Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built beginning around 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city, often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 752 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time and enjoyed the total tour even the stops along the way. Francisco was very nice and knowledgeable and was very communicative in both English and Spanish. Luch was awesome at the Jaguar so many options to choose from. Would definitely recommend this to others.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

For someone who typically gets up at 8am, the early morning was something to grapple with, but completely worth it. You can't beat the convenience of getting picked up and dropped off at your hotel. Our guide was very friendly, informative and funny. The whole group had a great time!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

While the early morning pick up wasn't the best for me-I was the first pick up at 6:30 am, everything else about the day was perfect. Our tour guide was wonderful, the trip was smooth, the weather was gorgeous. I still can't believe I climbed to the top of the Pyramid of the Sun! I definitely recommend this trip!!! My only complaint was the food-it wasn't the best and I wish I had not eaten at the buffet, but that was my choice. Otherwise everything was wonderful. Get snacks and water at the gas station in the morning loved that they stopped there for us! so you are well hydrated and aren't starving. The trip back to Mexico City was long, but that's to be expected with traffic. Thankfully they dropped me off first-since I had been first picked up at 6:30 am, being last dropped off would have been horrible! I was first, and dropped off at 2:45 pm! A long day, but well worth it!!!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide, Leonardo was fantastic! I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Knowledgeable guide who arrived promptly and was very attentive.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The highlight of my Mexico City trip! This was an AMAZING tour, I can not recommend it enough! Francisco our tour guide was excellent. He was extremely knowledgable about Teotihuacan and the Shrine of Guadalupe. Lunch was a buffet that had everything one can imagine desserts. Drinks were extra but I was totally fine with that. On the way, to Teotihuacan, we stopped at a few shops and a cactus ranch. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT tour! :

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and spoke great English. We had time to explore the ruins on our own and get parts explained to us. If you are at all interested in history or the culture, then this is a must tour.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very informative,the guide Fernando was very helpful. Safe and fun. Unique experience. Lunch was great too! Restaurant with huge buffet!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Were picked up right on time at our apartment, which I thought was quite a feat in Mexico City. We were driven up and shown a few things a long the way though they were't part of the tour. The tour was very informative, and impressive. We could have stayed longer, though I am a fan of the shorter tours going back to the city just in time for a late lunch.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definitely one of the more worthwhile day trips when visiting Mexico City!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I wish the guide would have offered more historical information about the site. Also, the restaurant did not have very good food.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The Balloon ride was a nice experience. Just had a bad experience from the local operator. At site they offer you other things to do like tour of pyramids. We thought to take that as well and they charged good amount of money. We thought it would include entry ticket as well but it did not so we ended up paying good amount for a 5 mins ride to Pyramids. So always clarify what you are getting :

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Hot-Air Balloon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a nice tour with a good tour guide who was able to answer all kind of questions and give a lot of extra information about Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great tour with a knowledgable guide. Make sure you're dressed comfortably as you'll be doing a lot of walking and climbing a lot of steps! Good value for money including the transfer from the hotel.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The early morning Pyramid tour was amazing! It's worth getting up early, it wasn't too hot at that time of the day and it felt like we had the entire place to ourselves, be sure to bring a hat. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a great history of Teotihuacan. It was great that the bus stopped at a gas station prior to arriving at the pyramids so you can pick up water and snacks, I would highly recommend you do this, as the buffet at the restaurant wasn't great. My only complaint was that the vendors in the park was quite aggressive in trying to sell you souvenirs. Overall it was a great day, I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was great will get 5 start if the trip was more on Mexico history and the Pyramids and not on shooing !,
normal trip like this one stop and one shop and it's OK, but to stop at 2 it to munch ...
The guide was very nice and know allot, great English.
I enjoy

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was knowledgeable and passionate about the history of this site. He thoughtfully planned our access to the site so we could make the most of the day.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Self-Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Leonardo was a very good guide, however not very forthcoming with information. While he did a good job explaining the basics, I believe we could have learned more on this tour. He was very knowledgeable with regards to the pyramids, and his background as an archeologist was helpful.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip was late and guide's voice was not very audible from back seats.He should have used a collar mike while speaking from front seat. His knowledge was adequate.The seats in the bus was not very comfortable.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The worst part is always spending 2 hours waiting to pick other people up. However outside of that, we waited at the convenience store for at least an hour before heading to the ruins. The tour at the ruins was really great and informative and we had enough time to walk on our own. 5 stars for the actual ruins tour. We thought we were going to head back to the hotels after the tour as was noted in the Viator description but instead we were taken to a touristy building where they showed you how agave is made and try to get you to buy tequila and other touristy crap. They basically forced us to stay there during the lunch hour so we would buy something and eat at their restaurant. That was the worst part, especially because no one informed us that we would be stranded here. We were expecting to arrive home at 2 PM per the Viator description but ended up home at 3:15 because of the lunch. The others got home later than we did. If this tour continues, the description should be more detailed for planning purposes!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Professional and on time! Left our hotel at 730am and returned at 3pm.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Our driver was very good and gentle. Always made sure it was not too hot in the car which is wonderful for a fellow American like myself. Frank our guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. It was tour but gave me plenty of time to shop, climb the pyramids.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! The guide could speak spanish and english which was awesome. He was very informative and attentive. He made sure we were safe and always making sure we had a meeting place in case we got lost or separated from the group. The van was clean and air conditioned. I would do this again.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message