Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Notre Dame Basilica

One of Montreal's most enduring symbols, the Notre Dame Basilica occupies a site rich with three centuries of history. The massive, awe-inspiring interior alone is worth a visit, with its wealth of opulent details. Besides religious services, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Phil R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This proved to be a very interesting, informative way to view the city of Montreal. We would never have seen half of the sites, if we had driven on our own. The 30 minutes stop at Notre Dame Basilica was especially interesting.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

angelapmr United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Nice guide telling a lot of jokes on the way. Could see much more nice places compared to a tour just in the old town.
The big disappointment was that we had a 35 min stop at Notre Dame but could not go in: actually, you will never be able to do it before 1pm on Sundays, and most probably Saturdays unless you lie to the guards at the entrance... since no tourists are let in at times of a mess. Tourists are allowed to enter after 1 pm and AFTER paying 5.
Regardless that this seems to be a well known fact the guide advised us to not look like tourists to be able to go in and that all of us were back in 5 min we stayed there for the full 35 min BUT in a cafe which is officially announced as a restroom stop... We had to wait for the guide to have a breakfast and were forced to buy staff which you wouldn't as you cannot just stay in the cafe for half an hour. We wanted to have a sandwich but the grill would not have been ready for another 20 min so we had the sandwich cold. In summary, this seemed like a very questionable stop, esp. that the cafe is selling tickets for the local tour operator's tours.
Otherwise, the tour was nice. Wish we had more time to go in St. Joseph oratory, not just have a 5-min stop for pictures at the entrance. It might not have been possible due to bus parking restrictions but would have been a much better 1/2 h spent instead of in the cafe...

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Priscilla Q

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very time efficient and cost effective way to see Montreal City. The driver/tour guide has a good knowledge of the interesting and historical sites and areas of Montreal City. My granddaughter and I timed our stop/hop off near the Basilica of Notre Dame to attend the midday Mass. It is all in the planning and using the touring time efficiently to see and learn about the sites in Montreal.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anthony G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

It doesn't take you to alot of the different sites in Montreal. It didn't stop at Notre Dame Cathedral, St. Patricks Church, Parc Olympique, Jardin Botanique or even the Montreal Science Center. The bus does stop at the museum close by but they don't advertise any of the activities or sites at the Old Port. The bus tour is probably suited for older people but you can see alot more by taking the Metro. I would recommend it if you wanted to take a 2 hour tour of the city without getting off but if you want to see as much as you can I would use other alternatives.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sonya P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Saw lots and went into the Notre' Dame cathedral.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Charles S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Overall the tour was very good. The Tour Bus Driver was very entertaining and knowledgeable. He also made sure each of us returned were returned safely to our respective hotels. His instructions were clear and easy to understand. My one recommendation here is to better know the schedule for the Notre Dame Bascilica, it was disappointing to be turned away at the door for a private wedding. Such a beautiful structure on the exterior, I bet the interior was grand.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Rick M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Good tour, although we really only made two worthwhile stops; Notre Dame Basilica and Mont-Royal. The stop at the Oratory was less than 10 minutes and was only for quick photos from the parking lot. The tour could be improved with more time at the stops, given the price of the tour.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Uwe S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great, however there are not enough stops and on the stops time is oo short to make photos. The tour is extensive and maybe some features should be cut to allow more time at special stops such as Notre Dame Cathedrale, although there was a 15 minute stop, but the line-ups were so long that we never made it inside, the same goes for the Olympic installations, a 5 minute stop is too short.
A suggestion: there should be an extra tour guide on board to explain things, the bus driver is trying his best but he also has to watch the road and cannot devote too much time for explanations.
Maybe you could consider this.
Irene Schmidt

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Janet D Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Have had better city tours than this one. Would have preferred to have the tour done in English only. Having the guide explaining the sites in English and French meant there were times when we missed what he was attempting to point out. Our hotel pick up was late arriving by almost 30 minutes later and we were beginning to worry that we were not going to be picked up. Overall it was just okay and were disappointed that we could not go inside the Notre Dame Basilica

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

David L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Definitely a bus tour. One does not visit any buildings as part of the tour other than a half hour stop at Notre Dame Basilica which costs an additional $5. Bus driver repeatedly talked about road construction rather than any meaningful commentary.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Judith A G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Didn't see anything special..just some skyline and business district ..hoping for more..liked the shuttle from hotel..place D'Arms..and back... Had more fun on our own in old town..had already seen basilica de Notre dame..went to mass Sunday morning..and paid to take pictures Sunday afternoon..if I were to improve your trip I would have given people more time for the Basilica and promoted the great T shirt store almost next door where you can buy picture books of the basilica

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Irene A S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was enjoyable and the guides were personable and informative. My only negative is that it wasn't clear that the first three places were all on the same stop. We returned to the bus drop-off after touring the Notre Dame cathedral and then went to the Old Port after the rest of the tour.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

mezameza

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very informative at times almost too much. It was very regimented. At times when we were able to get off the bus, our time sightseeing was very limited such as 30 mins. to see Notre Dame Cathedral. I guess this tour was intended to give you an overall view so that you could go back during the rest of your vacation to see what you liked in detail. I loved that they picked us up at our hotel!!!!

