Massive Mexico City has been a power since at least the 13th century, when the awe-inspiring island metropolis of stone fortresses and lush canals was called Tenochtitlán. It was the seat of the mighty Aztec Empire, a glorious capital known ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was my second time to use Viator to take a tour with my first one being in Spain. I arrived in Mexico City on a 5 am flight and hopped on this tour that started at 9 am. There was a mixup with which hotel to pick me up but they sent a separate car to pick me up at the correct hotel and then I joined the group. In addition to seeing the Pyramids you also see an area of Aztec ruins in downtown Mexico City, The Virgin of Guadalupe and local crafts, meet Aztec doggies and a do a tequila tasting and then enjoy a delicious meal afterwards. I highly recommend it. Our guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job explaining the sites and history involved.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This tour was very interesting and I learned very much by this tour. The guide was very experienced and the pace was unhurried. We had the opportunity to see the Metropolitan Cathedral, the National Palace, we had a glimpse of the Templo Mayor from outside and we could see the Aztec room of the Museum of Anthropology. As I wanted to see the rest of this museum I stayed in the afternoon to continue after lunch. If you are interested in the history of Mexico City I recommend you to join this tour!

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I highly recommend this trip to anyone even with the least amount of interest in the history and culture of the Aztecs, among the most highly advanced civilizations in history. Our guide did a marvelous job educating me on all of the above. He was well informed, friendly, personable, and obviously enjoyed doing his job and being with the group. His driver was also very friendly, did an outstanding job driving us safely to our destinations, and home to the hotel. We enjoyed our day very much!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was excellent in every way, thanks, mostly to a wonderful tour guide, Francisco. He has a passion for his work which translates into so much knowledge, insight and explanantions which go far beyond an ordinary experience. I truly felt like I had gone back in time to the ancient Mayan and Aztec cultures with his insightful comments. The itinerary is wonderful and we explored much more than is listed, including a silverssmith demo and shop, and a semi-precious jewel shop, both of which give opportunities to understand the wonderful things that this part of Mexico has to offer. Don't miss this trip!!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Sean H
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Guide was great. Very informative. Cool to see the Aztec pyramid ruins in Mexico City. Lots of detailed explanations. Loved it!

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I loved this tour. We learnt a lot about the history of Mexico City including the Aztec period, Spanish rule and independent Mexico. The guide was excellent, had relevant and interesting information, and the use of Diego's mural and the anthropological museum and other major sites to tell the stories was extremely engaging.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was an excellent way to see many of Mexico City's sites that are not centrally located downtown. The guide, Eduardo, was great and took us by Mexico City's World Trade Center, to the bull fighting ring, to the University of Mexico to view the exterior of the library, by the Azteca Stadium, to the Coyoacan neighborhood, and finally to Xochimilco where we took a boat along the canal. We enjoyed beer and marriachi music during the boat ride.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Trip was amazing. Didn't realize that we would also be going to the ancient marketplace or to the Shrine but they added even more to the visit! The guide was very informative and really gave us a good understanding of the Aztec culture. Did I mention that the lunch was delicious. Thank you. I look forward to joining another one of your tours next time I visit MEX

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

we love the trip and the sites visited, especially the Pyramids. But, we left an Aztec clock in the bus and the operator should have notify us and they didn't.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Joey
Philippines

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2012

The only thing valuable about this was the tour guide's explanations on the Diego Rivera murals and his discussion on the Aztec Room of the museum. The hotel pick-up took even longer than the actual tour, with a useless silver shop tourist trap stop in between! And for all the fuss about the Mayan Calendar this year, I think it is a crime that the Mayan Room was NOT included in the guided tour. And this was my only Mexico City tour where the guide actually reminded us about gratuities. If you have the time and can just read the explanations from guidebooks, I suggest you just go out and do the sighseeing on your own.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Excellent day trip from Mexico City, almost as good as the Estadio Azteca visit (ok, ok just kidding !). Well organized, experienced guide (also left us enough time for us alone), not too much "sales" activities, just 1..5 hours in their "preferred" souvenir and restaurant places ...

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Alan R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

Frank our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable, an enthusiast! Teotihuacan is quite breath taking, the steps of the temple of the sun are good exercise. a must see. The original aztec ruins in the city are a nice touch. The shrine of guadalupe is interesting as you see the old church, but the shrine itself seems a load of religious twoddle!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

If you are in Mexico, this is a "must see" place. The trip was great which was mainly thanks to a wonderful tour guide. He had a wide knowledge and wanted to share as much information as possible. Moreover there was no rush during the tour. Before you go on this trip, make sure you have comfortable shoes, water bottle and sunblock. The trip includes a visit to a workshop where you are able to see how to make tequila and paper from agave cactus. You will be also shown beautiful stones which are used for making Aztec masks. You may also purchase some souvenirs there but be aware that prices are quite high, my sombrero was 2 times cheaper at the airport. Then you will be guided to the pyramids where you have enough time to climb them. The sun only looks innocent but in fact you may really burn your skin there. At last you will visit Shrine of Guadalupe which is always full of pilgrims. This trip mainly concentrates on Teotihuacan pyramids so you will not spend a lot of time in the Shrine. But as a whole the trip was great and I highly recommend it to everyone! Again, Viator proved to be the best in organizing the tours. Thanks a lot!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message