Perfumed with flowers and plied by trajineras, a sort of gondola cheerfully painted to reflect the canals' lush beauty, the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco were once the agricultural breadbasket of Mexico City. Today, these last lovely remnants of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 106 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

All extremely interesting - well worth doing. Our guide Alex was very knowleable, spoke excellent English, and very personable.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Karla M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Simply amazing! very well planned and organize. Our tour guide was the best, he was very well educated with the history, spoke both english and spanish. Our guide counted the group about every 10 minutes making sure no one was left behind. Thank you for this! It was our first time visiting these places and could not be more thankful to our guide for being so informative, fun and friendly.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Richard J

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Enoyed seeing both Coyoacan and Xochimilco, but had been told it was an English tour and it wasn't. It was bilingual, but there seemed to be much more Spanish than English.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Matthew K

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

NOT ON A SUNDAY.

The tour was a good experience. We liked the town square we visited in the morning. It had a nice, small town feel just outside of the city. Being able to bypass the line was a big plus.

Negatives: 1 The group was too big. Any time you have a big group on a tour, you lose a good chunk of your day waiting for people to be wrangled up and so forth. 2 Xochimilco is horribly overcrowded on a Sunday. So much so that the boats don't even have room to move. It's the day that all the locals have off work, so they go there. It would probably be great on a weekday or possibly even a Saturday, but not Sunday.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Gabriel N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Horrible. Waited forever as others were late. Secondly, I booked a tour that didn and #39;t include Frida Kahlo as the tour was too long. Though, when we arrived, we were told they were going to and #34;throw it in and #34; though we and #39;d have to pay for our tickets. You and #39;re not doing me a favor if you and #39;re just wasting my time

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Lurelia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A dream come true. An informative spin thru Coyoacan and on to Frida and Diego's house. Just not standing in line for the tickets was worth it. The boat tour with Mariachis in Xochimilco was a perfect complement to a fabulous day. The Nationa lMuseum was great too. A full day-Don't miss this one...great bang for the buck. Another one off the bucket list. Thanks again!!1

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Cory H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was fantastic! Our guide, Sandra, was amazing and informative. Coyoacan is lovely and the Frida Kahlo museum fascinating. A quick fiesta at Xochimilco was a wonderful way to end the day! Highly recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Gary Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved it. Everything went well and especially liked the walking tour of Coyoacan and the visit to the Frida Kahlo home and museum. We lunched at the market with the guide's assistance--a neat experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Xochimilco was fun. This is a must for art lovers.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

rebollo13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great guide, very nice person we will be go back again for another tours.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Johanna d

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

IT CERTAINLY WAS VALUE FOR MONEY. LONG DAY OUT AND ABOUT EXPLORING. GREAT GUIDE, GREAT SIGHTS! MY ONLY ISSUE : 'TOILET STOPS'....NOT ENOUGH AND BRING ALONG SOME SANITIZER WIPES!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Cecilia C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

La descripción del tour incluía la visita a la universidad para ver los murales de Diego Rivera, solo paramos un minuto en la avenida afuera de la universidad y el guía dijo pueden bajar y tomar fotos desde aquí. El guía de Amigo Tours del cual no recuerdo el nombre no sabía mucho, no explicaba bien y no pudo responder a las preguntas. Su inglés era terrible, no creo que los pocos que solo hablaban inglés pudieron entender algo. Tuvimos que dejar de lado la explicación y solo disfrutar de los bellos lugares. En otro paseo con la misma agencia nos toco un guía llamado Alejandro quien si fue profesional en su explicación.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Teresa B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Although this looks like a good deal,,I think we missed out in really enjoying Xochimilco because the visit was so short.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Carol P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Unfortunately we were the first bus pick up at 7 am and spent the next 2 and a half hours collecting others from their hotels. It was a horrible start.
The tour once we got going was good.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Carol P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

2 1/2 hours of pick ups was unacceptable!
The tour was good but our guide was not enthusiastic and gave limited information

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Debra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent introduction to the city! It was nice being in a smallish group. We had a blast on the boats!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Sylvester S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful tour, Xochimilco was beautiful! Great tour , our guide was awesome.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Jessica D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a great experience in Mexico City. You start the day learning about the culture at the National University and go on an authentic 'trajinera'. We ended the day at the casa azul or the blue house of Frida Khalo. Overall our guide Alex was incredibly knowledgable and helpful the entire day.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Kristina S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Gave me a chance to experience a part of Mexico City that I probably would not have seen otherwise, the guide was helpful and had a lot of knowledge and was enthusiastic.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Donald L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The trip was very good . We enjoyed all the new things we learned about and particularly the Frida Kahlo museum. Well,organized and very enjoyable.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Barbara R

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Loved Frida Kahlo's Museum..would have like to visit Trotsky's....unfortunately because of the traffic and travelling times we had too little time at the main places of interest

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Mark M

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The Kahlo museum was fantastic, the rest of the trip was so so. Too much driving to places that weren't that great.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Tulum_Coba

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It was an average tour. Lots of time spent crawling in traffic. One passenger at Xochi had an oar from a neighboring boat come down on her head. At the time, we did not know what the extent of the injury was. However, such injuries should always be taken seriously because of the possibility of concussion. There seemed to be no awareness of this on the part of the tour guide!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Selenia M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

- Wasted time going to a church that was not on the itinerary
- Were told to leave water in bus but walked around a lot in really warm weather
- Time given at Frida Kahlo's house was REALLY short

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

rosama11

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The tour was not amazing as how I thought that it would be. It was honestly so disorganized, the method that they pick everyone up. They should have rules and regulations for people that arrive late. I will not be buying another tour front his company. Others and myself left through out the tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message