Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built in 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city that is often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the Aztecs, who ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 394 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Victor D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great. Timely pickup and the tour guide was amazing, full of stories about the city and the pyramids. Highly recommended.

P.S. dont forget the height at which this place is, so expect some serious effort to get to the top, but its definitely worth i.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Kelsey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was extremely friendly and spoke English very well! He was very knowledgable and knew more about the pyramids and overall history than the average person. We arrived at the site before all of the other tourists which was great. The end of the tour was very fun and informational as we visited natives and were able to learn about important plants, obsidian, and sampled various tequilas. From the early morning pick-up at the hotel downtown to the afternoon drop-off, everything went quite smoothly. I would definitely recommend this tour for any first-timers like myself!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding!!! Our guide, Carlos picked us up right on time at our hotel. He was most knowledgeable and tried to make sure we did everything we wanted. The pyramids were breathtaking, the food at our lunch stop was excellent and the stop at the little shop was fun. I would very highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Sabrina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Harrison was the best!!!! He knew some prime facts about the real history of the pyramids and current research going on! great sense of humor the pyramids were beautiful I loved getting an early start in the cool morning because by the end of the pyramid tour it was hot!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

Suruchi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent, well organised informative tour. Highly recommended for anyone wishing to see Teotihuacan.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

jes102076

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Teotihuacan is a very large and beautiful sight. The day started with a 6:45am pick up from the hotel in a small shuttle. Then we were brought to a staging area with a 30 minute wait to transfer to a large tour bus. We arrived at Teotihuacan at about 9:30am. At this time, I will assume, due to the holiday Easter weekend the site was full with many visitors. This site does need an all day visit. It is magnificent.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Linda P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Late to be picked up and visited silver and factory shop before the pyramids!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Amanda O

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour is a relatively cheap, very easy way to physically get to the pyramids which are super, super cool and take pictures of/with them. A few recommendations:

-Make sure you know exactly where and when you're getting picked up, confirm several times, get numbers to call if no one shows up, and have a back-up pickup spot in mind. No one ever showed up at my address so I called all four customer service numbers, got no answer, and finally took an uber to the final hotel pickup I found listed on my voucher. It turned out fine because we left an hour late, but there had been multiple miscommunications with the companies and the drivers.
-If you're a native English speaker, do some research ahead of time and plan to visit museums afterward our guide was energetic and enthusiastic and a good guy but spoke mostly Spanish, and we spent only two hours at the site I could've spent all day there before being whisked off to a market and restaurant.

I've got some friends visiting in a month who want to see the pyramids, and I think we'll go on a tour though a different company.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Philip M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

First off, Teotihuacan is great, but wear sunscreen, and bring lots of water. That being said...

I did the self-guided tour, which was supposed to have an audio guide, but none was provided. I could have stayed with the group, but I didn't feel that was fair, since I didn't pay for the guide, and the whole idea was to be able to move at my own pace.

After the pyramids, we stopped at a tourist trap restaurant for lunch, which was over-priced, with loud local performers, and food that was, at best, passable.

On the plus side, the guide took us to the Basilica of Guadalupe, which wasn't listed as being part of the tour, but maybe that was just for the self-guided part. It was a nice plus.

Also, I'm glad we didn't make any stops at local breweries, like some other tours do. Just the basics.

I would prefer to give this 3 and half stars, but I can't, and I feel like the omission of the audio guide was enough to outweigh the other factors, hence the slightly harsh 3-star review.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Self-Guided Tour