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Gabor D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour of Montreal. Would have liked a longer stop at Notre Dame cathedral. Tour guide wasn't friendly and very heavy accent made it almost impossible to understand his English. He had to concentrate on driving through traffic and give the tour in French and English. We are use to a separate tour guide and driver when sightseeing in a crowded city. Would have preferred smaller size bus.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Lady Diane C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The grayhound bus was great, spacious and comfortable, complete with a bathroom! It was a terrific way to get an overview of the city and see all the hot spots! Very beneficial for first timers. We appreciated our driver Jean for his sense of humor. Stops at the Notre Dame Basilica (20 min to go inside, you must buy your own ticket), St Joseph's Oratory, Olympic Park and Mont Royal (5 min each for pictures only). Overall, my friends and I had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Abraham N

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

In this tour, you are driven around Montreal so you are given an overall view of the city. You need to revisit places you are interested in on your own. The only time you get off the bus and see the inside of an attraction is the Notre Dame Church, which is well worth a visit (if you can, go back for the light show).

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Keri A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Driver was fantastic. We loved the Notre Dame stop. Could have spent more time there and cut out bathroom stop across from Olympic stadium.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Peggy G

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

We really enjoyed seeing St. Joseph's oratory, it's surrounding area, and visiting Notre Dame Basilica. The seemingly endless cross city traveling in what seemed to be less desirable areas was not appealing. The tour guide was very knowledgeable but as he described sites to us his volume became lower where we could no longer hear him. The ride was comfortable. In calling to confirm our tour on July 4th, we were told that we were booked for June 5th not July 5th and our reservations were cancelled. However, my confirmation receipt was correct. Happily, that was easily corrected and we were picked up at our hotel fairly promptly.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Mark K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The trip was nice. The tour guide/driver (Dan) wasnt the friendliest but he was knowledeable about the city. We didnt get to go into St Joseph Oratory because he was stuck in traffic to long. Was only able to go into Notre Dame and that was it. That was disappointing. He felt that everyone should tip him and only a few did.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Ashlie W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

It was somewhat disappointing.
The tour was scheduled from 1:00pm - 4:30pm- got started a little late due to late arrivals, which is not the tour company's fault.
Within the first 10 minutes of the tour, we stopped by the Notre Dame Bilsilica. The driver let everyone out and said we had 30 minutes to go through the church. A few problems with this:
- this cost additional money (should of been included in tour and had free entry for us)
- was cash only entry (I had no cash on me and had to run away in the pouring rain to find a back machine then stand in a long line and when we finally got in we had 5 minutes to get back to the bus.
- we had already visited the church the day before as we had no idea this was part of the tour
- took time away from the actual tour
The tour itself was not necessarily entertaining and we witnessed more than four people sleeping.
We ended the tour at 4:08pm so the 3.5 tour turned into less than 3 hours.
I would definitely not recommend and would like to speak further to the local provider about our dissatisfaction.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Patricia F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Everything was great. The tour left on time, hit all the major siteseeing spots and allowed us some time at a few spots (Notre Dame Cathedral, for one) to spend quality time viewing. Unfortuantely, the weather wasn't great, so some of the views from Mont Royal were limited. The tour guide was very pleasant.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

LEOPOLD L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

NOT ENOUGH TIME SPENT AT THE TWO STOPS. COULD HAVE SPENT SOME TIME AT THE ORATORY OF ST JOSEPH OR MORE TIME AT THE PLACE DE NOTRE DAME SINCE THE TOUR OPERATOR TERMINATED THE TOUR A HALF HOUR EARLY AND WE HAD TO WAIT AT THE STATION FOR ,OTHER BUSES TO RETURN BEFOTRE WE WERE TAKEN TO OUR HOTELS. THE TOUR WAS ALSO NARRATEED IN BOTH FRENCH AND ENGLISH. COMMENTS MADE FROM ENGLISH ONLY CUSTOMERS THOUGHT THAT MORE TIME WAS SPENT IN FRENCH THAN IN ENGLISH. SINCE I AM BILINGUAL I KNOW THAT IT WASN'T SO. yOUR APPLICATIONS GIVE THE IMPRESSION THAT IT WOULD BE ONE LANGUAGE ONLY THE ONE INDICATED BY THE CUSTOMER.
THIS IS A VERY IMPORTANT POINT SINCE MY WIFE UNDERSTANDS ENGLISH ONLY AND THOUGH ALSO THAT MORE TIME WAS GIVEN TO FRENCH.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Jenron

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was a great way to see all of the city, our driver Angelo was great. He stopped several places including Notre Dame, which we had time to tour, other stops for photos and quick breaks wereSt. Joseph's Oratory, Olympic Tower, and the Montreal Overlook which was a great view!! Angelo also was a wealth of knowledge he included the metro station information for other big attractions like the Botanical Gardens and Bio Dome so we were able to revisit the next day with easy. Also recommended the best poutine in town a little hole in the wall name La Banquise which was out of this world wonderful and just a quick metro ride away from our hotel. This tour is well worth the money and great way to get your bearings and see the entire city :)

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Judith T Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2012

Worst tour - tour guide ruined this tour! Don't bother with this one - we didn't get out of the bus at the old city only at notre dame where it cost $5 each to go inside - very bad tour

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Michael O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

It was very nice being picked up and dropped back at our hotel after the tour, and the guide was engaging and informative and funny. Once we were picked up we were brought to the ticket booth where we had to wait in line for tickets even though we had purchased them on line, which was bothersome. Although it was advertised as a 3 hour tour, it was only 2 1/2 hours; for $45 each we wanted a full 3 hours! We did see the major sights, like Mount Royal and the Olympic Stadium and Village, but the majority of time is spent navigating city traffic while the driver pointed out various office buildings. We'd recommend the walking tour of Old Montreal and using public transportation to see Mount Royal and Notre Dame and the botanical gardens instead of this bus tour.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message