Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built beginning around 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city, often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 494 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was truly an excellent tour. The van picked up at our location. The guide was so thorough - answered lots of our questions. The group dynamic was great. We learned so much. Thank you.

One suggestion - earlier confirmation of pick up time and location would be helpful.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the best tours I have ever been on! The company checked in with me via e-mail to make sure they had my hotel information (they did). The van arrived exactly when they said it would. This was my third tour of Teotihuacan, but my first with this company and I learned SO much more this time! I thought our guide was superb. Loved that we stopped for coffee on the way...driver was so courteous and I felt completely safe. Perfect way to see Teotihuacan. Well worth the cost!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The place was lovely, and the walk very comfortable at that time of the day. Not too many people. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, very articulate, and answered all our questions.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As always, Viator never fails to give its customers a top-notch tour at a very reasonable price. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We were given ample time to explore each of the sites we visited on our way to the pyramids and on our way back to Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was extremely informative and Franc was an awesome guide. Highly recommend doing this tour as it will give you an understanding of the rich history.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was amazing! Mostly is because the places are amazing. Tour guide was very knowledgable and helpful. But we spent too much time in some of your partnered-shops (ie silver factory, and it's way too expensive). I enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Maarten
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Unfortunately the tourbus was almost 45min late in picking us up, but once we got going the tour was great. The guide spoke adequate English, and knew his stuff.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was really great to be there without all of the other tourists and hawkers. Our guide was knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A great experience and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout the entire tour day. I would definitely recommend to others who want a day filled with unique experiences and knowledge about Mexican historical events.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

To many un relevant things.The pyramids are fabulous but the guide lets you at the gate and picks you up after 2 hours,so not us much information as you were expected.I will not recomand it :(

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Our archaeologist abandoned us after 30 minutes into our stay, and after that all we got from him was for us to hurry up in order to get to a tourist trap and restaurant so that he could get his commission and any sales and the cost of the meal. So I spent most of the time walking around wondering what I was looking at and how all the different structures related to each other.

However, the Teotihuacan Pyramids are a must see, but not with our so-called archealogist

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

The site was magnificent, and it's too bad that the tour guide handled things so badly. We went through the larger of the pyramids, the Temple of the Sun, first, which is a long walk from anything else. It was a very poor decision on the part of the guide and tour company to do that.

Everything important is centered around the Temple of the Moon, the smaller of the two large pyramids. There are some beautifully restored carvings and rooms, but we got to them at the very end of the tour and the guide not only wouldn't take us through them, but kept rushing us, telling me that I couldn't go into the last two rooms because it was so late. (Others on the tour who had gone into the rooms urged me to go, anyway, and ignore the guide, but I didn't want to delay things.)

Other reviewers had complained about their tour guides not being archeologists. Ours was (wish I could recall her name), but, to me, someone who is knowledgeable and with a warm presence trumps someone who knows their stuff, has the schpiel down, but isn't much interested. Near the end, I walked through a place with carvings on the walls and heard another tour guide telling people, "and this is a view of the universe," explaining about it, "and just imagine (what the carvers were doing/thinking)." That guide, I am sure, was not a trained archeologist, but what a wonderful comment! Our group didn't go through that area and our guide said nothing similar.

The lunch buffet was quite good and offered a wide range of choices, though if you do not like Mexican food, you may not be happy. We were surprised and very pleased. We spent a little too long at the obsidian (?) store, but it was interesting. Ironically, we had to wait for our bus driver there because he disappeared. (So there would have been plenty of time to see the aforementioned rooms at Teotihuacan.)

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Make sure to do this tour before you do anything else! What a great introduction to Mexico city. Our tour guide was Frank, he was brilliant. Speaks good English and was very knowledgeable. We made the mistake of going to the museum of anthology first not realising that this was included in tour.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message