• USD ($)
  • English

Milan ATTRACTIONS See all

Castello Sforzesco

The Castello Sforzesco (or Sforza Castle) is a huge, classically crenellated pile of red-brick masonry on the western edge of central Milan. The castle was built by the earlier Visconti dynasty, but became home to the ruling Sforza family in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 151 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a fabulous day in Milan on the Half-day sightseeing tour! Loved going to the theatre, the castle but really enjoyed the painting of the Last Supper by Da Vinci. Our tour guide was excellent and gave good commentary about Milan, the churches, castle, etc.. especially the painting!
Well worth the cost! Great memories!

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour gives you a view of Milan and some of its most important monuments and also enables you to get your bearings in this beautiful city. We visited the Duomo - we had to enter and wander around this magnificent building on our own but there was plenty of time for photographs and exploration, We also had a walking tour which included a visit to the famous Galleria Vittorio Emanuele. Our guide happily pointed out most interesting facts about this famous shopping mecca! We then visited the Sforza Castle - outside only - once again you could not help be amazed at the beauty and sheer size of this building built in the 15th Century and still standing today. Our next stop was the world famous La Scala Opera Theatre. It was much smaller than I had imagined but once inside you could really feel the pride and beauty of this world renowed Theatre. We were lucky enough to enter into one of the private boxes and watch a little of a rehersal which was fascinating. It also contains a wonderful gallery of portraits of past and present Opera Icons. Our last stop, via some of the interesting streets of Milan, was the Church of Santa Maria delle Grazie - home to the beautiful Da Vinci painting of The Last Supper. This was a most moving experience and our guide gave us expert commentary about the fresco and the meanings contained within. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

AMAZING!!!! If for nothing else, getting to see the "Last Supper", this tour is worth it. We had a great guide, she managed to translate the entire tour in German and English. It was impressive! We had headphones to wear on the walking part of the tour which made it really easy to hear everything. The first part of the tour is a short bus ride, followed by a walking tour outside the Duomo and through the shopping area. We did not go inside at all but we did this later in the afternoon on our own and I think I prefer it this way. A huge portion of the walking tour was in the Opera House which I didn't realize. I'm not a fan of the opera but it was alright. Then more time on the bus. Then we walked around outside the castle. (Again, we went back later and visited some of the museums here.) Then back on the bus and to the "last Supper". All in all, a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Booking was easy online.
Once we arrived at starting point, the horrible woman in the booking office was so rude. Pretended not to speak English, until I gave up struggling to try communicating to her in Italian, then spontaneously starts speaking English! She told us to wait for the bus in the wrong place, which was annoying. She clearly didn't like tourists, so I have no idea why she'd be working for a tourist organisation.
Tour Guide was good, detailed explanations about everything especially "The Last Supper", which is obviously the highlight.
The tour did advertise "…tour the breathtaking Duomo" which is one of the other reasons we chose this tour, however we were marched into the square and the Tour Guide pointed to it and gave a little explanation and we left within 5 minutes of standing there?? We went nowhere near "touring the breathtaking Duomo" - false advertising, we were very disappointed!
La Scala was OK, wouldn't had bothered with it nor with Sforza Castle - these were just "fill ins" I think, of which time could have been better spent touring the Duomo which we were promised.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. We started at La Scala, and we did feel we spent more time than needed here, but it was interesting to see. Then we went to the Gallerie Emmanuele, which is lovely. Then to the Duomo, where you only have 10 minutes to run inside. I would have preferred a few more minutes here and less at La Scala. Then we took the bus to Sforza Castle, where we had time to tour the outside but not the inside, where there are museums. It was interesting to see the outside though. Our last stop was The Last Supper, and that was a must-see in our opinion. The bus returns you to the original starting point. Our guide was very good and we learned a lot that we probably would not have known without her.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

