Ringed with palatial villas, manicured gardens and snow-capped Alps, Lake Como is one of the most popular day-trip destinations from Milan, and a star of the Italian lake district. Most visitors come to Lake Como via the attractive resort ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 419 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sheena.ellis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour is all about fantastic scenery and an opportunity to peek into the lives of the rich and famous as you spend about 2 hours on the cruise from Como to Bellagio. Beautiful alps, enormous lake and stunning vistas with lakeside villas. Only criticism is that our guide could have given more detailed explanations and pointed out more places of interest on the cruise.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

david.roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent. it took an hour to drive to Como from Milan and after a short introductory guide we had free time to wander the streets before enjoying a 2 hour boat trip up Lake Como to spend several hours at Bellagio - local ferry stopping at various places along the way. A fantastic way to spend a day out in Italy - we were lucky with sunny weather and were able to see the Alps in the distance.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Both my wife and I loved this tour! It was very well organised and our tour guide Nadia was fantastic! It was relaxing, and a truly great taster of Lake Como - the highlight was our free time in the bueatiful town of Bellagio - we would definitely highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

bergencountymom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a wonderful tour! The ferry ride up Lake Como yields spectacular scenery at every turn, culminating in a few hours' free time to explore the lovely town of Bellagio. Try Hotel Suisse for lunch--the food is excellent! Lots of fantastic shops with local art and handicrafts to duck in and out of.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Leticia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I loved Lake Como and Bellagio! I wish I was still there! I would recommend this tour! We started on a bus to Lake Como, then a 2 hour boat ride to Bellagio. Had breakfast in Lake Como and lunch in Bellagio!

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Lake Como tour from Milan was amazing! After exploring Milan the first day, it was great to get out the city and explore such a beautiful place. Our tour guide, Laura, was excellent. She provided us with a lot of interesting historical facts and fun trivia about the area. If you have time to attend the tour, it is definitely worth it!

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Megan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My boyfriend and I loved our tour to Lake Como!! The bus ride is quick, only an hour or so. Our favorite part by far was the ferry ride. Such amazing views. We had a quick lunch on Bellagio and snuck into this really cool wine bar for a tasting with very large pours. It was a great afternoon!

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Hei L A N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The trip was lovely, but the weather was slightly misty, meaning that it was a bit cold I did go in April. The tour guide Marta was really helpful and always free to answer any questions. The tour starts at Milan, then goes to Como, then Bellagio by boat, then back to Milan. For the boat ride to Bellagio, sit on the left side of the boat - there are more attractions that side. Also, have lunch at Bellagio - there are many restaurants, and I highly recommend the fish dishes.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Alannah S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour of Lake como and surrounding towns. Our guide was very informative and we had ample time to explore the villages on our own.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

George V Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour of Lake Como and Bellgio.

Excellent guide.

Tour length appropriate, but drive along Lake Como on the way back unnecessary , and of not much scenic value for the extra time taken to return to Milan.

Independent travellers can easily do this tour on their own for much less cost.
O
Simply train to Como, get onto local ferry to Bellagio and then return.

Costs a lot less than the the tour.

I would not recommend this tour to independent travellers as we are.

We erred by booking this tour.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

william b

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

We felt that making the two stops in Como and Bellagio on top of the cruise was trying to accomplish too much. Also the weather was gray and so we didn't appreciate the scenery as much as we would have if it was sunny. The guide was okay but really didn't add that much to the two land stops.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Traci M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

This trip was just okay. After the pickup, the bus makes a random stop to take pictures for about 30 minutes for no real good reason. Then it's another hour to Como city and a walking tour which is basically just a way to get you to where you are meeting after your free time. There is a little break there, then onto to the ferry for the ride to Bellagio. What isn't made clear when in the description is that it is a 2 hour ride to Bellagio on a ferry that is crowded with other tour groups. Even with the headphones, you hear all the other guides taking to their groups.
There really is no reason for the tour to start at 8:30 since the ferry does not leave until 1 PM and it is only an hour and a half drive from Milan to Como.
At the end of the tour you get on another ferry to take you across the lake back to the bus. We were told to meet at 4:45, but the ferry pulled out before that and our guide was one of the first people on so we were just very lucky that no one was left behind.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very Organised tour. Lake Como is simply gorgeous. A must go place if you visit Italy. Really enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Emilio C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very pleasant experience. Lake Como views are awesome, the wine tasting in vineyards was fine and the journey was a good escape from our Milan business trip.
Our guide, Luca, was extremely kind and adjusted to our preferences and schedule during the tour. He had an outstanding knowledge about the region.

