Higher than the Niagara Falls, the impressive Montmorency Falls stand 83 meters (272 feet) tall. The falls form at the mouth of the Montmorency River, where it drops over a cliff into the St. Lawrence River. On summer nights, the plunging water is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 274 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We loved the tour! The guide was so knowledgeable about the area having lived in St Anne and the area all of his life. He brought family stories and color to the entire experience. The trip to the falls and the church were our favorite places but the cinnamon buns tasted amazing and views of countryside of Canada along the river were well worth the trip as well.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Quebec City is a place where you want to spend more than a few hours. If the only time you will ever get to Quebec City is as a day trip with this tour, then you this may be a trip for you. However, you may want to look for other tour operators as our experience was really not very good. The organization of departure was confusing, the driver was clearly far more comfortable in French and his English was very difficult to understand and made worse by the poor speakers. There were a few close calls during driving on the highway between the two cities that were concerning. The time at the Montmorency Falls was pathetic and again, the time at Quebec City was too short. The only really spectacular thing was the tour guide in Quebec City. She was an absolute delight and one of the (if not the) best city guides we have ever encountered. She was well versed in almost every country, their history, and the intersection of that history with Quebec and Quebec City. She knew a few phrases from virtually ever language and was a true gem and highlight of the trip.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I do not recommend this tour. Quebec city was cute, but if you sign up for the boat tour option, you only end up with an hour to walk around the city. the trip to the falls was a joke. We literally got 15 minutes to take pictures of the falls and that is it. Very disappointed in Viator.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide Elaine-AMAZING!!! She talked to us constantly telling us facts about the city and explained everything we were passing. She had so much personality. The trip was wonderful. Love to see and learn about living on Orleans Island: Albert Gilles Copper Museum very interesting to learn how they actually make all the wonderful art objects from copper: the Falls was amazing and plenty of time to explore here:Saint-Anne Church-breathtaking. Highly recommend this trip. We learned so much about Quebec on this trip. Don't waste your money on the city tour-you learn nothing. Better to just walk around the "walled city".

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this day trip from Montreal. Our guide was fantastic and really helped us maximize our day and provided us with a lot of history and factual information. We got to see the falls, all around Quebec City and spend a lot of time visiting the historic section. We decided not to take the cruise part of the trip, because there was just too much to see on the ground. I think you can skip the cruise. I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our full day's excursion from Montreal to Quebec City was truly outstanding. Norman, our driver/guide, was superb. His knowledge and personality really were impressive. The itinerary was excellent. Our local guide, Roger, was also easy to understand, knowledgeable, and passionate about Quebec City. We learned a lot about Canada's history and the special identity that Quebec has maintained. We enjoyed the boat ride and the visit of Montmorency Falls.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour!! Montmorency Falls are spectacular! I only wish we'd had a little more time here as I would have liked to have taken it in a little more slowly; another half hour would have been perfect. The stops at the copper boutique and bread making shop were wonderful. The chocolate shop was so busy and the line so long that it was almost impossible to get in, buy something and get back in time. I just looked around as I wasn't interested in buying anyway. Ste. Anne de Beaupre was amazing!! Such a beautiful place. Many, many pictures taken this day. Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour. Our driver educated us on the way to QC. Another guide took us on a walking tour of QC when we got there, then got on the bus with us to go to Montmorency Falls. He was obviously very proud of his city, and very knowledgeable about its history. There were three of us on this trip, and we all loved it and would all recommend it to others. Additionally, it made me want to go back to QC and spend a week or two.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Was picked up at stated time from the hotel. The PA system, and english, on the bus from Montreal was not very good but was informative. The actual tour started on arriving at Quebec City when we were handed over to the tour guide. This was very informative and full of history. We had opted to spend our spare time in Quebec City rather than do the river cruise. It was enough time to see and do everything we wanted to and enjoyed it. Only one from our group opted for the river cruise. Reading other reviews prior to the trip was the only reason we opted out of the cruise. The Falls were nice to see and enough time was given for viewing, photos and shopping. There was a 15 minute break going and coming to Montreal and this was ample time to toilet, eat and get back on the bus.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was very well organized, bus driver and guide exceptional. HOWEVER, I think you should skip the excursion to Montgomery falls..not that spectacular.. and in lieu have a walking tour of upper Quebec, instead of just a drive by. The lower tour was great and I feel another walking tour in the upper town would have been ideal. The three hours of free time was very much appreciated.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I have used Viator in the past for tours for previous trips and have had good experiences with them. The Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip was excellent. Especially Quebec City, which is just beautiful. We stayed in downtown Montreal (Best Western Plus Europe) which was a close walk to the Info Tourist Center, where we had exchanged our vouchers to board the bus in the morning. It is about a 3 hour ride from Montreal; makes 1 stop. The tour guide in Quebec City was very knowledgeable and experienced. The schedule allows you enough time to wander on your own after the guided part of Quebec City tour, and grab lunch. The boat trip was pretty nice also; worth doing in my opinion. Overall, this is a tour I would recommend.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Overall, very good. It was great to be picked up and dropped off near our hotel. Our bus tour was sub-par, with the bus driver doubling as a guide. He merely said things in broken English like "You can see to your right, Olympic Stadium." Nothing more. No insight. The tour guide in Quebec City and the falls area was excellent. She provided a detailed tour of the old town and the falls. The river cruise had issues with speaker quality. You had to be in the immediate area of the guide in order to hear what she was saying, but even then it was difficult. Her words unfortunately were highly muffled through the ship's speakers.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was well organized but felt very rushed. The actual tour was only about 1 hour in Quebec City and 20 mins at the Montmorency falls. 20 mins was only sufficient time to get a couple of pics and use the rest rooms. We also got about 3.5 hours of free time as we did not do the boat cruise. The guide Roque told us that it was expected that we tip him and the driver. I think he should have put it better as it seemed like he was demanding a tip. I would have thought that Viator paid him enough and really for a 1hour guided tour I felt forced to tip him. The driver Alain was wonderful. I was pleased that we were picked up and dropped of at our hotel. I would advise other travellers if you have the time spend a couple of nights in Quebec City.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

I spent too much time on the bus. The trip to the falls was unnecessary given the three hours that it took to get to Quebc followed by the hour round trip to the falls. delete that from the trip and it could be better. Tourists wanted more free time in Quebec. Did they ever find the chap who didn't turn up for the return trip to montreal?

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Tour was really good. I enjoyed the time spent at Montmorency Falls, and Ste-Anne's; L'il Orleans was really interesting to go through to get a feel for the country people. The only problem encountered is that, even after verification that we would get picked up at the hotel, we did not get picked up. Thank you to the shuttle driver at the Holiday Inn to get us there on time. The return trip was also a disappointment since we were the only two going to the Holiday Inn, we were sent by shuttle bus which had very little air cond and seats that were uncomfortable. I thought I was going to suffocate on the way back. This is not what I paid for! The tour itself was very good, just the to and from the hotel was not well organized by Viator and the Quebec tours people. Bus drivers on both the tour and the shuttle service were wonderful.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message