Perfumed with flowers and plied by trajineras, a sort of gondola cheerfully painted to reflect the canals' lush beauty, the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco were once the agricultural breadbasket of Mexico City. Today, these last lovely ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a super tour! Our guide was fluent in English- almost all tour guests spoke Spanish. We loved gliding through the canals of Xochimilko, eating barbecued corn and listening to Mariachi songs aboard our trajinero. Visits to the UNAM University grounds and the Frida Kahlo Museum were memorable too.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The wife and I always wanted to do this. The Mariachi was great and the people were all happy,festive, singing and dancing. The food and drinks were great. My wife The Queen of Barter got a great deal on a silver pendant of Our Lady of Guadalupe.Great shops before and after the boat ride. We got some great eats and tried dried crickets, minnows, with peanuts! The crickets were surprisingly sweet and the combo was awesome...it went well with my mechata! Great with place with about three couples or more. Make sure you go to the restroom before you go on the boat or you'll be hurting! LOLs
The University of mexico I always wanted to see since I first encountered reading and seeing photos of it in an old Golden Book Encyclopedia my Godmother bought me from 'Safeway when I was a young boy of 5. I saw then for the first time a photo of the Mosaic Library and read about what is done at a University. To see it for real along with my wife was a great experience. Loved this tour.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The canals at Xochimilco are reminiscent of Venice. You have a driver who moves and steers the boat with a long pole, you hear lively music and there's even floating kitchen waiting to cook you a delicious meal. We got on a boat named 'Linda' and had a quite the pretty time. The stop at the university and its Olympic stadium were really nice and informative as well. Plenty of good photo ops, if you want them. Bonus: I even got to visit the Frida Khalo museum!

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Convenient and easy. Great way to see these amazing places in one afternoon.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was my first tour in MX city. I was extremely excited about the Frida Kahlo museum and it did not disappoint! The National University was not so exciting but I was happy we didn't spend too much time there 30mins approx. I didn't know what to expect in Xochimilco, but it was AWESOME. The Venice of Mexico, was amazing and the boats are so beautiful! Lunch was not included in this tour, however, our tour guide did take us into a local market and we had great tostadas. Coyoacan is a beautiful town with beautiful architecture. A fun fact about Coyoacan, the movie 'Man on Fire,' with Denzel Washington was filmed in MX City and in the town of Coyoacan. Our tour guide was okay, she did explain everything to the group but at times seemed irritated by some of our questions and became short with some of the tourist.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Good time on the canal. The food was OK, but the scenery was excellent.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour lasted 7 1/2 hours. Of that time, we only spent a little over an hour at Xochimilco. The guide said that it was too early for the boats untrue so we would go to Frida Kahlo's house in Coyoacan first, at an additional cost of 120 pesos. Half the people including us had already been to Frida Kahlo's house, so we had to wait for almost an hour for the rest of the group. At the University, we only saw the outside of the stadium. However, the driver was also a guide and was a wealth of information.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The places we visited were interesting. The tour guides were nice but lacked organizational skills. Tour was very disorganized and chaotic with people constantly leaving, being left behind and going their own way. I know adults can be difficult but this was a little over the top.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

xcellent trip the guide Ligia was fluent and knowledgable made some great movies all are already on the y tube
Professor Arif Herekar
Professor of Neurology

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a tremendous tour led by Hermes, who was fabulous. His knowledge and enthusiasm was excellent and although a multi lingual tour he handled this seamlessly and without issue. I would not hesitate to recommend him. The driver was also to be recommended as excellent. He handled the traffic and drop offs perfectly and safely.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Very friendly and personable guides. I had always wanted to visit Coyoacan and the Casa Azul. This tour made it easy and fun.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I would recommend this excursion. Timely pick up and good information.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Xochimilco was beautiful and so was Coyoacan. Our tour guide Sandy was nice, but the tours are just too rushed. You really need a few hours at each location to catch a good feel and to take it all in....not given enough time for that. The time given at the Frida Museum was good.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

the tour guide did not know his subject. He did not take you to the locations you were supposed to visit and he did not speak English very well.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Terrible! Don't go! The most horrible trip ever! Dangerous place, unprepared guide, lame food. Run away!!!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

The day before this tour, I called the tour company to confirm our pickup time at our hotel and was told 8:10am in the lobby, so we woke up, got ready, and waited. By 8:30, nobody had arrived and the concierge told us that Amigo Tours usually picks up at 9, so went back upstairs. I then found an email the day before, telling us the pick up time would be 9:10, an hour later than we were told over the phone, but ok. At 9am, we went back downstairs and waited for our tour bus. By 9:30, still nothing, so we asked our hotel to call the tour company and ask if they were coming. They said that there was a lot of traffic, but they were on there way. They finally showed up and picked us up at 10am.

