The Italian port city of Genoa remains off the radar for most tourists in Italy even though it’s a major port and one of the largest cities in the country. Thus, anyone who makes a point of stopping in Genoa (Genova in Italian) is treated to a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

NOAMI N
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

A very short one hour circuit could show you where to get off and explore by walking as this is a walking port city. The company could extend more outer areas but perhaps traffic and the small side streets makes traffic difficult to manoeuvre.

Doing what: Genoa Shore Excursion: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I fell in love with Portofino! I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Genova also, our local guide there was very knowledgeable. I would have liked lunch in Portofino instead, but the pesto stop was very fun and it was a good mix and although a long day, very enjoyable! I will come back. Grazie Mille

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were provided with a knowledgeable local guide in Genoa . This was a well planned, interesting trip. Portifino is lovely !

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I originally booked this tour because of an interest in Genoa and didn't pay too much attention to Portofino, but it end up that both were exceptional experiences, and a tour like this helps you to cover a lot in one day. Genoa is a fast developing city, but it is built on cliffs and a bus tour like this will help you navigate the sites. The guide that gave us the walking tour of the city was exceptional and gave us a lot of interesting information in a clear, concise manner. The radio transmitters were a big help for those of us who lingered behind to take photos and later rushed to catch up without missing the commentary. We had time for lunch in the city before taking the bus and then the boat ride to Portofino, one of the classic sites often shown on guidebook covers. The walking tour was a bit of a hike for those not in good shape, but it was well worth the effort, because the time in Portofino was very relaxing and easy on the eyes.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We have travelled on many cities in Europe over the past 6 weeks and have found all the hop on's great value for money especially if you pay the few extra dollars for one extra day.

Doing what: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A lovely tour. Genoa was an unexpected surprise. We would return to spend more time there in a moment. Our tour guide in Genoa was exceptionally knowledgeable and a blast to listen to. I would suggest, however, that the guides provide a few restaurant tips to taste the regional specialties they talked about. We were unable to find on our own a quick and easy restaurant to savor the advertised pesto, etc. Portofino was great. A beautiful little spot to end the tour.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip!! Guides were excellent! Very informative and helpful! Portofino is beautiful and the walking tour of genoa was fantastic.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

There wasn't really a lot to see in Genoa. The Hop-On Hop-Off Tour allowed us to see the sites at our leisure, which was good. It was kind of hard to find the stops though. The bus stop signs should be a little bigger. Overall, I think this is worth doing if you want to see the sites on your own without a guide.

Doing what: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very easy to hop on and off the bus, which because it was a cruise day(in port) ran every 20 minutes instead of the usual 30 minutes. Very friendly staff and a good way to see the beautiful city of Genoa.
Did the whole tour first (one hour) to decide where to stop off at next time round.

Doing what: Genoa Shore Excursion: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

great places and tourist guides both in Genoa and Portofino

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We just completed our tour with Veronica, it was fantastic. Highly recommend this tour. The food stops we brilliant with a little history of the area thrown in. Veronica was very knowledgable and friendly, and you get to go to places that as a tourist you probably would never go to or see.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

great tour ...loved the guide

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Wow! The Colosseum was amazing you can almost hear the roar of the crowd ! Being able to access the lower levels was a highlight and for those for which stairs are an issue , there is an elevator. This is such a special place and the guide was excellent in her knowledge and ability to set the scene. Palatine hill was also well worth the visit and it is also so much better with a guide as you really wouldn't know the significance of the buildings and artefacts you were viewing without one.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Lots of thing s to see. the Hop on Hop off Tour was the easiest way to accomplish it.

Doing what: Genoa Shore Excursion: Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed the trip. Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message