Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Notre Dame Basilica

One of Montreal's most enduring symbols, the Notre Dame Basilica occupies a site rich with three centuries of history. The massive, awe-inspiring interior alone is worth a visit, with its wealth of opulent details. Besides religious services, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour of Old Montreal East. Notre Dame Basilica is a must see. Our Tour guide George is excellent and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Svetoslava S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was very nice, the guide was very knolegable, very friendly. The dounside was the cold and rainy weather and the fact that we couldn't go in the Notre Dame due to mass going on.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

angelapmr United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Nice guide telling a lot of jokes on the way. Could see much more nice places compared to a tour just in the old town.
The big disappointment was that we had a 35 min stop at Notre Dame but could not go in: actually, you will never be able to do it before 1pm on Sundays, and most probably Saturdays unless you lie to the guards at the entrance... since no tourists are let in at times of a mess. Tourists are allowed to enter after 1 pm and AFTER paying 5.
Regardless that this seems to be a well known fact the guide advised us to not look like tourists to be able to go in and that all of us were back in 5 min we stayed there for the full 35 min BUT in a cafe which is officially announced as a restroom stop... We had to wait for the guide to have a breakfast and were forced to buy staff which you wouldn't as you cannot just stay in the cafe for half an hour. We wanted to have a sandwich but the grill would not have been ready for another 20 min so we had the sandwich cold. In summary, this seemed like a very questionable stop, esp. that the cafe is selling tickets for the local tour operator's tours.
Otherwise, the tour was nice. Wish we had more time to go in St. Joseph oratory, not just have a 5-min stop for pictures at the entrance. It might not have been possible due to bus parking restrictions but would have been a much better 1/2 h spent instead of in the cafe...

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Apollonia P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I did the East and West tours of Old Montreal each 1.5 hours long - we did both on the same day with a break in between - and were exhausted! I'd recommend doing both but not on the same day. the East takes you into Notre-Dame nice start and def a major plus! and seems like the focus is really on the beginning/settling of the town lots of Catholic history versus the West which took us into a more 'modern' time and seemed to focus a lot on banking/bank buildings a bit odd. but in any event was a great way to see both parts of Old Montreal and our guide Justin was very knowledgeable although a bit scatter brained. I'd recommend the tour for sure.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Priscilla Q

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very time efficient and cost effective way to see Montreal City. The driver/tour guide has a good knowledge of the interesting and historical sites and areas of Montreal City. My granddaughter and I timed our stop/hop off near the Basilica of Notre Dame to attend the midday Mass. It is all in the planning and using the touring time efficiently to see and learn about the sites in Montreal.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anthony G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

It doesn't take you to alot of the different sites in Montreal. It didn't stop at Notre Dame Cathedral, St. Patricks Church, Parc Olympique, Jardin Botanique or even the Montreal Science Center. The bus does stop at the museum close by but they don't advertise any of the activities or sites at the Old Port. The bus tour is probably suited for older people but you can see alot more by taking the Metro. I would recommend it if you wanted to take a 2 hour tour of the city without getting off but if you want to see as much as you can I would use other alternatives.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

JOSEPH H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Angelina was a suburb walking-tour guide. She was very personable and very historically informed. She took care to ensure that everyone in the tour could see and hear what was relevant as we walking about the eastern side of Vieux Montreal. The length of the tour was good. The sites covered were excellent. On top of all this, we were able to use our tour ticket to re-visit the Basilica of Notre Dame without charge.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Jeri L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Louis was a great tour guide we learned so much and best of all I love Notre Dame!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Sonya P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Saw lots and went into the Notre' Dame cathedral.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Charles S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Overall the tour was very good. The Tour Bus Driver was very entertaining and knowledgeable. He also made sure each of us returned were returned safely to our respective hotels. His instructions were clear and easy to understand. My one recommendation here is to better know the schedule for the Notre Dame Bascilica, it was disappointing to be turned away at the door for a private wedding. Such a beautiful structure on the exterior, I bet the interior was grand.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Rick M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Good tour, although we really only made two worthwhile stops; Notre Dame Basilica and Mont-Royal. The stop at the Oratory was less than 10 minutes and was only for quick photos from the parking lot. The tour could be improved with more time at the stops, given the price of the tour.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Marlee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We did the east and west side tours of Old Montreal. The pace of the tour was nice and we had lots of time to take pictures in the Notre Dame (the fact that the visit to the church was included with the tour was very nice too). We had two different guides and both were very friendly and answered all questions well. The guides were both very knowledgable and we learned a lot about Montreal. We also took advantage of our ticket discount with the archaeology museum. The museum was neat to see as well.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Uwe S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great, however there are not enough stops and on the stops time is oo short to make photos. The tour is extensive and maybe some features should be cut to allow more time at special stops such as Notre Dame Cathedrale, although there was a 15 minute stop, but the line-ups were so long that we never made it inside, the same goes for the Olympic installations, a 5 minute stop is too short.
A suggestion: there should be an extra tour guide on board to explain things, the bus driver is trying his best but he also has to watch the road and cannot devote too much time for explanations.
Maybe you could consider this.
Irene Schmidt

