The Martha Brae River is the tranquil home of river rafting in Jamaica, the best way to discover the country's tropical interior. Guided tours include refreshment, lunch and lagoon swim stops, and quite often the guided rafting trips pass riverside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was everything I expected, based on others comments - thank u!! It was short, crowded, a little rushed, but worth it. When we got into the water, it looked like my arms and hands were glowing every time I moved. It was a lot of fun and we'll worth it!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Was good and worth a trip. You are only on the water 45 mins including about 20 mins in the water. I would not recommend though unless you are staying on the North coast as it is a very long way from Negril - 2 hours each way. All in all good and Viator were excellent as always.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a very interesting experience. The ride from ocho rios was a bit long over an hour, just beware of the long ride, but once there it was ok. They gave you a rum punch and we all hoped in the boat to go out to the lagoon. It was pitch black and alittle scarey but once there and the guide told us it was all safe and no snakes or alligators or anything that would harm us it was a lot easier to get in the water. The water was warm and the blue micro organisms were really cool to see glow in the water. Beware that you need a night vision like camera or a high tech camera to get pictures of it, my iPhone didn't get anything but pitch black. So that was a fun adventure but not very long maybe half and hour at tops and being that we traveled about an hour and twenty mins there and back the half and hour in the water and boat ride was not long enough we spent most of the time to and from. But overall it was a fun experience.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

It was definitely neat to see the water light up like it did, BUT we were only give ten minutes to swim in the water. Then they took photos of you while swimming, and wanted $25 for five crappy quality photos. Wasn't worth the money.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Don't waste your money. Your crammed onto a boat like sardines to only go out for about 30 min. If your coming from ocho rios it's a 1 hr 30 min dr. Def not worth it. The water was neat but didn't meet my expectations from the description and photos.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The actual lagoon was amazing! However, we were not told that travel was just under 2 hours each way, with two stops, and they only let us swim in the lagoon for 15 minutes. So that part was upsetting.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The lagoon itself is a beautiful and amazing, but we we're put on a pontoon with a ton of people and the crowd greatly took away from the experience. The floor of the lagoon is also a very nasty and deep sludge so beware if your grossed out by that type of thing.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was awesome! The guides know so much about the water and the area. Good luck catching anything on film without a top of the line camera, but they take some great pictures that you can buy!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing! We took our daughters ages 24, 21, and 18. They loved it. They said it was magical. My workaholic husband said it was worth the journey.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very cool! The company itself felt a little shady, but the boat ride and swim were something you don't want to miss!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

This tour was basically a waste of time. I was staying in Negril and it took about 2 1/2 to 3 hours just to get to the Lagoon. Once there the only time the water looked like this picture was when the boat went in a circle and stirred up the water. Jumping in the water and splashing around did little to turn it blue. The guides sort of explained what made the water turn blue but most of the people on the boat didn't understand anymore than I did. There was a photographer on the boat that took pictures of the people in the water but when we got back we were not given enough time to look at them. The group infront of me took so long looking at their pictures that the driver of our bus came and got me. The best part of the tour was the little glass of rum punch that was complimentary. So if you have nothing to do while in Jamaica take a 5-6 hour ride to be in the water for less than 30 minutes. This is much more suited for those staying in Montego Bay and East.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Short Trip...but it was very interesting!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Was a lot of fun but also a long ride from Ocho Rios - make sure to book during a new moon or when very little moon is showing.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The lagoon was definitely luminous and I'm glad I saw it. However, the lagoon is only about 4 feet deep and the bottom is ankle deep in silt (mud). If anyone stands in the silt and gets it stirred up, you don't see the blue color, and have to swim away to a clear area. I would say you're not actually in the lagoon more than 30 minutes maximum, but that was plenty of time.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message