Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built beginning around 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city, often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 558 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was above and beyond! We got picked up from the hotel at 7:00am. Our group consisted of 13 people and we all fit well in the transportation van which was clean and new. During the drive "Leo" our guide was informative about our surroundings. Upon arriving, we quickly entered the site (no down time). We had more than enough time to climb the pyramids and walk around the site. Several times I broke off the group to deal with vendors selling small souvenirs and and easily caught back up to my group. You are not restricted or limited by the guide. The Tequila tasting is cool, as well as the shop. The breakfast/lunch is US$10.00 and well worth it. At the site you should buy all small souvenirs you like and save something of "fine" taste for the shop. Remember to haggle at both the site and shop. At the site you should pay about +/- 60% of the initial offer price. While at the shop you can drop the price about 10-15%. The feeling you get while at the site will makes you realize how wrong you were when you initially doubted booking. Have fun!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An early morning start but it was the best way to go---we were the first ones out at the site so we had it all to ourselves (along with the overhead hot air balloons) for quite a while before the tour buses started rolling in. The tour was incredibly comprehensive, the guide very knowledgeable (and incredibly nice!), and all in all, excellent. Special thanks to Leonardo and the tour company, for making this one our trip's highlights!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great guide with great information got us there early before all the big groups arrived!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Leonardo (Leo) was our guide and he really knows history, and likes it . With his explanations and help we had a great day, we did climb the Pyramids, the view is spectacular, you can travel through the time. It was very important to go early in the morning, it was not crowd and the sun not so strong yet. The whole group was 6 people and it was very good because Leo could give us more attention.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very good tour. Excellent, knowledgeable guide, thanks Leonardo. Learned lots of new information about the site. Highly recommended! Was great to be on the site before the crowds. The lunch stop was a good, tasty choice. Next time we plan to take the hot air balloon tour early in the day.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour! Francisco was very knowledgeable of the history of the pyramids and Our Lady of Guadalupe, spoke good English, and made us feel very welcome. Highly recommend selecting the option that includes lunch as the buffet of authentic dishes was very good. Other stops were a silver shop (jewelry store) and store with onyx and agave cactus liquors. While these stops are obviously included to sell their products, we found the them informative and no high pressure sales.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

If you are short on time in Mexico city and want to see this impressive archaeology site, then this tour is a must. The early morning tour is a benefit as you will be one of the first people at the ruins in the morning. My pickup time and location were confirmed by email the day before the tour by the local operator. I was picked up on time at 6:15 in the morning and returned to my hotel around 2pm. Alan, the guide, was very friendly, personable, and had much expertise about Teotihuacan. This tour is highly recommended!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An excellent tour. Pepe was a top notch guide and Rodolfo was an excellent driver. The itinerary was great. Don't miss Teotihuacan @

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

this is something you need to experience while in Mexico City, the guide was well prepared and knew a lot of details, wear a hat while in the sun, it can get very hot and there is a lot of walking around, we had the best time

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour even though the pickup at the hotels was fairly chaotic and the beginning of the tour was very focused on artesanal visits which I did not expect.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour operators were always available for questions by telephone. Pickup was as scheduled; the guide, Abel was very knowledgeable and explained the history of all locations in great detail. The pyramids were awesome; we had a good workout and a pleasant experience.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Overall pyramids tour is good. Actually it is provided by a different tour company, who have a tie-up with Viator. Tour started on time at 7:00am and ended on time at 2:00pm. We were provided free hotel pickup and drop off, which is great. Tour guide was knowledgeable, but at the end of the tour he took us to a art crafts shop cum restaurant with whom he has a tie-up (I think). All art pieces were very expensive there and restaurant food was subpar. They can cut tour price (and time by) removing art crafts shop and Lunch stop over.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very Nice Tour. Guide was very knowlegable. Didn't like the stop at the shop and restaurant hoeever

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very Nice Tour. Guide was very knowlegable. Didn't like the stop at the shop and restaurant however

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very Nice Tour. Guide was very knowlegable. Didn't like the stop at the shop and restaurant however

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message