Constructed in 1928, Palacio Salvo is a historical landmark building done in a predominantly Italian Gothic-style, with classic and neo-romanticism influences as well. It was built by Italian immigrant Mario Palanti, and is located at the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great introductory tour to Montevideo. Our guide, Marcello was very informative and made sure we had an enjoyable time.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent, educational and enjoyed especially from one that comes from the South Pacific.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour guide,friendly and very informative. Itinerary was great....highly recommend

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent. Comfortable bus. Informative courier.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The tour was good, but I think that it would expend more time!

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great tour at an unbeatable price! Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great orientation of Montevideo. A perfect introduction to first-time visitors. Do this at the beginning of your stay so you know where to go on your remaining days in Uruguay.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Awesome day trip and well worth the money! Smooth operation.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great day trip and a good escape from Buenos Aires! Montevideo is like a small Bs As and definitely worth a visit. It has some great museums, parks and plazas and must-see landmarks - Teatro Solis, the Rambla and the Castillo Pittamiglio, amongst others! I would recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A good tour. We were picked up a bit late and the guide was very good but had a lot of different nationalities so spent a lot of time repeating the same information but in several languages. The tour took in most of the city sights and good opportunities to take photos etc.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour guide Rosana was very professional but also funny. the tour started on time we went through all attactions as expected.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A good introduction to the city to get one's bearings - there are lots of sites crammed into the limited time. You don't actually enter most of the places visited, but can get out at several of the monuments and the legislative building. There's a rather boring and unnecessary stop at an agricultural market that is more like a sterile little shopping arcade, but other than that the places visited are of general interest/cultural significance. I would have like to be able to enter the Estadio Centenario. The 2:30 tour time is nice for us late-sleepers. The tour company does a decent job with this one.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Montevidéu is a marvellous place but the tour didn't stopped in Mercado del Puerto. A obrigatory visit.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Yes, The tour was great. However, the rain was a problem. Tour guide was excellent. Thanks.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very good tour! Great guide

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Our guide was careful to provide the same information to English speakers as she did to Spanish speakers, even though there were only three English speakers on the bus. (Well I speak enough Spanish to know she was!)

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

A great way of knowing montevideo.. ideally to take it in the morning!

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

our trip was very enjoyable and went well. pick up and drop off were on time, would not recommend to any one, to much in one day. from start to finish, a 16hr. day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

Steven U
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Not a lot to see in Montevideo but still worth doing the guide was great x

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The actual tour of the city was excellent, however the transport to and from was pretty disappointing
No directions or person to direct
Arrived in Montevideo and once again no direction or person to direct
Arrived back in Buenes Aires and was left stranded at Port as no transport back to hotel

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

This tour was well conducted and they came on time 3 pm. We would have preferred an earlier tour as we had to rush back to the cruise ship.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour was OK, but not stellar. Because our hotel was last on the pickup list, we waited for over half-an-hour; it would be better to stagger the schedule so people don't have to hang around so long (on the upside, we were first to be dropped off). As we've found with other Viatour-related tours, there's not a lot of contextual, historic information about why a building or monument is important. However, the guide was very pleasant and did her best at 'herding cats' when various people were late.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

This tour suits best if you don't have a lot if time and want to take a quick trip over to Uruguay to see Montevideo. The bus tour was alright, we got dropped at a shopping center or at a lake/beach for 2 hours in the afternoon which was far too long.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

i have done a couple of these tours before, and this was the poorest of the three.
Needed to have more historical and architectural information and less "shopping opportunities"!
Probably easiest to save the money and hire a taxi for 3 hours to take you to the places.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message