Insider's Guide to Mexico City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Vast Mexico City is a metropolis of epic proportions, a densely populated valley of broad, shady boulevards, vast and crowded markets, skyscraper-studded business districts, and quiet Spanish Colonial neighborhoods. Though this maze can seem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide Tony was very knowledgeable and his background information made visiting the sites ore meaningful. The pyramids are amazing and this tour is a must for anyone visiting Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

colejos

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Well, who would go all the way to Mexico City and not set out to see Teotihuacan? What an amazing experience....when you finally get there. If you're looking for a day trip with your travel partners to see the pyramids, you're better off splitting a taxi or hiring a private guide. Getting the lunch inclusive package? EAT A HUGE BREAKFAST! Three hours of unnecessary silver shopping and cactus farm tours stand between you and the beautiful pyramids before you ever see a restaurant. Looking for that comfortable experience from your hotel in the city to the rural pyramids? Perhaps you can ride in this tied-down jump seat for hours, like one poor guest was forced to do. They didn't cap the number of guests to safely accommodate everyone in the transportation. I felt really bad for the guy. With all of that said, they get two stars for the shopping nonsense and the unsafe transportation, but there really is no cheaper way to see the pyramids with a bonus stop at Guadalupe. I would love to return to both places without my ill-informed tour guide asking me to drink with him every thirty minutes. Really, dude? The Mexico City Olympics were in 1962? Shouldn't a tour guide know they were in '68?

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

lakdawalashaival

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Cannot miss this if you visit Mexico City. The tour was well planned and there was enough time to scale the pyramids and take plenty of pictures.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is a must do on your trip to Mexico city! The tour starts with a pickup from the hotel and you get on a tour van which picks up other passengers at other hotels. As the tour starts, you get to visit a few more sites on the way, including the ruins in the city, old church and a stop at a jeweler. The trip continues on it's way to the pyramids which are just outside the city. The ride had some traffic but it was interesting to see the city as we drove out.

Our tour included a lunch which was great and right after you hit up the pyramid site. Once at the site, you get a tour of the different areas and some insights into all that was discovered. Make sure you bring water and some good shoes as the climbs can be steep and tiring. There is no shade so you should bring some sunscreen as well. It was a great experience overall!

Also note that there are little shops there that sell hats, sombreros and other items for really cheap compared to the city. So bring some cash with you!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

cute

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Interesting food tour. Worth doing. The tour guide was friendly and attentive. I quickly learned a lot about Mexican food and local culture. Some of the food we tasted was tasty some was so-so. But isn't trying new things the fun of traveling? I did the tour on the second day of my trip, and I see it as a great start for my 9-day trip in Mexico City. For the price, the quality of food and the tour was adequate. Recommend.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

mrmblaze

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It would be great to recommend ear plugs for people who struggle with very loud venues.
Although it said that we needed to confirm our trip when we got to Mexico City, it was impossible to do so.

Doing what: Mexican Wrestling: Experience Lucha Libre in Mexico City

MIchael F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The tour was average only. The guide was excellent, the van was excellent, the first rest stop at the convenient store was excellent. Now the bad part. The tour was needlessly long - could have been cut by two hours. The length was due to the stop at the tourist trap after the visit to the pyramids. We were hustled into a no escape tourist trap with over-priced goods and food. If the tour operator had simply kept the tour limited to a review of the pyramids and then taken us directly back to Mexico City, I would have rated this a 5 star event. I regret leaving the tour with the feeling that I had been hustled.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Jonathan S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

I was not happy with my experience because
1.        When we finally found the hotel where we were supposed to pick up our tickets for the tour a good ten minute walk from the Zocalo bus station we were told to return to the bus stop to get tickets
2.        I was then told that the ticket was good on Capital bus and not Turibus. The two companies have rather different routes.
3.        I also discovered that the price I had paid on line for a ticket was around 3x the price of a ticket bought directly at the bus stop.
Otherwise I had a great day Mexico City is a fascinating city

Doing what: Mexico City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Veronika U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great opportunity to explore Mexico City center and Teotihuacán Pyramids

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

Clayton R L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I highly recommend this tour to anyone who will be visiting Mexico City. The pyramid of the sun was visually stunning. This is easily the most impressive site of its kind in Mexico and I rate it ahead of even the venerable Chichen Itza. I lived in Merida in the past and have been to Chichen, Coba and Tulum to name just a few and I can say that Teotihuacan is the most impressive.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Kerry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great day out of Mexico City. Early start but worth it to see Teoihuacan. Alejandro was a fantastic guide, knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Erin

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great day trip from Mexico City. Leaving early is key here because the site can get really crowded during the day. The pyramids are amazing and the guide had a lot of knowledge. We chose an English speaking tour but there were a bunch of Spanish speakers on the tour so the tour guide spoke in English and Spanish and it was a little cumbersome. After the pyramids they take you to a small village to learn about traditional jade/textile/alcohol making. It's interesting but it's all about selling you stuff so it got a little tiring. Pick up and drop off were a breeze.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Aline S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A highlight of our stay in Mexico City, this full day tour included a visit to Frida Kahlo's home Casa Azul wonderful to bypass the long queue at entrance a walk around the University and its murals, and then a fun boat ride on colourful junks which banged into each other, and where freshly made fajitas and tacos were served. Our guide was laid back and spoke excellent English. We also had time to tour a great little market. An excellent trip, highly recommend.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a must see if traveling to Mexico City. My tour guide was excellent and I learned a lot about the history of Mexico. I had ample time to clime to the top of the Sun Pyramid. The Shrine of Guadalupe was also good because it was on a Sunday and I saw presentations by the local people.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

