Montego Bay ATTRACTIONS See all

Dunn's River Falls

Dunn's River Falls is a spectacular waterfall near Ocho Rios, where cold mountain water cascades 1,000 feet (300 meters) down naturally terraced steps. Visitors can climb the falls alone or in a guided "human chain," but there's also plenty ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 352 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

amanda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My sister and I had a great time

Doing what: Day Trip to Dunn's River Falls from Montego Bay

amanda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My sister and I had a great time

Doing what: Day Trip to Dunn's River Falls from Montego Bay

la_melon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The falls could of been a bit longer thought it was a 9hrs day turn into a 6 hour day. N shopping got sent to flea market which i don't think that was part of package.

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

Ernest J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely fabulous adventure. It was a fun and exciting way to stay cool on a warm day in Jamaica. Our driver was on time and courteous and the guides through the Falls were awesome and very helpful in making sure that members of our group were well taken care of. The trip to Nine Mile was a bit too much for one person who suffered from motion sickness...and the driver/guide did all he could to comfort her. But the adventure was breathtaking and the guides at Nine Mile made us feel welcomed. This was, so far, our best tour of Jamaica and we would strongly recommend this one as a way to see the Jamaican countryside between Montego Bay, Ocho Rios and Nine Mile.

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

Nancy C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The caves were great and the tour guides very Informative.

Doing what: Ocho Rios Super Saver: Green Grotto Caves plus Dunn's River Falls

Keith S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Dunns river was beautiful the climb up the waterfall was fun .only bad teste was cost of 1 photo 10 or a disc with everybody's photos and some of you for 40 .Total rip off .Bobs house was a bit of a trek in a old mini bus with out air conditioning we got there so late that they was shutting up .The tour around felt rushed and I was very disappointed with that .The guide was funny and very informative thou but when we finished the tour we found ourselves locked in and nobody could find the key .A little panic set in finally after about 15 minutes waiting a man come and let us out .Jamaica

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

Darlene P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Had a great time, our tour guide Adrian was wonderful

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

Francine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Its was awesome staff was attentive and professional and bus driver also will book only with you guys for now on

Doing what: Dunn's River Falls Tour from Ocho Rios

c_edvardson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Teresa our guide and Mr. Luis our driver were both excellent, very informative and fun! They made us feel welcome immediately. The passenger van/bus we were on had the best AC and was an extremely comfortable ride. They were also able to drop us off at Scotchies at the end of our tour to get a bite to eat, since they had to drop off passengers at a different hotel and would be swinging back that way anyway to be able to pick us up again. Really enjoyed everything about the Falls and the Caves. Definitely bring comfortable walking/hiking sandals closed toe and heel or strap or water shoes with good grips, the rocks can be a bit slippery in the falls, if you aren't careful...avoid anything with black or green, it's extra slippery. In the caves, be prepared to climb a few stairs and crawl through one limbo hole, not recommended for anyone with knee or back issues. Also, don't bother doing your hair as you need to wear a hairnet and a helmet when going into the caves. All in all it was a great trip and worth every dollar!

Doing what: Ocho Rios Super Saver: Green Grotto Caves plus Dunn's River Falls

Michelle

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Communication was very good before the trip. Bus picked us up at our hotel, the only reason I didn't give it five stars is that we had to go to several hotels that didn't have anyone going on the trip and I felt that was a waste of time and should be addressed.

Other than that, the trip was great! The tour guide and the bus driver were both very good and I think the tour guide did a great job telling us all about Jamaica. Our tour guide on the bus didn't do the trip up the Falls, however, but we did have a good guide. Everything was included in the price, except a tip for the Falls guide, tour guide and bus driver. Make sure you bring some cash for these hard working people.

Everything was safely stored on the bus while we were doing the Falls and the Falls guide will come to your bus for the tip, so don't think you need to bring money.

Our bus tour guide also gave us very good advice about the local vendors and their sales tactics. Without her advice, I think we would've been in trouble!

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

Karen C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Ended up not utilizing this trip due to communication difficulties with pick up times

Doing what: Dunn's River Falls Tour from Ocho Rios

Mechele K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

This was not an enjoyable tour. We were picked up late at our hotel. We were the first hotel picked up and the last hotel that was dropped off from the tour. The total hours was supposed to be 6 and we were gone for almost 8. Spending most of the time on the bus or being treated like cattle in a big group. Climbing the falls was not very enjoyable with such a large group and requiring to hold hands. It was a bad decision to book this tour and waste an entire day without drinks or food to eat. Would recommend booking with a company that doesn't pickup at 8 hotels and catering to such a large group.

