• USD ($)
  • English

Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Notre Dame Basilica

One of Montreal's most enduring symbols, the Notre Dame Basilica occupies a site rich with three centuries of history. The massive, awe-inspiring interior alone is worth a visit, with its wealth of opulent details. Besides religious services, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very informative at times almost too much. It was very regimented. At times when we were able to get off the bus, our time sightseeing was very limited such as 30 mins. to see Notre Dame Cathedral. I guess this tour was intended to give you an overall view so that you could go back during the rest of your vacation to see what you liked in detail. I loved that they picked us up at our hotel!!!!

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We did the East and West Old Montreal Tours. Both were very good. If I had to choose one I would choose the East Tour. Our gentleman guide was excellent. Many of us opted to take his tour both times. You tour Notre Dame Twice when you take both tours. Since there were weddings taking place on the second tour, I was glad of this fact as the second did not include the chapel in the back. Very well done. This is money well spent.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour of Montreal. Would have liked a longer stop at Notre Dame cathedral. Tour guide wasn't friendly and very heavy accent made it almost impossible to understand his English. He had to concentrate on driving through traffic and give the tour in French and English. We are use to a separate tour guide and driver when sightseeing in a crowded city. Would have preferred smaller size bus.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The grayhound bus was great, spacious and comfortable, complete with a bathroom! It was a terrific way to get an overview of the city and see all the hot spots! Very beneficial for first timers. We appreciated our driver Jean for his sense of humor. Stops at the Notre Dame Basilica (20 min to go inside, you must buy your own ticket), St Joseph's Oratory, Olympic Park and Mont Royal (5 min each for pictures only). Overall, my friends and I had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great introduction to Notre Dame Basilica and Old Montreal. Tour guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic and provided a most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We did both the east and west tours. Rene Houd was our first guide, and was excellent. They tell you that you can use your ticket to get back in the Notre Dame Basilica for free. Keep in mind that on a Saturday, they hold weddings there and close it off to the public -we had our tour on Friday, went back on Saturday to take pictures, and couldn't :( Great, informative tour though, and gave you interesting facts and history. It's a great way to see Old Montreal on your first day, and then decide what you want to do for the rest of it. The ticket also gave us 50% off entry to the Archeology Museum. Great value and very enjoyable- definitely worth it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

In this tour, you are driven around Montreal so you are given an overall view of the city. You need to revisit places you are interested in on your own. The only time you get off the bus and see the inside of an attraction is the Notre Dame Church, which is well worth a visit (if you can, go back for the light show).

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

We did both the East and West Old Montreal tour. Good overview of the areas and history; facts and info about the founders of the area. It's worth going. Tour includes ticket to Notre Dame Basilica. If you are looking for a fun and upbeat tour, go with Jeremy.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Informative a lot of history and walking. I liked the duck tour better it was more fun . Good lay of the land- we sped through Notre Dame Basilica which was why I went on the tour 2 enjoy Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Driver was fantastic. We loved the Notre Dame stop. Could have spent more time there and cut out bathroom stop across from Olympic stadium.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

We really enjoyed seeing St. Joseph's oratory, it's surrounding area, and visiting Notre Dame Basilica. The seemingly endless cross city traveling in what seemed to be less desirable areas was not appealing. The tour guide was very knowledgeable but as he described sites to us his volume became lower where we could no longer hear him. The ride was comfortable. In calling to confirm our tour on July 4th, we were told that we were booked for June 5th not July 5th and our reservations were cancelled. However, my confirmation receipt was correct. Happily, that was easily corrected and we were picked up at our hotel fairly promptly.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The trip was nice. The tour guide/driver (Dan) wasnt the friendliest but he was knowledeable about the city. We didnt get to go into St Joseph Oratory because he was stuck in traffic to long. Was only able to go into Notre Dame and that was it. That was disappointing. He felt that everyone should tip him and only a few did.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

It was somewhat disappointing.
The tour was scheduled from 1:00pm - 4:30pm- got started a little late due to late arrivals, which is not the tour company's fault.
Within the first 10 minutes of the tour, we stopped by the Notre Dame Bilsilica. The driver let everyone out and said we had 30 minutes to go through the church. A few problems with this:
- this cost additional money (should of been included in tour and had free entry for us)
- was cash only entry (I had no cash on me and had to run away in the pouring rain to find a back machine then stand in a long line and when we finally got in we had 5 minutes to get back to the bus.
- we had already visited the church the day before as we had no idea this was part of the tour
- took time away from the actual tour
The tour itself was not necessarily entertaining and we witnessed more than four people sleeping.
We ended the tour at 4:08pm so the 3.5 tour turned into less than 3 hours.
I would definitely not recommend and would like to speak further to the local provider about our dissatisfaction.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Everything was great. The tour left on time, hit all the major siteseeing spots and allowed us some time at a few spots (Notre Dame Cathedral, for one) to spend quality time viewing. Unfortuantely, the weather wasn't great, so some of the views from Mont Royal were limited. The tour guide was very pleasant.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

NOT ENOUGH TIME SPENT AT THE TWO STOPS. COULD HAVE SPENT SOME TIME AT THE ORATORY OF ST JOSEPH OR MORE TIME AT THE PLACE DE NOTRE DAME SINCE THE TOUR OPERATOR TERMINATED THE TOUR A HALF HOUR EARLY AND WE HAD TO WAIT AT THE STATION FOR ,OTHER BUSES TO RETURN BEFOTRE WE WERE TAKEN TO OUR HOTELS. THE TOUR WAS ALSO NARRATEED IN BOTH FRENCH AND ENGLISH. COMMENTS MADE FROM ENGLISH ONLY CUSTOMERS THOUGHT THAT MORE TIME WAS SPENT IN FRENCH THAN IN ENGLISH. SINCE I AM BILINGUAL I KNOW THAT IT WASN'T SO. yOUR APPLICATIONS GIVE THE IMPRESSION THAT IT WOULD BE ONE LANGUAGE ONLY THE ONE INDICATED BY THE CUSTOMER.
THIS IS A VERY IMPORTANT POINT SINCE MY WIFE UNDERSTANDS ENGLISH ONLY AND THOUGH ALSO THAT MORE TIME WAS GIVEN TO FRENCH.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message