Milan ATTRACTIONS See all

Castello Sforzesco

The Castello Sforzesco (or Sforza Castle) is a huge, classically crenellated pile of red-brick masonry on the western edge of central Milan. The castle was built by the earlier Visconti dynasty, but became home to the ruling Sforza family in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Saw everything I wanted to see in Milan, the Duomo, the Galleria, the Last Supper, which was the last hour. The beautiful Scala, and the Castle Sforza (sorry for misspelling). I can't remember our guide's name but she was great, spoke English the whole time and we all wore headphones. We took the bus, then got off and on at the designated sights. It was a great 3-hour tour, very recommended.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A very good tour. The "Last Supper" was special for me and was my main reason to visit Milan. However I really enjoyed La Scala and the Castle

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

our guide was extremely knowledgeable, relayed the history of the times to the results in the architecture of the city, the Duomo, the churches, La Escada, the castle and the Last Supper. Her personal thoughts and experiences made the walking tour come alive. great tour. our guide injected current affairs and issues as points of discussion which gave non-Italians great perspective on their culture.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We took this tour on the last day of a 15 day visit to Italy and Greece. Our objective was to get a quick and efficient overview of Milan (a city we knew little about.). Booking and payment with Viator was very easy. The bus was comfortable and left the meeting point on time. The group was large (45), but our guide was knowledgeable, (mostly) organized and easy to understand. The duomo is gorgeous, but only viewed from the exterior. We went back later on our own for the "must do" trip to its amazing rooftop and a look around the interior. La Scala is beautiful, but the guide spent A LOT of time in each of the small rooms of its museum explaining painting after painting. Not really the quick overview we expected. The castle is also interesting, as was the drive around the city. The Last Supper experience is the highlight, but because our group was so large, we were split into two more manageable groups. My family (of 4) was scattered between the two groups.. We expected a 2.5 hour tour, but instead had a 4 hour tour. Not really a problem, but did limit our plans for the afternoon. Milan is an amazing city with a nice mix of history and modern sensibilities. The tour is a good starting point for your further explorations. Enjoy!

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This tour was worth it for the trip to Da Vinci's "Last Supper." The other parts of the tour were nice, but didn't allow much time inside the Duomo and didn't explore any of the museums in the Sforza Castle. It was a good orientation for the city, but not enough if this was your only day in the city.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a fabulous day in Milan on the Half-day sightseeing tour! Loved going to the theatre, the castle but really enjoyed the painting of the Last Supper by Da Vinci. Our tour guide was excellent and gave good commentary about Milan, the churches, castle, etc.. especially the painting!
Well worth the cost! Great memories!

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour gives you a view of Milan and some of its most important monuments and also enables you to get your bearings in this beautiful city. We visited the Duomo - we had to enter and wander around this magnificent building on our own but there was plenty of time for photographs and exploration, We also had a walking tour which included a visit to the famous Galleria Vittorio Emanuele. Our guide happily pointed out most interesting facts about this famous shopping mecca! We then visited the Sforza Castle - outside only - once again you could not help be amazed at the beauty and sheer size of this building built in the 15th Century and still standing today. Our next stop was the world famous La Scala Opera Theatre. It was much smaller than I had imagined but once inside you could really feel the pride and beauty of this world renowed Theatre. We were lucky enough to enter into one of the private boxes and watch a little of a rehersal which was fascinating. It also contains a wonderful gallery of portraits of past and present Opera Icons. Our last stop, via some of the interesting streets of Milan, was the Church of Santa Maria delle Grazie - home to the beautiful Da Vinci painting of The Last Supper. This was a most moving experience and our guide gave us expert commentary about the fresco and the meanings contained within. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

