Perfumed with flowers and plied by trajineras, a sort of gondola cheerfully painted to reflect the canals' lush beauty, the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco were once the agricultural breadbasket of Mexico City. Today, these last lovely remnants of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

The tour guide Eduardo didn't give me my Frida Kahlo ticket so I have NO record of going. I also wasn't apart of the survey at the end. That made me feel like my voice wasn't important. The driver was fantastic but Eduardo didn't do the tour justice, he was on his phone a lot, barely gave us info on our surroundings and didn't interact well. Also I think you should take the University of Mexico aspect out of the main title because we stopped at ONE site for FIVE minutes to take pictures and no where else. We weren't even aloud to make a second stop to take pictures. Very Disappointed. Thank god for the tour group members. without them I would have rated it NO stars.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

08:00: I was ready for the pick up at the hotel. 08:45: I phoned the local number. I was told that I would be picked up at 09:00. 09:00: I was picked up and the minibus picked up other clients.09:30: I was told to change vehicles because now I would join others doing the same tour. 10:00: I was told to change vehicles again and waited at Cibeles for others doing the same tour. 10:30: After 2.5 hours, I had travelled less than 5 km in 3 vehicles! Finally we set off to Xochomilco, I thought! However, the route was not direct. We kept stopping at different places. I asked the guide about this. He explained that the people in the minibus with me had a different tour...I asked whether we were going to do the tour of Xochimilco and UNAM, and was assured that yes we would...I was told we would arrive at Xochomilco about 12:00, so 4 hours after the arranged pick up! I waited patiently. The "tour" of UNAM consisted in a drive pass, the minibus didnt even stop. The driver waved at the library building and the Olympic stadium as we drove. I know a little about UNAM but the guide did not know even basic facts! 12:00 At the time that I had been told we would arrive at Xochimilco, we arrived at the Khalo museum... 4 hours after my expected pickup time. I asked the driver how long we would be there. 40 minutes I was told. So I looked for a toilet and went for a coffee, returning promptly so that we could go on with no further delay. 12:30 I returned to the minibus. 14:00 the guide returned to the minibus with the other clients. He did not have the courtesy to even apologize. 14:45 We arrived at Xochimilco, 6 hours 45 minutes after my expected pick up time 15:45 We left Xochimilco after a mere 40 minute boatride. The guide did not accompany us nor explain about the Chinampas. So, from 08:00 to 16:45, I enjoyed 40 minutes of what I had paid to see. The "professional" guide was not only unprofessional (time keeping) but rude and uninformative. I am disappointed and angry

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The boat tour was too short.
Also, not much was shown at the National University of Mexico.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Our tour guide was wonderful. George was very insightful, very helpful, talked all the way through our tour...he was awesome.

However, we did not visit the National University of Mexico during our trip. We visited the Olympic Stadium that is nearby the University, but never actually went into UNAM, which was a large disappointment. Also, the "boat ride" was just a mile-long ride on a small boat through a small canal where there are tons of vendors also on boats, selling you everything from Mariachi songs to food to merchandise. I was under the impression it would be more of a relaxing boat ride, but it was anything but. You're basically set into a mile-long, narrow canal where vendors have their shot at you for an hour.

My girlfriend and I made the most of it, but it was still a disappointment. The best part was definitely our tour guide, but the locations were not much to see with the way they were presented.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We were lucky as no one showed up on this your so we actually had a private tour it's worth doing the history in this city is amazing and our guide Mildrid was awesome her knowledge is amazing! Worth doing

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic excellent guide Mildred

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved it. For a little extra more, they included me on their tour to La Casa Azul of Frida Kahlo. They also took us first to just pass by the bullfight arena, biggest in the world.... was interesting to see it. Then to the National University of Mexico. But the highlight of the tour for me was the Xochimilco boat ride. When we got there, all of us was given a fresh rose flower. Then on our way to the middle of the waterway. It was quiet first, then all the vendors came out, selling food from boiled corn, to blankets, jewelry. So mayhem, it seemed.... but it was exciting to see all these happening around us. There were mariachis in their uniforms who were ready to serenade us. Even without hiring a mariachi band, we could hear the other mariachi music everywhere, so it seemed like we had them too. Then the food - was ordered on the boat, was cooked beside us on another boat, then served hot .... most delicious tipico comida I ever ate. With the drinks, it was only $150. Nice, I would go on this trip again. Our guide, Paloma, was very considerate, and spoke in both English and Spanish. I was the only English speaking person on the trip, and she made me feel very special, always asking if I was enjoying myself.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour guide was great. More food choices could have been provided. The option of using email to confirm pick up time should be provided as tourists may not be able to find phone to contact the local agent.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The tour was just OK, I think it could have been a lot better. I think I would probably try to do this one on my own next time.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We spent Christmas Day on the canals. Met some amazing people, had lunch, listened to mariachi music as we floated through the canals. Our guide was great. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

he sites included in this tour are well worth visiting, but the interpretive information provided by the guide is minimal. You should be aware that you will be very much on your own, and if this suits you, then you will enjoy the tour. We booked two tours with this company and wound up visiting the same silver shop on both. This part of the day, announced as a "brief stop," extended to well over an hour on each occasion. The pick-up process in the morning also took about 90 minutes on one of our tours, not only in traveling from hotel to hotel to pick up passengers, but because of long wait times and multiple shuttling between vehicles. There was no visit to the National University of Mexico, merely a drive-by with the murals available at a distance. This was due to the late hour of the day and the desire of a group of passengers to be taken to a crafts market instead. The vans themselves have a basic level of comfort but nothing more.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was an excellent way to see many of Mexico City's sites that are not centrally located downtown. The guide, Eduardo, was great and took us by Mexico City's World Trade Center, to the bull fighting ring, to the University of Mexico to view the exterior of the library, by the Azteca Stadium, to the Coyoacan neighborhood, and finally to Xochimilco where we took a boat along the canal. We enjoyed beer and marriachi music during the boat ride.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message