Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built in 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city that is often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the Aztecs, who ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 407 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Glenn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great introduction to Mexico! Hector was a fantastic guide and made the day one to remember. There were 11 people on our bus and we had enough time to see everything. Things were fairly quiet on a Tuesday so a great day to visit the pyramids. The short shopping stops were fine and provided a chance to use the bathrooms and stretch your legs, we had lunch included which was fine but your could order at the restaurant if needed. To think we almost didn't do this tours because some people through the shopping stops were excessive...don't let that put you off at all. An excellent day out and a great introduction to an amazing country!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Charles A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour to the Teotihuacan Pyramids was incredible! We had a large group so they ended up booking a van for us rather than taking public transit which was perfectly fine with us. Our tour guide, Rodrigo, was AMAZING! He definitely made the trip very fun and educational. We spent a good amount of time at the Pyramids exploring the grounds and climbing to the top of the Pyramid of the Moon and the Pyramid of the Sun. We then went to a local home and sampled some mezcal and tequila and then made our way to another home where we got to sample many different delicious foods which they had for sale. I ended up buying a lot to bring home with me as souvenirs. From there, we went to another family home where they cooked us a beautiful meal. And then it was back to Mexico City. A wonderful day with the best guide Rodrigo! We would do this tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

Kelly A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative and educational tour. The guide was knowledgeable and easy to communicate with. The ruins and pyramids are beautiful and awesome. The guide stayed on task, while still answering all the questions from the group of 18 and keeping all our needs met: stopping for coffee/bathrooms on way to site stopping so we could purchase hats/rain ponchos as it was raining that day and some tourists were unprepared allowing ample time for shopping and lunch at end of tour allowing ample time for free exploration as well as guided info. Also, the bus was so clean and safe with seat belts. Loved the tour and can't wait to go back and try a complimentary tour!!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Hillary W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour starts by taking a few stops in the city on your way out of town. See a ruin in town, then a silver shop, then the Basillica of the Virgin, then a cactus grower and stone maker, then drive out to Teotihuacan for lunch, then see the pyramid site, then head home. A full day, but a great way to see lots of significant Mexican sites.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Peggy P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The private Archeologist is for your tour group, and he travels with you from beginning to end, ours was very knowledgeable. Our pick up was at 6 am, we picked up other tour members and hit the road about 7 am- the drive was about 1.5 hours. Bus made a 15 min stop at gas station on the highway, you will have options like subway and market for food. At the archeological site, you walk the whole area and have options to go up the sun and moon pyramids, I highly recommend it. When the ruins tour is done, the bus drives to a nearby restaurant offering a-la-carte, as well as buffet lunch options, all very delicious There is also a very cute boutique store in the establishment. When lunch is done, we walked over to another area of the grounds where they show an obsidian manufacturer, and they give yo a mescal and tequila tasting. When that was done we headed back home, the bus left us at our lodge around 4 pm. very fun day

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Joan S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

My husband and I took this tour a few days ago. It was an excellent tour at an exceptional price and we enjoyed it very much. Pick up was on time and the bus was modern and clean. At the end of the tour, we went to an obsidian workshop and also were offered pulque and tequila tasting, which was somewhat interesting. Lunch was on the pricey side by local standards, but you could order a la carte instead of being forced to take the buffet, which was a plus.

I read a number of reviews prior to booking the tour. I didn't come across any that mentioned the degree of physical difficulty that might be encountered at Teotihuacan. My husband and I have gone to quite a number of Meso-American ruins on our own over the years Chichenitza, Tulum, Coba, Monte Alban, Mitla and Lamanai. In all cases, we were able to enjoy these sites without actually having to climb the pyramids. That was an extra option for those who wanted to do so. All of these sites basically involved extensive walking on flat or gently sloping ground.

The tour of Teotihuacan was different. From one end of the Avenue of Pyramids, starting with the Pyramid of the Plumed Serpent ending at the Pyramid of the Moon is over a mile. There are MANY platforms along the avenue with MANY steps up and down, even if you don't climb the actual pyramids. Add in elevation of around a mile high plus blazing sun and you have some pretty exhausting conditions.

