Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Notre Dame Basilica

One of Montreal's most enduring symbols, the Notre Dame Basilica occupies a site rich with three centuries of history. The massive, awe-inspiring interior alone is worth a visit, with its wealth of opulent details. Besides religious services, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katrina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I was only in two for about 24 hours and really decided to focus in on the Old Montreal neighborhood. I took both the East and West tour and both my tour guides, Pierre and Georges, were wonderful. They were very knowledgeable, personable and fun. I didn't realize that the ticket also gets you in to see the Basilica Notre Dame which was a wonderful and jaw-dropping surprise. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get to know Old Montreal better.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Marlene Goh A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Not worth the price we paid for. Only 2 stops at Notre-Dame Dame Basilica which we could have easily gone by metro and some lookout point at Mt Royal with not much nice views. We went on our own another day to the Beaver Lake and the real lookout point further up with amazing views.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Mary-Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful tour of Old Montreal. Our tour guide, Christian provided such knowledgeable and informative information. We enjoyed the whole tour, starting of course with the Notre Dame Basilica, such history, Walking around the area, Christian was able to tell us all the facts and history of the places we visited. Highly recommend this tour for visitors to Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Ravindra J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very nice bus tour, which enabled us to see most of Montreal in a little over 3 hours. The tour guide, Jean or was it John, who also doubled as the bus driver explained all the sights in a droll and tongue in cheek manner. However, some of his wisecracks, especially those at the expense of the 'co-pilot' passenger sitting right in front became rather repetitive and not very funny after a while. 15 minute stops at some of the major sights such as the Notre Dame Basilica, St Joseph's Oratory and the Olympic Stadium gave us a chance to click good photos and also stretch our legs. Photos taken from inside the bus did not turn out so well, due to the rather reflective windows as also camera shake caused by some bumpy roads. But all in all, this is a good tour for those who are short of time, yet wish to see most of the major sights of Montreal during their visit.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Gerald F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guide's English was spotty at best. Guide was also the driver so he was not able to attend to questions. Trip seemed rushed. We went into Notre Dame and nearly missed the departing bus. It was difficult to understand what we were looking at, how long we were allowed to stay and where to meet after each stop.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Phil R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This proved to be a very interesting, informative way to view the city of Montreal. We would never have seen half of the sites, if we had driven on our own. The 30 minutes stop at Notre Dame Basilica was especially interesting.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Peter N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour of Old Montreal East. Notre Dame Basilica is a must see. Our Tour guide George is excellent and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Svetoslava S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was very nice, the guide was very knolegable, very friendly. The dounside was the cold and rainy weather and the fact that we couldn't go in the Notre Dame due to mass going on.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

angelapmr United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Nice guide telling a lot of jokes on the way. Could see much more nice places compared to a tour just in the old town.
The big disappointment was that we had a 35 min stop at Notre Dame but could not go in: actually, you will never be able to do it before 1pm on Sundays, and most probably Saturdays unless you lie to the guards at the entrance... since no tourists are let in at times of a mess. Tourists are allowed to enter after 1 pm and AFTER paying 5.
Regardless that this seems to be a well known fact the guide advised us to not look like tourists to be able to go in and that all of us were back in 5 min we stayed there for the full 35 min BUT in a cafe which is officially announced as a restroom stop... We had to wait for the guide to have a breakfast and were forced to buy staff which you wouldn't as you cannot just stay in the cafe for half an hour. We wanted to have a sandwich but the grill would not have been ready for another 20 min so we had the sandwich cold. In summary, this seemed like a very questionable stop, esp. that the cafe is selling tickets for the local tour operator's tours.
Otherwise, the tour was nice. Wish we had more time to go in St. Joseph oratory, not just have a 5-min stop for pictures at the entrance. It might not have been possible due to bus parking restrictions but would have been a much better 1/2 h spent instead of in the cafe...

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Apollonia P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I did the East and West tours of Old Montreal each 1.5 hours long - we did both on the same day with a break in between - and were exhausted! I'd recommend doing both but not on the same day. the East takes you into Notre-Dame nice start and def a major plus! and seems like the focus is really on the beginning/settling of the town lots of Catholic history versus the West which took us into a more 'modern' time and seemed to focus a lot on banking/bank buildings a bit odd. but in any event was a great way to see both parts of Old Montreal and our guide Justin was very knowledgeable although a bit scatter brained. I'd recommend the tour for sure.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Priscilla Q

