Insider's Guide to Mexico City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Perfumed with flowers and plied by trajineras, a sort of gondola cheerfully painted to reflect the canals' lush beauty, the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco were once the agricultural breadbasket of Mexico City. Today, these last lovely remnants of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Douwe A B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good to see it all in the few days we had. A long day but very interesting.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Mark K United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

For this tour I recommend they forego the tour of the university. It was a lot of walking just to see a field and point out a few buildings. It may be the oldest university in North America but the buildings are circa 1970s. If you want history, you will not get it here. In contrast, the watersays at Xochimilco was fun and full of history. Lots of marimba, mariachis, and food vendors in other trajineras. Quite festive. Not enough time allowed in Coyoacán. In retrospect, I would have rather explored the wealthy-appearing city rather than what turned out to be the depressing life and times of the Frida Kahlo Museum. Been there, done that now. Our guide was nice, pleasant, but needed more sleep. He yawned just as much as he talked and took selfies and was texting them and then told us how much of a tip we should give to him and our driver.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Lorraine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A fun tour. Abner was awesome -- learned so much. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Craig T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Not sure if I ended up on the right tour, did see and enjoy Xochimilco but didn and #39;t see any of the university.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Aline S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A highlight of our stay in Mexico City, this full day tour included a visit to Frida Kahlo's home Casa Azul wonderful to bypass the long queue at entrance a walk around the University and its murals, and then a fun boat ride on colourful junks which banged into each other, and where freshly made fajitas and tacos were served. Our guide was laid back and spoke excellent English. We also had time to tour a great little market. An excellent trip, highly recommend.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

cleverfelixis

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Was a nice experience. Only we had to walk more than a mile to get to Coyoacan Plaza. We could have been dropped off. Reason, I don't know why we walked. Then walked again to the Kahlo's museum.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

SANJIV G USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

One of the worst tours. While the sites were all fantastic we got stuck with a group that had absolutely no concept of time. There were multiple delays because people would just keep disappearing and the poor guide was left trying to find them.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

jesse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lovely day tour guide was so nice she was the best!!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Sarah D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We had a lovely day. The guide was brilliant. I would have given the trip five stars, however there was not enough time to really enjoy the Blue House, as we were only allocated 40 minutes. It wasn't a problem as we then knew where the house was located and we went back the following day and spent 3 hours there.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Gabriela E

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was fantastic. Walking through the City of Coayacan a great experience. The Frida Khalo museum is also great to see. We could and #39;ve used more time there, but heading to Xochimilco made up for it.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Hans Guenter B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Driver, tour guide and us 2. There was plenty of time for everything to see. Tour guide was friendly, humorous
and very knowledgeable. We did like him a lot.
Thank you....

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Jose C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Los guias no tenían dominio de grupo. Cada quien iba por su lado, la gente se perdía y se perdía mucho tiempo. El conocimiento de los guías no era bueno. No explicaban nada de historia. Buenas personas, amables pero en general, bastante regular.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

World Traveler USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a nice outing for the day. The highlight was definitely the Frida Kalho Museum. Lunch in Xochimilco was great and fun experience.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Coyoacan is a cute little town and the Frida Kahlo Museum was our favorite part of the tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Xochimilco was cool, cruised down the river and listened to some mariachi.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Melinda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was great. Very charming and knowledgeable tour guide, interesting info, very accommodating. Would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Nir B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was nice. Too long in the trafic but overall wort it/

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Yelena G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The tour is Okay, but we spend in traffic 3/4 time of the tour, didn't get too much information, though the tour guide was nice and tried to please us. The only worth to take part of the tour was Frida Kahlo museum though we didn't have enough time for it. The boat ride was not bad but didn't add much to the tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Genevieve J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

While our guide was very enthusiastic and really nice, he did not speak English which we had requested. It made asking questions and really understanding the history and culture of the places we visited very difficult - we could have saved the money and gone by ourselves.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

S Bina Rai S Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a fantasti day out with the tour company. Our guide Abner was so good and friendly and thank you for making the day just amazing. I was a bit doubtful about visiting Fida Kahlo museum but it was a perfect start to the day. Just read up about Frida Kalo before you go as I was blur about her and learnt at the museum.
Evening at the canals was a perfect ending to the day.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Chattie K B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

While it was difficult to see some of the shared items and I thought we would spend more time on the actual campus of the University we stopped on the highway for photos since our focus and desire was to see Xochimilco, that was excellent.
Our guide, Francisco was fabulous and went above and beyond to make sure we saw and understood more about various areas of Mexico City than we had expected. Turned out quite well. I think a focused comida time slot would have helped but we carried snacks so we were okay.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

murielrosenfeld

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

great architecture, tourist boat ride

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message