Perfumed with flowers and plied by trajineras, a sort of gondola cheerfully painted to reflect the canals' lush beauty, the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco were once the agricultural breadbasket of Mexico City. Today, these last lovely remnants of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thelma Alicia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

my family and I really enjoyed this experience it was truly more then we expected. The tour guy was very knowledge and very fun. I truly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Cathryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, LouLou. It was truely a perfect day. Frida Kahlo in am and then lunch and afternoon at Xochimilco.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

samgabe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my second time to Xochimilco but my first to Coyoacan and Frida's. The experience of the floating gardens is not to be missed. Sandra was a great guide.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Elia R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We liked the tour. We were quite upset that we waited one and one half hours at the meeting place before all the people in the group arrived. We very much liked our guide and driver, but the company's organization was not good.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Kristina R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide was perfect. However, it seemed a bit rushed. Honestly, would have loved more time at the xochimilco market. And the university really wasn and #39;t needed since all we did was look at it from afar. But again, she was great!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

bobsonera

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgable about the area. Taking the Metro and Tren Ligero to Xochimilco is very easy, from there it's a short cab ride to the barges. Once on board our guide explained the history of Xochimilco and how this was Mexico 500 years ago. Barges with mariachis, food and beverages pass by afterwards we went through the local market, on land.

Doing what: Xochimilco Boat Ride and Cultural Tour

Jen M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Firstly we were the first pick up at 7:40am in Coyoacan and spent approx 1 hour or more on the bus to downtown Mex City to get on another to come right back to only a few streets from where we are staying.
The pick guys said our tour would start in Xochimilco so that made sense at the time but when we got to the Amigo tours bus and met the Guide he said it started in Coyoacan, this was very frustration and a big time waster for us, surely we could have met the group in Coyoacan???

Then there was the guide, Antonio. He did not give much information at all. We stood out the front of the church he mentioned a few things, mostly in Spanish and just told us to go in, he didn and #39;t come with and explain anything. Once we finished in the church and met him back outside he said you have 10 mins, go and look around..... Gave very minimal info on the towns name and said there is a coyotes statue over there if you go for a walk.

On the way to Fridas Museum we stopped and he pointed out the markets and said we would go in there. That didn and #39;t happen.
Once at Fridas museum he just ushered us in and left us to work it all out ourselves. No warning that no backpacks could go in, or no water, or that you have to pay to take photos or that you can pay for a guided tour. This had us more than frustrated but we carried on.

Antonio was mostly speaking in Spanish, if it wasn and #39;t for 2 guys from New Mexico who helped us out we would have had no idea what was said etc throughout the day. He didn and #39;t seem like he wanted to be there and was very vague. His English was only just understandable.

After a challenging morning We did enjoy Xochimilco though again only Spanish was spoken most of time and the 2 guys had to translate for us.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Michelle L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

I really enjoyed the visit to Frida Kahlo's house, where we were on our own. However the visit of Coyoacan was very short and very little information was provided. I happened to stay for 2 days in the area the week before and had walked around the beautiful streets of Coyoacan. Unfortunately, no one else on the tour left with that knowledge after our brief stop at the church and the main square of Coyoacan. The guide was not very knowledgeable.
the visit to Xochimilco was not at all what I had expected and so commercial, every other boat trying to see you food, or music or junk. Really not the greatest and far from the centre of Mexico. 2.5 hours on the bus to get back.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Nykkiesha S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The guides were not the best. The male guide was very rude and inappropriate. The other guide would start giving explanations once we passed attractions or before the entire group arrived. The tour felt rushed and would have been better with more free time. Money would be better spent using Turibus

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Elizabeth N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This tour was nothing like what was advertised. We stopped at a jewelry store first? Why?? Then we went to the Frida Kahlo museum which really messed up our plans because we had intended to go to the museum and market the next day -- it's also in the opposite direction of Xochimilco. We finally got to Xochimilco and were only on the boat for an hour and literally spent 5 minutes at the National University of Mexico. Frida/Xochimilco is another tour that I did NOT register for -- I don't know why were taken to all of these extra places at the expense of the original itinerary. We spent most of our time in the van. Had I know what we were in for, I would've booked with another group. We wanted to spend more time on the boat and actually do a tour of the University. Not worth it.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Jose Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Incredible amount of wasted time waiting before starting the Tour. Tour guide barely spoke English and his knowledge of the different places visited was minimal.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Melanie B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

the tour guide was extremely unorganized. We were not given enough time to see the Frida museum only 1 hour on a busy Saturday and we weren't given time to shop in Cuocan. We were given over an hour to shop at the cheap, tacky, tourist boat ride shops. I went on this tour to experience Frida. Terrible organizaion!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Judith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

All extremely interesting - well worth doing. Our guide Alex was very knowleable, spoke excellent English, and very personable.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Karla M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Simply amazing! very well planned and organize. Our tour guide was the best, he was very well educated with the history, spoke both english and spanish. Our guide counted the group about every 10 minutes making sure no one was left behind. Thank you for this! It was our first time visiting these places and could not be more thankful to our guide for being so informative, fun and friendly.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Richard J

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Enoyed seeing both Coyoacan and Xochimilco, but had been told it was an English tour and it wasn't. It was bilingual, but there seemed to be much more Spanish than English.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Matthew K

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

NOT ON A SUNDAY.

The tour was a good experience. We liked the town square we visited in the morning. It had a nice, small town feel just outside of the city. Being able to bypass the line was a big plus.

Negatives: 1 The group was too big. Any time you have a big group on a tour, you lose a good chunk of your day waiting for people to be wrangled up and so forth. 2 Xochimilco is horribly overcrowded on a Sunday. So much so that the boats don't even have room to move. It's the day that all the locals have off work, so they go there. It would probably be great on a weekday or possibly even a Saturday, but not Sunday.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Gabriel N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Horrible. Waited forever as others were late. Secondly, I booked a tour that didn and #39;t include Frida Kahlo as the tour was too long. Though, when we arrived, we were told they were going to and #34;throw it in and #34; though we and #39;d have to pay for our tickets. You and #39;re not doing me a favor if you and #39;re just wasting my time

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Lurelia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A dream come true. An informative spin thru Coyoacan and on to Frida and Diego's house. Just not standing in line for the tickets was worth it. The boat tour with Mariachis in Xochimilco was a perfect complement to a fabulous day. The Nationa lMuseum was great too. A full day-Don't miss this one...great bang for the buck. Another one off the bucket list. Thanks again!!1

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Cory H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was fantastic! Our guide, Sandra, was amazing and informative. Coyoacan is lovely and the Frida Kahlo museum fascinating. A quick fiesta at Xochimilco was a wonderful way to end the day! Highly recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Gary Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved it. Everything went well and especially liked the walking tour of Coyoacan and the visit to the Frida Kahlo home and museum. We lunched at the market with the guide's assistance--a neat experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Xochimilco was fun. This is a must for art lovers.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

rebollo13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great guide, very nice person we will be go back again for another tours.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Johanna d

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

IT CERTAINLY WAS VALUE FOR MONEY. LONG DAY OUT AND ABOUT EXPLORING. GREAT GUIDE, GREAT SIGHTS! MY ONLY ISSUE : 'TOILET STOPS'....NOT ENOUGH AND BRING ALONG SOME SANITIZER WIPES!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message