The Italian port city of Genoa remains off the radar for most tourists in Italy even though it’s a major port and one of the largest cities in the country. Thus, anyone who makes a point of stopping in Genoa (Genova in Italian) is treated to a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would highly recommend this tour, we had a wonderful time, it was worth every cent. We absolutely loved it we also had a wonderful tour guide and great transport ! Great day!!

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved this tour. Great way to see a lot in one day! Loved the boat ride!

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this tour was amazing we enjoyed our time .. although they should mention that there is a time that you can swim at santa margharita .. as they told us when we reached there so we werent ready

but overall nice experience and very beautiful places

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

very good tour. Most of the tour was at Genoa and we had a local guide who was extremely passionate about her city. We then drove to Santa Marguerita Ligure where we took a ferry to Portofino. Portofino is everything you imagine it to be. Picture perfect. Could have spent extra time in SML and Portofino instead of so much time in Genoa which really was a very grotty city.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour but we would have preferred a more comfortable bus for such a long trip.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Genoa is OK but not very impressive. Like seafood by the water. Very fresh and tasted. Combined with portofino is worthy trip.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

George M
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

early start and the time in Genoa was far to long, we had a local guide in Genoa and we were rushed through the old town , Our guide walking a good 50 metres ahead of us at times. When we did catch up with her she spoke with her eyes closed through out her speach and did not interact with any of us at all.
The only time we all wanted to stop and take pictures was when we came to the old city walled gate where Christopher Columbus's home was. We were all taking pictures and our local guide was trying to hurry us up and our day guide started clapping his hands to move us along. I did not like this so I went back to take a few pictures and others in the tour did the same. Then we were taken to a little dirty bakery to have a taste of home made bread and then we sat there for 15 minutes. All wrong as we should have had more time at the places of interest, not a dirty little bakery. We then have free time in Genoa, way to much free time and then we are on the boat to Portofino which is only a 10 minute ride. I enjoyed my free time in Portofino as it is a lovely place to visit. Those walking talking ear plugs are annoying and full of static and they pick up everything the guide can hear around him. I liked Portofino but the Genoa part was not very good

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

I do not recommend Viator and if I could zero stars I would.
My ViaTor experience: I arrived prior to departure time for the Viator Bus on which I had reserved, booked and full paid in advance. Waiting at traffic light to cross street to the bus when the bus pulled away before the stated departure time. I immediately called Viator to see if this was a mistake and tell them I was waiting for the Viator Genoa Tour bus. They refused to help and did not return my call as promised. Subsequently Viator refused to provide a resolution. I am surprised a tour bus would leave before its scheduled departure time, not check the paid passenger manifest with those on the bus nor double check whether clients were nearby. Also, an FYI for tourists: The bus position pickup location is not obvious and not properly described in Viator material. The bus pickup is not in front of the Visit Milan office but down the street to the side.
I was aware of the bus position, because of previous and successful tours on other company buses including CityWonders and Musement - and I highly recommend these two companies. They both offer the exact same tours at comparable or even lower price. And CityWonder and Musement tour buses do not leave prematurely plus they perform passenger check-in and verify paid clients are accounted for.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What an exquisite trip, all-around. Transportation was fluid, and guides were knowledgeable and showed us Genoa inside out. A much more bustling city than we expected, and fill with history and art. Portofino, Santa Margherita and Rapello are picturesque - postcard beauty, where you have to experience to understand the vibrant colors, beautiful water and fantastic people. We will come back for this trip again, a must-see!

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a good tour. Portofino was beautiful and the boat ride very pleasant. Our tour guide Angela was very accommodating and helpful . She gave good information . I recommend this tour

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Although our guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot on this tour, we were disappointed that it was cut short by 1/2 hr. and that the only shop we entered was the candy shop for a treat. We would like to have gone into some other shops to taste some local specialties which is what we thought we would be doing.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Genoa's Historical Shops Including Tasting

Valerie R
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

ONE WORD...AMAZING!

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide and driver were great, a little too much time in Genoa but the local guide was very good.
We could have spent a bit more time in Santa Margharita and perhaps had lunch there before our boat ride to Portofino

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour and guide in Genoa. Our tour guide for the day was very nice but always on the phone. Also recommended a very below average restaurant.
All cities visited were very beautiful and picturesque.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent guides and fabulous blend of places

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a very nice tour. I wish we could have more time to explore on our own. Highly recommend it. Lots of beautiful places not enough time see all.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The Genoa and Lake Como was very enjoyable. The portofino trip was extremely disappointing as all we got to see was where the tender left us as going up that many steps was not within our comfort. We thought we would get to see an actual town.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was everything i thought it would be-from the tour guide to the bus driver-i would have liked to spend less time in Genoa and more time in Portofino. However every thing was great

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is an excellent day trip. It is well guided and a good value for the money. It is a long day almost 12 hours.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip is just delightful!!! Simply the most unforgettable of my three trips in Italy. We had Sonia for a leader and she was great. In Genoa our tourist guide (antoinetta) was more knowledgeable than a university professor . The entire trip is picturesque and when we arrived to Portofino it was breathtaking . I highly recommend this trip. It is so well organized and beautiful and I prefer it from the cinque terre or como trip- although they are also lovely. If you have to cose one trip- chose this one

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a great day but was a bit disappointed that Portofino was so small. The tour itself was good and the driver and tour lady was very nice.

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Need more time in Portofino and less time in Genoa

Doing what: Genoa and Portofino Day Trip from Milan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Italian Riviera was amazing. The trip was a little rushed due to all the stops. Unfortunately it was a bilingual tour which we tried to avoid. Spanish dominant language and no whisper technology so you had to listen to both and stay close to guide and waste time. Our tour escort was pleasant but was an office worker who replaced main guide last minute and didn't offer much information. very disappointing for so much money.

Doing what: 4-Day Liguria Tour from Milan: Cinque Terre, Genoa, Italian Riviera

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message