Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built beginning around 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city, often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 913 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide Tony was very knowledgeable and his background information made visiting the sites ore meaningful. The pyramids are amazing and this tour is a must for anyone visiting Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Beverly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Everything went smoothly from airport pickup to tour arrangements. Though the mix of tourists differed each day, we happened to get the same guide for the 4 escorted trips Miguel - and he was great. We liked the mixture of day trips and time to ourselves. Hotel Hampton Inn was excellent - and location perfect. Tour was an excellent value, costing little more than hotel alone if we had booked it separately.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Shuling Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide Leonardo is outstanding. The tour is also very on time. The second half of the historical city sightseeing is also nice, our tour guide in the afternoon did a great job explaining Diego Rivera's mural in the national palace.

Doing what: Mexico City in One Day: Teotihuacan Pyramids Early Access and Historical City Sightseeing Tour

Douwe A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We saw what we wanted to see and more, a long exhausting day but we only had a few days and wanted to see as much as we can.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

annecheong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent day out. It's hard work climbing the pyramids but worth every step. Don't forget your hat and take some water. Hotel pick-up punctual but did get back later than advertised. Good buffet lunch at a very reasonable extra cost. Oh, remember your head for heights too!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Shannon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour of the city was amazing with Sandra. There was a slight glitch in the driver and pick up time, but she made up for that and we made the choice to walk more than drive. It was perfect for me and my kids. We saw so much in one day and Sandra was so full of knowledge and caring for us.
The second day began very early, but the early morning tour is the only way to go! Leonard was our guide and he was great - very friendly and so knowledgeable about the pyramids and the history of Mexico. The next part of the tour and lunch was also a really great surprise!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

ruben f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour! Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Gautier S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderfull tour with a top guide!
Very interesting tour, positive and all the stops for the explication were really appreciated.
Highly recommended :

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Kristopher S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

It was a good duration and saw what we wanted to.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Kristina B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Everything was excellent including weather and amount of visitors, but the long way through all unplanned additional souvenir shops silver factory, souvenirs etc. was a bit too annoying. We reached the pyramids after lunch... Guide was excellent

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Roy L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

A well-worthwhile, modestly-priced tour. Only snag is that numerous stops to pick up participants from their hotel gets a bit tedious!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Jung Lok L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Teotihuacan 1 Day Tours tour was really well-organized. Thanks to trip, I could visited the Teotihuacan and Basilica of Guadalupe with no tiredness.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Geoffrey R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

An very good and informative trip to a fascinating site. Although relatively more costly than group tours, the personal pick up and return made the day much more valuable other trips that we had, with multiple pick-ups, took almost all day travelling around.
Leaving early meant that the site was fairly quiet and our personal archaeological guide was very informative and very happy to spend as much time as we wished at each point.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Robert B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Two of the first three stops on this turn were shopping stops which is NOT my thing. The Teotihuacan Pyramids were fantastic. We climbed half way up the first pyramid and to the top of the second. I felt my legs on the higher one because we were at 7,000 feet. The Shrine of Guadalupe was niceto see.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Lane L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic day with a great operator! Midwinter is clearly the best time to visit the complex. The stop at tres culturas was excellent for setting the tone and context before arriving at teotihuacan. The trip is a must for anyone interested in Meso American history and culture. Remember to bring very comfortable climbing shoes!

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Robert W

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Tour was insightful. Wish the tour guide focused more on explaining the destinations, and less on the shopping stops. Got shammed at the lunch location, which we already overpaid on....55MX for a bottle of Coke, ugh. Would have been great with a passionate tour guide.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

colejos

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Well, who would go all the way to Mexico City and not set out to see Teotihuacan? What an amazing experience....when you finally get there. If you're looking for a day trip with your travel partners to see the pyramids, you're better off splitting a taxi or hiring a private guide. Getting the lunch inclusive package? EAT A HUGE BREAKFAST! Three hours of unnecessary silver shopping and cactus farm tours stand between you and the beautiful pyramids before you ever see a restaurant. Looking for that comfortable experience from your hotel in the city to the rural pyramids? Perhaps you can ride in this tied-down jump seat for hours, like one poor guest was forced to do. They didn't cap the number of guests to safely accommodate everyone in the transportation. I felt really bad for the guy. With all of that said, they get two stars for the shopping nonsense and the unsafe transportation, but there really is no cheaper way to see the pyramids with a bonus stop at Guadalupe. I would love to return to both places without my ill-informed tour guide asking me to drink with him every thirty minutes. Really, dude? The Mexico City Olympics were in 1962? Shouldn't a tour guide know they were in '68?

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great overview of the Teotihuacan Pyramids and the Shrine. They added stops at a few vendors along the way, which apart from large tourist shops, gave us ample bathroom and refreshment breaks.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Hyung-Min K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Too wonderful trip. Guides introduced and escorted very kindly, so I could understand about Mexico.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Blaine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was the highlight if our trip.
If you have never been in a hot air balloon you gotta try it.
And if you can do it while floating serenely over ancient pyramids built before even the Aztec people's arrived in the area - all I can say us WOW.
Our pilot was an expert. And safety seemed to be the local tour operator's number one concern.
But when we rose above the clouds - that was a double WOW.
Viator booked us with the local tour operator

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Hot-Air Balloon Tour

Stephanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Beautiful Place to visit! Tour was great.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

lakdawalashaival

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Cannot miss this if you visit Mexico City. The tour was well planned and there was enough time to scale the pyramids and take plenty of pictures.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Michael L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An excellent tour in every respect: knowledgeable, English-speaking guide very interesting, unique sites little in the way of visits to souvenir shops friendly, non-complaining other tourists.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message