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

Brandon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour and tour guides were great. They were very informative and friendly. Climbing the falls was so much fun and a must do if you visit Jamaica

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

Sarah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A great tour! I wish I had read a little bit beforehand - I was caught off guard that Dunn's River Falls is a team hiking up a waterfall activity. Fun and exciting but wish I would have known beforehand!! Bob Marley was a very spiritual place and I enjoyed the tour. Our tour guide was great. The drive to Marley's was terrifying but you trust your guide and everything was fine. Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

BretRuth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had such a great time on the party boat before and after the climb. The climb was not hard and lots of fun. I recommend this climb for anyone with good balance, young or old. Wear your water shoes and come prepared to get wet. Lots of fun!

Doing what: Jamaica Catamaran Cruise to Dunn's River Falls from Ocho Rios or Montego Bay

Brenda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I had a great time on the boat and tour!!

Doing what: Jamaica Catamaran Cruise to Dunn's River Falls from Ocho Rios or Montego Bay

Chris B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was my first time booking with viator.com and the experience couldn't have been easier.
The package for both of these was a way better deal than booking from the resort. Between these 2 parks, there is a lot of climbing, so if you are not in the best of shape, this may not be the tour for you. The caves were interesting and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny. The caves were a little muggy, but not too bad. There was one time when he turned off the lights just to show how dark it is in the caves, so be prepared for that.

The falls were a blast. They try to keep everyone in the group together when you go up, and you hold hands and form a human chain.
Note: You will get wet. I thought for the most part, just my feet would get wet as we climbed up the falls, but nope. There are places where you are wading through pools about waist deep. They also have you slide down a rock into a small pool, and do the nestle plunge into another pool if you so choose. All of the guides are very helpful, giving you a hand when you need it and they video your entire climb, so you can purchase that at the end if you'd like.

Doing what: Ocho Rios Super Saver: Green Grotto Caves plus Dunn's River Falls

Terry J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We chose the JTL Dunn's River Falls/Ocho Rios Shopping tour we reserved thru Viator. Picked up at the hotel in a nice van which held about 20. Carol was an exceptional guide. She provided local color and details regarding the agriculture and culture of the island during the 1 hour ride from Iberostar to Ocho Rios. Only about an hour stop in Ocho Rios. Do take a stroll beyond the 2 block street of stores where the van is parked. Additional shopping and touring near the cruise ships.
Dunn's river falls seemed a little over 100 yards long are not extremely challenging but it is an accomplishment and a memory. The guides are professional and extremely helpful in aiding those who need it and identifying the fun spots for pics and where to get really wet.
Can be a little busy with different groups mingling as they work at different speeds ascending the falls. We went on Monday and found we had only 1 other group mixing in our climb. They seem to stage the groups well. Other commentators discussing crowds may have been climbing during a 'cruise ship' day.

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

Don B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful place! Set up for tourism. Walking up the falls, our tour guide and photo guide made the experience very fun while watching over us to make sure everyone came through it safely. Wish we could have had a little time on the beach area. At the end of the water tour they lead you into a maze of shops, where every one of them want you to buy their goods. No problem mon, just keep your eyes on the finish line and be polite.

Doing what: Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour

Alexis O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a blast on the trip!! Our driver/guide was great!! Very pleased overall.

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

Emily K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Dunn's River Falls was my favorite thing that we did in Jamaica. Nine Mile was my daughter's favorite. And if you're going to do this tour, YOU MUST ADD THE LUMINOUS LAGOON OPTION. Please don't skip it. It was absolutely mind-blowing. You won't have this experience anywhere else.

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

Linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a lot of fun on this day trip. Climbing the water fall was the highlight of our entire trip. The drive to the Nine Mile museum was bumpy but worth it. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Jamaica Combo Tour: Dunn's River Falls and Bob Marley’s Nine Mile

Felicia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour. They pick up from most major hotels and resorts. We were actually not staying at a major resort but since we had a rental car it was no problem to drive down to the resort closest to us for pick up. This we a great way to end our trip.

Doing what: Jamaica Catamaran Cruise to Dunn's River Falls from Ocho Rios or Montego Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message