Vast Mexico City is a metropolis of epic proportions, a densely populated valley of broad, shady boulevards, vast and crowded markets, skyscraper-studded business districts, and quiet Spanish Colonial neighborhoods. Though this maze can seem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 178 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome night out in down town Mexico City. Leon our guide was very vibrant and excitable, has a lot of knowledge and makes sure everyone is having a great time.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

tomarangel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kind of like the Eifel Tower of Paris--I think it's a must if you are visiting Mexico City. I would also encourage doing it with a guide versus on your own giving the rich historical context they can provide. Leonardo was wonderful.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Thelma Alicia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

First time to Mexico City and we could not leave out this experience since me and my family are lucha libre fans. it was an unforgettable experience that my family will always remember.

Doing what: Mexican Wrestling: Experience Lucha Libre in Mexico City

Abrian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very interesting to learn about the history of Mexico City as well as see the beautiful sights of Teotihacan. Our guide Lejia was amazing. She was very knowledgeable and personable and went above and beyond just guiding us. I felt personal service and very comfortable in an unknown place and all of my curious questions were answered above and beyond. Do yourself a favor and check this tour out and any others you possibly can!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Elizabeth N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour -- we did it on our first day in Mexico City. Wear sunscreen! Our guide was so sweet and the lunch place and market stopped at afterwards is very touristy and may not be as legitimate as they say, but is still really fun. They also dropped us off back at our air bnb, even though it's not a listed hotel. Thanks!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Cindy A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

One of the highlights of our visit to Mexico City. We were picked up from our hotel on time and, on the way to the site, even had the opportunity to stop at a convenience store for those who needed to purchase a drink or food or use the restroom. Our guide spoke in both English and Spanish and offered very interesting commentary on the history of the pyramids. He was very willing to answer questions and was positive and professional at all times. After the tour, we were taken to a site to taste various liquors, but the purpose was really just to make money for the people at that site. It was interesting to see the weaving loom and the beautiful artifacts, but they were very expensive, which the employees were quick to tell us could be purchased with our credit card. The buffet lunch was reasonable and good and the people who danced and offered to pose with us in pictures for a tip were good. The pyramids were great - the other commercial piece not so much.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Jeremiah M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide Ligia with Amigo tours was very excellent. She was was energetic, informative and friendly. She gave the tour in English and Spanish and was happy to dive in to any topic as we walked about the grounds. The pyramids are not to be missed and by arriving early it was quiet so we got to take photos without many people in the background. The process for being picked up was a little complicated and myself and another couple did not receive instructions that the meet up place was moved, so we were waiting for some time. I suspect this is because Viator and the tour operators systems are not completely aligned and due to late bookings, so make sure you double check directly with the operator if you book less than 24 hours ahead. The phone lines have English speaking operators if needed, After the pyramids we stopped for a buffet lunch and to taste some Tequilla with an opportunity to buy some goods. A common tactic across the world, the free drink puts you in mind to buy many of the crafts on offer, but be warned the price of goods was actually considerably more than in Mexico City or at the gift shop in the Anthropological Museum so I took a pass. But overall a very enjoyable trip with an excellent guide.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

robbo1961

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our tour started early making rounds in Mexico City to pick up all participants. the company did use two other mini vans to pick up people and then meet at a central location to increase efficiency. On the way out we did stop at a roadside stop to get coffee and light breakfasts which was nice.
We did get to the Pyramids early enough to beat all the Sunday crowds and really learn about them with Leonardo our guide. Leonardo was fluent in Spanish and English and was a wealth of knowledge. The ruins were great, you do have plenty of time to see them all and to climb the Sun Temple. After the tour we went to a local artisan village and restaurant to see locally made textiles, rock creations and tequila/mescal. The people were low pressure and we did get some shots of tequila to have a nice experience. Lunch was reasonable, either buffet or a-la-carte. The drive back into Mexico City was a little slow due to traffic, but most people just slept anyway. Good value for the money so I would have to recommend this trip and tour company. Well done.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Brian M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour of pyramids site. Excellent guide. Lunch and gift shop experience rather disappointing.
Transport logistics poor. 6a.m pick up from hotel - we were first - but did not leave Mexico City center until after 8a.m. Return drop offs disorganised and slow too.
Would definitely highly recommend tour and visit to pyramids but transport needs to be drastically improved.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Eldon H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE. Viator's representative in Mexico City - Amigo Tours - failed to pick me up for the tour. I was confirmed by email for a 6:30AM Hotel pick up and waited from 6:15am to after 7:30am. When I called, it was too late to be picked up. VERY disappointing. After some research, I have since learned that others have had problems with Viator/Amigo Tours in Mexico City.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Sara M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This was actually the second time I did this tour. The first time was amazing. However, this time, it was horrible. I took my whole family for this tour so it was even more of a disappointment that it fell short. There were so many little things that made this tour the way it was. Firstly, we saw about half the amount of the sites as I previously had. At the three cultures center, we did not walk around the pyramid ruins, at the Basilica, we did not go to the original church nor was it even mentioned, and finally at Teotihuacan, we did not go to the museum at the site. All of these things we had done on my previous tour. Next, we went to more touristic shops. At one of these shops, they charged me extra because I split tenders, and then swindled my mom out of 5 by confusing her with exchange rates. I didn't notice either until we had left, but it was sad that this was the only place that did this the entire time we were in Mexico City, and it was on a tour! The expensive lunch was mediocre and drinks were extra. At Teotihuacan, we were only given 10 minutes to climb the moom pyramid and then 45 for the sun pyramid. This wasn't enough time to explore and enjoy everything. Finally, the ride home was horrible. Traffic and the fact that the other patrons wanted to be dropped off at specific places other than their hotel made the ride home last two hours. Everyone was so ready to get out of the van! For the money, I would definitely look else where. Again, my first tour was perfect, but this one was very, very disappointing.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Charles A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour to the Teotihuacan Pyramids was incredible! We had a large group so they ended up booking a van for us rather than taking public transit which was perfectly fine with us. Our tour guide, Rodrigo, was AMAZING! He definitely made the trip very fun and educational. We spent a good amount of time at the Pyramids exploring the grounds and climbing to the top of the Pyramid of the Moon and the Pyramid of the Sun. We then went to a local home and sampled some mezcal and tequila and then made our way to another home where we got to sample many different delicious foods which they had for sale. I ended up buying a lot to bring home with me as souvenirs. From there, we went to another family home where they cooked us a beautiful meal. And then it was back to Mexico City. A wonderful day with the best guide Rodrigo! We would do this tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The other reviews are not lying! Such a great tour with an extremely knowledgeable, funny and engaging guide. There were 7 stops in total, and although that sounds like too much, we were perfectly satisfied afterwards and felt like we had eaten the perfect amount for a meal. Mexico City has some of the best food in the world and should not be missed!

