Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built in 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city that is often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the Aztecs, who ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 428 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Monica Maria A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We book a private tour to teotihuacan at 7am. They guys get to my place early to make sure of arriving on time. Our archeologis was really good (carlos) young and easegoing. We also have Alma as a driver, very nice lady. Both of them very welcoming and friendl. We had a great time. Amigo tour rocks!

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing. One gets to see the pyramids in a whole new way through a very different angle that you otherwise cannot not appreciate by foot. The aerial views are unbelievable. I would recommend this tour to everyone. Had a blast!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Hot-Air Balloon Tour

Patrick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A totally wonderful day. The tour was informative as well as thrilling. The guide was so pleasant and helpful about everything. The pyramids are a once in a lifetime experience. We loved all the stops afterwards too - the local crafts store, the restaurant. We'd go on this tour - or any tour with the same guide - again.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

mltaylor07

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent Tour, Archeologist was very fun and knowledgeable. Transportation pick up was great and ontime. This tour is great value. I am glad I chose to take early morning tour as it is a long day and the pyramids fill up with lots of people quickly in the afternoon. It was great to get some excellent photo opps in a virtually empty site.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Cathryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, LouLou. Very informative and plenty of free time to explore pyramids. There is no private archeologist but guide was very informed and fun.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Sri Kanth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the morning visit of Pyramids with less people and less heat. Had enough time to roam around and snap some pics. Guide was informative.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Kenneth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Exactly what we expected from the description: arrival before the crowds, plenty of time to tour the site, friendly and knowledgeable guide, and low-pressure visit to a tequila/obsidian shop. Highly recommended as an enjoyable, good-value way to see Teotihuacan!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Sebastian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The early morning tour is excellent because when you arrive you are nearly alone. The pyramids are very beautiful and a must see. Our tour guide Alejandro was very sophisticated and more than friendly. For this price highly recommended.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Lauren O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I did this tour - one AC van, a driver and a guide all to ourselves we don't like to wait on others in a tour group. Our guide was very informative, which you need when staring at ancient ruins - it's the history that makes the trip worth it! Teotihuacan was fantastic and the little artesianal market/mezcal place was cool too. I recommend this trip 100

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Cindy A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

One of the highlights of our visit to Mexico City. We were picked up from our hotel on time and, on the way to the site, even had the opportunity to stop at a convenience store for those who needed to purchase a drink or food or use the restroom. Our guide spoke in both English and Spanish and offered very interesting commentary on the history of the pyramids. He was very willing to answer questions and was positive and professional at all times. After the tour, we were taken to a site to taste various liquors, but the purpose was really just to make money for the people at that site. It was interesting to see the weaving loom and the beautiful artifacts, but they were very expensive, which the employees were quick to tell us could be purchased with our credit card. The buffet lunch was reasonable and good and the people who danced and offered to pose with us in pictures for a tip were good. The pyramids were great - the other commercial piece not so much.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Michelle L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent and very knowledgeable guide and really enjoyed this tour, the climbing of the pyramids and the walk around.
The subsequent stop for obsidian and weaving demos and the tequila tasting was OK but again very commercial.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Rischa R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The first day touring the pyramids was absolutely amazing! We were able to see every piece of the archaeological site that we wanted and it still felt like we were done in a reasonable amount of time. On the second day for the city your, it felt like we missed a few attractions based on how the tour guide organized the day and it took more than the 5 hours we were told. Overall, we really enjoyed the sites we were able to visit, but hopefully with better planning, the city tour can be organized a little better with timing. I would definitely say this tour is worth the money!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

Jeremiah M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide Ligia with Amigo tours was very excellent. She was was energetic, informative and friendly. She gave the tour in English and Spanish and was happy to dive in to any topic as we walked about the grounds. The pyramids are not to be missed and by arriving early it was quiet so we got to take photos without many people in the background. The process for being picked up was a little complicated and myself and another couple did not receive instructions that the meet up place was moved, so we were waiting for some time. I suspect this is because Viator and the tour operators systems are not completely aligned and due to late bookings, so make sure you double check directly with the operator if you book less than 24 hours ahead. The phone lines have English speaking operators if needed, After the pyramids we stopped for a buffet lunch and to taste some Tequilla with an opportunity to buy some goods. A common tactic across the world, the free drink puts you in mind to buy many of the crafts on offer, but be warned the price of goods was actually considerably more than in Mexico City or at the gift shop in the Anthropological Museum so I took a pass. But overall a very enjoyable trip with an excellent guide.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Michelle A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I have been to Mexico before but have never done this tour. I loved that they were able to pick us up at the hotel! The bus for the tour was very clean and comfortable. Definitely grab some breakfast before because the gas station where they stop before the pyramids is not that great. Upon arrival, our guide was great! We learned a lot and had a great experience. The restaurant where they took us for lunch could have been more authentic. We actually passed up a small village before the restaurant where I think they should have taken us instead. It was neat trying the different Mezcal. I would not recommend that you purchase the City Sightseeing... we were very tired when we finally got back to the city and where not interested in the walking tour. Our guide for this portion was also very distracted and we made the decision to cut the tour early.

