tourist trap to see stone work and more silver, with tequila tasting (that bit was ok!) and by this time is was 1pm and we asked when we would be going for lunch and the guide said 3pm, so we requested (insisted) we eat before the pyramids.Lunch was an ok buffet. We were then taken to the pyramids and given a brief briefing and left to our own device and met to return at 4.30pm. So we were picked up at and dropped off at 5.30/6pm...thats a full day not a half day tour.
The hotel pick up and drop off was good but would probably just make your own way there if you dont want to be herded through tourist shops. Didnt feel we learnt anything more from our guide than we had from the Archaeological museum the day before. We were lucky to be with a good group of people so it was tolerable.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Places are wonderful, but the tour stops in many unwanted shops and you loose a lot of time. We only had 30 minutes in the Shrine and 1h40 in the Pyramids, for a full day trip. Lunch was only at 4PM and we were starving. Van was overbooked. Go for a private tour or one that have an early arrival at the pyramids, so you have more time.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Very knowledgeable guide. Liked going to The Plaza of Three cultures in addition to the planned Shrine and Teotihuacan. The actual pick-up time was uncertain. Glad my hotel helped in getting that settled. The main concern I have was the exorbitant time spent at the gift shops at both the Shrine and Teotihuacan. These places that wanted your money really cut into the time we could have spent viewing what we had paid to do!!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The trip to Teotihuacan, and the Shrine of Guadalupe was really good. I booked this trip before I arrived in Mexico city via the internet. The company contacted me at my hotel and reconfirmed. Everything has handled very well by the tour company.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

Not my favorite. We spent the morning going to the shrine and then a factory that produces souvenirs, saving the highlight of the trip for the hottest part of the day. Would have preferred to go to the pyramids first and the rest in the afternoon. Also, drinks(water) was not included in lunch price.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It was a great experience. Shrine of Guadalupe tour was interesting and nice place to go for religious blessing. I booked with lunch and food was great. The small tour of tequila tasting before the pyramid was fun. It would be very helpful to read about the history before visiting the pyramid site.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This was a fantastic tour. Harvier the tour guide could speak good English and he really knew information regarding this area. There was no rushing, lunch was an excellent way of tasting the Mexican cuisine and the tour of the shrine was quite an emotional journey for myself. Great day had!!!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

PIck up at hotel on time. Spent about an hour picking people up at other hotels. Van was completely packed with no wiggle room. Too much time shopping for tequila and arts and crafts at Teotithuacan. Trip to Guadelupe shrine execellent. Pyramids we fascinating. Tour guide was good. Spent almost an hour at end of Teotithuacan visit waiting for stragglers then spent over an hour at Tequila farm having mediocre lunch. Recommend travelers research other alternatives to the Viator offering. This was a very long day, most of which was a waste of time waiting for people, shopping, sitting in traffic, crowded intoa Chevy van Would not do this again.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Trip was amazing. Didn't realize that we would also be going to the ancient marketplace or to the Shrine but they added even more to the visit! The guide was very informative and really gave us a good understanding of the Aztec culture. Did I mention that the lunch was delicious. Thank you. I look forward to joining another one of your tours next time I visit MEX

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a great day trip! Our guide was full of interesting information about the Shrine of Guadalupe and Teotihuacan. We had plenty of time to climb to the top of the pyramids and take photos. Lunch was after visiting the pyramids and it was a nice way to relax and end the tour before heading back to Mexico City. Overall, a fun way to learn about some of Mexico's history!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The tour was great. The Pyramids were amazing and wonderful to visti. The Shrine was very interesting. Both sites were fairly crowded since it was a Sunday, however it was still good. Unfortunately, we did not have enough time to climb the largest pyramid because the lines were so long. If you really want to climb the largest one then I recommend that you do not visit on a Sunday. We opted for a lunch also and it was fantastic! The mole dishes were great! Our guide was fantastic and made the tour even better. Overall, I would really recommend this tour...it was well worth it.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message