Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Montmorency Falls

Higher than the Niagara Falls, the impressive Montmorency Falls stand 83 meters (272 feet) tall. The falls form at the mouth of the Montmorency River, where it drops over a cliff into the St. Lawrence River. On summer nights, the plunging water is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 399 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dolores R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved this tour! We had a great guide and got to see the falls and other beautiful sites close to Quebec City. . .would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Rhonda R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The Pros: Montmorency Falls were very beautiful and the gondola trip was great - especially since our guide had a coupon for 2 off. The Shrine of Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupre was amazing and beautiful and if you are a Catholic, I'm sure it would be even more meaningful. We had plenty of time at the stops for pictures and for walking around. The Cons: Our driver's delivery of information was so terrible that it almost put me to sleep. Also, the stops at the Copper Museum, the Chocolate Factory and Chez Marie were a waste. It just felt like we were being herded into a situation to spend money.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Emily V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot of information. Most of the time was spent at the two main attractions, Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré, but I really enjoyed the other short stops too. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

aavig

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent, knowledgeable tour guide. Well arranged visit to Montmorency Falls was quite brief, leaving ample time in Quebec City for leisurely sightseeing and a good meal. Unfortunately, the bus had a problem just when we arrived back in Montreal. The wait for another bus was extensive, so we left and returned to our hotel by other means of transportation. Nevertheless, a worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

jennifer m

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a very fun and interesting tour! It was fun seeing Montmorency Falls and walking over the bridge that spans the falls. Then we went toward Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré and on the way visited a place that makes art from sheets of copper. That was a surprise and a very nice one! Really interesting and great history at this place. No pressure at all to buy anything! We also stopped at a chocolate shop and then a place with homemade bread spread with maple syrup! The Catholic church at Ste-Anne was huge and very impressive. Very much worth the time and effort to see these places. We were there in April and the weather was comfortable and sunny. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

kullybuy

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

If Id known what this would be like, I would for sure have skipped it. I think it would be much better to get transportion to QC, hire a tour guide there, then spend 1-2 nights in QC. Otherwise, its way too much overhead driving time for what this tour provides which is very little actual guiding. It might still be right for some, but you should know what its really like before deciding.

1.Its a long and boring 3-hour ride each way, so thats 6 hours of sitting in a bus. And so you know, the tour guide IS NOT on the bus with you -- theyre only in QC itself. The bus driver pointed out a couple of random buildings but otherwise its a painfully boring drive -- 95 along a highway with no interesting scenery.
2.The actual guided part once you reach QC is quite poor. By the time you exclude getting on/off the bus a few times and by the time you exclude the 25-minutes that youre on your own to explore Montmorency Falls, theres really only about 2 hours of actual touring. But even that isnt as nice as it seems because out of that 2 hours, only about 30 minutes is spent outside the bus and theres basically no walking. The rest of the time youre again riding in the bus...with the tour guide pointing out a few things and giving some information. Id say out of the entire time, the tour guide provided about 40 minutes of actual useful information.
3.Although the description says you have 3 hours on your own in QC, in reality its more like 2.5 because you need to be back early and it takes a while for drop off. By the time you spend time eating lunch please dont eat at their recommended place - Cafe St. Malo is orders of magnitude better that only leaves about 1 or 1.5 hours. Not very much time.
4.Then another long ride back to Montreal -- plus another 30 minutes in the bus while it drives around dropping people off at their hotels.

I really think that if you can, you should spend 1-2 nights in QC arrange your own transportation and guide.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Kathryn P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Had a good time on this tour overall even though the weather was not being our friend. We got stuck in old Quebec a couple of times on the big bus in the snow. The two main sites we visited Montmorency Falls and St Anne de Beaupre could be accessed other ways particularly if you had a car - but I was on my own so enjoyed being driven around. Bring snacks or eat a substantial meal before you go because we only stop at a Chocolate maker and a sugar shack.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Tony L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Price of time was 86.04 USD. Great tour and highly recommend it. The day before the tour I call them to arrange them to pick me up from my hostel. The ride to Quebec City is quite long, at least 2 hrs - one way but worth it. Tour guide was a local and extremely knowledgeable. They have a deal with a local restaurant to provide a discount for lunch which is nice. Montmorency Falls is quite beautiful too. Bus driver was on time and made sure to provide a break in between the long ride. Dropped me off within walking distance of my hostel.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Beryl I

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great trip, the falls were just spectacular, could have spent a bit longer there, but then we got to see other interesting places such as the old Bake house and the museum of copper and silver artwork before arriving at the church. A very comprehensive tour. Good value, much better value than the trips on offer on our cruise ship.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

