Montego Bay ATTRACTIONS See all

Martha Brae River

The Martha Brae River is the tranquil home of river rafting in Jamaica, the best way to discover the country's tropical interior. Guided tours include refreshment, lunch and lagoon swim stops, and quite often the guided rafting trips pass riverside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karthiga R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This trip was just awesome, and one of those moments which made us to feel bad that we didn't know swimming. Very nice place.

The guide 007 and rest were just awesome. They really have an art of explaining things in a funny way. I love those guys.

Also, we witnessed a fire man who gave his performance before the boat was departed, he is just awesome as hell. That guys has so much of a talent. Thank you so much Viator and their partners. Yo Mon- No Problem!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

valeriegulliford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour all around ! Driver Tony picked us up on time and was very helpful and knowledgeable about area. Rafting trip was spectacular ! Our raft Captain- Delroy was a delight ! Can and #39;t say enough on how beautiful and relaxing and entertaining this trip was!

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Martha Brae River Rafting

Scott W

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

First off the driver was 25 mins late. Then drove like a maniac to get us there in time. We didn't have time to drink our complimentary drink or use the bathroom before boarding a very overly crowded boat. Had no room to take off shorts or change into water shoes so that was a struggle. Then the tour lasted all of 30 mins with approximately 40 people to get in water and back on... Felt extremely rushed. The lagoon was awesome. But the experience leaves losts to be desired.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Linda

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We had a lot of fun on this trip. Our driver, Patrick, is very courteous and knowledgable. The car is nicer compared to some other cars we have been in during our trip. We do think the pricing is a little high for what we are paying for this excursion. The price of the rafting is not included in the total, so for a 1/2 day trip for 2 people, you would pay 120 on viator plus 60 at the rafting site. Basically the 120 we paid on Viator is just for a private car to take us to and from our hotel to Martha Brae. After having had several different drivers while in Jamaica, we have learned that we should have been able to get a car to take us to and from Martha Brae for much cheaper. However, it was nice to know that we booked with a reputable company so the higher price took away some uncertainties. We enjoyed this day trip and would recommend to people who are not too concerned about pricing.

Doing what: Martha Brae River Rafting Tour from Montego Bay

Nancy M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The driver did a great job getting us to the lagoon boat quickly. The tour itself is somewhat short which was a surprise. Seeing the lagoon however is a must do while there as it is truly special. Just wished we could have stayed on the water longer.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Edward B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The experience was incredible. We were not pleased with the fact that we all got stung by jellyfish very mild...not worried about it and the tour guide tried to cover it up, saying it was just the salt water. As it was localized, and he carried vinegar, it was clear that they know there are jellyfish and are just hiding this fact. It's dark, so you can't see them. That said, the water is beautiful, and I would certainly recommend this experience. I wish it were longer than 30 minutes.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

VJ M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Disappointing.. 45 mins there and back for 15 mins out at sea.
Not very illiuminous was splashing and swimming hardly any light.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Jillian L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I think this excursion could have been amazing if we had better weather during the day. Still had a blast!!!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Craig W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

good tour, something to see once in your lifetime!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

ginabmarie United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The ride was long from Ocho Rios but well worth it. I would do it again.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Stefan F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Our trip to the luminous lagoon began with about an hour car ride from Ocho Rios. We were greeted with a complimentary rum punch and were taken on a short boat ride to the swimming area. The whole tour lasted about 30 to 45 minutes which was very short for such a unique experience. The water was warm and the bottom was muddy but the swim was nice. The effect that the water creates is truly amazing. But a child on our tour was possibly stung by a jellyfish causing us to leave a bit early. We also could not purchase pictures that they took of us during a swim without a credit card which was another downside. Overall the experience was great and we would recommend it for the adventurous, but it was a bit short. If you do go, bring about 30 USD in cash if you want pictures, they didn't offer to email them to us...

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Stefany d United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

I couldn't wait to do this and was very disappointed. It was a a 5 minute ride into the lagoon from the dock, we were let off the boat for 10 minutes to swim and take pictures -- which are hard to get without being able to adjust the exposure on your camera. They do have a photographer on the boat that will take your pictures, if you can get his attention, and give them to you on a USB for 30. There were other boats in the lagoon what were playing music and staying longer in the lagoon than ours. I felt rushed and couldn't enjoy my time in the water, as they were more concerned with returning to the dock to fill the boat up again. If you choose to do this go on a hot day with no rain so the organisms are active.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Sue M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Short and sweet. Not very good value for money really when compared with similar priced trips. I was a bit disappointed as previous reviews bigged up this excursion. Luminosity only lasted a short time when swimmers were in water. Glad I went though.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Jenifer H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Not worth the $$! The 2hr bus ride was more fun then the actual event. U get there, get a free drink you get on the boat, the water lights up a little, then you jump in the water which is muddy brown and the sand in the bottom feels disguting you go back to dock THE END! totaltime=20min. LAME!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had the BEST time!!!! Both the driver and the guides were AWESOME!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND this excursion. I traveled with someone who has a developmental disability and they made the trip very special for her. Can't say enough good things about them. Very kind and funny!!

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Martha Brae River Rafting

Sara R Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a blast with Sydney! He gave us a lot of history about Jamaica, which is exactly what we wanted. The lagoon was cool. We want to see Sydney next time we go to Jamaica! He is an amazing an employee, definitely a keeper!!!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Nancy H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great trip, a must see. Driver was courteous and charming. The boat captain was safety conscious and well infomed. The earlier you arrive, the more luminescent the microorganisms are. When the pelican landed on the water and the glowing ripples radiated toward the boat., it was beautiful.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

J F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! Could maybe be a little better but definitely a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Deborah G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Bryan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Henrica O United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The employees were always very friendly and helpful. The information they gave was not only informative, but delivered in a very professional way. They truly seemed to care about making your stay as comfortable and enjoyable possible.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

greenhouse USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was SO much fun! The only down side is that we didn't get photos. Hey, it's dark! I didn't hear the announcement to swim to the bow of the boat if you wanted their photographer to take a picture, so I missed out. It was still a memorable experience and highly recommended.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Gayle G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This is a worth doing especially that there are only 3 places in the world that have this natural phenomenon. It was fun,

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message