Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built beginning around 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city, often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 547 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was above and beyond! We got picked up from the hotel at 7:00am. Our group consisted of 13 people and we all fit well in the transportation van which was clean and new. During the drive "Leo" our guide was informative about our surroundings. Upon arriving, we quickly entered the site (no down time). We had more than enough time to climb the pyramids and walk around the site. Several times I broke off the group to deal with vendors selling small souvenirs and and easily caught back up to my group. You are not restricted or limited by the guide. The Tequila tasting is cool, as well as the shop. The breakfast/lunch is US$10.00 and well worth it. At the site you should buy all small souvenirs you like and save something of "fine" taste for the shop. Remember to haggle at both the site and shop. At the site you should pay about +/- 60% of the initial offer price. While at the shop you can drop the price about 10-15%. The feeling you get while at the site will makes you realize how wrong you were when you initially doubted booking. Have fun!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An early morning start but it was the best way to go---we were the first ones out at the site so we had it all to ourselves (along with the overhead hot air balloons) for quite a while before the tour buses started rolling in. The tour was incredibly comprehensive, the guide very knowledgeable (and incredibly nice!), and all in all, excellent. Special thanks to Leonardo and the tour company, for making this one our trip's highlights!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great guide with great information got us there early before all the big groups arrived!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very good tour. Excellent, knowledgeable guide, thanks Leonardo. Learned lots of new information about the site. Highly recommended! Was great to be on the site before the crowds. The lunch stop was a good, tasty choice. Next time we plan to take the hot air balloon tour early in the day.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour! Francisco was very knowledgeable of the history of the pyramids and Our Lady of Guadalupe, spoke good English, and made us feel very welcome. Highly recommend selecting the option that includes lunch as the buffet of authentic dishes was very good. Other stops were a silver shop (jewelry store) and store with onyx and agave cactus liquors. While these stops are obviously included to sell their products, we found the them informative and no high pressure sales.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour even though the pickup at the hotels was fairly chaotic and the beginning of the tour was very focused on artesanal visits which I did not expect.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour operators were always available for questions by telephone. Pickup was as scheduled; the guide, Abel was very knowledgeable and explained the history of all locations in great detail. The pyramids were awesome; we had a good workout and a pleasant experience.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Overall pyramids tour is good. Actually it is provided by a different tour company, who have a tie-up with Viator. Tour started on time at 7:00am and ended on time at 2:00pm. We were provided free hotel pickup and drop off, which is great. Tour guide was knowledgeable, but at the end of the tour he took us to a art crafts shop cum restaurant with whom he has a tie-up (I think). All art pieces were very expensive there and restaurant food was subpar. They can cut tour price (and time by) removing art crafts shop and Lunch stop over.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Tour was good. Our guide, R, was very good, very informed, friendly, and engaging.

My only concerns are that the Tour was billed as one with a Private Archeologist. As good as R was (and this is not a criticism of R) the tour should not have billed as it was.

Secondly the tour of the site was too short there were significant part of the site that we were not able to see. I'd prefer skipping the obsidian, tequila factory part for more time at the site. I would have paid twice the price for a longer more intensive tour of the site by an archeologist.

Still it was a great experience and we're glad we did it.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to Mexico and it did not disappoint. Pablo our guide was wonderful. The weather was amazing the views spectacular. It was worth every penny!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Hot-Air Balloon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Luis Is Amazing!
He was very knowledgable about the site and the history of Teotihuacan! Our group was diverse and he adapted well while still adding humor and light heartedness to the environment. I this you all lucky to have him as a guide and as a member of the Viator crew.
As we walked to the tree family's homes he told us about the area and the people. Dinner with the family was fantastic because the home was built for our accommodations. Even there, Louis didn't stop teaching us things about Mexican culture and etiquette.
Awesome all around from start to finish!
Thank you SO much Luis, Thank you Viator for this opportunity!
3 Shaka

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was beautiful. Our tour guide was Frank and we had him for a different tour as well and he was very good with both. I was traveling with my parents and it was just the three of us through out this tour, so it was nice and private. First they they take you to a little compound where they show you how they harvest the maguey plant. You get to taste pulque, mezcal, tequila and other spirits made with it. Then they walk you through their sculpting and stone shop. Giving you an example of how to tell authenticity of different precious stones and showing you what to look out for in good stone craft. Of course they show you into their shop right after. But you don't have to buy anything. Frank and the guy at this compound are very very friendly and nice. After this you drive up to the pyramids. Bring a hat and some sun screen. This was amazing. I regret not walking all the way up to the top of the pyramid of the sun and to the pyramid of the moon. It's not for old unfit people who are heat sensitive - which both my parents are but they loved it. I mean, Loved it. Then lunch. Its a short drive to a buffet lunch. Food was okay. Got to try the cactus salad and a few other stews. After, it's a drive to Guadalupe. As a non practicing catholic I enjoyed the architecture if the basilica and it's amazing design. My parents who are deeply catholic we're amazed by it all. And collectively it is amazing seeing the image so well preserved on Juan Diego's cloak. It was a great day.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

DavidF
Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a long day for us because our hotel was on the south side of the city but it was well worth it. The bus was nice and the guide was very knowledgeable. We got there just at opening so for the first hour or so we had this magical place to ourselves. Pictures can't convey the grandeur of Teotihuacan. We could not have asked for a better experience!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

100% recommended, our tour guide was excellent and we learned so much! You also get to beat the crowds by going early. We were practically alone at the pyramids. Regarding the lunch and purchasing at the gift shop; it's not obligatory.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message