The Italian port city of Genoa remains off the radar for most tourists in Italy even though it’s a major port and one of the largest cities in the country. Thus, anyone who makes a point of stopping in Genoa (Genova in Italian) is treated to a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip!! Guides were excellent! Very informative and helpful! Portofino is beautiful and the walking tour of genoa was fantastic.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

There wasn't really a lot to see in Genoa. The Hop-On Hop-Off Tour allowed us to see the sites at our leisure, which was good. It was kind of hard to find the stops though. The bus stop signs should be a little bigger. Overall, I think this is worth doing if you want to see the sites on your own without a guide.

Doing what: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very easy to hop on and off the bus, which because it was a cruise day(in port) ran every 20 minutes instead of the usual 30 minutes. Very friendly staff and a good way to see the beautiful city of Genoa.
Did the whole tour first (one hour) to decide where to stop off at next time round.

Doing what: Genoa Shore Excursion: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

great places and tourist guides both in Genoa and Portofino

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We just completed our tour with Veronica, it was fantastic. Highly recommend this tour. The food stops we brilliant with a little history of the area thrown in. Veronica was very knowledgable and friendly, and you get to go to places that as a tourist you probably would never go to or see.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

great tour ...loved the guide

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Wow! The Colosseum was amazing you can almost hear the roar of the crowd ! Being able to access the lower levels was a highlight and for those for which stairs are an issue , there is an elevator. This is such a special place and the guide was excellent in her knowledge and ability to set the scene. Palatine hill was also well worth the visit and it is also so much better with a guide as you really wouldn't know the significance of the buildings and artefacts you were viewing without one.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Lots of thing s to see. the Hop on Hop off Tour was the easiest way to accomplish it.

Doing what: Genoa Shore Excursion: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed the trip. Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed this trip very much. The coach was clean and comfortable. The main guide was knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. We felt there was enough time at each stop.
The only drawback was the Genoa stop, where we could not understand the guide who joined us at all.
It looked like a very nice city, but we have no idea what she told us about it! We figured she was informing us of the designer of many of the buildling, which was information not necessary.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Interesting though very hectic Genoa is unusual in that it is a strip city. I found Portafino interesting but a bit of a phoney until I realised all the buildings were painted in Tromploy style and give the town the impression of something it isn't. The walk to the castle and headland however you need time and to be fit.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

The best way to see the city and its places of interest in a short period of time, Columbos youth home, Genoa towers and walls and the famous genoa aquarium.

Doing what: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Not sure where there main photo was taken from because i didnt see anything close to that. but there where fantastic views and sites to see.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

My husband and I took this trip and we loved it. The tour guide of the trip as well as the one in Genoa were both very good and informatively. The stop for lunch in Santa Margherite was very nice. Restaurants have very good food and prices. I liked Santa Margherite much better than Portofino. Try the pasta with pesto and the local Pinot Grigio.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Portofino is awesome. although it rained, it was well worth it

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message