The Italian port city of Genoa remains off the radar for most tourists in Italy even though it’s a major port and one of the largest cities in the country. Thus, anyone who makes a point of stopping in Genoa (Genova in Italian) is treated to a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent guides and fabulous blend of places

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a very nice tour. I wish we could have more time to explore on our own. Highly recommend it. Lots of beautiful places not enough time see all.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The Genoa and Lake Como was very enjoyable. The portofino trip was extremely disappointing as all we got to see was where the tender left us as going up that many steps was not within our comfort. We thought we would get to see an actual town.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was everything i thought it would be-from the tour guide to the bus driver-i would have liked to spend less time in Genoa and more time in Portofino. However every thing was great

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is an excellent day trip. It is well guided and a good value for the money. It is a long day almost 12 hours.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip is just delightful!!! Simply the most unforgettable of my three trips in Italy. We had Sonia for a leader and she was great. In Genoa our tourist guide (antoinetta) was more knowledgeable than a university professor . The entire trip is picturesque and when we arrived to Portofino it was breathtaking . I highly recommend this trip. It is so well organized and beautiful and I prefer it from the cinque terre or como trip- although they are also lovely. If you have to cose one trip- chose this one

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a great day but was a bit disappointed that Portofino was so small. The tour itself was good and the driver and tour lady was very nice.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Need more time in Portofino and less time in Genoa

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Italian Riviera was amazing. The trip was a little rushed due to all the stops. Unfortunately it was a bilingual tour which we tried to avoid. Spanish dominant language and no whisper technology so you had to listen to both and stay close to guide and waste time. Our tour escort was pleasant but was an office worker who replaced main guide last minute and didn't offer much information. very disappointing for so much money.

Doing what: 4-Day Liguria Tour from Milan: Cinque Terre, Genoa, Italian Riviera

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I fell in love with Portofino! I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Genova also, our local guide there was very knowledgeable. I would have liked lunch in Portofino instead, but the pesto stop was very fun and it was a good mix and although a long day, very enjoyable! I will come back. Grazie Mille

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were provided with a knowledgeable local guide in Genoa . This was a well planned, interesting trip. Portifino is lovely !

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I originally booked this tour because of an interest in Genoa and didn't pay too much attention to Portofino, but it end up that both were exceptional experiences, and a tour like this helps you to cover a lot in one day. Genoa is a fast developing city, but it is built on cliffs and a bus tour like this will help you navigate the sites. The guide that gave us the walking tour of the city was exceptional and gave us a lot of interesting information in a clear, concise manner. The radio transmitters were a big help for those of us who lingered behind to take photos and later rushed to catch up without missing the commentary. We had time for lunch in the city before taking the bus and then the boat ride to Portofino, one of the classic sites often shown on guidebook covers. The walking tour was a bit of a hike for those not in good shape, but it was well worth the effort, because the time in Portofino was very relaxing and easy on the eyes.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A lovely tour. Genoa was an unexpected surprise. We would return to spend more time there in a moment. Our tour guide in Genoa was exceptionally knowledgeable and a blast to listen to. I would suggest, however, that the guides provide a few restaurant tips to taste the regional specialties they talked about. We were unable to find on our own a quick and easy restaurant to savor the advertised pesto, etc. Portofino was great. A beautiful little spot to end the tour.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip!! Guides were excellent! Very informative and helpful! Portofino is beautiful and the walking tour of genoa was fantastic.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

great places and tourist guides both in Genoa and Portofino

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We just completed our tour with Veronica, it was fantastic. Highly recommend this tour. The food stops we brilliant with a little history of the area thrown in. Veronica was very knowledgable and friendly, and you get to go to places that as a tourist you probably would never go to or see.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

great tour ...loved the guide

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Wow! The Colosseum was amazing you can almost hear the roar of the crowd ! Being able to access the lower levels was a highlight and for those for which stairs are an issue , there is an elevator. This is such a special place and the guide was excellent in her knowledge and ability to set the scene. Palatine hill was also well worth the visit and it is also so much better with a guide as you really wouldn't know the significance of the buildings and artefacts you were viewing without one.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed the trip. Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed this trip very much. The coach was clean and comfortable. The main guide was knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. We felt there was enough time at each stop.
The only drawback was the Genoa stop, where we could not understand the guide who joined us at all.
It looked like a very nice city, but we have no idea what she told us about it! We figured she was informing us of the designer of many of the buildling, which was information not necessary.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Interesting though very hectic Genoa is unusual in that it is a strip city. I found Portafino interesting but a bit of a phoney until I realised all the buildings were painted in Tromploy style and give the town the impression of something it isn't. The walk to the castle and headland however you need time and to be fit.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Not sure where there main photo was taken from because i didnt see anything close to that. but there where fantastic views and sites to see.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

My husband and I took this trip and we loved it. The tour guide of the trip as well as the one in Genoa were both very good and informatively. The stop for lunch in Santa Margherite was very nice. Restaurants have very good food and prices. I liked Santa Margherite much better than Portofino. Try the pasta with pesto and the local Pinot Grigio.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Portofino is awesome. although it rained, it was well worth it

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Genoa was a dirty busy city and i did not enjoy the walking tour at all, the guides english was very limited and she walked much too quickly for us to see the other sights along the way. However Portofino was exquiste and we loved it very much especially the walk up to the church with views forever. My five star rating is for Portofino only.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message