Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Montmorency Falls

Higher than the Niagara Falls, the impressive Montmorency Falls stand 83 meters (272 feet) tall. The falls form at the mouth of the Montmorency River, where it drops over a cliff into the St. Lawrence River. On summer nights, the plunging water is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 417 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with wonderful guide Jean Pierre. The length of each stop was just right. I really liked the Falls but it does cost extra to take the Funicular up (you don and #39;t have time to walk it). Our guide was great in explaining what to do at each stop and provided wonderful history throughout

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Audrey J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

time enough to walk to the to of the falls. excellent touring experience on bus and with guide. St. Anne de Beaupre beautiful. This was the shortest trip I had taken but all my tours were with Viator and each one was excellent

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Janice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide and service. Gabriel was both knowledgeable and witty, and held our attention by providing just the right amount of information without making it boring. The Falls and St. Anne de Beaupre were a 'must see' and are highly recommended. The stop at the Copper Factory was very interesting as well. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour - great value as well!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Jeff G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our visit to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupre were wonderful! Our bus driver/guide was very informative and had a great sense of humor. The treats at the chocolatier and Marie's Bakery were delicious! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If was alot of fun! My husband and I wished that we had about 20-30 mins more at the falls and 10-15 mins more at the choclatier. Both of those places felt a bit rushed, especially since the choclatier was a lunch stop as well. But we enjoyed the tour and would highly recommend it to others.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Lee S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it! Our driver/ guide, Jean Pierre , was superb. Knew the area well; shared many interesting facts. Saw quaint houses and farms on the island across the river, toured the falls (needed more time), stopped at a small country bakery with yummy maple butter, toured inspiring St Anne Basilica.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed seeing the countryside outside of Quebec City on the Ile d and #39;Orleans. The falls were amazing. The church was absolutely gorgeous. It was a delightful afternoon and we were so glad we took the tour

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Sheila B United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the trip. Driver friendly and informative but perhaps too many facts and figures. Not enough time allowed at the Falls. It would have been good to have had time to walk further at both top and bottom.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

John G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guides with Greyline were very,very good. The driver was great and provided info through the the trip re locations and history. Our Quebec City guide managed to provide a lot of history re her city in a short period of time. The only negative on the trip was a stop at the falls....needed at least a 15 minute stop in the washroom due to the crowds. Hardly saw the falls in remaining time.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Patrice B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Nice tour but unfortunately it was spoilt for me as I slipped on a wet foredeck raindrops, suffered shock and injured myself. Captain was caring and filled in an accident form. Seeing the Falls was the highlight and led me to going to them by bus next day.

Doing what: Quebec City Historic Discoverers Cruise

Hayden M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Loved. The falls and the island. We could've done without the copper shop, but it was interesting. St Anne's church was very nice. We've seen so many churches so it was ok. My real complaint was the driver Gary. He seemed totally uninterested and had no sense of humor. He dropped a few off at their hotels but not us. I've been on many tours and this guy was the worst. I always tip......not this time. My advice ? Take the tour unless Gary's driving.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Karlo A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Jean was very knowledgeable about the Beaupre voasr and Ile de Orleans. The most incredible stop is at Montmorency Falls and most interesting was the copper art museum

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Deborah W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable of the history of the city. I am not sure a trip to the Falls was worth it. A 15 minute ride for a 15 minute stop. I would have preferred to stay in Quebec. It was nice to have 3 hours of free time. Pickup and drop off at hotel was very nice perk.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Puja P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Quebec City and Montmotency Falls a and #39;must see and #39; if you are visiting Montreal. The tour made it easy to travel there and back. I recommend eating breakfast before you go. Show up early to the 8am tour- 7:25. We missed it the first day because of no phone. They were nice enough to reschedule.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Marivic C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Driver/tourist guide has very thick accent and difficult to understand. Did not enjoy tour. Stop at Montmorency falls too short. The falls was breath taking but too far. Could have been better if we can get closer.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

