Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Notre Dame Basilica

One of Montreal's most enduring symbols, the Notre Dame Basilica occupies a site rich with three centuries of history. The massive, awe-inspiring interior alone is worth a visit, with its wealth of opulent details. Besides religious services, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Louis was a great tour guide we learned so much and best of all I love Notre Dame!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Saw lots and went into the Notre' Dame cathedral.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Overall the tour was very good. The Tour Bus Driver was very entertaining and knowledgeable. He also made sure each of us returned were returned safely to our respective hotels. His instructions were clear and easy to understand. My one recommendation here is to better know the schedule for the Notre Dame Bascilica, it was disappointing to be turned away at the door for a private wedding. Such a beautiful structure on the exterior, I bet the interior was grand.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Good tour, although we really only made two worthwhile stops; Notre Dame Basilica and Mont-Royal. The stop at the Oratory was less than 10 minutes and was only for quick photos from the parking lot. The tour could be improved with more time at the stops, given the price of the tour.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We did the east and west side tours of Old Montreal. The pace of the tour was nice and we had lots of time to take pictures in the Notre Dame (the fact that the visit to the church was included with the tour was very nice too). We had two different guides and both were very friendly and answered all questions well. The guides were both very knowledgable and we learned a lot about Montreal. We also took advantage of our ticket discount with the archaeology museum. The museum was neat to see as well.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great, however there are not enough stops and on the stops time is oo short to make photos. The tour is extensive and maybe some features should be cut to allow more time at special stops such as Notre Dame Cathedrale, although there was a 15 minute stop, but the line-ups were so long that we never made it inside, the same goes for the Olympic installations, a 5 minute stop is too short.
A suggestion: there should be an extra tour guide on board to explain things, the bus driver is trying his best but he also has to watch the road and cannot devote too much time for explanations.
Maybe you could consider this.
Irene Schmidt

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Have had better city tours than this one. Would have preferred to have the tour done in English only. Having the guide explaining the sites in English and French meant there were times when we missed what he was attempting to point out. Our hotel pick up was late arriving by almost 30 minutes later and we were beginning to worry that we were not going to be picked up. Overall it was just okay and were disappointed that we could not go inside the Notre Dame Basilica

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Definitely a bus tour. One does not visit any buildings as part of the tour other than a half hour stop at Notre Dame Basilica which costs an additional $5. Bus driver repeatedly talked about road construction rather than any meaningful commentary.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Didn't see anything special..just some skyline and business district ..hoping for more..liked the shuttle from hotel..place D'Arms..and back... Had more fun on our own in old town..had already seen basilica de Notre dame..went to mass Sunday morning..and paid to take pictures Sunday afternoon..if I were to improve your trip I would have given people more time for the Basilica and promoted the great T shirt store almost next door where you can buy picture books of the basilica

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I took the combo Old Montreal tours, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. While both tours include the Notre Dame Basilica, the tour guide accommodated us by scheduling the Notre Dame visit last in the afternoon, so that we could leave the tour rather than duplicating this visit.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was enjoyable and the guides were personable and informative. My only negative is that it wasn't clear that the first three places were all on the same stop. We returned to the bus drop-off after touring the Notre Dame cathedral and then went to the Old Port after the rest of the tour.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very informative at times almost too much. It was very regimented. At times when we were able to get off the bus, our time sightseeing was very limited such as 30 mins. to see Notre Dame Cathedral. I guess this tour was intended to give you an overall view so that you could go back during the rest of your vacation to see what you liked in detail. I loved that they picked us up at our hotel!!!!

