• USD ($)
  • English
Perfumed with flowers and plied by trajineras, a sort of gondola cheerfully painted to reflect the canals' lush beauty, the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco were once the agricultural breadbasket of Mexico City. Today, these last lovely remnants of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We were lucky as no one showed up on this your so we actually had a private tour it's worth doing the history in this city is amazing and our guide Mildrid was awesome her knowledge is amazing! Worth doing

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic excellent guide Mildred

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved it. For a little extra more, they included me on their tour to La Casa Azul of Frida Kahlo. They also took us first to just pass by the bullfight arena, biggest in the world.... was interesting to see it. Then to the National University of Mexico. But the highlight of the tour for me was the Xochimilco boat ride. When we got there, all of us was given a fresh rose flower. Then on our way to the middle of the waterway. It was quiet first, then all the vendors came out, selling food from boiled corn, to blankets, jewelry. So mayhem, it seemed.... but it was exciting to see all these happening around us. There were mariachis in their uniforms who were ready to serenade us. Even without hiring a mariachi band, we could hear the other mariachi music everywhere, so it seemed like we had them too. Then the food - was ordered on the boat, was cooked beside us on another boat, then served hot .... most delicious tipico comida I ever ate. With the drinks, it was only $150. Nice, I would go on this trip again. Our guide, Paloma, was very considerate, and spoke in both English and Spanish. I was the only English speaking person on the trip, and she made me feel very special, always asking if I was enjoying myself.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The tour guide was great. More food choices could have been provided. The option of using email to confirm pick up time should be provided as tourists may not be able to find phone to contact the local agent.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The tour was just OK, I think it could have been a lot better. I think I would probably try to do this one on my own next time.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We spent Christmas Day on the canals. Met some amazing people, had lunch, listened to mariachi music as we floated through the canals. Our guide was great. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

he sites included in this tour are well worth visiting, but the interpretive information provided by the guide is minimal. You should be aware that you will be very much on your own, and if this suits you, then you will enjoy the tour. We booked two tours with this company and wound up visiting the same silver shop on both. This part of the day, announced as a "brief stop," extended to well over an hour on each occasion. The pick-up process in the morning also took about 90 minutes on one of our tours, not only in traveling from hotel to hotel to pick up passengers, but because of long wait times and multiple shuttling between vehicles. There was no visit to the National University of Mexico, merely a drive-by with the murals available at a distance. This was due to the late hour of the day and the desire of a group of passengers to be taken to a crafts market instead. The vans themselves have a basic level of comfort but nothing more.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was an excellent way to see many of Mexico City's sites that are not centrally located downtown. The guide, Eduardo, was great and took us by Mexico City's World Trade Center, to the bull fighting ring, to the University of Mexico to view the exterior of the library, by the Azteca Stadium, to the Coyoacan neighborhood, and finally to Xochimilco where we took a boat along the canal. We enjoyed beer and marriachi music during the boat ride.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

The guide was good, but the tour wasn't very good. Brief stop at the bull fighting ring(5 minutes), the University stop consists of pulling up on both sides of the freeway to take pictures(5 minutes). A stop at a museum that isn't covered in the cost of the tour. And Xochimilco is a tourist trap.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

The boat tour is more of a eat and drink tour while watching other Mexican families and tourist's do the same thing. Not much for the guide to talk about. The interesting thing is all of the vendors on the water selling all kinds of things. The mariachi bands as well are nice.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Very positive review overall. The sights speak for themselves (Coloyoacan, Frida, Xochimilco). You felt safe. The guides were good guys, and informative. Pick-up drop off at your hotel is great. Suggestions: 1) establish and clarify when the group meal will be; 2) Include the Coloyoacan market as part of the tour. Again, glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour - Xochimilco is a must see! I was in Mexico two years ago and didn't manage this tour ,so delighted I got to see it this time.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

I really liked Xochimlco and the ride along the canal, and I think would have preferred more time out on the water than driving around the University. Too much driving on this tour.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2012

Our guide made it very boring. Everyone was alseep by da end of the first half of the trip. Should have been a better experiance.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message