Insider's Guide to Mexico City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Vast Mexico City is a metropolis of epic proportions, a densely populated valley of broad, shady boulevards, vast and crowded markets, skyscraper-studded business districts, and quiet Spanish Colonial neighborhoods. Though this maze can seem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Smita R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was TERRIFIC and not to be missed if you are visiting Mexico City. Alejandro is a wonderful tour guide - definitely a high point of our visit.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful guide! One of the best things we did while in Mexico City. Definitely worth going early to beat the heat and the crowds.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Santhi R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The guide's English was not the greatest and we only understand half of what she said. Nevertheless it was an enjoyable tour and the Mexican people on our bus were interesting and very friendly. We even belted out some karaoke on our way back! The traffic was horrible leaving Mexico City and we only got to Taxco at about 2pm. However our tour guide allowed us to stay in Taxco until 7pm and we got to watch the Easter Friday procession. Taxco was extremely beautiful and a must see.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Mahaliel B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour! Please note that it is tons of walking, so if thats not your thing, this is not your trip. That being said, the walking was worth every moment. Our guide Francisco was amazing! Very knowledgable. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Lasse B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour to the pyramids was a fine experience and the tour guide did a fine job of presenting the different structures at the sight - however, the tour was ended by a stop at a local hacienda with the obvious purpose of selling Mexican souvenirs at overcharged prices. The dinner at the sole restaurant in the area was twice the price of a similar dinner in Mexico City - only to have the peace of the dinner destroyed by the shouting and the drumming of locals dressed as Aztecs followed by Mariachi-style band. All of them begging for your pesos! How we wished we could have spend this last part of the tour at the pyramids.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Lisa C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Way too much time spent on a hot, smelly bus. We were picked up at 6.20 not first on the bus and didn't finish picking up others until after 8.30. We thought we would arrive at Teotihuacan at opening, but it opens at 7.00 and we were there around 10.00. Every seat on bus full. Bilingual tour so one sentence in English followed by same in Spanish and then next sentence in English ... Hard to follow unless you really concentrated. I don't know if our guide was an archaeologist or not but it wasn't apparent. After the Teotihuacan site with not a lot of information, and very hot, far too much time spent at a shop and then restaurant with no other options - another 2.5 hours. We thought we'd be back in Mexico City at 2.30.but at around 3.30 in another part of town we were taken off the bus and put in a taxi which got us back to our Polanco hotel around 4pm. Would instead recommend a more private tour that doesn't wait constantly for slower people and also tours the site earlier when it is quieter and cooler. Given early start, would be easy to tour site fully and return to Mexico City within a morning.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Kerry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fun night in Mexico City with the opportunity to see much more than I would have on my own. Great guide and the group was an ideal size of 8 people. Interesting seeing the Lucha Libre wrestling up close, had to be done when in Mexico!

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

Ruediger S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time with our guide and she really knows everything about the city and the places in Mexico City. She made our visit to Teotihuacan very special. Thanks again

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Jessica D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a great experience in Mexico City. You start the day learning about the culture at the National University and go on an authentic 'trajinera'. We ended the day at the casa azul or the blue house of Frida Khalo. Overall our guide Alex was incredibly knowledgable and helpful the entire day.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Robin R Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour and sevice. Lygia was knowledgeable, accomodating and a great tour guide. This is the only way to to Teotihuacan from Mexico City.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

mcleanking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We'd highly recommend this tour to anyone spending a couple days in the Polanco, Condesa, or Roma areas of Mexico City. Our guide, Luis, was outstanding. After welcoming us to the small group walking tour, he enthusiastically explained what the evening would include and the types of restaurants that we would be visiting. It was well-organized, informative and a great experience.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Brent

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The private tour was great, our guide, Lulu, was very knowledgeable and explained a lot about the site.
Recommend you go early, especially on weekends as it gets very busy later on. The trip to the obsidian factory and tequila place was the typical tourist thing, but I like rocks so I quite liked the obsidian part. Lunch at the restaurant was OK, but quite pricey for Mexico City.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Jenni R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The trip had some highlights, it was lovely to see the pyramids and a good thing to do on a Sunday morning in Mexico city. The guide was very enthusiastic.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Kristina S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Gave me a chance to experience a part of Mexico City that I probably would not have seen otherwise, the guide was helpful and had a lot of knowledge and was enthusiastic.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Aaron L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Overall great day. It was nice to see the archaeological site in Mexico City, followed by visiting the Basilica de Maria de Guadalupe, and finally Teotihuacan. Our guide was very knowledgable and engaging. Only wish we could've spent more time at the Pyramids at Teotihuacan in order to explore more.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Linda W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The tour of Cuernavaca consisted of a visit to the main church. The tour deviated because 3 of the 4 members of the tour wanted to visit Maximilian's house which turned out to be closed. The guide told us where it was and we went on our own. The Taxco portion began with a visit to a silver shop so that we could spend money. We bought. We then went on to the center of Taxco and visited the beautiful church and then went to a restaurant for lunch. The view from the balcony was great. Afterwards we were free to wander about on our own. My friend and I spent most of our time in the plaza fending off pleas to buy item after item. We had both a guide and driver. On the way out of Mexico City the guide gave us information and answered questions. Instead of Spanish as we had expected the guide spoke English because two Germans signed up the the tour in Spanish but could not understand very much of it. I wishe we had taken a Taxco only tour.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Sara G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

