Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Jean-Talon Market

A favorite for locals, the Jean-Talon Market sells high-quality products for a very affordable price. It’s been open since 1933, and is an important institution for the city’s culinary scene. While the more upscale Atwater Market is where majority ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eric H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

AMMAZING Would highly recommend this tour. The owner was our guide, and he was very knowledgeable of the area because he lived there. He made you enjoy the restaurants and the food market, because he is so passionate about his neighbohood and the businesses he shows us.

Doing what: Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great to visit all the shops around the Jean Talon Market too! Loved the Jean Talon Market, made us want to live there just so we could shop there.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Alfred J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was EXCELLENT. Our guides brought the tour alive by integrating the background history, culture, and economics into the foreground of the food tour. This background gave us an evolutionary perspective on the people, market, and food.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Nidale T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a 2 and 1/2 hour food tour taking place in the Montreal Jean Talon market with a bit of little Italy (the Madonna della Defesa (Our Lady of Protection) Church and Dante Park) . Lise our guide who was very nice took us around the market where we started first by tasting some Turkish delight , then some local made bread , after that we went to taste 2 different cheeses (black goat cheese and Charlevoix Hercule cheese) with Spruce beer . Next, we continued exploring and reached a sausage stand that had sausages made of : Bison , Deer , Duck , Boar , etc... We took Bison (excellent) and Boar (not bad). During the walk we were explained the history of the Madonna Della Defesa church and the Dante's Park. Last we reached the International cafe where we had a cannolli and a cappuccino (simply delicious).


Overall very interesting and Lise the guide was a delight.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Wendy H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Tour could have included more tastings. Our guide was very knowledgeable about both food and its history. Really liked the Jean-Talon market.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Marilyn G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Food was excellent on the tour!!!! Nice variety!! Very impressed with Jean Talon Market, bought a lot of tasty fruit and veggies after tour.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Thomas C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The food Tour was extremely informative-the samplings of food were like a Reward for choosing this tour. The walk was very comfortable, all locations were within easy access to the Jean Talon Market. The guide offered many historical highlights of the area as it evolved from just a bus terminal area. The Italian neighborhood was interesting.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Leslie b

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Very interesting and tasty tour of the jean talon market with Stacy, who was a ball of information and a very nice young woman too! And the last stop at the Internationale for real fresh cannoli was a fine touch. Only recommendation would be to add more of Little Italy which then would've ranked a 4th star

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Michael G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

I believe that if you grew up in Europe and experienced the European markets, consider a different tour.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message