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

aletrece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A truly incredible food tour. We tried the most delicious dishes and our guide Luis was very knowledgeable, energetic and fun - making the experience even better! We got to walk Polanco and learn more about the neighborhood and what makes it so popular. We visited 7 different places including a chocolate shop with unique and tasty chocolates and I felt very satisfied with the portions. What made this tour even better was how vegetarian-friendly it was. I was able to try a vegetarian dish at every single place and each one was amazing. I would very much recommend this tour if you want to experience the amazing cuisine Mexico City has to offer. It was a well-organized, informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Dennis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A must for anyone going to Mexico City.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Erna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Congratulations to our Tour Guide Harvey for an excellent tour. His knowledge and delivery was superb. This is a must see site for anyone visiting Mexico and in particular Mexico City. To experience a site that was created in 400BC truly boggles the mind. That you for this amazing experience!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Tim G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The bus was not crowded. It was clean and comfortable. The driver did a wonderful job in heavy traffic. We saw what we wanted to see in Mexico City.

Doing what: Mexico City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marcella S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great fun... Enjoyed our guide Leon very much. He was entertaining, informative and fun. The tour included seeing Mexico City from the 41st floor while enjoying a drink and talking in the spectacular views. Dinner was simple tortas but very tasty and inexpensive at a local place. Then the mariachi bands were fun amongst our torrential downpour. The Mexican fighting was funny, loud, crazy and worth seeing. A very enjoyable evening. M

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

Hilton B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Awful experience. We were under the impression we would be given a private tour with our own bus. Instead, they picked us up first at 5:50 AM then proceeded to pick up 7 additional parties around our neighborhood which wasted an hour. After that, they drove us to Zocalo Historic Center where we waited another 20 minutes. The driver did not speak English nor make an attempt to tell us exactly what we were waiting for. At this point, we had been on the bus for an hour and half and gone a total of 3 miles from our place in La Condesa. We decided to get off the bus and take an Uber there the next day. With Uber rates as cheap as they are in Mexico City, you're better off taking an Uber to the pyramids and hiring your own guide there. This company crams you into a tour bus with 30 other people which ruins the intimate experience of being in a foreign country.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Smita R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was TERRIFIC and not to be missed if you are visiting Mexico City. Alejandro is a wonderful tour guide - definitely a high point of our visit.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful guide! One of the best things we did while in Mexico City. Definitely worth going early to beat the heat and the crowds.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Santhi R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The guide's English was not the greatest and we only understand half of what she said. Nevertheless it was an enjoyable tour and the Mexican people on our bus were interesting and very friendly. We even belted out some karaoke on our way back! The traffic was horrible leaving Mexico City and we only got to Taxco at about 2pm. However our tour guide allowed us to stay in Taxco until 7pm and we got to watch the Easter Friday procession. Taxco was extremely beautiful and a must see.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Mahaliel B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour! Please note that it is tons of walking, so if thats not your thing, this is not your trip. That being said, the walking was worth every moment. Our guide Francisco was amazing! Very knowledgable. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Lasse B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour to the pyramids was a fine experience and the tour guide did a fine job of presenting the different structures at the sight - however, the tour was ended by a stop at a local hacienda with the obvious purpose of selling Mexican souvenirs at overcharged prices. The dinner at the sole restaurant in the area was twice the price of a similar dinner in Mexico City - only to have the peace of the dinner destroyed by the shouting and the drumming of locals dressed as Aztecs followed by Mariachi-style band. All of them begging for your pesos! How we wished we could have spend this last part of the tour at the pyramids.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Lisa C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Way too much time spent on a hot, smelly bus. We were picked up at 6.20 not first on the bus and didn't finish picking up others until after 8.30. We thought we would arrive at Teotihuacan at opening, but it opens at 7.00 and we were there around 10.00. Every seat on bus full. Bilingual tour so one sentence in English followed by same in Spanish and then next sentence in English ... Hard to follow unless you really concentrated. I don't know if our guide was an archaeologist or not but it wasn't apparent. After the Teotihuacan site with not a lot of information, and very hot, far too much time spent at a shop and then restaurant with no other options - another 2.5 hours. We thought we'd be back in Mexico City at 2.30.but at around 3.30 in another part of town we were taken off the bus and put in a taxi which got us back to our Polanco hotel around 4pm. Would instead recommend a more private tour that doesn't wait constantly for slower people and also tours the site earlier when it is quieter and cooler. Given early start, would be easy to tour site fully and return to Mexico City within a morning.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message