Doing what: Mexico City in One Day: Teotihuacan Pyramids Early Access and Historical City Sightseeing Tour

robbo1961

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our tour started early making rounds in Mexico City to pick up all participants. the company did use two other mini vans to pick up people and then meet at a central location to increase efficiency. On the way out we did stop at a roadside stop to get coffee and light breakfasts which was nice.
We did get to the Pyramids early enough to beat all the Sunday crowds and really learn about them with Leonardo our guide. Leonardo was fluent in Spanish and English and was a wealth of knowledge. The ruins were great, you do have plenty of time to see them all and to climb the Sun Temple. After the tour we went to a local artisan village and restaurant to see locally made textiles, rock creations and tequila/mescal. The people were low pressure and we did get some shots of tequila to have a nice experience. Lunch was reasonable, either buffet or a-la-carte. The drive back into Mexico City was a little slow due to traffic, but most people just slept anyway. Good value for the money so I would have to recommend this trip and tour company. Well done.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Brian M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour of pyramids site. Excellent guide. Lunch and gift shop experience rather disappointing.
Transport logistics poor. 6a.m pick up from hotel - we were first - but did not leave Mexico City center until after 8a.m. Return drop offs disorganised and slow too.
Would definitely highly recommend tour and visit to pyramids but transport needs to be drastically improved.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

dominiquecharles07

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The locations were nice, but the tour guide was useless. She started to give explanations that were false and inaccurate at best. She said that the Aztecs peacefully converted to Christianity. And when people started to ask questions her answers were always I don't know. She just dropped us a the Basilica Guadalupe with no explanation on the place, its signification and importance. she did the the same thing for the Theotihucan Pyramids. She said that the pyramids were Aztecs. I found that they are from the Theotihucan people. That was really bad.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Jason R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The first day of our tour was the city tour and our guide Lulu was the worst! She was not organized and spent way to much time on her phone texting. Our second day was with Alex on the pyramid tour and he was excellent, couldn and #39;t ask for a better guide.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

Sara M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This was actually the second time I did this tour. The first time was amazing. However, this time, it was horrible. I took my whole family for this tour so it was even more of a disappointment that it fell short. There were so many little things that made this tour the way it was. Firstly, we saw about half the amount of the sites as I previously had. At the three cultures center, we did not walk around the pyramid ruins, at the Basilica, we did not go to the original church nor was it even mentioned, and finally at Teotihuacan, we did not go to the museum at the site. All of these things we had done on my previous tour. Next, we went to more touristic shops. At one of these shops, they charged me extra because I split tenders, and then swindled my mom out of 5 by confusing her with exchange rates. I didn't notice either until we had left, but it was sad that this was the only place that did this the entire time we were in Mexico City, and it was on a tour! The expensive lunch was mediocre and drinks were extra. At Teotihuacan, we were only given 10 minutes to climb the moom pyramid and then 45 for the sun pyramid. This wasn't enough time to explore and enjoy everything. Finally, the ride home was horrible. Traffic and the fact that the other patrons wanted to be dropped off at specific places other than their hotel made the ride home last two hours. Everyone was so ready to get out of the van! For the money, I would definitely look else where. Again, my first tour was perfect, but this one was very, very disappointing.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Glenn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great introduction to Mexico! Hector was a fantastic guide and made the day one to remember. There were 11 people on our bus and we had enough time to see everything. Things were fairly quiet on a Tuesday so a great day to visit the pyramids. The short shopping stops were fine and provided a chance to use the bathrooms and stretch your legs, we had lunch included which was fine but your could order at the restaurant if needed. To think we almost didn't do this tours because some people through the shopping stops were excessive...don't let that put you off at all. An excellent day out and a great introduction to an amazing country!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Charles A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour to the Teotihuacan Pyramids was incredible! We had a large group so they ended up booking a van for us rather than taking public transit which was perfectly fine with us. Our tour guide, Rodrigo, was AMAZING! He definitely made the trip very fun and educational. We spent a good amount of time at the Pyramids exploring the grounds and climbing to the top of the Pyramid of the Moon and the Pyramid of the Sun. We then went to a local home and sampled some mezcal and tequila and then made our way to another home where we got to sample many different delicious foods which they had for sale. I ended up buying a lot to bring home with me as souvenirs. From there, we went to another family home where they cooked us a beautiful meal. And then it was back to Mexico City. A wonderful day with the best guide Rodrigo! We would do this tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

Kelly A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative and educational tour. The guide was knowledgeable and easy to communicate with. The ruins and pyramids are beautiful and awesome. The guide stayed on task, while still answering all the questions from the group of 18 and keeping all our needs met: stopping for coffee/bathrooms on way to site stopping so we could purchase hats/rain ponchos as it was raining that day and some tourists were unprepared allowing ample time for shopping and lunch at end of tour allowing ample time for free exploration as well as guided info. Also, the bus was so clean and safe with seat belts. Loved the tour and can't wait to go back and try a complimentary tour!!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Kathryn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I've been many places, but the Teotihuacan Pyramids took my breath away. Our guide Marco was great.
He new a lot about the site and its history, made sure we had all the time we needed and answered our almost never ending questions. This tour was the highlight of our ten day stay in Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Self-Guided Tour

Hillary W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour starts by taking a few stops in the city on your way out of town. See a ruin in town, then a silver shop, then the Basillica of the Virgin, then a cactus grower and stone maker, then drive out to Teotihuacan for lunch, then see the pyramid site, then head home. A full day, but a great way to see lots of significant Mexican sites.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Peggy P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The private Archeologist is for your tour group, and he travels with you from beginning to end, ours was very knowledgeable. Our pick up was at 6 am, we picked up other tour members and hit the road about 7 am- the drive was about 1.5 hours. Bus made a 15 min stop at gas station on the highway, you will have options like subway and market for food. At the archeological site, you walk the whole area and have options to go up the sun and moon pyramids, I highly recommend it. When the ruins tour is done, the bus drives to a nearby restaurant offering a-la-carte, as well as buffet lunch options, all very delicious There is also a very cute boutique store in the establishment. When lunch is done, we walked over to another area of the grounds where they show an obsidian manufacturer, and they give yo a mescal and tequila tasting. When that was done we headed back home, the bus left us at our lodge around 4 pm. very fun day

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message