Doing what: Private Tour: Valtellina Day Trip with Lunch and Wine-Tasting from Milan

mslcelia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide explain the history and every details to us clearly, although it is a low season to visit Como but it worth a visit.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Mary I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What can I say about this tour! The Valtellina region of Italy is gorgeous and this tour with Luca was the best! We took the early train in the morning- Luca was flexible with times and gave us a couple of options on when to leave Milan. He then picked us up from the train station- we ended up missing the one for Varena but he was a short phone call away and picked us up at the next stationwhich luckily was close. He then drove us up the mountains so we could get breathtaking views of Lake Como. He also took us around Varena- a perfect little town- and then on to our lunch plans. Luca is so accommodating when it comes to stopping for photos and will always pull over when you are trying to snap just the right image. He also ALWAYS offers to take photos of you- which was a bonus since we didn't have very many together from our trip. Lunch was fantastic and we got a tour of the cheese making process at the farm. Luca then drove us around and we were able to see the Valtellina vineyards. They are incredible- the terracing is fantastic. I would have loved to see them when there were grapes on the vine. We went to the Nera winery and did a tour of the facility with Francesco-the manager. Luca and Francesco were very knowledgeable and we learned a lot about the wine making process. We then were able to taste the wine. The manger even set me up with a distributor in America since we wanted to purchase bottles. Luca drove us all over and was so accommodating he told us that he would take us to do anything that he could make happen and I believe that he would. He was willing to drive us to the Swiss border since we wanted to add a country to our trip but we chose not to make that addition since it was a bit out of the way. Luca has lived in the area for his whole life and is very knowledgeable about everything Valtellina. I cannot recommend him enough, everyone should take this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Valtellina Day Trip with Lunch and Wine-Tasting from Milan

Ellaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved my day trip to Lake Como - beautiful sights and an enthusiastic, knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Saumya G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed the trip. The guide was informative and the tour was on time. We had adequate free time of 3 hours to explore Como and Brunate by ourselves which I liked. The guide took us to all places of interest and was very thorough without being boring.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

nonya Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I read many great reviews about this tour and after having joined this tour myself, i can see why it is so highly rated. very well organised, a nice and relaxing tour to Como. the lake is beautiful and breathtaking. although the town is pretty quiet during winter time, many shops were closed etc but the scenic lake is worth it. Our tour guide, Laura was professional, patient and very informative. our Driver, Clement was excellent, providing a safe and relaxing ride to Como.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Fernando Teixeira Portugal

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was a good trip, very well organized.
Lake Como is a wonderful place.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

JILL B K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Lovely lake and scenery. Como delightful old town. Clooney???

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Tri Febriantono S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The journey was breathtaking....what lovely panorama at all corners of the lakes...if only we had more time in Lugano to enjoy the lake as much as lake Como...

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Christian S USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

This is just an ok tour. I wish we have stayed longer in Lugano and should have left the place till after lunch. Instead, we were only given around 1 1/2 hours which is not enough. We stayed longer in the small town of Bellagio wherein there's really nothing much to see in this place. Thirty 30 minutes is more than enough to see everything in this town! Oh well what do you expect, the tour operator is Italian so they want your money spent in Italy to boost their struggling economy.

Aside from that, I was under the impression that we will be using a chartered boat to cruise Lake Como but to my surprise, we were just given ferry tickets and we boarded the ferry jostling with other public passenger. If you want to stay in Lugano, do not take this tour, just use the train it will be less expensive. If you have other way to see Lugano and Lake Como, do NOT go with this tour.

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Andrea

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

The tour was terrible thanks to our guide who didn't had an idea how to speak well, her facts were misleading, didn't gave time the passengers to sleep the 3 hour trip to Como using the coach microphone for her jokes.

All the other tourists were even joking about the guide not being quiet even for 1 minute, nobody wanted to continue listening her. The tour would have been better by ourselves.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Adam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very nice day trip. The guide was fantastic, gave a ton of information about everything we were seeing and doing. The walking tour with her in Como was optional - but I thought well worth it. Lunch is late on the tour, but until after two, so you should have a snack or eat a good breakfast. I was surprised at how comprehensive the trip was, and all that was included, for the price. I'd say a great value and a nice way to see Lake Como and some of it's villages.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message