Milan ATTRACTIONS See all

Castello Sforzesco

The Castello Sforzesco (or Sforza Castle) is a huge, classically crenellated pile of red-brick masonry on the western edge of central Milan. The castle was built by the earlier Visconti dynasty, but became home to the ruling Sforza family in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

nonya

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

was quite a walk for this tour, but still worth it. During the 3 hours walk, our guide, Katrina pointed out many small lanes within the city centre with good food and shopping too. the tour covers the castle as well. never did i know that the small steps in the castle was built for a reason. the walking tour ended with a high note to see the Leonardo's famous last Supper wall painting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

val.snedden

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very good overview of Milan including the cathedral and viewing of Last Supper. Bus left on time, huge coach for 6 of us. Guide spoke good english and provided good info. Easy to find departure point near the Castle.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Anthony P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Informative guide and viewing of last supper was great however didn't get inside Sforza Castle or guided tour of Duomo.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

our last supper tour commenced with our tour guide introducing us to the Duomo, he gave us a very comprehensive insight to the history of Italy and the background of Milano, we then walked through Galleria Vittorio Emanuelle II, and past La Scala, stopping at a local cafe for refreshments, we then walked to the castle prior to arriving at the Last Supper. This was an amazing place to visit.
We would gladly recommend this tour as it was well presented by our very informative guide, and not rushed with plenty of time to ask questions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

ludmila l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great company! Out tour was scheduled for 14:30. At exactly 14:30 I got a phone call and they asked me where are we and if we will be late. And we were running literally! a bit late trains, metro, long drive....
The person on a phone said No worries, we will wait for you or we can help to reschedule for later. Excellent! So we made it almost in time, got our radios, instructions and off we went.
Our guide Katerina was amazing! Brilliant English, deep knowledge of the subject and easy and well-paced delivery. In 3 hours we've seen the Doumo, Passage, La Scala, Sforza Castle and of course the Last Supper. It was a lot of walking but it was so amazing that we didn't feel the walk.
Thank you very much for the great Milan experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Alison N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well worth it! Visiting both the il Duomo and the Last Supper as well as the castle on foot was the way to go. We had a very knowledgeable guide who spoke perfect English and was patient with our group as well. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Brian T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable, easy to understand and entertaining. Very comprehensive tour of Milan highlights. Could have a spent more time on the castle we spent almost none - literally a drive by, a little less on the Opera house. But, all in all, very well worth the money.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Kaitlyn Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was not worth the money that was spent on it. In the highlights and description it states that we would get to explore the Sforza castle, the closest thing we did was drive by it and see it from a bus window. I had booked a separate tour to explore the Duomo, and this tour took us on a second tour of the Duomo that I wasn't anticipating. While La Scala was beautiful, the tour felt rushed and the group was too large for the tour. The Last Supper was breath taking, but I felt I would have gotten the same experience if I took the tour on my own. This tour was not on par with other tours I have taken with Viator, and was an overall disappointment.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Hamilton G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide in Milan was very attentive, educational, and informative. She arranged a short visit to a great coffee shop near the castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

aljoshaw

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

A pretty good tour. Sights themselves Duomo, La Scala, Castle etc could easily be done as a pleasant walk without needing a tour guide. Guide wasn't particularly inspiring and could have talked more of the history of Milan in an engaging way. Stayed too long in the Duomo. The Last Supper was terrific, although sad to see it continuing to degrade. Would have liked more history on Leonardo.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Kathryn B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour guide. Disappointed that it did not include entrance to view the Pieta at the castle museum. Also would have liked more information within the duomo. Otherwise great, and recommended. Guide was terrific.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Andrew M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent guide, visited main sites, didn't see castle

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Kelly E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Seeing The Last Supper is definitely worth doing, but this tour is not. It was way too long and visiting The Last Supper was the last thing on a two-hour walking tour of much of nothing. It could really be cut down to an hour. It was super hot, and our guide made an effort to keep us in the shade as much as possible. But visiting Sforza Castle, without going into the museums is frankly just boring.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This Walking Tour was exceptional. Our guide was professional, well organized and very well informed. We visited the Duomo, the area of Brera, and the Sforza castle before coming to da Vinci's Last Supper. Throughout the tour our guide's humor and openness to questions kept us all engaged. In addition, we had time to contemplate some of these treasures on our own. Just make sure to wear walking shoes!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Alice S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Rafaella was an excellent tour guide, with many facts at her fingertips and a good sense of humor. Bu the tour is overpriced for what you get, in my opinion. We got a good tour of the Duomo, but just walked past La Scala and could not even stop to peek in the door. We spent about twenty minutes in a cafe so people could use the restroom and get something to eat or drink -- but it's only a three-hour tour and that seemed to me to be a waste of time. We walked to the Sforza castle, which was interesting, but again, we just walked through the grounds and didn't see any of the museums there. We finally ended up at the church where The Last Supper is. The timing was good, not a long wait, and we had 15 minutes to see the painting with just our small group. That was very satisfying. But in general, I think I could have made ticket reservations for more places for less money, and seen more things. On the other hand, we took this took our first afternoon in Milan, and it was a good orientation to the city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

