Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built beginning around 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city, often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 772 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Majestic, you can not help it not to feel respect and admiration for a civilization that was able to made such huge and admirable buildings... and the precision with was everything was done is amazing.
The guide provide us a lot of interesting info and took us to interesting places.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfect idea to start the trip this early. Very idyllic place in the early morning hours.
The guide was very friendly and gave a lot of informations about the history of this place.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Woke up early on this one. Tour guide picked us up on schedule at our hotel. Absolutely amazed and in awe of these Pre-Hispanic Archeological sights. Be ready to hump it..... but you can do it! The tequila and buffet afterwards was superb. coat your stomach with tortilla chips Overall just a great experience. A must do!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent tour! Our guide was very well informed. We arrived early at Teotihuacan and had a wonderful time visiting the pyramids before the main crowds and the heat of the day hit. Very memorable!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely amazing. We were picked up on time, our tour guide was absolutely wonderful and we learned a lot. It was definitely worth getting up early as you could see the crowds arriving as we left. We weren't left at the shop for long and there was no pressure and good alcohol! there. Lunch was cheap and tasty. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide and a trip was well worth it.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a spectacular tour. A very full day, but we went at a nice pace, and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and inspiring. Many thanks for this beautiful adventure!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Going early in the morning was a really good idea as we see most of the site easily, no waiting! This tour is a must when you visit Mexico city, not too far and a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The guide and driver were very good and caring. The places were interesting. The lunch food needs improvement but the place is clean. There was very little time at the shrine.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It's a great package. Both tours need long walk and climbing.
It's NOT recommended for old and weak people.
BE AWARE!!!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great, the private archeologist was well informed.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The pyramids are of course very impressive. Wear comfortable shoes and bring water.
The stop at the shrine was pretty brief and I was okay with that.

There were stops at a silver jewelry store and a place where we learned about the uses of cactus. The cactus place sold jewelry, stones and other overpriced gifts. Both of these stops felt like an excuse to get money from tourists. I wasn't too enthusiastic about this.

The vehicle my group was transported in was a 12-person van. No bathroom, the bumps in the road were pretty noticeable. If you get carsick, you'll probably want to take a dramamine.

Lunch was a buffet, but I wouldn't say it was huge as another reviewer stated. Drinks are not included.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour of Teotihuacan. Early pick up as requested. Very knowledgeable guide.
One thing to note - a small mini bus was used for the tour. We were one of the last pickups, so had to sit on the back seats. As we are tall, this was extremely cramped and uncomfortable. All the other seats were pushed back giving the people in front a lot of room, but leaving the back seats with no room at all.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very good guide and the early morning start was crowd free

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The tour itself was great and the guide was very informative about the ruins. The lunch was ok but nothing to rave about. What was really horrible was the trip home. We were staying only a 5 minute drive from the city and somehow we were the last dropped off after spending an hour getting out to Santa Fe and an hour back. This was due to poor planning of drop offs, not to mention the driver getting lost constantly even though he had a gps. To top it off my husband had food poisoning at the time so the super long drive and rough drive made him sick and he was throwing up in the car. We were meant to arrive at 2:30pm home and instead we arrived at 4:30pm. Oh forgot to mention our pick up time was 6:40am and we didn't get picked up until 7:20am. The extra 40 mins would have be better spent in bed for my sick husband, there was no call or msg to say they would be late.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

I was not picked up, so there was no tour for me. In the website they say Departure time
7am hotel pickup between 6:30am and 7am. I asked them to pick me up last from the people they have to pick up. The night before the tour they send me an e-mail announcing that they'll pick me up at 6:15, earlier even than their advertised window. So, I was not picked up and I needed to hire a private cab. This was better better in a way because I got to spend the amount of time I wanted to at the pyramids.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time and enjoyed the total tour even the stops along the way. Francisco was very nice and knowledgeable and was very communicative in both English and Spanish. Luch was awesome at the Jaguar so many options to choose from. Would definitely recommend this to others.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

For someone who typically gets up at 8am, the early morning was something to grapple with, but completely worth it. You can't beat the convenience of getting picked up and dropped off at your hotel. Our guide was very friendly, informative and funny. The whole group had a great time!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

While the early morning pick up wasn't the best for me-I was the first pick up at 6:30 am, everything else about the day was perfect. Our tour guide was wonderful, the trip was smooth, the weather was gorgeous. I still can't believe I climbed to the top of the Pyramid of the Sun! I definitely recommend this trip!!! My only complaint was the food-it wasn't the best and I wish I had not eaten at the buffet, but that was my choice. Otherwise everything was wonderful. Get snacks and water at the gas station in the morning loved that they stopped there for us! so you are well hydrated and aren't starving. The trip back to Mexico City was long, but that's to be expected with traffic. Thankfully they dropped me off first-since I had been first picked up at 6:30 am, being last dropped off would have been horrible! I was first, and dropped off at 2:45 pm! A long day, but well worth it!!!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide, Leonardo was fantastic! I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Knowledgeable guide who arrived promptly and was very attentive.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message