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We did the East and West Old Montreal Tours. Both were very good. If I had to choose one I would choose the East Tour. Our gentleman guide was excellent. Many of us opted to take his tour both times. You tour Notre Dame Twice when you take both tours. Since there were weddings taking place on the second tour, I was glad of this fact as the second did not include the chapel in the back. Very well done. This is money well spent.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour of Montreal. Would have liked a longer stop at Notre Dame cathedral. Tour guide wasn't friendly and very heavy accent made it almost impossible to understand his English. He had to concentrate on driving through traffic and give the tour in French and English. We are use to a separate tour guide and driver when sightseeing in a crowded city. Would have preferred smaller size bus.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The grayhound bus was great, spacious and comfortable, complete with a bathroom! It was a terrific way to get an overview of the city and see all the hot spots! Very beneficial for first timers. We appreciated our driver Jean for his sense of humor. Stops at the Notre Dame Basilica (20 min to go inside, you must buy your own ticket), St Joseph's Oratory, Olympic Park and Mont Royal (5 min each for pictures only). Overall, my friends and I had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great introduction to Notre Dame Basilica and Old Montreal. Tour guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic and provided a most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We did both the east and west tours. Rene Houd was our first guide, and was excellent. They tell you that you can use your ticket to get back in the Notre Dame Basilica for free. Keep in mind that on a Saturday, they hold weddings there and close it off to the public -we had our tour on Friday, went back on Saturday to take pictures, and couldn't :( Great, informative tour though, and gave you interesting facts and history. It's a great way to see Old Montreal on your first day, and then decide what you want to do for the rest of it. The ticket also gave us 50% off entry to the Archeology Museum. Great value and very enjoyable- definitely worth it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

In this tour, you are driven around Montreal so you are given an overall view of the city. You need to revisit places you are interested in on your own. The only time you get off the bus and see the inside of an attraction is the Notre Dame Church, which is well worth a visit (if you can, go back for the light show).

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

We did both the East and West Old Montreal tour. Good overview of the areas and history; facts and info about the founders of the area. It's worth going. Tour includes ticket to Notre Dame Basilica. If you are looking for a fun and upbeat tour, go with Jeremy.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Informative a lot of history and walking. I liked the duck tour better it was more fun . Good lay of the land- we sped through Notre Dame Basilica which was why I went on the tour 2 enjoy Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Driver was fantastic. We loved the Notre Dame stop. Could have spent more time there and cut out bathroom stop across from Olympic stadium.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

We really enjoyed seeing St. Joseph's oratory, it's surrounding area, and visiting Notre Dame Basilica. The seemingly endless cross city traveling in what seemed to be less desirable areas was not appealing. The tour guide was very knowledgeable but as he described sites to us his volume became lower where we could no longer hear him. The ride was comfortable. In calling to confirm our tour on July 4th, we were told that we were booked for June 5th not July 5th and our reservations were cancelled. However, my confirmation receipt was correct. Happily, that was easily corrected and we were picked up at our hotel fairly promptly.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The trip was nice. The tour guide/driver (Dan) wasnt the friendliest but he was knowledeable about the city. We didnt get to go into St Joseph Oratory because he was stuck in traffic to long. Was only able to go into Notre Dame and that was it. That was disappointing. He felt that everyone should tip him and only a few did.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

It was somewhat disappointing.
The tour was scheduled from 1:00pm - 4:30pm- got started a little late due to late arrivals, which is not the tour company's fault.
Within the first 10 minutes of the tour, we stopped by the Notre Dame Bilsilica. The driver let everyone out and said we had 30 minutes to go through the church. A few problems with this:
- this cost additional money (should of been included in tour and had free entry for us)
- was cash only entry (I had no cash on me and had to run away in the pouring rain to find a back machine then stand in a long line and when we finally got in we had 5 minutes to get back to the bus.
- we had already visited the church the day before as we had no idea this was part of the tour
- took time away from the actual tour
The tour itself was not necessarily entertaining and we witnessed more than four people sleeping.
We ended the tour at 4:08pm so the 3.5 tour turned into less than 3 hours.
I would definitely not recommend and would like to speak further to the local provider about our dissatisfaction.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Everything was great. The tour left on time, hit all the major siteseeing spots and allowed us some time at a few spots (Notre Dame Cathedral, for one) to spend quality time viewing. Unfortuantely, the weather wasn't great, so some of the views from Mont Royal were limited. The tour guide was very pleasant.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message