Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Shrine of Guadalupe

The Patron Saint of Mexico, and of all the Americas, is the Virgin of Guadalupe. According to legend, she appeared to Juan Diego Cuauhtlatoatzin on December 9, 1531. In his vision, she was a teenage girl of indigenous complexion, and spoke to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great experience! Be ready for the heat though, but it was well worth the money! Tour portion to the Shrine of Guadalupe was a little short and rushed, would have loved more time spent at the shrine. But definitely recommended.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Susan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The man who gave the tour Antonio was wonderful. He showed us all of the important locations at the shrine. There is no small map at the shrine to show you the sites and almost no one speaks English, so his information was critical to understanding the site. However, the location where you need to pick up the tour is not so nice. It was hard to find and the interior of the building was not well kept. They should consider picking people up at their hotel. Plus the air conditioning in the van was not working, so it was necessary to open the windows on a hot day. The shrine itself is a must see especially if you are Catholic.

Doing what: Shrine of Guadalupe Tour in Mexico City

rey_agudo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Visiting and seeing these sites was a dream come true for me, destinations ticked off my bucket list, both were breath-taking, mesmerizing and interesting. Being a Catholic by religion, visiting the Guadalupe Shrine strengthens my faith and I made sure I bought a memento to remind me of my visit, it was an awesome trip! I would love to travel and visit these sites again in the near future.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Robert B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Two of the first three stops on this turn were shopping stops which is NOT my thing. The Teotihuacan Pyramids were fantastic. We climbed half way up the first pyramid and to the top of the second. I felt my legs on the higher one because we were at 7,000 feet. The Shrine of Guadalupe was niceto see.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Michael M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. Appreciated the expert knowledge from our tour guide, Tony. Everyone else on the tour was really nice, so it turned out to be a great opportunity to meet others. A couple of the pit stops along the way dragged on I would have preferred to spend more time at the actual pyramids. I think perhaps we spent too little time at the pyramids and too much time at the shrine. All in all, a really fun and full day!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Chloe G

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

However, I didn't like the stops we made before actually getting out to the Pyramids and the Basilica. I wasn't interested in buying anything on this trip - just going to see the Pyramids and Shrine.

I also did not like the restaurant for lunch - the food was average at best, which is hard to do in Mexico since the food is typically outstanding

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great overview of the Teotihuacan Pyramids and the Shrine. They added stops at a few vendors along the way, which apart from large tourist shops, gave us ample bathroom and refreshment breaks.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Rinya K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The guide, Frank is quite professional. I understand the Mexican history related with Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Fiona B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Pyramids themselves were wonderful, a real highlight of our trip. The shrine was excellent. Tour guide was fun and knowledgable. However we had already been on the bus for some 4 hours by the time we arrived at the pyramids due to shopping stops at a silver shop and cactus farm along the way. A much longer day than it should have been. If booking the no lunch option it should be clearer that you will be taken to eat at the same restaurant with everyone else on the tour, so there is no advantage to not book the lunch.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Mike G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour guide, very informative and great opportunity to see the pyramids and the shrine.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

minimize940314

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent Tour. Olympus tour did perfect job. We went to plaza de las tres culturas first. Then we stopped at silver souvenir shop. It was not fun but they offered free drink and free souvenir per person, and we spent very little time. Then we visited Shrine of Guadalupe. We both visited old and new cathedrals. Then we went to restaurant, and the lunch was very delicious. Finally we visited teotihuacan and had guided tour, then almost 1 hour free time to explore. That was the end of tour. Great tour that would not let you down. My guide was very informative and friendly. Driver did nice job avoiding most of traffic jams.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Jose C Rodriguez USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We enjoyed this tour. The order was changed, we went to the Shrine of Guadalupe first and then the Teotihuacan Pyramids. This actually worked better becuase of the traffic.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a must see if traveling to Mexico City. My tour guide was excellent and I learned a lot about the history of Mexico. I had ample time to clime to the top of the Sun Pyramid. The Shrine of Guadalupe was also good because it was on a Sunday and I saw presentations by the local people.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Steven P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Once you get to the pyramids the view is overwhelming. Amazing! The thing you need to know about this tour is that it doesn't just take you to the pyramids and the Shrine of Guadalupe. There were 3 stops before we ever got to the pyramids with an opportunity to shop around for 30 minutes. I'm not saying it was bad but it's good to know going in. Bring lots of extra pesos with you.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Jill F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I already reviewed this. I said it was all great, but that the tour guide took us to 2 tourist shops, which I resented. Otherwise, he was knowledgeable and the pyramids are very worthwhile. The Shrine is worth seeing because it is important in the city's history.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Cesar R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great tour! The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the Pyramids and the Shrine of Guadalupe. I was really bummed that we spent only 45 min at the Shrine wanted to be there longer. We did have two pit stop stat were not on the tour, First stop was a store where they sold Silver. Was kind of pricey however the merchant was extremely nice. The second off scheduled stop was right before the Pyramids. A Cactus Garden. Was very interesting and again the Merchants were extremely nice. Lunch was really good, buffet style, very clean place and great entertainment. I would book these guys again. Picked us up at our hotel with no issues. Bus was clean and had great A/C. I would of rate this perfect 5 if we had more time at the Shrine of Guadalupe. Overall great experience and will be booking them again.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Nathan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the main reason we came to DF. It was to make our Pilgrimage to see Our Lady Lady of Guadalupe.
It was very inspiring and to learn more about the Aztecs and Cortez's Conquest and to see the significance of the five churches that surround the shrine. In the old church there is a table you need to ask about. It is a beautiful table that may have been oak. Nothing was on it but it had much to do with the United States and Mexico 's Treaty. That is a whole other story my fellow VIATORS and you have to research that for yourself. But it affects we Americans and Mexicans to this day.
On this tour make sure you drink a lot of water because your gonna climb a hill...not as bad as the pyramids but if your not in shape be ready. Tell you what though the view is awesome!

