Higher than the Niagara Falls, the impressive Montmorency Falls stand 83 meters (272 feet) tall. The falls form at the mouth of the Montmorency River, where it drops over a cliff into the St. Lawrence River. On summer nights, the plunging water is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 281 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We loved the tour! The guide was so knowledgeable about the area having lived in St Anne and the area all of his life. He brought family stories and color to the entire experience. The trip to the falls and the church were our favorite places but the cinnamon buns tasted amazing and views of countryside of Canada along the river were well worth the trip as well.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous trip - highly recommended. I was travelling alone and wanted a way to get out of the city and see some different sights and the Countryside Tour was the perfect way. The tour guide, Gabriel, was excellent. We made a good selection of stops (chocolate shop, copper factory/museum/shop, breadmaker for maple spread on bread) as well as the main ones at the Montmorency Falls and the Basilica. We had plenty of time at both, although I was the only one who decided to rush up and down the steps at the Falls (for which it would have been preferable to have an extra half an hour!) instead of taking the cable car. All in all thoroughly enjoyed the trip!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was our first trip to the area and this tour showed us a sampling of the splendor of the area. The falls were magnificent and the island ride was beautiful. It was well organized and the guide was informative.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

When I first booked it I thought it seemed a bit expensive but it was well worth the price. It turns out to be less expensive than taking the train to Quebec City. The drive was amazing. Spectacular views and scenery. The tour also stopped at Montmorency Falls which was an awesome unexpected surprise. Once in Quebec City the tour guide was amazing and we were able to stop and see numerous things there. Finally we were given three hours of free time, where my girlfriend and I decided to do the hop on hop off tour (you must pay separately for this). We were both glad we did it because it went to parts of the city that the guided tour didn't.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Driver and Quebec guide was very good. Too short a time at the falls. It would have been nice to see more of Quebec. Overall it was pretty good.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Quebec City is a place where you want to spend more than a few hours. If the only time you will ever get to Quebec City is as a day trip with this tour, then you this may be a trip for you. However, you may want to look for other tour operators as our experience was really not very good. The organization of departure was confusing, the driver was clearly far more comfortable in French and his English was very difficult to understand and made worse by the poor speakers. There were a few close calls during driving on the highway between the two cities that were concerning. The time at the Montmorency Falls was pathetic and again, the time at Quebec City was too short. The only really spectacular thing was the tour guide in Quebec City. She was an absolute delight and one of the (if not the) best city guides we have ever encountered. She was well versed in almost every country, their history, and the intersection of that history with Quebec and Quebec City. She knew a few phrases from virtually ever language and was a true gem and highlight of the trip.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

I was really looking forward to wandering around Old Quebec city, unfortunately after taking the travel time to and from Montmorency Falls we only had 3 hours to explore. After an early morning you are going to want something to eat. Sit down at a restaurant, that was an hour. So it ended up about 2 hours. Things you should do as a tour company: Give an itinerary. We would have opted out of the falls. 15 minutes to actually see them, we might as well have just driven by. Not enough time to even get close. Then you are stuck on the bus looking at the Plains, Parliament buildings, park, etc. Wish I had known about these in advance, would have just gotten off on the first stop at Old Quebec City. And why exactly you stop for 40 minutes, then leave again to go to the falls? Should let people know that you won't be back again until 2pm. Also a map of Quebec city would be helpful. Kind of disappointed. Would have been nice to be handed more information at the beginning of the trip as the driver, unfortunately, had a very strong French accent. If you are not used to and accent, it was very hard to understand. Caught a few words here and there. The actual tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Don't get the Montmorency falls trip or the cruise. Your company could better use the time and money on a nice meal and more time to spend in Quebec without worrying that you have to get back on the bus!

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

There was barely enough time to walk across the falls, down the steps and back up the cable car. We practically had to run and were completely out of breath when we returned to the (crowded) bus!. The basilica was very nice, but the other three stops, to me were nothing more than tourist rip-offs. I don't enjoy paying my money to be forced to shop for items I care nothing about. Drop the "Bread Oven" stop, the "Copper Museum (gift shop)" stop, and the "Chocolate Factory" stop..... and you'll have a good tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I do not recommend this tour. Quebec city was cute, but if you sign up for the boat tour option, you only end up with an hour to walk around the city. the trip to the falls was a joke. We literally got 15 minutes to take pictures of the falls and that is it. Very disappointed in Viator.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide Elaine-AMAZING!!! She talked to us constantly telling us facts about the city and explained everything we were passing. She had so much personality. The trip was wonderful. Love to see and learn about living on Orleans Island: Albert Gilles Copper Museum very interesting to learn how they actually make all the wonderful art objects from copper: the Falls was amazing and plenty of time to explore here:Saint-Anne Church-breathtaking. Highly recommend this trip. We learned so much about Quebec on this trip. Don't waste your money on the city tour-you learn nothing. Better to just walk around the "walled city".

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this day trip from Montreal. Our guide was fantastic and really helped us maximize our day and provided us with a lot of history and factual information. We got to see the falls, all around Quebec City and spend a lot of time visiting the historic section. We decided not to take the cruise part of the trip, because there was just too much to see on the ground. I think you can skip the cruise. I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our full day's excursion from Montreal to Quebec City was truly outstanding. Norman, our driver/guide, was superb. His knowledge and personality really were impressive. The itinerary was excellent. Our local guide, Roger, was also easy to understand, knowledgeable, and passionate about Quebec City. We learned a lot about Canada's history and the special identity that Quebec has maintained. We enjoyed the boat ride and the visit of Montmorency Falls.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour!! Montmorency Falls are spectacular! I only wish we'd had a little more time here as I would have liked to have taken it in a little more slowly; another half hour would have been perfect. The stops at the copper boutique and bread making shop were wonderful. The chocolate shop was so busy and the line so long that it was almost impossible to get in, buy something and get back in time. I just looked around as I wasn't interested in buying anyway. Ste. Anne de Beaupre was amazing!! Such a beautiful place. Many, many pictures taken this day. Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour. Our driver educated us on the way to QC. Another guide took us on a walking tour of QC when we got there, then got on the bus with us to go to Montmorency Falls. He was obviously very proud of his city, and very knowledgeable about its history. There were three of us on this trip, and we all loved it and would all recommend it to others. Additionally, it made me want to go back to QC and spend a week or two.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message