My husband has foot problems due to having broken his left foot 3 times, resulting in having a titanium plate put in. He also suffers from peripheral neuropathy. These problems don't generally hinder him, but this tour was pretty challenging due to all the steps that had to be negotiated. We lagged behind our tour group somewhat, so missed quite a bit of what the guide had to say about each stop.

I would like to suggest that Viator seriously consider rating each of the tours it offers on a scale of 1 to 5 for physical difficulty.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Thais S R G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Just to set expectations, because I think the description of this tour is not detailed enough, this is not a full day tour to Teotihuacan. You will probably spend about 2-3 hours in Teotihuacan, but there is much more than that that is not described here.
The tour picks you up very early and then you will spend at least one hour picking up other people in other hotels. This was the bad part. Then once you're all set, you will stop by the Tlateloco ruins in Mexico City, which is a nice place to visit, also known as the square of three cultures.
Then you will head to the Basilica de Guadalupe, not without stoping on a souvenir shop before that, and you will be there for about an hour or so, there is a lot to see.
Then you will be taken to Teotihuacan site, where they will show you how the pulque, mezcal and tequila are made, to a local crafts shop and to a restaurant. You don't have to eat there, but there is really no other option nearby, the price is very far and the food is delicious.
Only then you will go to Teotihuacan pyramids. I didn't really like our guide, particullarly, so we ditched him and explored on our own. Although most of the tourists were already gone by the time we got to the pyramids, I though we got there a little too late, because some sections of the site were already closing and we had to rugh through them.
At the site, you will be able to buy all sorts of cheap crafts, probably the best place in all of Mexico to buy local crafts at a good price.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Jose Q

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was a nice experience. They did pick us early at the hotel but i thought we'd arrive earlier to Teotihuacan.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

yanika

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Too much shopping, not enough information about what we were seeing. Didn't get lunch until 3pm and the food was pretty bad. Pyramids were amazing to see! Tour guide was nice enough and explained a lot, but we were carted off to different shopping things and did not spend enough time at the shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Juliana F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The pyramids are spectacular. The bus is comfortable and well air conditioned. However, the tour is not private you go with a group. The guide is not an archeologist and his knowledge of English is limited. The restaurant the group is taken to is over priced and overloaded with kitsch and the demonstrations of craft are lightweight, designed only to get visitors to shop at a wildly overpriced trinket shop.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Alma D. F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Everything was great, I would like more time at the pyramids.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Anna K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The pyramids were lovely but the tour was not as advertised. The tour guide was not an archaeologist, did not seem to have any special knowledge of the pyramids and spoke very little English. As a result the tour information was very difficult to follow and often made little sense.

The vehicle used to travel to the pyramids had obviously been modified to add an extra row of seats, this meant there was very little leg room and everyone was forced to sit sideways at an odd angle for an hour's drive. If the vehicle had air conditioning it was not turned on meaning it was a hot and sweaty drive which was quite uncomfortable due to the way everyone was overcrowded into the van. I would recommend the pyramids but not this tour.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Hilton B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Awful experience. We were under the impression we would be given a private tour with our own bus. Instead, they picked us up first at 5:50 AM then proceeded to pick up 7 additional parties around our neighborhood which wasted an hour. After that, they drove us to Zocalo Historic Center where we waited another 20 minutes. The driver did not speak English nor make an attempt to tell us exactly what we were waiting for. At this point, we had been on the bus for an hour and half and gone a total of 3 miles from our place in La Condesa. We decided to get off the bus and take an Uber there the next day. With Uber rates as cheap as they are in Mexico City, you're better off taking an Uber to the pyramids and hiring your own guide there. This company crams you into a tour bus with 30 other people which ruins the intimate experience of being in a foreign country.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Victor D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great. Timely pickup and the tour guide was amazing, full of stories about the city and the pyramids. Highly recommended.

