The Italian port city of Genoa remains off the radar for most tourists in Italy even though it’s a major port and one of the largest cities in the country. Thus, anyone who makes a point of stopping in Genoa (Genova in Italian) is treated to a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was everything i thought it would be-from the tour guide to the bus driver-i would have liked to spend less time in Genoa and more time in Portofino. However every thing was great

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

Mavis R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Genoa is a very hilly city and the hop on hop off bus is a great way to get around. You need to do a bit of research before you go as there are some great sights to see on almost every stop and some beautiful churches which are not listed in the map provided. Audio guide was good and the commentary informative.

Doing what: Genoa Shore Excursion: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is an excellent day trip. It is well guided and a good value for the money. It is a long day almost 12 hours.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a great day but was a bit disappointed that Portofino was so small. The tour itself was good and the driver and tour lady was very nice.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Need more time in Portofino and less time in Genoa

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

NOAMI N
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

A very short one hour circuit could show you where to get off and explore by walking as this is a walking port city. The company could extend more outer areas but perhaps traffic and the small side streets makes traffic difficult to manoeuvre.

Doing what: Genoa Shore Excursion: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Italian Riviera was amazing. The trip was a little rushed due to all the stops. Unfortunately it was a bilingual tour which we tried to avoid. Spanish dominant language and no whisper technology so you had to listen to both and stay close to guide and waste time. Our tour escort was pleasant but was an office worker who replaced main guide last minute and didn't offer much information. very disappointing for so much money.

Doing what: 4-Day Liguria Tour from Milan: Cinque Terre, Genoa, Italian Riviera

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I fell in love with Portofino! I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Genova also, our local guide there was very knowledgeable. I would have liked lunch in Portofino instead, but the pesto stop was very fun and it was a good mix and although a long day, very enjoyable! I will come back. Grazie Mille

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were provided with a knowledgeable local guide in Genoa . This was a well planned, interesting trip. Portifino is lovely !

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I originally booked this tour because of an interest in Genoa and didn't pay too much attention to Portofino, but it end up that both were exceptional experiences, and a tour like this helps you to cover a lot in one day. Genoa is a fast developing city, but it is built on cliffs and a bus tour like this will help you navigate the sites. The guide that gave us the walking tour of the city was exceptional and gave us a lot of interesting information in a clear, concise manner. The radio transmitters were a big help for those of us who lingered behind to take photos and later rushed to catch up without missing the commentary. We had time for lunch in the city before taking the bus and then the boat ride to Portofino, one of the classic sites often shown on guidebook covers. The walking tour was a bit of a hike for those not in good shape, but it was well worth the effort, because the time in Portofino was very relaxing and easy on the eyes.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We have travelled on many cities in Europe over the past 6 weeks and have found all the hop on's great value for money especially if you pay the few extra dollars for one extra day.

Doing what: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A lovely tour. Genoa was an unexpected surprise. We would return to spend more time there in a moment. Our tour guide in Genoa was exceptionally knowledgeable and a blast to listen to. I would suggest, however, that the guides provide a few restaurant tips to taste the regional specialties they talked about. We were unable to find on our own a quick and easy restaurant to savor the advertised pesto, etc. Portofino was great. A beautiful little spot to end the tour.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip!! Guides were excellent! Very informative and helpful! Portofino is beautiful and the walking tour of genoa was fantastic.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

There wasn't really a lot to see in Genoa. The Hop-On Hop-Off Tour allowed us to see the sites at our leisure, which was good. It was kind of hard to find the stops though. The bus stop signs should be a little bigger. Overall, I think this is worth doing if you want to see the sites on your own without a guide.

Doing what: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message