The Martha Brae River is the tranquil home of river rafting in Jamaica, the best way to discover the country's tropical interior. Guided tours include refreshment, lunch and lagoon swim stops, and quite often the guided rafting trips pass riverside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The actual lagoon was amazing! However, we were not told that travel was just under 2 hours each way, with two stops, and they only let us swim in the lagoon for 15 minutes. So that part was upsetting.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was awesome! The guides know so much about the water and the area. Good luck catching anything on film without a top of the line camera, but they take some great pictures that you can buy!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing! We took our daughters ages 24, 21, and 18. They loved it. They said it was magical. My workaholic husband said it was worth the journey.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very cool! The company itself felt a little shady, but the boat ride and swim were something you don't want to miss!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

This tour was basically a waste of time. I was staying in Negril and it took about 2 1/2 to 3 hours just to get to the Lagoon. Once there the only time the water looked like this picture was when the boat went in a circle and stirred up the water. Jumping in the water and splashing around did little to turn it blue. The guides sort of explained what made the water turn blue but most of the people on the boat didn't understand anymore than I did. There was a photographer on the boat that took pictures of the people in the water but when we got back we were not given enough time to look at them. The group infront of me took so long looking at their pictures that the driver of our bus came and got me. The best part of the tour was the little glass of rum punch that was complimentary. So if you have nothing to do while in Jamaica take a 5-6 hour ride to be in the water for less than 30 minutes. This is much more suited for those staying in Montego Bay and East.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Short Trip...but it was very interesting!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Was a lot of fun but also a long ride from Ocho Rios - make sure to book during a new moon or when very little moon is showing.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The lagoon was definitely luminous and I'm glad I saw it. However, the lagoon is only about 4 feet deep and the bottom is ankle deep in silt (mud). If anyone stands in the silt and gets it stirred up, you don't see the blue color, and have to swim away to a clear area. I would say you're not actually in the lagoon more than 30 minutes maximum, but that was plenty of time.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This is short excursion, 30-45 min. Truly one of the coolest things I've experienced, I emphasize, get in the water if you try this, it's surreal. The water sparkles when disturbed and the " sparkles " cling to you for a moment. Highly recommend, must do!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was an awesome experience! Jerry, our guide on the boat, was fantastic. He told us about what makes the lagoon luminous and gave lots of interesting tidbits of information. It is kind of a short trip because the lagoon is only so big, but Jerry obviously loves what he does and entertained us with songs and stories on the way back to the dock. The only negative was the trip there and back. Our bus driver drove like a maniac, and we were quite relieved to get back to the resort without being in an accident!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The water was beautiful! It was a fun experience!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a really cool experience! The water was beautiful!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazing! Once in a lifetime must! Beware, lagoon is shallow enough to stand in but bottom is made of silt and mud, feels slimy, but not a deal breaker. I recommend you doggy paddle combined with breast stroke. The pics with my disposable waterproof camera didn't work, so I'm glad I bought theirs!!!!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

The Luninous Lagoon is absolutely worth seeing. We viewed the Lagoon after a cloudy day and we still were amazed with the view. The only down side to the tour was our driver/tour guide. He was not informative and, in fact, the little he told us about Jamaica was inaccurate as we later found out. He was not interested in the tourist experience and did not make a good guide. He left us alone on the pier and when the boat came in to have us board, all the other tours had their guides with them. We boarded alone and did not have any information given to us regarding the Lagoon. We enjoyed the view but learned nothing about it. There were no english speaking guides on our boat (just French and Spanish). Viator really has to check into their tour guides. We took many tours in Jamaica and the guides were excellent with the exception of Viator's. The Lagoon is worth a 5 star but the tour guide certainly was not; hence, the 2 star rating.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message