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Janet D Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Have had better city tours than this one. Would have preferred to have the tour done in English only. Having the guide explaining the sites in English and French meant there were times when we missed what he was attempting to point out. Our hotel pick up was late arriving by almost 30 minutes later and we were beginning to worry that we were not going to be picked up. Overall it was just okay and were disappointed that we could not go inside the Notre Dame Basilica

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

David L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Definitely a bus tour. One does not visit any buildings as part of the tour other than a half hour stop at Notre Dame Basilica which costs an additional $5. Bus driver repeatedly talked about road construction rather than any meaningful commentary.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Judith A G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Didn't see anything special..just some skyline and business district ..hoping for more..liked the shuttle from hotel..place D'Arms..and back... Had more fun on our own in old town..had already seen basilica de Notre dame..went to mass Sunday morning..and paid to take pictures Sunday afternoon..if I were to improve your trip I would have given people more time for the Basilica and promoted the great T shirt store almost next door where you can buy picture books of the basilica

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I took the combo Old Montreal tours, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. While both tours include the Notre Dame Basilica, the tour guide accommodated us by scheduling the Notre Dame visit last in the afternoon, so that we could leave the tour rather than duplicating this visit.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Irene A S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was enjoyable and the guides were personable and informative. My only negative is that it wasn't clear that the first three places were all on the same stop. We returned to the bus drop-off after touring the Notre Dame cathedral and then went to the Old Port after the rest of the tour.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

mezameza

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very informative at times almost too much. It was very regimented. At times when we were able to get off the bus, our time sightseeing was very limited such as 30 mins. to see Notre Dame Cathedral. I guess this tour was intended to give you an overall view so that you could go back during the rest of your vacation to see what you liked in detail. I loved that they picked us up at our hotel!!!!

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Darren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We did the East and West Old Montreal Tours. Both were very good. If I had to choose one I would choose the East Tour. Our gentleman guide was excellent. Many of us opted to take his tour both times. You tour Notre Dame Twice when you take both tours. Since there were weddings taking place on the second tour, I was glad of this fact as the second did not include the chapel in the back. Very well done. This is money well spent.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Gabor D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour of Montreal. Would have liked a longer stop at Notre Dame cathedral. Tour guide wasn't friendly and very heavy accent made it almost impossible to understand his English. He had to concentrate on driving through traffic and give the tour in French and English. We are use to a separate tour guide and driver when sightseeing in a crowded city. Would have preferred smaller size bus.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Lady Diane C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The grayhound bus was great, spacious and comfortable, complete with a bathroom! It was a terrific way to get an overview of the city and see all the hot spots! Very beneficial for first timers. We appreciated our driver Jean for his sense of humor. Stops at the Notre Dame Basilica (20 min to go inside, you must buy your own ticket), St Joseph's Oratory, Olympic Park and Mont Royal (5 min each for pictures only). Overall, my friends and I had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Eric B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great introduction to Notre Dame Basilica and Old Montreal. Tour guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic and provided a most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Sangjin Jennife C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We did both the east and west tours. Rene Houd was our first guide, and was excellent. They tell you that you can use your ticket to get back in the Notre Dame Basilica for free. Keep in mind that on a Saturday, they hold weddings there and close it off to the public -we had our tour on Friday, went back on Saturday to take pictures, and couldn't :( Great, informative tour though, and gave you interesting facts and history. It's a great way to see Old Montreal on your first day, and then decide what you want to do for the rest of it. The ticket also gave us 50% off entry to the Archeology Museum. Great value and very enjoyable- definitely worth it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Abraham N

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

In this tour, you are driven around Montreal so you are given an overall view of the city. You need to revisit places you are interested in on your own. The only time you get off the bus and see the inside of an attraction is the Notre Dame Church, which is well worth a visit (if you can, go back for the light show).

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message