Isobel R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The pick up was a bit chaotic and took a long time. Because it was a public holiday we did not get to Tlatelolco. The guide was very informative on the bus but did not take us around Teotihuacan. We were only given two hours to see Teotihuacan and did not have time to see all around it or to get to the museum. We were then taken to a restuarant and craft village for 2 hours. The buffet there cost an additional M190. Information about this part of the trip was not included in the information on the website and I had chosen the tour because it specifically did not mention anything about having to spend time at a craft village etc.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Lasse B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour to the pyramids was a fine experience and the tour guide did a fine job of presenting the different structures at the sight - however, the tour was ended by a stop at a local hacienda with the obvious purpose of selling Mexican souvenirs at overcharged prices. The dinner at the sole restaurant in the area was twice the price of a similar dinner in Mexico City - only to have the peace of the dinner destroyed by the shouting and the drumming of locals dressed as Aztecs followed by Mariachi-style band. All of them begging for your pesos! How we wished we could have spend this last part of the tour at the pyramids.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Irene S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Your drivers were very courteous and the pick up was on time. The bus that took us to the pyramids was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the guide was not very knowledgable about the site and did not speak clearly. There was a lot of time wasted and I felt forced to have to eat in a designed restaurant. We were not informed that we could opt out. The guide was not very helpful when we told him we wanted to leave the tour earlier. It could have been so much easier and comfortable to get in a taxi, look around for couple of hours and get back to the hotel. The 'ordeal' took us from 5:30am to 4:30pm back to our hotel. Not worth it at all!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Lisa C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Way too much time spent on a hot, smelly bus. We were picked up at 6.20 not first on the bus and didn't finish picking up others until after 8.30. We thought we would arrive at Teotihuacan at opening, but it opens at 7.00 and we were there around 10.00. Every seat on bus full. Bilingual tour so one sentence in English followed by same in Spanish and then next sentence in English ... Hard to follow unless you really concentrated. I don't know if our guide was an archaeologist or not but it wasn't apparent. After the Teotihuacan site with not a lot of information, and very hot, far too much time spent at a shop and then restaurant with no other options - another 2.5 hours. We thought we'd be back in Mexico City at 2.30.but at around 3.30 in another part of town we were taken off the bus and put in a taxi which got us back to our Polanco hotel around 4pm. Would instead recommend a more private tour that doesn't wait constantly for slower people and also tours the site earlier when it is quieter and cooler. Given early start, would be easy to tour site fully and return to Mexico City within a morning.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Frances G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

I did not do this tour because amigo tours failed to pick us up 2 days in a row. Amigo tours is unprofessional and untrustworthy. I would rate this a zero if it were an option. Find another tour! I saw the pyramids today and I am glad amigo tours was not successful in ruining a wonderful vacation.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Real and authentic tour. Angela and the rest of the locals were great in educating us about the history of Teotihuacan and various other topics such as how different colors were obtained naturally to paint and decorate back then. The family dinner was an amazing experience and allowed us to interact with locals through our broken Spanish.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

Ruediger S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time with our guide and she really knows everything about the city and the places in Mexico City. She made our visit to Teotihuacan very special. Thanks again

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Renee Pauline P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Incredible tour! Our guide was very knowledgeable. There is a lot of walking so be prepared for that and wear comfortable clothes. Someone on our tour wore extremely tight jeans and couldn't climb up the last pyramid because she was uncomfortable. Some steps are VERY tall and narrow I'm 5'4 and I had to bring my leg almost past my other knee for some of the steps on the Pyramid of the Moon.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour, excellent guide!
Highly recommend and be prepared to climb up and down the pyramids :

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

George Q H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent price for a small group trip. Teotihuacan is simply amazing, well worth the time to visit. Our trip was very early before lots of other tourists arrived. Our guide, Leo, was very well informed on the site and showed us lots of interesting things as well as giving us great information. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Robin R Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour and sevice. Lygia was knowledgeable, accomodating and a great tour guide. This is the only way to to Teotihuacan from Mexico City.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Jenni R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The trip had some highlights, it was lovely to see the pyramids and a good thing to do on a Sunday morning in Mexico city. The guide was very enthusiastic.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Victoria G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Well worth a visit. The tour ties you not only to the pyramids but to a church and cactus farm which was interesting but gave you a hard sell on the products

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Norbert B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

To see the Pyramids and hear all the histories and other information was very good!
The Restaurant we stop for having lunch was horrible!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Aaron L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Overall great day. It was nice to see the archaeological site in Mexico City, followed by visiting the Basilica de Maria de Guadalupe, and finally Teotihuacan. Our guide was very knowledgable and engaging. Only wish we could've spent more time at the Pyramids at Teotihuacan in order to explore more.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Christopher L

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

We highly recommend the Teotihuacan Pyramids Early Access part of the tour. It was the highlight of our trip to Mexico City and the tour guide Leo was amazing - well informed and a great guide! It was great to get into the pyramids early and with no crowds. Unfortunately we do not recommend the Historical City Sightseeing Tour. There was a different guide that we met after our day at the pyramids and he was very distracted on his phone most of the time, we felt rushed along, and we were also not taken into the National Palace it was listed on the itinerary. Additionally, he asked us for a tip at the end we generally do tip but we felt pressured when he asked us and he also gave us a pamphlet of his personal tour company in case we were thinking of doing other tours - we just found him very unprofessional and it was nothing like the first part of our day at the pyramids. Don't spend the extra money for the City Sightseeing and perhaps try another combination with the tour of Teotihuacan.

Doing what: Mexico City in One Day: Teotihuacan Pyramids Early Access and Historical City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message