MickiD

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour to Montmorency fall and Ste Anne was great, our tour driver, Elaine is very knowledgeable, and personable. In addition to seeing the falls we stopped at a few interesting places. The falls are beautiful and recommend seeing them.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

bdfrench

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There were six of us on this tour and we all loved it! The driver was very informative and had a great sense of humor. He made the trip fun. The falls were beautiful. The cathedral was magnificent. Would definitely book with Viator again.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

jennymcdowell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour.Our driver was very informative and interesting and gave us plenty of background information and history while we were driving.The falls were lovely to see and my teenage children loved it.We also stopped at a chocolate shop,a copper shop,a maple butter shop and St Anne's. The scenery was beautiful and it was nice to see outside of the city and get lots of yummy things to eat.Actually wish I'd bought more maple butter!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

to.sk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was awesome! I highly recommend it. I would only change one thing - the stop by Montmorency Falls could be longer than just 10 minutes..

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Sean H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a great way to see some areas outside of Quebec City in the event you don't want to drive. The guide was very knowledgeable and knew the area well, especially Orleans because he lives there. The guide made sure that we had plenty of time to experience the sights and tastes of the countryside including a terrific ice cream stop that included local maple flavors, and the waterfalls. This trip cost less than a ship's tour with less hassle.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Lynn Homertgen H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the beauty of the Montmorency Falls and the drive through the countryside, but were surprised by the additional stops at a chocolate and a bread shop. More time at the Cathedral would have been appreciated. The tour began at 10:30 and ended at 4:15 partly due to a habitually late family. The extended hours prevented us from enjoying Quebec City for more than a short time before we had to rejoin our cruise.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Francisco V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Marcel the bus driver/tour guide was very informative and courteous. Wish that the stop at the fall was longer. Hardly enough tine to go up and walk around to enjoy the falls .

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Siddharth L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The entire trip was simply wonderful. Quebec City and Montmorency Falls - both places were very beautiful. The only thing that probably bothered all of us all the passengers was that it was a cold, windy day and we were all left to ourselves for nearly 3 hours!
Tour Guide was very good witty, knowledgeable, sensitive, speaking 3-4 languages and very friendly. She gets six stars out of five!
Driver was very good too. Friendly, cheerful.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Mike

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The entire trip was too rushed. Plenty of time was given to the old part of Quebec City, but barely any time was given to Montmorency Falls or the Plains of Abraham. Those two amazing sites were really just drive-bys and there was plenty of time to do more at both. They could have taken some time out of the three hours of free time you got to tour the old part of the city, which you tour with a tour guide in advance of the three free hours. We'll definitely be back to Quebec City, because it's beautiful, but we won't be taking another tour like this.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Panagiotis L Greece

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

not well organized, bus driver inacceptable, 20 min only in the falls

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Peter M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Saw a lot of houses and industrial port areas. I would rather see country side, falls, lakes.

Doing what: Quebec City Helicopter Tour

Linda K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

When we purchased this tour, we were told it would be 4 hours. Incidentally, another guest on the bus had been told 3 hours. We started at 10:00 am and stopped at several locations to pick up additional passengers. Drove to the Falls, spent 1 hour there, then 20-30 minutes at the copper exhibit, then 15-25 minutes at the bakery. Arrived at St.-Anne-du-Beaupre at around 2:00 and were told we had 1 hour there. Since we had to be back on the ship by 3:30, we raised our concerns to the driver. His comments included well then you shouldnt have taken the tour, theres nothing you can do to get back to the ship on your own. His demeanor was rude, laughing at our situation, walking away from us without answering questions. We called a cab to take us to the ship. Cost 180.00. Incidentally, I am a travel agent and will never recommend this tour to my clients.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

James J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Well worth it with sufficient time at the Falls. The Basilica alone was wotprth the trip. Informative guide

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

mrs e barr b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

we had a lovely day at the Montmorency Falls. we were waiting on our flight having disembarked from our cruise and it was a lovely way to spend our last day on holiday.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Preston M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide, Francois, was a local from Beaupre and knew Quebec City very well. He was very charming and entertaining knowing just how to avoid traffic to d'Orleans by timing our route. The Falls were really wonderful and the Basilica was beautiful, and stops at Marie's and the Copper museum were great to get some local flavor.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

gocruizn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was totally as described. The trip to the falls was enjoyable, the driver and guide were very good at their jobs. The stop at the Cathedral at Ste-Anne-de-Beaupre was totally amazing. The architecture and the beauty of this old Cathedral was absolutely breath-taking. It was well worth the experience.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message