Dunn's River Falls is a spectacular waterfall near Ocho Rios, where cold mountain water cascades 1,000 feet (300 meters) down naturally terraced steps. Visitors can climb the falls alone or in a guided "human chain," but there's also plenty ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 259 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ghumnaphirna
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The Falls is amazing and a must do on your Jamaica tour. This particular excursion vendor is good enough. They wait for you if your ship is late or if you provided the ship time instead of local time. They are always concerned about taking you back to the ship due to which there were no stops other than the falls and a lunch break. They stop you at a local store to purchase any water shoes if you dont have one. That was a waste of time since the same shoes were available at the same cost at the falls entrance. The girl guide on the bus was okay. She does not have a mic so everyone needs to sit up close to the front to listen to her.

Doing what: Montego Bay Shore Excursion: Dunn's River Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour is amazing and we had a fabulous driver and tour guide! Can't wait til next year!!!

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Joe, our driver, was the very best of this trip! Knowledgeable, fun and friendly guy always eager to help out including negotiating if needed. The Dunn's River Fall was our favorite part of the trip. They charge $40 for the CD video of your adventure, but after watching I don't think it was worth it. Shopping was a blast! I recommend this trip and I highly recommend asking for Joe as your driver!

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Cruise terminal was chaos - took a while to find our driver. Driver promptly informs us that hes going to put us in another car because he has other people to pick up. Just outside the gate, the he pulls over and our car turned out to be a Toyota Yaris driven by an older gentlemen. Seemed odd, but we went with it. The driver was nice enough, provided some interesting information about Jamaica, the region, and its history. Good conversation both to and from the falls.

The falls are awesome but be prepared to be herded into groups by the guides and videographers. Their mission is to sell you a 40 DVD of your experience, photos, etc. and of course, tip them generously at the end of the climb. If you need help performing moderate activities, then they are probably your best option. Personally, I prefer to enjoy the climb alone and not being coerced into stopping every five minutes for a photo opportunity. If you have any doubts, you can always start out with the group and break off on your own if/when you wish.

Our driver gave us as much time as we wanted at the falls while waiting in the parking lot. We wound up spending about 1.5 hours there - one climb up the falls and then back down the path to the beach for a bit. On the way back, we stopped and had some Jerk chicken for lunch, there were a couple of side items but I dont recall what they were. It was all very tasty though and there was plenty. The remainder of the trip back to Mo Bay was pleasant enough but once we got near the airport, traffic was heavy all the way to the cruise terminal. Fortunately, we had plenty of time and it wasnt an issue. That last stretch, about 8 km, took 45 minutes to an hour so keep that in mind if you have a ship to catch.

This is an enjoyable excursion and a good value. Five stars had it not been for the aggressive vendors and guides at the falls. Ya mon!

Doing what: Montego Bay Shore Excursion: Dunn's River Falls

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

I went on the Dunn's River Falls half-day (no shopping) tour and it was fun with no problems. The tour operator has one of the newest fleets of vehicles on the island -- the bus that picked us up was impeccably clean and comfortable. The tour started with picking up guests from the various hotels -- the whole pick up process lasted about 45 minutes. The drive to Dunn's River from Montego Bay took another 1.5 hours with a pitstop in the middle as well as a stop to buy/rent water shoes prior to entering the falls. If you have your own water shoes, or good sport sandals (good tread, toe protection like a Keen sandal), then you are good for the Dunn's River hike. The hike up the water fall itself was pretty easy for most people. The tour includes a guide, though I found the human chain to be a little more cumbersome than helpful, but the people that were holding onto me for dear life probably found it helpful. The hike itself takes about 1 hour. After the hike, there are knickknacks for sale in a souvenir village, though they are pricier than in other places. Overall, an excellent experience that I would recommend to others.

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

would not book again with this tour operator or Viator

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This trip rocked! (No pun intended). The guide at the caves was informative and funny -- not rushed. The falls which were amazing! You can get water shoes there for $10. You don't need a guide there; we had more fun scaling the falls by ourselves. We even stopped for sweet sap by the roadside. ☺️

Doing what: Ocho Rios Super Saver: Green Grotto Caves plus Dunn's River Falls

MIRAN S
Slovenia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour! Climbing Dunn`s River Falls was lots of fun. Learned more about Bob Marley at Nine Miles. Swimming in the Luminous Lagoon was unusual experience. In general amazing day with our tour guide Sidney!

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This tour was an overall worthwhile tour picked up promptly it was hour + drive to Falls. Tour guide was very informative during drive and stopped off water shoes/camera covers. Overall pretty good tour climbing Dunns Falls pretty difficult so be prepared.

Doing what: Montego Bay Shore Excursion: Dunn's River Falls

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The falls are worth seeing however the mandatory shopping stop was pointless. I was not interested in shopping and would have been happier spending more time at the falls themselves. Finding the tour operator was difficult as the voucher did not say where to meet them once disembarking the ship

Doing what: Ocho Rios Shore Excursion: Dunn's River Falls

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The length of time it took to travel to Dunns River Falls and then back to the cruise ship was way too long. If you do this tour I would suggest doing it if you are starting from a closer city- Montego Bay is at least 1 1/2 hours away and on the way back we hit traffic so it took 2 plus hours to return to our cruise ship. The falls were very cool but the day we were there had way too many people ( it was New Years Eve day) . The tour guides were wonderful and arranged for our lunch to be picked up so we could eat on the van vs stopping to eat due to the length of time the travelling to and from took.

Doing what: Montego Bay Shore Excursion: Dunn's River Falls

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

Shouldn't have been out in those conditions, half of the party were swept away in the current and had to be rescued. We are fit but found it hard to swim back to the boat. Catamaran was frightening over huge waves.

Doing what: Jamaica Catamaran Cruise to Dunn's River Falls from Ocho Rios or Montego Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I loved every part of this tour, from the amazing tour guide and driver, to actually climbing Dunns River Falls, then regrouping with an afternoon lunch stop at the Ocho Rios Jerk Center, and finishing off the day with some enjoyable shopping!

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Plan on getting wet, wet, wet! Ladies, wear your hair in an appropriate style.

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Falls are definitely a must see. It was extremely crowded when we were there as there were 6 cruise ships in port but still they were very organized and made it fun. Remember to bring your own water shoes that is best but you could buy some decent ones there on site for just $10 and were souvenir color of Jamaica. Transportation was great, personal person brought us and stopped for lunch, they were slow on getting us lunch but it was excellent jerk chicken. Great value this tour was especially compared to what the cruise wanted!

Doing what: Montego Bay Shore Excursion: Dunn's River Falls

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message