Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built beginning around 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city, often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 500 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was great high light of our Mexico trip. Alex was great and informative really helpful. Loved everything!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The van was on time early in the morning at our hotel, we had a driver and a tour guide who was very knowledgeable in the history of Teotihuacan and other civilizations. He was very detailed about the information he provided and you could tell he had a passion for it which made it even better because he enjoyed and truly believed what he was saying. Our tour guide is a decedent from an ancient tribe in central Mexico region so he knew lots of the info of the culture. I'am Mexican myself so we had the tour in spanish and he seemed very legit to all of what he was saying. We were lucky that day to have an hour for ourselves to explore the pyramids. The place is wonderful and you should take advantage that it is still permitted to go up to the pyramids, because I'm pretty sure that will not be possible in a few years. I totally recommend this tour it was and it will be an unforgettable experience. ONE TIP, if you want to buy small souvenirs to bring back home to friends or coworkers, buy it at the pyramid site, they are much cheaper, the tour guides will tell you not to buy it there, to wait until the end of the tour where they stop at a souvenir store. But the truth is that they will be much more expensive at the store, unless you want the real thing and you want a piece for decoration at home, then buy it at the store. I really enjoyed the tour and I recommended.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Really wonderful experience, and we get there early enough that we avoid the later crowds.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

it was great!!
the guide had much knowledge in the field of archeaology and gave usa great explanation about it.
an early trip worth than anything else!! great tour! and reasonable price!
Thank you!!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The tour was excellent and the guide verygood. it was an added plus that the tour took place even though I was the only guest. The travel by the local transport, the metro was a good experience. Unfortunately the dinner with the local family was a big disappointment. The way its advertised, I was expecting to join a family for dinner, but instead its a small private room attached to a residence and the owner serves you like a one off customer who has wandered in for a meal. The meal wasnt upto much and a great disappointment. they served us Tacos and it would been a better experience instead to eat from one of the roadside vendors in the town of san martin. it smelled so good when we walked through the town to the locals who make the cactus drink and eats. My suggestion is cancel the dinner with the local family and introduce roadside eating.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Lots of stops for shopping meant not enough time at Teotihuacan. Before booking this trip, if you are not interested in numerous shopping stops, check with your hotel concierge for a private driver who will take you only where you want to go.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was truly an excellent tour. The van picked up at our location. The guide was so thorough - answered lots of our questions. The group dynamic was great. We learned so much. Thank you.

One suggestion - earlier confirmation of pick up time and location would be helpful.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the best tours I have ever been on! The company checked in with me via e-mail to make sure they had my hotel information (they did). The van arrived exactly when they said it would. This was my third tour of Teotihuacan, but my first with this company and I learned SO much more this time! I thought our guide was superb. Loved that we stopped for coffee on the way...driver was so courteous and I felt completely safe. Perfect way to see Teotihuacan. Well worth the cost!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The place was lovely, and the walk very comfortable at that time of the day. Not too many people. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, very articulate, and answered all our questions.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As always, Viator never fails to give its customers a top-notch tour at a very reasonable price. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We were given ample time to explore each of the sites we visited on our way to the pyramids and on our way back to Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was extremely informative and Franc was an awesome guide. Highly recommend doing this tour as it will give you an understanding of the rich history.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was amazing! Mostly is because the places are amazing. Tour guide was very knowledgable and helpful. But we spent too much time in some of your partnered-shops (ie silver factory, and it's way too expensive). I enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Maarten
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Unfortunately the tourbus was almost 45min late in picking us up, but once we got going the tour was great. The guide spoke adequate English, and knew his stuff.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was really great to be there without all of the other tourists and hawkers. Our guide was knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message