William G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was excellent from start to finish.
The hotel pick up was punctual. The trip from Mexico City to Teotihuacan was brief and a bit bumpy. If you enjoy a bumpy ride, sit towards the back of the minibus.
The early morning tour is very clear of people. We were among the very few and it felt like a private tour of Teotihuacan.
Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable, patient, and polite. The climb up the Sun Pyramid was intense but fun! Take your time climbing up those steep steps, you're given 40 minutes to ascend, enjoy and descend the Sun Pyramid. A slow ascent can take up to 10 minutes, so 40 minutes isn't bad at all. There were old people from other tour groups that made it to the top.
The Moon Pyramid was a less intense climb.
This tour did not feel rushed or boring at any moment. Very well paced and informative.
Beware of the hordes of peddlers trying to sell you junk. Some of them might have nice things that some people might find interesting. They'll respectfully turn away to a single no thank you or no gracias.

After the Teotihuacan tour, we went to the tequila and mezcal tasting tour which was very interesting and fun. It was one of the highlights of the overall tour.
From there was lunch, which was quite delicious especially the Aztec soup.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Hayden B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall, I'm glad we took a tour to see Teotihuacan rather than hiring a driver and walking the site ourselves. The guide was informative and the bus was clean and comfortable all at an affordable price. After touring the site we were subjected to the this is how we make rugs, this is how we make tequila, this is how we make stone trinkets pitch followed by the hard-sell to buy all of the mentioned though not in an offensive way.

My one issue was the coordination of our pick-up. When we called the contracted tour agency we were told they would call us back by the end of the day to confirm our pick up. They never called but I checked my email to find their communication and our pick up time. We were picked up at 5:30am and, as the first people on the bus, had to criss-cross Mexico City for another 1.5 hours picking everyone else up.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Jim Mc

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great full-day trip that delivered as promised. Included some ruins located within Mexico City as well as the main stop at the pyramids. The two shopping stops seemed a bit staged and set up for tour guide commission, but few if any people on our tour made any purchases. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Patrick D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great tour, and Leonardo was a fantastic guide. I'd recommend this early-morning, half-day tour to anyone visiting Mexico City who wants to visit the site. We were there before the crowds, and got an understanding of the history of the city, the culture, and several demonstrations how the pigments were derived to paint the pyramids, how a cactus to be broken down into liquor, parchment, even a needle and thread that we wouldn't have gotten on our own.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

sheila k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Frida Kahlo Museum is a must see in Mexico City and our guide Umberto was a fund of information about Frida, her life and times. The Coyoacan part of the tour was a mixture of drive-by and walking around a fascinating district, quite different from anything else in Mexico City with an opportunity to see the artists of today plying for business in a tree shaded square. The traffic back to downtown was horrendous but that's Mexico City.

Doing what: Coyoacán and Xochimilco including Frida Kahlo Museum

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A wonderful tour, guide was charming, helpful and willing to answer many varied questions about Mexico City. Frida Kahlo museum exceeded expectations - well worth the trip, but a little crowded. Saw a wedding in Coyoacan and enjoyed the market in San Angel - it was the last day of our holiday - made an excellent end to the trip.

Doing what: Coyoacán and Xochimilco including Frida Kahlo Museum

Hannah N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

I cannot really say much about the tour because I was not able to go on it. I had a hotel right next to the pyramids but the tour said that I had to be in Mexico City to be picked up in order to go. I told them I was not sure if I could get there on time and I didn't but they said I had to go to Mexico City still to be picked up even when I suggested I could meet them at the front entrance of the pyramids. If you want to go on the tour, make sure you have a hotel in Mexico City preferably one, or a hotel really close, that is on the suggestion list.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Chattie K B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

While it was difficult to see some of the shared items and I thought we would spend more time on the actual campus of the University we stopped on the highway for photos since our focus and desire was to see Xochimilco, that was excellent.
Our guide, Francisco was fabulous and went above and beyond to make sure we saw and understood more about various areas of Mexico City than we had expected. Turned out quite well. I think a focused comida time slot would have helped but we carried snacks so we were okay.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Carrie M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Overall wonderful trip and I highly recommend the early morning start. The weather was cool, seeing light come onto the sight and the quietness made for an impressive experience. The Amigo Tour staff were punctual, professional and knowledgeable. I will book with them again the next time I'm in Mexico City.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

S Bina Rai S Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

I booked 2 trips in Mexico city through viator and both were executed through different travel agencies. This tour was on my second day there. Its great day out to the pyramids and definitely somehting you must see shile in Mexico. However I cannot help but compare the guide with that we got the day before from the other agency. Both were good but I think Abner from Amogo tours was just so good and helpful and friendly .
Our guide tried to discurage us from climbing both the sun and the moon pyramids but I did it anyway. Definitely a worthy trip and a must see if you are in Mexico.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Rebecca h

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The tour itself was great-.loved the Xochimilco boat ride and Frida Karlo's museum- both a must see while in Mexico City. The vehicle was good- clean and well maintained with aircon. The guide and driver were lovely took the time to translate into English for me as I ended up on a Spanish speaking trip. Two things that should be noted: 1 It is easy to get to all of the locations we visited on either the Metro system or Turibus, if you are looking to save some money 2 There is a fair bit of wasted time doing hotel pickups/drop offs, sitting in traffic, and visiting gift shops where the guides obviously get a kickback if their passengers buy things almost an hour at a silverware shop in the middle of nowhere for my group!!.
All in all it was worth it but do your research to make sure it is the right option for you.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message