TiffC
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We took this tour so that we can view "The Last Supper" painting (it was impossible to book it on our own!). The pace of the tour was perfect - good for people of all ages and different levels of mobility. The coach was comfortable and clean (low steps as well). We liked how they had a morning and afternoon option - we chose the morning tour (English and German) but the guide (forgot her name, sorry) ended up speaking English only because everyone in our tour spoke English. Our guide did an excellent job in pointing out places of interest while we were on the coach and in describing the history and interesting facts of every building/momument/street we passed. The meeting place wasn't difficult to find, and there were helpers on site by the travel agency to direct you to the guide and coach. All the places/sites outlined in the tour description were covered, and you get ample time to take pics at each attraction. Our guide was very thorough and told us many interesting facts about Milan and the various sites. For the Duomo - you only tour the outside and get a few minutes to take pics in the square. All of the main sites (Duomo, Da Vinci monument, the Galleria, and La Scala theatre) are within walking distance, and this is part of the 1-hour walking tour. You’re driven around the downtown in order to get to Santa Maria della Grazie (where the Last Supper painting is located) and to Sforza Castle (which is around the meeting place where you get picked up/dropped off before and after the tour). I recommend walking around Via Dante after the tour. Our guide did an awesome job describing the painting to us during our visit. This is a great tour for those staying in Milan for a couple of days!

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Too many people in our group and part of us became separated from the main group at the Castle Sforza. We had to ask many people how to get to The Last Supper and we almost missed our time slot! Overall it was enjoyable and our guide was quite knowledgeable.

Doing what: Leonardo da Vinci Half-Day Walking Tour including 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Alycia was extremely knowledgeable and gave an excellent tour from the Duomo along to Sforzesco Castle, where we returned, just to see Michelangelo's Pieta, which she had recommended. She imparted her superior knowledge of the Duomo to put everything into historical context for us. She certainly made us aware of all the expressions of disciples in the Last Supper.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

More time in the Duomo would have been better. We had 10 minutes! Also, the guides need a better way of being identified in the large crowds when meeting back up. A flag on a pole or large umbrella. We had to leave some of our group behind when they were late to the bus after the castle in order to keep our time at the last supper.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour was worth doing because of the opportunity to see The Last Supper--truly a memorable experience. The downside was that the tour is a little too long with such a large group, and while you get to see the Duomo, La Scala, and Sforza Castle, the content seemed disconnected. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, but her command of English could have been better, and her comments could have been simpler and clearer.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide, Margaretta was AMAZING!!! She knew everything, including the questions that all of us tour goers came up with on the spot! The tour started at La Scala Theater -- with private access to one of the gallery boxes looking out onto the main stage. Photos were not allowed in the area, but honestly it has such a grand impression, photos to remember are not necessary. From there, we looked through the Duomo and the Galleria next door as well as the Sforza Castle. The tour is arranged via a comfy motor coach (bus) and ends with a private 15 minute view of the Last Supper. AMAZING!!! Definitely worth the time and money.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was very well organised and our tour guide was quite good. The tour bus was modern and clean and the driving was safe. We visited the Alla Scala Theatre and Museum, walked through the Galleria Vittorio, saw the Duomo Cathedral (only enough time to see it from the outside), had a brief stop at the Sforza Castle and finally had 15 minutes with Da Vinci's Last Supper. This tour gives you a brief look at Milan and I would not recommend it for anyone that wants an in depth tour. It is, however, a good overview of Milan for someone short on time. The visit to Da Vinci's Last Supper is definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We don't usually go on guided trips, but this was the only way we could see "The last Supper". The tour guide made this trip very worthwhile -,she was knowledgeable and friendly. We were able to go in La Scala as well.We revisited Milan Castle and the Triennial Museum on our own, partly because the tour had included a walk through the courtyard.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Despite the pouring rain and altogether gray weather on 14 January, thanks to our wonderful guide Simone we saw Milan at its best. Stories of La Scala and Italian opera, Sforza Castle and the exclusive viewing of the Last Supper made our day. Thanks to the off-season the group was very small and that was a big plus too. I recommend this tour to anybody who is interested in arts and culture as an insight to be able to explore Milan more on their own.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I have a picture of the Duomo on my wall but it didn't prepare me for my first glimpse of it down a little cobbled street.....All I can say is WOW. The marble is gleaming and I just couldn't keep my eyes off of it...literally, I fell over gawking at it with my mouth open. Visiting the Sforza castle was a bonus, but the last supper was something else again. I wasn't prepared for the size of it! A great tour would highly recommend.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message