SDFlipFlops United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The last supper was amazing. Don't miss that. Just skip the tour. We left 10 minutes late, waited 10 minutes for people to come back after one of the stops and didn't stop at the castle when my daughter's tour did. Maybe if we hadn't lost 20 minutes we would have had time.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Joanne R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Tour was overpriced considering that you so not get to enter the Duomo or the Sforza castle! You did get a brief tour of the opera house however you were only permitted a peek into the actual stage or orchestra area. The only reason I chose this tour was because I could not get a ticket to see The Last Supper! I suggest careful planning to obtain a reasonably priced ticket for the Last Supper and then exploring the other attractions on your own!!

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Nicholas S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I felt that I was paying good money to be kept waiting around, which was what we did for a significant amount of the time. There were 50 people on this tour for one guide. As visitors to the site of “The Last Supper” are restricted to 25 persons for fifteen minutes, it meant that half the tourists would be waiting around for fifteen minutes so hanging about waiting is inbuilt to start with. We were also kept waiting for two out of the 50 to return to the tour after a break. We were given ten minutes to visit the cathedral, go to the toilet, get a cup of coffee etc, but two tourists returned twenty minutes late. As a result the tour was not completed as we did not visit the Castle Sforza which was on the itinerary. I believe that tour operators must make the rules clear at the beginning – it must be emphasised that the tour needs to be on time for the benefit of everybody, if tourists are not on the bus or at the designated assembly point on time, it will be assumed that they have abandoned the tour and the tour will proceed without them. It is simply not fair that 48 people must miss out because of the tardiness or selfishness of 2. I understand that this creates problems if radio headsets are issued, but surely a system can be introduced where credit cards are charged for unreturned headsets or photo ids/passports be held upon the return of the headsets as is the usual practice at museums and galleries offering audioguides.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Christopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my walking tour of Milan and seeing the Last Supper. First, the tour group was well-attended, there were many other people in the group and all were friendly. It's nice to see that many people do in fact select this option which is a good sign. The tour guide, I forgot his name, was highly passionate about Milan and knowledgeable as well. He loved speaking to us and always took time to answer questions. His knowledge of the Duomo was exceptional and I learned much more than I did on the previous day with a private tour of that location. Our walk through the castle was fine, but I didn't much care for it, but this was not our guide's problem! I also loved his knowledge of The Last Supper. This tour was exceptional and I would do it again! I highly recommend it to anyone interested in seeing Milan with a small group lead by a passionate, knowledgable, and funny guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Julie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a superb trip! Thoroughly enjoyed this tour and you can cover so much distance on a Segway. Our tour leader Veronica was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout. It gets a bit hairy through the crowds every now and again, but in wider streets and the castle grounds it's superb. Segway's always cause attention so it's not for the shy and retiring. However it is for the fun lover, the well co-ordinated and those thirsty for knowledge!

Doing what: Milan Segway Tour

Michael J

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Tour guide was good, but could not go into Duomo or Sforza Castle due to the Expo. Would have expected guide to have been aware of that.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

julie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Compared to other tours that I've been on, I didn't feel rushed. Adequate time was given to see the La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle and the Doumo. We passed through Galleria Vittorio Emanuele, but shopping was not permitted until after the tour, which was fine since the tour ended near the shopping district anyway.We had a great guide who patiently gave a commentary of all the places that our bus passed-through, not limited to the areas that we stopped at.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Katherine W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It would get 5 stars for letting us get into see the Last Supper because tour companies, etc buy up all the tickets once they are available and you need to plan 2 months in advance to be a person. Tickets are 6.5 euro. It gets a 3 star for variety of items - Sforza and for getting us inside the Scala which really is a day by day thing of whether the theater is open. I would also rank our guide as 3 - She was not that friendly and ok spiel but I think that she kept telling us we should be grateful her company bought the tickets told at least 4 times is too much. I give the whole tour with organization a 1. We spent lots of time on the bus in traffic when we could have easily walked. We started by Sforza Castle, drive in traffic and then drove back to see Sforza. Very poor itinerary for the space being covered.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Patricia L K

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was Easter Sunday which made it somewhat difficult for this tour as our guide was not able to come with us to the Cathedral, nor speak inside the Cathedral. Instead, we had to stand outside for 30 minutes telling us about it. That was a lackluster start to what was, otherwise, a very good tour. Tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, pace was right except for the very tiring beginning standing in the plaza. Thought the Last Supper experience was really good and that was the main reason for our booking this tour. Castle overview was something we hadn't done before in Milan so that was also worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

malee f

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

beautiful city but missed most of the tour as the instructions re where to meet were not clear. 'in front of th castle' was too vague and neither the police nor the castle staff knew anything about the tour when i showed the reservation. i was lucky that the young lady at the Dominican convent sorted out times etc for me to meet the tour group in time to enable me to see the 'last supper'.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message