Perfumed with flowers and plied by trajineras, a sort of gondola cheerfully painted to reflect the canals' lush beauty, the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco were once the agricultural breadbasket of Mexico City. Today, these last lovely remnants of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lurelia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A dream come true. An informative spin thru Coyoacan and on to Frida and Diego's house. Just not standing in line for the tickets was worth it. The boat tour with Mariachis in Xochimilco was a perfect complement to a fabulous day. The Nationa lMuseum was great too. A full day-Don't miss this one...great bang for the buck. Another one off the bucket list. Thanks again!!1

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Cory H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was fantastic! Our guide, Sandra, was amazing and informative. Coyoacan is lovely and the Frida Kahlo museum fascinating. A quick fiesta at Xochimilco was a wonderful way to end the day! Highly recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Gary Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved it. Everything went well and especially liked the walking tour of Coyoacan and the visit to the Frida Kahlo home and museum. We lunched at the market with the guide's assistance--a neat experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Xochimilco was fun. This is a must for art lovers.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

rebollo13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great guide, very nice person we will be go back again for another tours.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Johanna d

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

IT CERTAINLY WAS VALUE FOR MONEY. LONG DAY OUT AND ABOUT EXPLORING. GREAT GUIDE, GREAT SIGHTS! MY ONLY ISSUE : 'TOILET STOPS'....NOT ENOUGH AND BRING ALONG SOME SANITIZER WIPES!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Cecilia C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

La descripción del tour incluía la visita a la universidad para ver los murales de Diego Rivera, solo paramos un minuto en la avenida afuera de la universidad y el guía dijo pueden bajar y tomar fotos desde aquí. El guía de Amigo Tours del cual no recuerdo el nombre no sabía mucho, no explicaba bien y no pudo responder a las preguntas. Su inglés era terrible, no creo que los pocos que solo hablaban inglés pudieron entender algo. Tuvimos que dejar de lado la explicación y solo disfrutar de los bellos lugares. En otro paseo con la misma agencia nos toco un guía llamado Alejandro quien si fue profesional en su explicación.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Teresa B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Although this looks like a good deal,,I think we missed out in really enjoying Xochimilco because the visit was so short.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Debra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent introduction to the city! It was nice being in a smallish group. We had a blast on the boats!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Sylvester S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful tour, Xochimilco was beautiful! Great tour , our guide was awesome.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Jessica D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a great experience in Mexico City. You start the day learning about the culture at the National University and go on an authentic 'trajinera'. We ended the day at the casa azul or the blue house of Frida Khalo. Overall our guide Alex was incredibly knowledgable and helpful the entire day.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Kristina S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Gave me a chance to experience a part of Mexico City that I probably would not have seen otherwise, the guide was helpful and had a lot of knowledge and was enthusiastic.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Donald L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The trip was very good . We enjoyed all the new things we learned about and particularly the Frida Kahlo museum. Well,organized and very enjoyable.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Barbara R

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Loved Frida Kahlo's Museum..would have like to visit Trotsky's....unfortunately because of the traffic and travelling times we had too little time at the main places of interest

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Mark M

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The Kahlo museum was fantastic, the rest of the trip was so so. Too much driving to places that weren't that great.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Tulum_Coba

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It was an average tour. Lots of time spent crawling in traffic. One passenger at Xochi had an oar from a neighboring boat come down on her head. At the time, we did not know what the extent of the injury was. However, such injuries should always be taken seriously because of the possibility of concussion. There seemed to be no awareness of this on the part of the tour guide!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Selenia M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

- Wasted time going to a church that was not on the itinerary
- Were told to leave water in bus but walked around a lot in really warm weather
- Time given at Frida Kahlo's house was REALLY short

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

rosama11

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The tour was not amazing as how I thought that it would be. It was honestly so disorganized, the method that they pick everyone up. They should have rules and regulations for people that arrive late. I will not be buying another tour front his company. Others and myself left through out the tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Lilia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide was amazing! The only downside was that they were an hour late so we were rushed and we missed seeing some stuff at the Casa Azul.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Douwe A B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good to see it all in the few days we had. A long day but very interesting.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Mark K United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

For this tour I recommend they forego the tour of the university. It was a lot of walking just to see a field and point out a few buildings. It may be the oldest university in North America but the buildings are circa 1970s. If you want history, you will not get it here. In contrast, the watersays at Xochimilco was fun and full of history. Lots of marimba, mariachis, and food vendors in other trajineras. Quite festive. Not enough time allowed in Coyoacán. In retrospect, I would have rather explored the wealthy-appearing city rather than what turned out to be the depressing life and times of the Frida Kahlo Museum. Been there, done that now. Our guide was nice, pleasant, but needed more sleep. He yawned just as much as he talked and took selfies and was texting them and then told us how much of a tip we should give to him and our driver.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Lorraine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A fun tour. Abner was awesome -- learned so much. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Craig T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Not sure if I ended up on the right tour, did see and enjoy Xochimilco but didn and #39;t see any of the university.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Aline S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A highlight of our stay in Mexico City, this full day tour included a visit to Frida Kahlo's home Casa Azul wonderful to bypass the long queue at entrance a walk around the University and its murals, and then a fun boat ride on colourful junks which banged into each other, and where freshly made fajitas and tacos were served. Our guide was laid back and spoke excellent English. We also had time to tour a great little market. An excellent trip, highly recommend.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message