I keep trying to write this review and it will not accept it with just one star. The pyramids were great, but it was falsely advertised. It said it was limited to 19 people, but our group had over 40 people in it. We could not hear the guide or see what she was pointing to because the group was so big. Upon arrival, we were told no English tour was available-- only Spanglish their words. Everything was repeated in English and Spanish-- but the descriptions were very simple and no more elaborate than what was on the placards. The guide was pleasant but seemed to have trouble understanding questions asked in English. Also, it does not appear she was an archaeologist.

The tour was also very inefficient. We were picked up on time about 6:30am, but we were then taken to a sidewalk where we waited for over an hour no seating or bathrooms available for two large tour buses to arrive. There was a lot of confusion. The guide said we were leaving late-- we arrived at the site an hour later than expected so it was already crowded. At the end of the day, we were returned to the same spot. We waited for more than 30 minutes in the hot sun again, no seating for vans to arrive to take people back to their hotels. It was chaotic, and not everyone had a van they were assigned to.

We loved the pyramids and the guide was a very nice person. However, we were very disappointed in Viator's false advertising. No archaeologist. We didn't arrive until close to 10am, so it wasn't early morning. It wasn't in English. And it wasn't the small group limited to 19 people that was promised. We could have had the same experience for less money with Turibus-- which would have saved us 2 hours waiting on the sidewalk that we could have spent exploring Mexico City on our limited vacation time.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Thomas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide Tony was very knowledgeable and his background information made visiting the sites ore meaningful. The pyramids are amazing and this tour is a must for anyone visiting Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a great thing to do in Mexico City. We had a wonderful tour guide Luis....he was fun....informative and shared lots of information with us about food...and the area in which we we were walking..Polanco.
Definitely would and have recommended this tour.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Joan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

How lucky were my friend and I to take this trip...we were the only two people taking this tour on this particular day! Our guide, Jose, couldn't have been more knowledgeable or friendly as he shared his love of Mexico City with us. We walked more than expected, which was no issue for us but could have been for people who have mobility issues. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

colejos

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Well, who would go all the way to Mexico City and not set out to see Teotihuacan? What an amazing experience....when you finally get there. If you're looking for a day trip with your travel partners to see the pyramids, you're better off splitting a taxi or hiring a private guide. Getting the lunch inclusive package? EAT A HUGE BREAKFAST! Three hours of unnecessary silver shopping and cactus farm tours stand between you and the beautiful pyramids before you ever see a restaurant. Looking for that comfortable experience from your hotel in the city to the rural pyramids? Perhaps you can ride in this tied-down jump seat for hours, like one poor guest was forced to do. They didn't cap the number of guests to safely accommodate everyone in the transportation. I felt really bad for the guy. With all of that said, they get two stars for the shopping nonsense and the unsafe transportation, but there really is no cheaper way to see the pyramids with a bonus stop at Guadalupe. I would love to return to both places without my ill-informed tour guide asking me to drink with him every thirty minutes. Really, dude? The Mexico City Olympics were in 1962? Shouldn't a tour guide know they were in '68?

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

lakdawalashaival

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Cannot miss this if you visit Mexico City. The tour was well planned and there was enough time to scale the pyramids and take plenty of pictures.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is a must do on your trip to Mexico city! The tour starts with a pickup from the hotel and you get on a tour van which picks up other passengers at other hotels. As the tour starts, you get to visit a few more sites on the way, including the ruins in the city, old church and a stop at a jeweler. The trip continues on it's way to the pyramids which are just outside the city. The ride had some traffic but it was interesting to see the city as we drove out.

Our tour included a lunch which was great and right after you hit up the pyramid site. Once at the site, you get a tour of the different areas and some insights into all that was discovered. Make sure you bring water and some good shoes as the climbs can be steep and tiring. There is no shade so you should bring some sunscreen as well. It was a great experience overall!

Also note that there are little shops there that sell hats, sombreros and other items for really cheap compared to the city. So bring some cash with you!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

cute

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Interesting food tour. Worth doing. The tour guide was friendly and attentive. I quickly learned a lot about Mexican food and local culture. Some of the food we tasted was tasty some was so-so. But isn't trying new things the fun of traveling? I did the tour on the second day of my trip, and I see it as a great start for my 9-day trip in Mexico City. For the price, the quality of food and the tour was adequate. Recommend.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

mrmblaze

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It would be great to recommend ear plugs for people who struggle with very loud venues.
Although it said that we needed to confirm our trip when we got to Mexico City, it was impossible to do so.

Doing what: Mexican Wrestling: Experience Lucha Libre in Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message