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very time efficient and cost effective way to see Montreal City. The driver/tour guide has a good knowledge of the interesting and historical sites and areas of Montreal City. My granddaughter and I timed our stop/hop off near the Basilica of Notre Dame to attend the midday Mass. It is all in the planning and using the touring time efficiently to see and learn about the sites in Montreal.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anthony G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

It doesn't take you to alot of the different sites in Montreal. It didn't stop at Notre Dame Cathedral, St. Patricks Church, Parc Olympique, Jardin Botanique or even the Montreal Science Center. The bus does stop at the museum close by but they don't advertise any of the activities or sites at the Old Port. The bus tour is probably suited for older people but you can see alot more by taking the Metro. I would recommend it if you wanted to take a 2 hour tour of the city without getting off but if you want to see as much as you can I would use other alternatives.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

JOSEPH H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Angelina was a suburb walking-tour guide. She was very personable and very historically informed. She took care to ensure that everyone in the tour could see and hear what was relevant as we walking about the eastern side of Vieux Montreal. The length of the tour was good. The sites covered were excellent. On top of all this, we were able to use our tour ticket to re-visit the Basilica of Notre Dame without charge.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Jeri L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Louis was a great tour guide we learned so much and best of all I love Notre Dame!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Sonya P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Saw lots and went into the Notre' Dame cathedral.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Charles S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Overall the tour was very good. The Tour Bus Driver was very entertaining and knowledgeable. He also made sure each of us returned were returned safely to our respective hotels. His instructions were clear and easy to understand. My one recommendation here is to better know the schedule for the Notre Dame Bascilica, it was disappointing to be turned away at the door for a private wedding. Such a beautiful structure on the exterior, I bet the interior was grand.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Rick M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Good tour, although we really only made two worthwhile stops; Notre Dame Basilica and Mont-Royal. The stop at the Oratory was less than 10 minutes and was only for quick photos from the parking lot. The tour could be improved with more time at the stops, given the price of the tour.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Marlee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We did the east and west side tours of Old Montreal. The pace of the tour was nice and we had lots of time to take pictures in the Notre Dame (the fact that the visit to the church was included with the tour was very nice too). We had two different guides and both were very friendly and answered all questions well. The guides were both very knowledgable and we learned a lot about Montreal. We also took advantage of our ticket discount with the archaeology museum. The museum was neat to see as well.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Uwe S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great, however there are not enough stops and on the stops time is oo short to make photos. The tour is extensive and maybe some features should be cut to allow more time at special stops such as Notre Dame Cathedrale, although there was a 15 minute stop, but the line-ups were so long that we never made it inside, the same goes for the Olympic installations, a 5 minute stop is too short.
A suggestion: there should be an extra tour guide on board to explain things, the bus driver is trying his best but he also has to watch the road and cannot devote too much time for explanations.
Maybe you could consider this.
Irene Schmidt

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Janet D Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Have had better city tours than this one. Would have preferred to have the tour done in English only. Having the guide explaining the sites in English and French meant there were times when we missed what he was attempting to point out. Our hotel pick up was late arriving by almost 30 minutes later and we were beginning to worry that we were not going to be picked up. Overall it was just okay and were disappointed that we could not go inside the Notre Dame Basilica

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

David L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Definitely a bus tour. One does not visit any buildings as part of the tour other than a half hour stop at Notre Dame Basilica which costs an additional $5. Bus driver repeatedly talked about road construction rather than any meaningful commentary.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Judith A G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Didn't see anything special..just some skyline and business district ..hoping for more..liked the shuttle from hotel..place D'Arms..and back... Had more fun on our own in old town..had already seen basilica de Notre dame..went to mass Sunday morning..and paid to take pictures Sunday afternoon..if I were to improve your trip I would have given people more time for the Basilica and promoted the great T shirt store almost next door where you can buy picture books of the basilica

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I took the combo Old Montreal tours, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. While both tours include the Notre Dame Basilica, the tour guide accommodated us by scheduling the Notre Dame visit last in the afternoon, so that we could leave the tour rather than duplicating this visit.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Irene A S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was enjoyable and the guides were personable and informative. My only negative is that it wasn't clear that the first three places were all on the same stop. We returned to the bus drop-off after touring the Notre Dame cathedral and then went to the Old Port after the rest of the tour.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

mezameza

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very informative at times almost too much. It was very regimented. At times when we were able to get off the bus, our time sightseeing was very limited such as 30 mins. to see Notre Dame Cathedral. I guess this tour was intended to give you an overall view so that you could go back during the rest of your vacation to see what you liked in detail. I loved that they picked us up at our hotel!!!!

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message