Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built beginning around 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city, often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 530 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to Mexico and it did not disappoint. Pablo our guide was wonderful. The weather was amazing the views spectacular. It was worth every penny!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Hot-Air Balloon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Luis Is Amazing!
He was very knowledgable about the site and the history of Teotihuacan! Our group was diverse and he adapted well while still adding humor and light heartedness to the environment. I this you all lucky to have him as a guide and as a member of the Viator crew.
As we walked to the tree family's homes he told us about the area and the people. Dinner with the family was fantastic because the home was built for our accommodations. Even there, Louis didn't stop teaching us things about Mexican culture and etiquette.
Awesome all around from start to finish!
Thank you SO much Luis, Thank you Viator for this opportunity!
3 Shaka

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was beautiful. Our tour guide was Frank and we had him for a different tour as well and he was very good with both. I was traveling with my parents and it was just the three of us through out this tour, so it was nice and private. First they they take you to a little compound where they show you how they harvest the maguey plant. You get to taste pulque, mezcal, tequila and other spirits made with it. Then they walk you through their sculpting and stone shop. Giving you an example of how to tell authenticity of different precious stones and showing you what to look out for in good stone craft. Of course they show you into their shop right after. But you don't have to buy anything. Frank and the guy at this compound are very very friendly and nice. After this you drive up to the pyramids. Bring a hat and some sun screen. This was amazing. I regret not walking all the way up to the top of the pyramid of the sun and to the pyramid of the moon. It's not for old unfit people who are heat sensitive - which both my parents are but they loved it. I mean, Loved it. Then lunch. Its a short drive to a buffet lunch. Food was okay. Got to try the cactus salad and a few other stews. After, it's a drive to Guadalupe. As a non practicing catholic I enjoyed the architecture if the basilica and it's amazing design. My parents who are deeply catholic we're amazed by it all. And collectively it is amazing seeing the image so well preserved on Juan Diego's cloak. It was a great day.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

DavidF
Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a long day for us because our hotel was on the south side of the city but it was well worth it. The bus was nice and the guide was very knowledgeable. We got there just at opening so for the first hour or so we had this magical place to ourselves. Pictures can't convey the grandeur of Teotihuacan. We could not have asked for a better experience!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

100% recommended, our tour guide was excellent and we learned so much! You also get to beat the crowds by going early. We were practically alone at the pyramids. Regarding the lunch and purchasing at the gift shop; it's not obligatory.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I liked very much. It was on time and the guide had plenty knowledge about the history.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great guide... I had been there 5 times without a guide but this time with me and my tennis team, we learned so much more about this wonderful and magical place!
Dave Bandelin - EuroElite Tennis / Sweden

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was the best. We were schooled on the most interesting facts of the Aztecs and the inhabitants of Teotehuacan. He made the experience truly great! He got to know all of us and was very personable. His knowledge of the history of the area and history of it's inhabitants was very detailed and very informative. We found Viator to be a wonderful tour company!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

something you can only in Mexico City.
I could not imagine I would see real things i only see in comics magazine
Me and my wife really enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was very good. All the guides / drivers were great. They were well organized and the time spent at each site was well used. Some great places to see! Hotel Geneve is fantastic. The only issue is the traffic whichever makes some of the days rather long.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly advisable to take the early trip to beat the tourists. Very knowledgable and friendly tour guide. The post pyramid visit lunch and shopping wasn't pressured and was interesting. Great buffet style lunch. I would definitely recommend this trip with this company, and I would use them again.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Jiaxi L
China

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was great and introduce many knowledge about pyramids, culture and history. I really like it!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Alberto L
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent! The tour was everything I had hoped for, and our guide was helpful, friendly, and very knowledgeable in the sites we visited.

Traffic in Mexico City was horrid (expected), so we were delayed in starting our trip. The food at the restaurant was very good. Would highly recommend this experience for all visitors to Mexico.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour and our guide Alejandro was excellent. There was enough time to climb the pyramids on our own. Anyone taking the tour should carry water and a snack and wear comfortable shoes. Lot of walking and climbing. Well worth it!!!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message