AMAZING!!!! If for nothing else, getting to see the "Last Supper", this tour is worth it. We had a great guide, she managed to translate the entire tour in German and English. It was impressive! We had headphones to wear on the walking part of the tour which made it really easy to hear everything. The first part of the tour is a short bus ride, followed by a walking tour outside the Duomo and through the shopping area. We did not go inside at all but we did this later in the afternoon on our own and I think I prefer it this way. A huge portion of the walking tour was in the Opera House which I didn't realize. I'm not a fan of the opera but it was alright. Then more time on the bus. Then we walked around outside the castle. (Again, we went back later and visited some of the museums here.) Then back on the bus and to the "last Supper". All in all, a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is worth it just for the entry into the Last Supper, without everything else! Just a note though, we booked this for the Sunday morning and apparently tour groups are not allowed into the cathedral on Sundays; however, we were taken to the castle, which wasn't on the itinerary and so we assumed that this was done instead of the cathedral visit part of the tour. In addition, the tour drops you off about 10 minutes walk from the cathedral at most, so it is easy to go back and look round on your own.
Our guide was Laura and she made the tour very interesting, particularly at the Last Supper. I don't know very much about art and it was really helpful to have someone explaining the history of the painting and some of the rumours about it too. There was also time to look around the church next door.
The tour also included a visit to La Scala and it was a really enjoyable morning - a good introduction to some of the main sights in Milan and also helped us to see how close things were to each other, so we spent most of the rest of the holiday on foot!

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Booking was easy online.
Once we arrived at starting point, the horrible woman in the booking office was so rude. Pretended not to speak English, until I gave up struggling to try communicating to her in Italian, then spontaneously starts speaking English! She told us to wait for the bus in the wrong place, which was annoying. She clearly didn't like tourists, so I have no idea why she'd be working for a tourist organisation.
Tour Guide was good, detailed explanations about everything especially "The Last Supper", which is obviously the highlight.
The tour did advertise "…tour the breathtaking Duomo" which is one of the other reasons we chose this tour, however we were marched into the square and the Tour Guide pointed to it and gave a little explanation and we left within 5 minutes of standing there?? We went nowhere near "touring the breathtaking Duomo" - false advertising, we were very disappointed!
La Scala was OK, wouldn't had bothered with it nor with Sforza Castle - these were just "fill ins" I think, of which time could have been better spent touring the Duomo which we were promised.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. We started at La Scala, and we did feel we spent more time than needed here, but it was interesting to see. Then we went to the Gallerie Emmanuele, which is lovely. Then to the Duomo, where you only have 10 minutes to run inside. I would have preferred a few more minutes here and less at La Scala. Then we took the bus to Sforza Castle, where we had time to tour the outside but not the inside, where there are museums. It was interesting to see the outside though. Our last stop was The Last Supper, and that was a must-see in our opinion. The bus returns you to the original starting point. Our guide was very good and we learned a lot that we probably would not have known without her.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

TiffC
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We took this tour so that we can view "The Last Supper" painting (it was impossible to book it on our own!). The pace of the tour was perfect - good for people of all ages and different levels of mobility. The coach was comfortable and clean (low steps as well). We liked how they had a morning and afternoon option - we chose the morning tour (English and German) but the guide (forgot her name, sorry) ended up speaking English only because everyone in our tour spoke English. Our guide did an excellent job in pointing out places of interest while we were on the coach and in describing the history and interesting facts of every building/momument/street we passed. The meeting place wasn't difficult to find, and there were helpers on site by the travel agency to direct you to the guide and coach. All the places/sites outlined in the tour description were covered, and you get ample time to take pics at each attraction. Our guide was very thorough and told us many interesting facts about Milan and the various sites. For the Duomo - you only tour the outside and get a few minutes to take pics in the square. All of the main sites (Duomo, Da Vinci monument, the Galleria, and La Scala theatre) are within walking distance, and this is part of the 1-hour walking tour. You’re driven around the downtown in order to get to Santa Maria della Grazie (where the Last Supper painting is located) and to Sforza Castle (which is around the meeting place where you get picked up/dropped off before and after the tour). I recommend walking around Via Dante after the tour. Our guide did an awesome job describing the painting to us during our visit. This is a great tour for those staying in Milan for a couple of days!

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Too many people in our group and part of us became separated from the main group at the Castle Sforza. We had to ask many people how to get to The Last Supper and we almost missed our time slot! Overall it was enjoyable and our guide was quite knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Leonardo da Vinci Walking Tour of Milan Including 'The Last Supper' Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Alycia was extremely knowledgeable and gave an excellent tour from the Duomo along to Sforzesco Castle, where we returned, just to see Michelangelo's Pieta, which she had recommended. She imparted her superior knowledge of the Duomo to put everything into historical context for us. She certainly made us aware of all the expressions of disciples in the Last Supper.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

More time in the Duomo would have been better. We had 10 minutes! Also, the guides need a better way of being identified in the large crowds when meeting back up. A flag on a pole or large umbrella. We had to leave some of our group behind when they were late to the bus after the castle in order to keep our time at the last supper.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message