Doing what: Shrine of Guadalupe Tour in Mexico City

Joselynna Q

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The guide and driver were very good and caring. The places were interesting. The lunch food needs improvement but the place is clean. There was very little time at the shrine.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

christine l

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The pyramids are of course very impressive. Wear comfortable shoes and bring water.
The stop at the shrine was pretty brief and I was okay with that.

There were stops at a silver jewelry store and a place where we learned about the uses of cactus. The cactus place sold jewelry, stones and other overpriced gifts. Both of these stops felt like an excuse to get money from tourists. I wasn't too enthusiastic about this.

The vehicle my group was transported in was a 12-person van. No bathroom, the bumps in the road were pretty noticeable. If you get carsick, you'll probably want to take a dramamine.

Lunch was a buffet, but I wouldn't say it was huge as another reviewer stated. Drinks are not included.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Tirsa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The highlight of my Mexico City trip! This was an AMAZING tour, I can not recommend it enough! Francisco our tour guide was excellent. He was extremely knowledgable about Teotihuacan and the Shrine of Guadalupe. Lunch was a buffet that had everything one can imagine desserts. Drinks were extra but I was totally fine with that. On the way, to Teotihuacan, we stopped at a few shops and a cactus ranch. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT tour! :

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Patrick O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Shrine. He is a life long Catholic, and it meant a great deal to both of us to visit this spot. He was able to attend mass and take communion in the main shrine cathedral. Our guide was informative and made sure we saw all of the parts of the Shrine. He was also very good at taking our photo on the moving sidewalk under the Virgin on the altar.

Doing what: Shrine of Guadalupe Tour in Mexico City

Terrence H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Teotihuacan is absolutely amazing. You definitely do not want to go to a place like this without a tour, because there's so much history that you can't glean from just showing up. Along the way, we stopped by Templo Mayor and Shrine of Guadalupe as well, which I initially thought were just padding the tour. But no, they are actually vital pieces that accentuated Mexican history. Loved it.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Alexander H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The actual tours of the Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe were great. Our guides, Jose and Sergio, were very knowledgeable and did an excellent job making sure we were all comfortable. What we did not enjoy were the additional stops that we made. This was likely due to a discrepancy between the description on the Viator website and the local provider.

Our tour made a few additional stops as well that were not included in Viator's description. We stopped at a Co-Op that gave us the history of The Century Plant which is the Agave plant. While the history was interesting, we spent far too long 1.5 hrs in the gift shop where we were encouraged to purchase the silver, obsidian, tequila, and rugs that were sold there.

Also, the lunch buffet that we went to The Jaguar was very touristy and the food was not very good. Again, we spent more time here than I would have preferred.

Again, the pyramids were magnificent and well worth the money. I just wish we would have known about the other stops ahead of time so that we could have looked into alternative arrangements to see the pyramids.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Maria Remedios N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is an excellent tour. The guide was very knowlegeable. There were small stops at the artisan shop and jewelry shop which proved to be interesting. If you want to stay longer at yhe Shrine plan your own visit fo half a day. The pyramids tour was great. Cover up for the pyramid visit. Sunburned!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

VLTIPPS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great. Tour guide was excellent, spoke English and Spanish proficiently. Seeing these pyramids was amazing. Visiting the Shrine of Guadalupe was amazing too. The pick up at the hotel was perfect, on time as they stated. Enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message