moniyris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I was very disappointed to have only 30 minutes to visit Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré, we couldn't have enough time to visit the church and the Cyclorama. The tour guide who was at the same time the driver didn't get off the bus to explain about Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré, otherwise I'd hire just a transportation service, but I booked a guided tour. I think was no necessary to stop at the Copper Art Museum, it was a waste of time. Besides, people book the tour because of the falls and sanctuary of Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré not because of the copper art museum-store! Furthermore, the driver ended earlier and we returned 30 minutes before.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Dolores R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved this tour! We had a great guide and got to see the falls and other beautiful sites close to Quebec City. . .would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Andrew C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A good trip, but it would have been nicer to have had a little more time at Montmorency Falls. We had to rush to see as much of it as we could. Pleasant tour guide was knowledgeable and well-informed.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Rhonda R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The Pros: Montmorency Falls were very beautiful and the gondola trip was great - especially since our guide had a coupon for 2 off. The Shrine of Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupre was amazing and beautiful and if you are a Catholic, I'm sure it would be even more meaningful. We had plenty of time at the stops for pictures and for walking around. The Cons: Our driver's delivery of information was so terrible that it almost put me to sleep. Also, the stops at the Copper Museum, the Chocolate Factory and Chez Marie were a waste. It just felt like we were being herded into a situation to spend money.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Jack C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The overall tour was OK. Our tour guide, Roger, who met the bus in Quebec was very informative and entertaining. His knowledge of the area's history and sites was very good. He was by far the best part of the trip.

Time at the falls was reasonable, as once you get a photo-opp, that's really about it.

The disappointing part of the tour was that we never had a chance to get out of the bus to take a closer look around the Plains of Abraham or the Quebec government buildings. That would have been nice. Instead, it was a quick look-see from the bus. I would have gladly sacrificed some of the three hours we had in the old town - which was also OK. A beautiful place, but could have been done in a shorter amount of time.

The 'suggested' place for lunch was a typical tourist trap, although the prices were not that unreasonable. Service was only so-so and the food was just passable. Nothing out of the ordinary or spectacular. Best part was the atmosphere of the old building.

Drop off was not well done. All of the guests got dropped off at their hotel door steps, except those of us that were the last stop. We got dumped a block and half away and given bogus directions. Poor, unprofessional and unacceptable, in my opinion. The driver's English skills, although he tried, were not very good. Difficult to understand most of the time.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Emily V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot of information. Most of the time was spent at the two main attractions, Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré, but I really enjoyed the other short stops too. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

aavig

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent, knowledgeable tour guide. Well arranged visit to Montmorency Falls was quite brief, leaving ample time in Quebec City for leisurely sightseeing and a good meal. Unfortunately, the bus had a problem just when we arrived back in Montreal. The wait for another bus was extensive, so we left and returned to our hotel by other means of transportation. Nevertheless, a worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

jennifer m

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a very fun and interesting tour! It was fun seeing Montmorency Falls and walking over the bridge that spans the falls. Then we went toward Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré and on the way visited a place that makes art from sheets of copper. That was a surprise and a very nice one! Really interesting and great history at this place. No pressure at all to buy anything! We also stopped at a chocolate shop and then a place with homemade bread spread with maple syrup! The Catholic church at Ste-Anne was huge and very impressive. Very much worth the time and effort to see these places. We were there in April and the weather was comfortable and sunny. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

kullybuy

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

If Id known what this would be like, I would for sure have skipped it. I think it would be much better to get transportion to QC, hire a tour guide there, then spend 1-2 nights in QC. Otherwise, its way too much overhead driving time for what this tour provides which is very little actual guiding. It might still be right for some, but you should know what its really like before deciding.

1.Its a long and boring 3-hour ride each way, so thats 6 hours of sitting in a bus. And so you know, the tour guide IS NOT on the bus with you -- theyre only in QC itself. The bus driver pointed out a couple of random buildings but otherwise its a painfully boring drive -- 95 along a highway with no interesting scenery.
2.The actual guided part once you reach QC is quite poor. By the time you exclude getting on/off the bus a few times and by the time you exclude the 25-minutes that youre on your own to explore Montmorency Falls, theres really only about 2 hours of actual touring. But even that isnt as nice as it seems because out of that 2 hours, only about 30 minutes is spent outside the bus and theres basically no walking. The rest of the time youre again riding in the bus...with the tour guide pointing out a few things and giving some information. Id say out of the entire time, the tour guide provided about 40 minutes of actual useful information.
3.Although the description says you have 3 hours on your own in QC, in reality its more like 2.5 because you need to be back early and it takes a while for drop off. By the time you spend time eating lunch please dont eat at their recommended place - Cafe St. Malo is orders of magnitude better that only leaves about 1 or 1.5 hours. Not very much time.
4.Then another long ride back to Montreal -- plus another 30 minutes in the bus while it drives around dropping people off at their hotels.

I really think that if you can, you should spend 1-2 nights in QC arrange your own transportation and guide.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Kathryn P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Had a good time on this tour overall even though the weather was not being our friend. We got stuck in old Quebec a couple of times on the big bus in the snow. The two main sites we visited Montmorency Falls and St Anne de Beaupre could be accessed other ways particularly if you had a car - but I was on my own so enjoyed being driven around. Bring snacks or eat a substantial meal before you go because we only stop at a Chocolate maker and a sugar shack.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message