P.S. dont forget the height at which this place is, so expect some serious effort to get to the top, but its definitely worth i.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Kelsey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was extremely friendly and spoke English very well! He was very knowledgable and knew more about the pyramids and overall history than the average person. We arrived at the site before all of the other tourists which was great. The end of the tour was very fun and informational as we visited natives and were able to learn about important plants, obsidian, and sampled various tequilas. From the early morning pick-up at the hotel downtown to the afternoon drop-off, everything went quite smoothly. I would definitely recommend this tour for any first-timers like myself!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding!!! Our guide, Carlos picked us up right on time at our hotel. He was most knowledgeable and tried to make sure we did everything we wanted. The pyramids were breathtaking, the food at our lunch stop was excellent and the stop at the little shop was fun. I would very highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Sabrina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Harrison was the best!!!! He knew some prime facts about the real history of the pyramids and current research going on! great sense of humor the pyramids were beautiful I loved getting an early start in the cool morning because by the end of the pyramid tour it was hot!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

Suruchi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent, well organised informative tour. Highly recommended for anyone wishing to see Teotihuacan.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

jes102076

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Teotihuacan is a very large and beautiful sight. The day started with a 6:45am pick up from the hotel in a small shuttle. Then we were brought to a staging area with a 30 minute wait to transfer to a large tour bus. We arrived at Teotihuacan at about 9:30am. At this time, I will assume, due to the holiday Easter weekend the site was full with many visitors. This site does need an all day visit. It is magnificent.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Linda P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Late to be picked up and visited silver and factory shop before the pyramids!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Amanda O

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour is a relatively cheap, very easy way to physically get to the pyramids which are super, super cool and take pictures of/with them. A few recommendations:

-Make sure you know exactly where and when you're getting picked up, confirm several times, get numbers to call if no one shows up, and have a back-up pickup spot in mind. No one ever showed up at my address so I called all four customer service numbers, got no answer, and finally took an uber to the final hotel pickup I found listed on my voucher. It turned out fine because we left an hour late, but there had been multiple miscommunications with the companies and the drivers.
-If you're a native English speaker, do some research ahead of time and plan to visit museums afterward our guide was energetic and enthusiastic and a good guy but spoke mostly Spanish, and we spent only two hours at the site I could've spent all day there before being whisked off to a market and restaurant.

I've got some friends visiting in a month who want to see the pyramids, and I think we'll go on a tour though a different company.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Philip M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

First off, Teotihuacan is great, but wear sunscreen, and bring lots of water. That being said...

I did the self-guided tour, which was supposed to have an audio guide, but none was provided. I could have stayed with the group, but I didn't feel that was fair, since I didn't pay for the guide, and the whole idea was to be able to move at my own pace.

After the pyramids, we stopped at a tourist trap restaurant for lunch, which was over-priced, with loud local performers, and food that was, at best, passable.

On the plus side, the guide took us to the Basilica of Guadalupe, which wasn't listed as being part of the tour, but maybe that was just for the self-guided part. It was a nice plus.

Also, I'm glad we didn't make any stops at local breweries, like some other tours do. Just the basics.

I would prefer to give this 3 and half stars, but I can't, and I feel like the omission of the audio guide was enough to outweigh the other factors, hence the slightly harsh 3-star review.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Self-Guided Tour

Isobel R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The pick up was a bit chaotic and took a long time. Because it was a public holiday we did not get to Tlatelolco. The guide was very informative on the bus but did not take us around Teotihuacan. We were only given two hours to see Teotihuacan and did not have time to see all around it or to get to the museum. We were then taken to a restuarant and craft village for 2 hours. The buffet there cost an additional M190. Information about this part of the trip was not included in the information on the website and I had chosen the tour because it specifically did not mention anything about having to spend time at a craft village etc.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Lasse B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour to the pyramids was a fine experience and the tour guide did a fine job of presenting the different structures at the sight - however, the tour was ended by a stop at a local hacienda with the obvious purpose of selling Mexican souvenirs at overcharged prices. The dinner at the sole restaurant in the area was twice the price of a similar dinner in Mexico City - only to have the peace of the dinner destroyed by the shouting and the drumming of locals dressed as Aztecs followed by Mariachi-style band. All of them begging for your pesos! How we wished we could have spend this last part of the tour at the pyramids.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Irene S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Your drivers were very courteous and the pick up was on time. The bus that took us to the pyramids was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the guide was not very knowledgable about the site and did not speak clearly. There was a lot of time wasted and I felt forced to have to eat in a designed restaurant. We were not informed that we could opt out. The guide was not very helpful when we told him we wanted to leave the tour earlier. It could have been so much easier and comfortable to get in a taxi, look around for couple of hours and get back to the hotel. The 'ordeal' took us from 5:30am to 4:30pm back to our hotel. Not worth it at all!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message