Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built beginning around 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city, often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 463 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I and my husband recently came back from this tour. I highly recommend it as a family or a duo get away as it was very well organized, professional, friendly and fun. Daily tours are well balanced so that one can also wander around by themselves to explore the city. The best part of the trip was the friendly staff starting from being picked up at the airport to different tour guides. We could really tell they were all going out of their way to accommodate each and every one of us. We also liked that we were given tours not only inside the city itself, but taken out to other surrounding interesting places very well worth visiting giving us a chance to get a real feel of the country, the people and what it is all about. I am not going to lie we did come back exhausted and a little bit overwhelmed, but it was a good thing given you have only 5 days to a 20 million people populated city and its surroundings. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent hotel, excellent tours and guides, excellect drivers! I loved it! I will highly recommend Viator to all my friends. Thanks for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was outstanding and well worth the money. The cathedrals and pyramids were spectacular. Silver in Taxco was to die for because of quality and price. The chicken mole was scrumptious in Puebla. The Forklorica Ballet at the Bellas Artes was magnificent. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great, I just did not like the agave place was very expensive, the food was bad and lots of Mosquitos!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

First let me say I enjoyed the tour and the guide. However, I recieved a call the night before my tour and found out my tour would start later in the morning because the pyramids were closed for the Japanese Minister to tour during the morning. A later start was fine with me. The problem was that I didn't know I might not get to go to climb the pyramids and that my tour had been turned into the Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe tour. I didn't realize this until the tour started. The tour guide, which I'm not sure was a private archeologist, told us we might not be able to go to the Pyramid of the Sun and Pyramid of the Moon, but maybe see the small ones. When the tour started is when I knew the tour agenda changed. Although we did make it to the Pyramids and I thoroughly enjoyed climbing the Pyramid of the Sun, it would have been nice to know the changes when they called the night before and I think we should have been given the option to not go but get 100% refund. I'm sure I would've gone, but the option would have been nice. Just want to say that getting the opportunity to climb the Pyramid of the Sun was awesome!!! For me the time at the Shrine of Guadalupe was way too long.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Tour guide: He was OK. His name was Luis Suarez and while he was knowledgable and helpful, there were a lot of times where we'd go a long while without anything being said and we'd just walk around or ride around in the tour van. He definitely was not as sharp as the other tour guide we connected with on our trip.

Locations: These were very cool for the most part. Aside from the pyramids, we also visited la Plaza de las Trest Culturas and la Basilica de Guadalupe – very historical sites with cool things to see. Really enjoyed these.

Overall Experience: It was so-so. The sights were very cool, the tour guide was OK, and we also stopped at some local shops to do some shopping, which I didn't enjoy too much.

Girlfriend and I made the most of it, but it's a solid tour for the price.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

While Teotihuacan is an impressive, amazing site that must be seen, but this tour is a waste of time and money. We kept stopping at various souvenir shops along the way that added two hours to our drive and got us to the ruins at 1pm. The guide was possibly knowledgeable, but we'd never know as he only spent the first 15min at the ruins, then left us to roam on our own for the next hour and a half in the blazing sun (while he went back to the van).
If that's something you can live with, then by all means book this tour. But do not book the lunch option because it's at 3pm at a run-down roadside buffet whose only customers are tours. Really bad food and drinks are not included, not even water. Your $10 will go a lot further anywhere else in Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this tour and thought the guide very knowledgeable,and the pace relaxed enough for us.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was really good. Our tour guide gave us a detailed walk throughout Teotihuacan showing us a very detailed picture of the culture that once lived there. The pulque and tequila taste took place at a local "cooperativa" and it was very good as well. The lunch there was delicious.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fantastic tour and our tour guide, Lizbeth, was so enthusiastic and fun. We really enjoyed her her knowledge of Teotihuacan and the surrounding area. Going early morning before the crowds got there made it an amazing experience too. We appreciated the nice tour bus and the brief stop for coffee along the way. Lizbeth was so nice as to book us the next day for the Xochimilco tour. Amazing trip and tour thanks to Viator and the tour company. I strongly recommend this tour for anyone wanting a truly organized, insightful, and comfortable travel experience. Many thanks Lizbeth!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide, Francisco, was just phenomenal. He was very knowledgable of the sites, and spoke english excellent.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was perfect. The guide was prompt and friendly. We lucked out with perfect clear weather for excellent views. Highly suggest the tour

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Hot-Air Balloon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic! Best tour to Mexico I ever took! The tour guides were knowledgeable and courteous! Mexico City has lots to offer, the food was excellent and I definitely want to go back and see more of the cities we visited in detail at a later time! Loved it, loved it , loved it!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message