Montevideo ATTRACTIONS See all

Barrio Sur (Barrio Reus)

Barrio Sur, often called Barrio Reus, is well-known for its unique modernist architecture and individually colored houses painted in pinks, blues, greens, yellows, purples, oranges and reds. Named after Spanish business man Emilio Reus, he created ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent. Comfortable bus. Informative courier.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The tour was good, but I think that it would expend more time!

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great tour at an unbeatable price! Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great orientation of Montevideo. A perfect introduction to first-time visitors. Do this at the beginning of your stay so you know where to go on your remaining days in Uruguay.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Montevidéu is a marvellous place but the tour didn't stopped in Mercado del Puerto. A obrigatory visit.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Yes, The tour was great. However, the rain was a problem. Tour guide was excellent. Thanks.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very good tour! Great guide

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Our guide was careful to provide the same information to English speakers as she did to Spanish speakers, even though there were only three English speakers on the bus. (Well I speak enough Spanish to know she was!)

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

A great way of knowing montevideo.. ideally to take it in the morning!

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

This tour was well conducted and they came on time 3 pm. We would have preferred an earlier tour as we had to rush back to the cruise ship.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour was OK, but not stellar. Because our hotel was last on the pickup list, we waited for over half-an-hour; it would be better to stagger the schedule so people don't have to hang around so long (on the upside, we were first to be dropped off). As we've found with other Viatour-related tours, there's not a lot of contextual, historic information about why a building or monument is important. However, the guide was very pleasant and did her best at 'herding cats' when various people were late.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

i have done a couple of these tours before, and this was the poorest of the three.
Needed to have more historical and architectural information and less "shopping opportunities"!
Probably easiest to save the money and hire a taxi for 3 hours to take you to the places.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

They changed the tour time from 2:30 to 3:00, then the bus was almost 15 minutes late. When we reminded the tour guide that we would need to return to our ship by 6:00, we were told there was no way they could meet that deadline and suggested we try and get a taxi to take us back early which, of course, we felt would not be safe. Had the original pick-up time not been changed, and had the bus not been late, I'm sure we would have had a lovely time. As it was, it was a total waste of our time and we headed back to the ship.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Our tour guide sounded surprise that we needed an English tour. She spoke the majority of the time in Spanish and sprinkled some English sentences for us. We thought the tour was going to have more English speakers on it; we were the only ones. I thought the tour was going to be better also.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message