Take a ride on the Bernina Express, Switzerland's newest Alpine delight. This magnificent 3-hour train journey takes you along one of the most beautiful railway routes in the world over the Bernina Pass to the exclusive resort of St. Moritz, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 571 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Lots to see in one day, great scenery, very well organised, highly recommended!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My family of three loved this tour. Leaving early in the morning from Milan, a coach bus took us to Tirano, Italy, where we boarded the Bernina Express Train. The sky went from a deep blue early in the morning to a beautiful bright sky by the time we arrived in Tirano. The views up the mountain are beautiful, passing Lake Como and small villages on the way. Once in Tirano we quickly entered the Basilica Madonna di Tirano, a small church that is one of the most detailed and glorified churches I have ever seen. Tirano is small, so there was time for lunch before we boarded the Bernina Express. Once on the train it was one fantastic site after another. The towns, villages, lakes, waterfalls and mountains were breathtaking. We felt like we were in a peaceful, beautiful world. The end of the train journey is the town of St. Moritz. Our tour was on a Sunday, so almost everything was closed, which was fine since shopping is expensive there. We did manage to buy some Swiss chocolate which was to die for. There we met our coach bus again and headed down the hairpin mountain turns back to Milan. Franco, our bus driver was skillful and even had some fun with us around those turns. Our tour guide Marta was very knowledgeable, but her native Italian accent made it difficult for us to understand her English at times, and this was an English only tour. That was the only negative. But this trip is so worth it and the views so stunning, that I can forgive that one negative.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent! highly recommended

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Weather was perfect on our tour day. Tirano shouldn't be missed, and of course is part of the tour. Great value. Good guide. Probably the top one or two attractions that we saw during our two week trip to Italy.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip is a must do!! The view is amazing and we had a lot of fun with our guide. The train ride sounded terrifying as I was worried about motion sickness during the windy track. However, the ride was smooth and the wonderful view made me forget all about my worries of motion sickness. Do change some Swiss currency if you are planning to buy some food or postcards!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The rail tour from Milan was everything I had hoped it would be and more. We had a wonderful tour guide and the scenery was fantastic! I had not anticipated too much snow and was quite surprised at the amount we encountered. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely excellent trip, brilliant tour guide - very knowledgeable and hilarious, making the journey feel much shorter than it was! Organised very well, felt in safe hands at all points.
Would have liked to have a bit more information beforehand regarding the length of the coach journeys - we were unaware that it was such a long journey back afterwards.
Other than that all good, would definitely recommend, well worth the money.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great experience. My wife and I went on a Monday. Bus ride was good, not too many people so we could see everything on either side. Did not eat at the place we stopped for breakfast, was not that appealing. Tour good was informative. The place she recommended was not all that good. Go out in town and find something else, you will have plenty of time. Train ride was beautiful. It was in October so not very cold yet and everything was just amazing. The shops in St. Moritz were closed except for the Coop so that was disappointing. My wife asked why it is dead so much and the tour guide said because most shops are closed on Monday. So if you want to shop do not go on Monday. We got back about an hour later than expected but the ride back on the bus was worth it also. Very nice experience.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The train ride was excellent....beatiful views. The rest of the tour was only OK

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The scenery while on the Bernina Express was spectacular and memorable.Overall however the weather on the day was particularly bad and did spoil the trip somewhat,the guide was helpful.The day travelling was long .The trip was expensive when you consider we could both fly from Ireland to Milan return for less.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Make sure that you are aware that the tour is not picking you up from your hotel, it is a whole day trip and the train ride is just a fraction ( fourth ) of the tour.
Great scenery with the train ride, but only a few shops were open when we got to St. Moritz.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing tour. Fantastic guide. Lots of information. Sights were out of this world.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message