• USD ($)
  • English
Dunn's River Falls is a spectacular waterfall near Ocho Rios, where cold mountain water cascades 1,000 feet (300 meters) down naturally terraced steps. Visitors can climb the falls alone or in a guided "human chain," but there's also plenty ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 233 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

the falls and gardens were great, but you felt a little rushed for time.
the shopping experience was something else though, the natives are very pushy and walking away is the only way you get a bargain.

Doing what: Ocho Rios Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great trip. We boarded the catamaran on time and set out for the snorkeling. I chose not to snorkel, just because it was such a large group, and I knew it wouldn't compare to previous outstanding snorkeling trips. After about an hour of snorkeling, we headed to Dunn's River Falls. This is an absolute must for anyone traveling to Jamaica. I've never experienced anything like it. Once we re-boarded the catamaran,the party began! We had jerk chicken for lunch (they will accommodate vegetarians) and plenty of beer and rum punch available. The crew and disc jockey were superb. I wouldn't hesitate to do this trip again. It was that much fun.

Doing what: Jamaica Catamaran Cruise to Dunn's River Falls from Ocho Rios or Montego Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Omg this is a must do in Ocho rio!!! captain Michael and his crew made the journey worth it deft will do again.

Doing what: Jamaica Catamaran Cruise to Dunn's River Falls from Ocho Rios or Montego Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The staff were fun, knowledgable and caring. They made sure everyone was safe and that no one got drunk. Ha ha, that must have been a tough job. The snorkelling was interesting and the time allowed was sufficient. Their equipment was new and clean.
Dunn's River Falls was incredible and once again the staff at Dunn's River made sure we all had a great experience and no one got hurt, it was challenging and a great experience.
The Falls "guide" could have been more helpful for stragglers in the back of the line. However, I would certainly recommend it for all ages.

Doing what: Jamaica Catamaran Cruise to Dunn's River Falls from Ocho Rios or Montego Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

it was Lovely...very nice tour indeed...nine miles was nice because the guide were funny and tell things in a very good way

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour would have been much better if the shopping was in town...not some cruise ship drop off mall!.We were expecting to go into the proper town of Ochos Rios not some commercial mall!!

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Not what I was expecting. The Falls are extremly packed so its hard to get around and enjoy the beauty. People from the market place are very pushy! 9 mile is a long drive to the top of the mountain. This is not a hike!! Once you get to Bob Marley's house you get a peaceful sense. You feel him there

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great day! The sailing tour was a fun way to get to Dunn's River Falls and the crew was very entertaining and made sure we were comfortable. Before we made our way to the Falls, we stopped to snorkel and enjoyed the warm water. Overall, a great trip and we would highly recommend this!

Doing what: Jamaica Catamaran Cruise to Dunn's River Falls from Ocho Rios or Montego Bay

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

If I had to do over again I would skip the shopping in Ocho Rios. Next time I would only do the Dunns River Falls - that was fantastic! If review was for Dunns River I would have given 5 stars - but shopping was same junk you can buy anywhere - the sellers say anything to buy their wares. Seller proclaimed "it took her 3 days to make cap" later I found white tag "Made in Guatemala" Oh well they needed the money.

Doing what: Ocho Rios Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The falls was so much fun and not quite as challenging as it looks. The Bob Marley 9-Mile was an interesting experience in more ways than one. The driver and tour guide were not the best. The tour guide was limited as far as speaking clear English. She did not narrate at all during the duration of the close to 2 hour bus trek. The driver and tour guide appeared to be at some kind of odds at certain points of the trip. The ride to Bob Marley's 9-mile was very tedious in the mountains on what appeared to be a single lane road...rocky/dirt at times with our big tour bus. Several times the few cars in sight had to stop or ride on the very edge because of our bus. A van even had to back up to let us through. I am not sure if this was a real road...the driver seemed suspect throughout. However, once we arrived at the Falls and Nine Mile the excursions were well worth it. The transportation aspect (driver and tour guide on the bus), were the only negatives. I would definitely recommend using "Vacation Express" for scheduling excursions and NOT "Holiday Services" We had both and it was definitely a difference.

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The value of the trip was fantastic! We were picked up on time and greeted warmly at our hotel. Now the things I didn't like or appreciate was there was not a lot of interaction on the long ride to Nine Mile, having been once before I already knew of several "hot spots" along the way from my previous guide years prior, but my 2 sisters had never been and neither had the other 2 guests aboard. I was disappointed that our guide didn't point out more along the way up. The second thing I really did not appreciate is that we were hustled into buying water shoes for Dunn River Falls by what seemed to be a set up with a vendor on the side of the road, again, I have been before and did not need water shoes but our driver insisted we HAD to buy them or they wouldn't let us climb the falls. Well, as I remember it's only suggested you wear water shoes not mandatory you could also rent some if you didn't want to buy some. So we were all out $12 that could have gone toward a better tip for our driver or other guides. So beware...at the falls water shoes are not mandatory and you can rent them there. I am all for supporting local business but don't hustle me. Please....but again I would highly recommend the tour for price alone...good deal.

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Tour guide was great.. Didn't really enjoy the drive to Nine Mile but other than that it was awesome.. Best price I could find!!

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

The boat was not fully usable. The front area where I usually sit during my time on catamarans was completely closed off. The usual netting was not even there and it was blocked off by yellow tape! That's my favorite part of the sailing and I wasn't allowed on the front deck at all. The guides were great, funny and energetic. The DJ was awesome, but the music was so loud, our ears were ringing until night time.

Doing what: Jamaica Catamaran Cruise to Dunn's River Falls from Ocho Rios or Montego Bay

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Oy! Well, the short version of this story is that the guide you get means a lot. Having said that, we had a rough day, but I am sure this tour would be better had we had a better guide.

First off, we got picked up in Negril. We were the first on the bus at 8am. Our driver arrived 20 mins early which we were happy about, but this made for a long day. By time we picked other passengers at their hotels, the guide (in Mo Bay), and finally made it to Dunn's River Falls it was noon.

Second, the guide. English was her second language. She was filling in last minute for the English tour guide that apparently called out. She gave us zero info (minus the situation she was in) on the tour. No heads up on where we were, what we were seeing, what's coming up next. She rushed us off the bus at Dunn's River and kept complaining that we were not "on time". Not to mention her fighting with the driver. She was not pleasant.

Finally, our driver ran out of gas before getting us back to our hotel. We had to take a $20.00 US cab ride home from another Negril hotel to get back. This was the nail in the coffin after a 15 hr day that consisted mostly of driving and staring out the window at we were not sure what since our guide was silent.

Tips for this trip
- If you are getting picked up from Negril, prepare for a LONG day
- Bring food. You get fed once so snacks to have on the bus are paramount. We got lunch at 2:30pm and did not get back to the hotel in Negril until 10:00pm
- The ride to 9 Mile is treacherous with windy crap roads with one lane off the face of a cliff. Would have been nice to get a heads up on that. The ride from Dunn's River to 9 Mile and back to the hotel is the majority of the trip. Prepare to spend hours and hours on the bus
- Bring change to tip, as you would on any tour
- Luminous Lagoon option? This was not mentioned once by our driver or the tour guide. Rule it out if you have to make it back to Negril

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message