Take a ride on the Bernina Express, Switzerland's newest Alpine delight. This magnificent 3-hour train journey takes you along one of the most beautiful railway routes in the world over the Bernina Pass to the exclusive resort of St. Moritz, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 840 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elsie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the BEST tour I have ever had in my life. So glad we got to see the Swiss Alps in this Rail Tour. I just wished that the time allotted to walk and experience St. Moritz was longer than the break and time given for Tirano. I barely walked the street of St.Moritz as time was spent on the Chocolate shop. Overall, this tour I will recommend to ALL. Worth the money and time spent to experience such awesome wonder. The Maloja Pass was a thrilling experience too. The tour guide and bus driver on that 5-Jan-2016 tour were awesome. The BEST!!!!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour! On time and beautiful scenery!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

bergencountymom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very long and exhausting day, but well worth it! This is a thrilling train ride through the Alps. The scenery at every turn is AMAZING! Our guide was very nice and very knowledgable. Her English wasn't perfect, but good enough, and her enthusiasm was wonderful! The driver was excellent. The best part of the day was the train ride itself, the least interesting part of the day was St. Moritz. To me St. Moritz is sterile and without charm fortunately we had very little time there. If you are looking to spend some meaningful time in St. Moritz this would not be the tour for you. Our fellow travelers were a very nice bunch, and it was enjoyable to share the day's experiences with them. Bravo to Viator for this fantastic trip!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had perfect April weather for this trip. Train thru the Alps was awesome! Would highly recommend for others to take this trip from Milan. My only recommendation was the need to spend more time in St Moritz. Why can't the company provide an organized tasting/demonstration at a chocolate company in St Moritz?

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Maureen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I wish there were more stars to give this tour, it is fantastic! An amazing day seeing such awe inspiring sights. I would highly recommend it , not to be missed!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Dawn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful trip, guide brilliant, good day out

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Sally S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

You must see this if you love snow scenery. It is breathtaking!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Pamela F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great trip to the Swiss. Beautiful scenery and our guide, Franco, was delightful.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Bonnie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I got lucky we only had 10 people on my tour. The stops on the way up to the train where nice. I got breakfast at the first, and we had enough time to sit there and eat it while chatting with others in our group and getting to know each other. I didn't ever feel rushed on this trip. The guide was fantastic with all of the information he was giving us through out the trip. Our bus driver was amazing as well. IF you are debating on this in my opinion it was completely worth the money, and time! I plan on doing it again in a few years with my mother because I enjoyed it that much.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A fantastic experience with an excellent guide

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

stephen h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

could not have asked for anything better except for maybe the stop in st. moritz.just nothing to see there in such a short time. had more fun in torrino than here but the train trip was just off the charts good.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Timothy P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

very helpful, would have preferred a train ride back

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

glenice p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our trip was superb! The stops were fun. The train ride up to St amortization was amazing! We were sad that our headsets didn't work, but the beauty was beyond stunning. Totally recommend taking this day trip!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Tasha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really fun and infomative!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Pamela C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great experience. Was disappointed that it was not disclosed that we would be on a bus for so long. But the train ride was exceptional just not long enough.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

James C United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Buyer Beware.
This tour sounds like youll spend the day on a scenic tour. Reality is that you will spend over 7 hours on a coach with 40 strangers that you dont know and whom are loud at very early hours. Out of Milan, you will stop at a roadside rest stop for 30 minutes for no reason. Then, you will go to a church in Tirano that is pretty, but not what you asked for. Then youll be set free for an hour and half in the tiny town of Tirano for lunch after being strongly suggested to go along with the tour lunch, which is extra and not part of the tour.

Then and only then, will you get on the train regional service, not the express as youve been promised. The train ride is excellent and gorgeous but youll only get to see it once because youre not coming back down the train, another coach ride awaits you in Switzerland. Upon arrival at St. Mortiz, youll have about 50 minutes to explore before boarding that coach back to Milan. If this appeals to you, then by all means but its not pretty and we hated it.

So if spending more time on a coach than a train sounds good to you while seeing things you didn't ask for on a train that isn't what's advertised, please continue but take the time to read the many negative reviews.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Syamim A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour and a very informative tour guide. Will certainly recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Charisse.Goddard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely fantastic trip and definitely worth the cost. From a tour guide who was not just informative, but also interesting, to a bus driver who was skilled, a train trip through unforgettable scenery to a long but thoroughly enjoyable day, this tour is a must.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Lou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Awesome trip, wonderful sights, and a perfect amount of stops to break up the day. The guide and drivers were great, even when we got caught in an unforeseen snowstorm, the driver was calm and great!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Guy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide was excellent. The bus ride to Tirano was comfortable and the commentary good and informative. The sound quality from the microphone was bad at times and it would be a good idea for the guide to ask for feedback frequently.

The train ride was excellent and provided enough time to really enjoy the scenery. The windows could be opened for better photos and the train travelled at a good speed. There were many photo opportunities.

St Moritz is good in the winter months in summer in might be quite boring and the 1 and a half hours was just enough to have a look around the shops and have a snow ball fight.

The food stop in Tirano was acceptable. We had a salad starter which was cheese and tomato then the main which was a simple pasta dish which was nice. The meal came with wine and water and in total cost Euro 16 set fee which was about average for this type of meal in Italy.

There were a sufficient number of stops and an appropriate amount of time available at each.

A bus takes you back from St Moritz to the starting point. This was comfortable.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Erica F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommended it the scenery is spectacular and the train ride is lovely with the roll down windows, our tour leader was amazing and very informative and helpful and so nice very sorry forgot his name but he was young and blonde, bought chocolates from st moritz which was very very good all that the tour should have is more time in st moritz but other then that worth every penny just to see the views

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Ren Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice tour, Bernina Express was a must try! Guide was good and informative.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Alfredo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guide was funny and the cities were very well selected. I would definetely recommend to friends.

The only one thing I would change would be the amount of time in the final destination Sankt Moritz. There was far too little time there. Cutting half an hour in a couple of the Italian cities and leaving 30 minutes later would add extra 90 minutes there, which would give us more time to have a walk around and take pictures, maybe even visiting a museum.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Debbie M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

very nice tour. I wish we had a longer time to roam St. Moritz.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Janine Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a full day tour and quite exhausting but we did love it. Our guide did not impress us at first, we thought he was rude but he chilled out over the day and was quite nice in the end. His commentary was excellent and we learned a lot during the day. It was a shame in the train to be so crammed into one carriage and annoying when other passengers fought to get a window seat and then fell asleep during the train ride, missing the view and not allowing other people to get up close to the window. I wished there had of been an opportunity to spread out a bit as the rest of the train seemed empty. We enjoyed all the little towns we visited. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message