Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Montreal (Vieux-Montréal)

On the edge of the St Lawrence River, Old Montreal (or Vieux Montréal) is the city’s birthplace with picturesque squares, grand old-world architecture, and a dense concentration of locals and visitors. The narrow Rue St-Paul, the old main ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I took both the East and West Old Montreal tours. Louis was fabulous! Very knowledgeable, witty, and charming! Merci beaucoiup!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was wonderful and well worth the hour and a half walking around old Montreal. Our tour guide was very pleasant and informative. I wish we had been able to take the afternoon tour as well, but it was booked! All in all, a very enjoyable morning!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour of East Old Montreal. Guide was very informative.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful morning and afternoon tour of old Montreal. Our guide was knowledgeable and moved us around from location to location without delay but with plenty of time to see particular sites. One item of special note is that the tour, on a weekend, included access to the interior of Nortre Dame as well as repeat visits at no extra charge. Highly recommended as all aspects of the tour were handled efficiently and professionally by the friendly folks at Viatour.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My guide was punctual and walked me around old Montreal telling stories as we walked
I enjoyed her company I saw places I would never have found on my own
Quebec is a beautiful state wish I had a longer stay

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour and terrific driver/tour guide. We had a limited amount of time to spend in Montreal and this tour was excellent. I wish there was a way to have seen more of old Montreal, but it was a thorough, well planed ride.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed both our morning and afternoon walking tours of Old Montreal. Brunco was a great guide! He made us love his city, and gave great recommendations for the rest of our trip. We would recommend this tour to any one!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We took the option of touring the West Side of Old Montreal because it fit well with another tour. The West side started at the Basilica and went through the former banking and warehousing/ sales area. We toured several showplace banks that we would not have know about otherwise. We appreciated the fine architecture and diversity of the area…then and now. Walking tours are a great way to 'get to know' an area. If we had more time in Montreal we would have done the East Side and Downtown Montreal tours. The walking pace allowed time to reflect on the area. The group was small enough to be able to ask questions.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We did both the East and West Tours of Old Montreal back to back. Both by native French Canadians. The East in the morning with Dorothy whetted our appetite and Georges brought is home with his vast knowledge of architecture and history of how the town was formed with the West tour in the afternoon. Don't recommend doing the back to back unless you rest in-between with lunch because your feet will pay for it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Tour was disappointing. The tour was on a Sunday and we were not advised until we got on the bus that morning that the two churches were not accessible to tours because of Sunday masses. Additionally the most important part for me was a tour of Old Montreal which again was not accessible because of a marathon. Had we been advised that 50% of the tour would not take place we would have booked a different day. If there are restrictions to areas advertised in the brochure let the clients know so that they can make informed decision on whether to make other arrangements.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We are sending your review over to the department that oversees the tours loaded in this area to have them look communicate with the tour operator concerning the tour description. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and do hope your holiday was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We did the east and west side tours of Old Montreal. The pace of the tour was nice and we had lots of time to take pictures in the Notre Dame (the fact that the visit to the church was included with the tour was very nice too). We had two different guides and both were very friendly and answered all questions well. The guides were both very knowledgable and we learned a lot about Montreal. We also took advantage of our ticket discount with the archaeology museum. The museum was neat to see as well.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I have been on five other food tours in Canada and the USA. The guide gave us lots of history and facts about the area. I think his name was Ron and he did know his information. Since the tour started at 9:30am and from my experience with other tours I suggested that we not eat breakfast. That was a mistake because there was only four small tastings, two at the start and two at the end. If I misread the info that was my mistake but most foodie tours have more food to offer.
Old Montreal is lovely with many food opportunities.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour. Our tour covered both areas of old Montreal. We had a different guide for each tour and both were excellent. Both tours were very informative and well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I took the combo Old Montreal tours, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. While both tours include the Notre Dame Basilica, the tour guide accommodated us by scheduling the Notre Dame visit last in the afternoon, so that we could leave the tour rather than duplicating this visit.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our first visit to Montreal. My wife and I did the Old Montreal East and West walking tours on the same day. That way we would have a better idea what to see more of the following day. The tour guides were George for the East and Rene for the West. Both were quite knowledgeable and entertaining, and both spoke perfect English. The tours were at a nice pace and were not rushed. We highly recommend, especially for first-time visitors like us.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great way to see Old Montreal and learn some of the very interesting history behind the buildings and other sites. The tour guides were excellent; they gave just the right amount of information and kept us moving along. We especially liked Georges, who was so charming and such a good speaker that several passers-by joined our tour and tipped him at the end!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Took the West and East Old Montreal tour. Without a doubt, East was so much more interesting. Plus by the time i started the West tour which came second, i was too exhausted to even pay attention. Both tour guides were nice and friendly. At the end of the West tour some french speaking tourists tipped, and everyone else followed suit, however that didn't happen with the first tour. I wished i had remembered to tip my tour guide for the East tour, he was a lot more interesting. Would recommend, and $40 is a decent price for a three hour tour if you can handle it. With children under 12 i would recommend just doing the East tour.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Old Montreal tour in the morning could have been better. Younger guide who was less informational and more of a jokester. Afternoon New Montreal tour was better and gave much better info

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great guide. this tour was just what we needed (and had time for) not too long, not too short. Got a sense of Old Montreal from a true Francophone!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We did the East and West Old Montreal Tours. Both were very good. If I had to choose one I would choose the East Tour. Our gentleman guide was excellent. Many of us opted to take his tour both times. You tour Notre Dame Twice when you take both tours. Since there were weddings taking place on the second tour, I was glad of this fact as the second did not include the chapel in the back. Very well done. This is money well spent.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was my third walking tour of Old Montreal with Viator. How much can you learn about Old Montreal? Believe me alot! I especially enjoyed this tour. Again I came away with a better understanding of this city that I love to visit. Now what tour will I take next time???

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great introduction to Notre Dame Basilica and Old Montreal. Tour guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic and provided a most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We did both the east and west tours. Rene Houd was our first guide, and was excellent. They tell you that you can use your ticket to get back in the Notre Dame Basilica for free. Keep in mind that on a Saturday, they hold weddings there and close it off to the public -we had our tour on Friday, went back on Saturday to take pictures, and couldn't :( Great, informative tour though, and gave you interesting facts and history. It's a great way to see Old Montreal on your first day, and then decide what you want to do for the rest of it. The ticket also gave us 50% off entry to the Archeology Museum. Great value and very enjoyable- definitely worth it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

We did both the East and West Old Montreal tour. Good overview of the areas and history; facts and info about the founders of the area. It's worth going. Tour includes ticket to Notre Dame Basilica. If you are looking for a fun and upbeat tour, go with Jeremy.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

A nice blend of the historical, cultural, and architectural highlights of old Montreal. The pace was good considering the number of sights...in other words, no one dawdled. If you had a particular interest in something, you could always go back.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message