Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built beginning around 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city, often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 665 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

vivi
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

very good tour guide Frank and the lunch was fabulous

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour was amazing. Our guide Frank was amazing! Very knowledgeable and engaging. I would definately reccommend this company and tour. Sadly I do believe I left my camera in the tour van and hoping someone will find it and return it to us.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is an excellent tour. The guide was very knowlegeable. There were small stops at the artisan shop and jewelry shop which proved to be interesting. If you want to stay longer at yhe Shrine plan your own visit fo half a day. The pyramids tour was great. Cover up for the pyramid visit. Sunburned!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic. Franco was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Definitely do the early morning it's quiet and you appreciate the site without hundreds of people.The textiles and lunch afterwards is not as impressive and I think I would have preferred more history about the pyramids then spending time having lunch. All round a great tour!!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

the place were impressive. however, we have some comments on the tour guide. we were told to pay peso 150 to transfer back to hotel riazor after the tour. secondly, our lunch is in buffet style (not as what menu stated before). we also told to pay for our drinks.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Had a great day and the tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The trip was great and the tour guides were very knowledgeable. The early morning tour was perfect because there were not a lot of people there and we were able to get some great pictures. Keep in mind though you might be picking up multiple people and dropping them off so transit time is longer than there and back, still beats public transportation though.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amzing , Roberto our tour guide was excellent , we learned a lot about ancient Mexico , thank you for offering this kind of trip

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very nice trip in a small group. My highlight was the visit to the Virgin of Guadalupe. The guide was very knowledgable and his English was easy understand. We had lunch after visiting the pyramids at around 3 pm and it was a buffet.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our Mexico City Tour was impressive. We were glad that we took the escorted tour versus a tour in our own. Our family and four were picked from our hotel in Centro Historico and proceeded to walk to El Zocalo Center. It is impressive all the amazing historical facts in the heart of Mexico City....visited the Mexico City Cathedral, the National Palace, The Templo Mayor and other sites....our highlight in El Zocalo Plaza de la Constitucion was Diego Rivera's murals in the National Palace. Then, we continued in our small, air-conditioned van to Paseo de la Reforma an important main thoroughfare and then to Chapultec where we visited the Anthropology Museum. We had an insightful and lively tour thanks to our guide Alan and our driver sorry, I forgot his name from the tour company. Alan was one of our favorite guide in Mexico City. He has the ability to relate to everyone in the tour...in our tour also included three women from Argentina and other states of Mexico. He communicated in Spanish and English and my two kids pre-teen and teen were addressed in English and felt included. My husband and I appreciated Alan's efforts to make our trip fun and insightful.....Alan is very professional, patient and respectful....we think Alan has a great future in the tourism business as he has excellent communication skills. Mil gracias Alan por todos los detalles y esmeros para todos nosotros en el tour!!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Absolutely fantastic tour. Despite the early pick up at 6am, the tour was well worth the money spent. Our guide, Roberto, was a lovely man who spoke English very well and was knowledgeable about the Teotichuacans, the Mayans and Aztec people and especially the pyramids. Back in the hotel by 1pm.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great. Tour guide was excellent, spoke English and Spanish proficiently. Seeing these pyramids was amazing. Visiting the Shrine of Guadalupe was amazing too. The pick up at the hotel was perfect, on time as they stated. Enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very nice tour, i totally recommend it! We were a group of 5 people: much more pleasant than being in a 60 people bus.
I put 4 stars as we arrived at the pyramids later than planned as the next people we came to pick up were not on time. They should leave anyway if we wait for people more than 10 m

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was great. Our only problem was that we didn't learn about the early morning pick up until 5:15 in the morning. We had no phone in our room so our manager could not notify us of the change from an 8:00 pick up to a 6:00 pick up. He was notified at 11:30 pm of the change in schedule.

Other than that, our tour was great. We would probably have preferred a tour of fewer people due to the pick up taking over an hour to get everyone and we were picked up first.

Our guide, Leonardo, and driver, Pepe, were great.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We were pleased with the trip overall, however some features were not as advertised. The email group of one van turned out to be two vans of 37. The English tour was in Spanish with limited English translation. The guide did not appear to be an archeologist.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Michael W
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Saw everything promised with few exceptions in our Central Mexico tour. Traffic in Mexico City delayed things enough that we didn't get more than a drive-by of the Cortez palace in Cuernavaca, spent all our time on the cathedral visit there. An overnight in Taxco would have made that long day more fulfilling, with more time to spend investigating the byways of the town. Our guide/drivers, all of them, were aggressive but competent on the road, and comfortably bilingual. My wife speaks Spanish, and talked animatedly with other passengers in the vans. After a long journey through the south end of Mexico City we were delighted with the utter change of pace as we boarded the Aztec boats at Xochimilco. Our first experience with a week-long guided tour exhausting, but it will have us coming back for more.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We were picked up on time, very comfortable Mercedes van. Our guide was friendly and well informed.
We were at the site when it opened.
I was glad we booked the tour instead of hassling with local transportation, wasting time trying to get the right subway or bus.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The guide was very good: knowledgeable, approachable, conscientious. At first at the collection point things appeared to be 'slow'. Once on the way, the bus driver did not know where to go and kept turning to the guide as to what turns to take, etc. made for some uncertainty. At the Teotihuacan Pyramids things went very well the guide did an excellent job of explaining the site, the background and the extent and limits of present knowledge and understanding of the Teotihuacan people interesting to know that this culture is much older than the Aztec and Mayan cultures.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message