• USD ($)
  • English
Perfumed with flowers and plied by trajineras, a sort of gondola cheerfully painted to reflect the canals' lush beauty, the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco were once the agricultural breadbasket of Mexico City. Today, these last lovely remnants of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The tour was just OK, I think it could have been a lot better. I think I would probably try to do this one on my own next time.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We spent Christmas Day on the canals. Met some amazing people, had lunch, listened to mariachi music as we floated through the canals. Our guide was great. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

he sites included in this tour are well worth visiting, but the interpretive information provided by the guide is minimal. You should be aware that you will be very much on your own, and if this suits you, then you will enjoy the tour. We booked two tours with this company and wound up visiting the same silver shop on both. This part of the day, announced as a "brief stop," extended to well over an hour on each occasion. The pick-up process in the morning also took about 90 minutes on one of our tours, not only in traveling from hotel to hotel to pick up passengers, but because of long wait times and multiple shuttling between vehicles. There was no visit to the National University of Mexico, merely a drive-by with the murals available at a distance. This was due to the late hour of the day and the desire of a group of passengers to be taken to a crafts market instead. The vans themselves have a basic level of comfort but nothing more.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was an excellent way to see many of Mexico City's sites that are not centrally located downtown. The guide, Eduardo, was great and took us by Mexico City's World Trade Center, to the bull fighting ring, to the University of Mexico to view the exterior of the library, by the Azteca Stadium, to the Coyoacan neighborhood, and finally to Xochimilco where we took a boat along the canal. We enjoyed beer and marriachi music during the boat ride.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

The guide was good, but the tour wasn't very good. Brief stop at the bull fighting ring(5 minutes), the University stop consists of pulling up on both sides of the freeway to take pictures(5 minutes). A stop at a museum that isn't covered in the cost of the tour. And Xochimilco is a tourist trap.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

The boat tour is more of a eat and drink tour while watching other Mexican families and tourist's do the same thing. Not much for the guide to talk about. The interesting thing is all of the vendors on the water selling all kinds of things. The mariachi bands as well are nice.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Very positive review overall. The sights speak for themselves (Coloyoacan, Frida, Xochimilco). You felt safe. The guides were good guys, and informative. Pick-up drop off at your hotel is great. Suggestions: 1) establish and clarify when the group meal will be; 2) Include the Coloyoacan market as part of the tour. Again, glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour - Xochimilco is a must see! I was in Mexico two years ago and didn't manage this tour ,so delighted I got to see it this time.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

I really liked Xochimlco and the ride along the canal, and I think would have preferred more time out on the water than driving around the University. Too much driving on this tour.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2012

Our guide made it very boring. Everyone was alseep by da end of the first half of the trip. Should have been a better experiance.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

Sadly there were very few people there so we didn't get a real feel of the place. We only spent 50 minutes on the boat.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

We started this tour with a stop at a Church for 15 minutes and then drove to Frida Kahlo's house/museum. When we arrived, it had a sign that it was closed. We took pictures outside the museum.

We drove by Mexico's univertity stadium on our way to Xochimilco.

We continued to Xochimilco where ladies were given a rose before getting on a beautiful, colorful canoe. We each paid for a lunch served on the canoe. That was the best part of this entire tour. He allowed no time for shopping even though our tour guide "Eduardo" was ahead of schedule...done by 2pm.

We could have gone to Xochimilco on our own and saved ourselves the money.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Xochimilco was very pretty. We basically just drove past the Univeristy however we did stop in San Angel and it was such a beautiful area. Our tour guide was fantastic, so friendly and knowledgable.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Marija N
Macedonia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Although the weather was not on our side (it was cloudy and raining), we saw much more than Xochimilco and the University on our way there. We had a very informative guide, the group was excellent. Perfect.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message