The Xochimilco was a lot of fun, as was pretty much the rest of the tour. However, the tour we signed up for boasted an expert tour guide to teach us about our surroundings and we did not get that at all. Our tour guide, Sandy, was very friendly and a lot of fun, but she brought her best friend on the tour with her that day and it almost seemed like a casual day with friends for her. I'd say the most talking she did throughout the entire day was about a boy she had met the day before and whether or not he was interested in her. It was fun and all, but we did not feel like we got any background information on any of the sites we visited, unlike our previous tour to the Teotihuacan Pyramids, where Leonardo, our tour guide, was full of historical background and information.

Even more frustrating was that because the tour had been running so late from the morning, we only got 30 minutes at the Frita Kahlo House and Museum, which was a real downer, because it was beautiful. We needed at least an hour.

On the way back, Sandy got off at the hotel of her friend, to get ready for her date with the aforementioned boy and left the rest of us with only the driver who didn't speak English. Overall, we were disappointed with what could have a great tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

The tour guide Eduardo didn't give me my Frida Kahlo ticket so I have NO record of going. I also wasn't apart of the survey at the end. That made me feel like my voice wasn't important. The driver was fantastic but Eduardo didn't do the tour justice, he was on his phone a lot, barely gave us info on our surroundings and didn't interact well. Also I think you should take the University of Mexico aspect out of the main title because we stopped at ONE site for FIVE minutes to take pictures and no where else. We weren't even aloud to make a second stop to take pictures. Very Disappointed. Thank god for the tour group members. without them I would have rated it NO stars.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

08:00: I was ready for the pick up at the hotel. 08:45: I phoned the local number. I was told that I would be picked up at 09:00. 09:00: I was picked up and the minibus picked up other clients.09:30: I was told to change vehicles because now I would join others doing the same tour. 10:00: I was told to change vehicles again and waited at Cibeles for others doing the same tour. 10:30: After 2.5 hours, I had travelled less than 5 km in 3 vehicles! Finally we set off to Xochomilco, I thought! However, the route was not direct. We kept stopping at different places. I asked the guide about this. He explained that the people in the minibus with me had a different tour...I asked whether we were going to do the tour of Xochimilco and UNAM, and was assured that yes we would...I was told we would arrive at Xochomilco about 12:00, so 4 hours after the arranged pick up! I waited patiently. The "tour" of UNAM consisted in a drive pass, the minibus didnt even stop. The driver waved at the library building and the Olympic stadium as we drove. I know a little about UNAM but the guide did not know even basic facts! 12:00 At the time that I had been told we would arrive at Xochimilco, we arrived at the Khalo museum... 4 hours after my expected pickup time. I asked the driver how long we would be there. 40 minutes I was told. So I looked for a toilet and went for a coffee, returning promptly so that we could go on with no further delay. 12:30 I returned to the minibus. 14:00 the guide returned to the minibus with the other clients. He did not have the courtesy to even apologize. 14:45 We arrived at Xochimilco, 6 hours 45 minutes after my expected pick up time 15:45 We left Xochimilco after a mere 40 minute boatride. The guide did not accompany us nor explain about the Chinampas. So, from 08:00 to 16:45, I enjoyed 40 minutes of what I had paid to see. The "professional" guide was not only unprofessional (time keeping) but rude and uninformative. I am disappointed and angry

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The boat tour was too short.
Also, not much was shown at the National University of Mexico.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Our tour guide was wonderful. George was very insightful, very helpful, talked all the way through our tour...he was awesome.

However, we did not visit the National University of Mexico during our trip. We visited the Olympic Stadium that is nearby the University, but never actually went into UNAM, which was a large disappointment. Also, the "boat ride" was just a mile-long ride on a small boat through a small canal where there are tons of vendors also on boats, selling you everything from Mariachi songs to food to merchandise. I was under the impression it would be more of a relaxing boat ride, but it was anything but. You're basically set into a mile-long, narrow canal where vendors have their shot at you for an hour.

My girlfriend and I made the most of it, but it was still a disappointment. The best part was definitely our tour guide, but the locations were not much to see with the way they were presented.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message