Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Montreal (Vieux-Montréal)

On the edge of the St Lawrence River, Old Montreal (or Vieux Montréal) is the city’s birthplace with picturesque squares, grand old-world architecture, and a dense concentration of locals and visitors. The narrow Rue St-Paul, the old main ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved everything about this tour! Our guide Stacy was wonderful. Her knowledge of Old Montreal history and beyond made this outing so interesting and enjoyable. It would not have been what is was without her depth of history. Appreciate her sweetness and love of history in general. 5 out of 5!

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Mary-Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful tour of Old Montreal. Our tour guide, Christian provided such knowledgeable and informative information. We enjoyed the whole tour, starting of course with the Notre Dame Basilica, such history, Walking around the area, Christian was able to tell us all the facts and history of the places we visited. Highly recommend this tour for visitors to Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Adeline F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent choice for me and my friend. Stacey was enthusiastic and a fantastic tour guide. Lots of great information and we went back to two of the venues later. I would recommend this short, informative tour to anyone going old Montreal.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Peter N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour of Old Montreal East. Notre Dame Basilica is a must see. Our Tour guide George is excellent and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Teena W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyed our tour with Peggy. She was very informative and answered any question anyone had. It was the first day in Montreal and the tour was very helpful in getting the layout of Old Montreal. Would definitely encourage anyone who is considering a walking tour to take it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Frances E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide, Bruno, was knowledgeable and engaging. It was a very enjoyable 1.5 hours. Well worth the money. We toured the East side of Old Montreal, and we can't wait to go back and tour the west side on a warmer day.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Vivian Yang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide George is excellent! I thought it's going to be boring because i book this tour for my mom, who's totally into history kind of things. But the tour is amazing! The tour guide is very resourceful and interesting. He gave a lot of historical information as well as some fun facts. He also mentioned architectural knowledges when it's possible. Very interesting way to learn about the Old Montreal. If possible, I'll give a lot more star than just 5.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Rizwana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour! We did both the East and West Old Montreal Tours and it was a great time! Our tour guide Georges was knowledgeable, funny and engaging and learned so much about the area. Old Montreal is a quaint, European style town with a lot of character and history. Wear comfortable shoes and sunscreen as there is a lot of walking obviously!. Taking the tour will help you get to know the area much better and we found it very helpful. I absolutely recommend it to anyone going to Montreal!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Carol L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Perfect way to see Old Montreal. We did the combination of East and West. Carole was our guide and she was fantastic. The walking tour was fast paced and covered a lot of ground. Could have used a little bit longer break between the two activities for lunch but it was a great time.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Daniele G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Nicole did a very good job showing us the western part of old Montreal. The tour was very interesting. We learnt a lot about the history of the town, in which we just arrived to live for three years.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Apollonia P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I did the East and West tours of Old Montreal each 1.5 hours long - we did both on the same day with a break in between - and were exhausted! I'd recommend doing both but not on the same day. the East takes you into Notre-Dame nice start and def a major plus! and seems like the focus is really on the beginning/settling of the town lots of Catholic history versus the West which took us into a more 'modern' time and seemed to focus a lot on banking/bank buildings a bit odd. but in any event was a great way to see both parts of Old Montreal and our guide Justin was very knowledgeable although a bit scatter brained. I'd recommend the tour for sure.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Lindsay L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good tour. Gives the highlights of old Montreal, including history of how it came to be. Appreciate the 50 off museum coupon with our ticket.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Christine C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Gave a good overview of Old Montreal, the city's history, and food offerings.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Ruth T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Glad we took the city tour gave us insight of the old montreal

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great day trip from Montreal to Quebec City. Very easy to sign up and they come pick up at the hotels, I went from Old Montreal. Quebec City is charming and the guide was excellent. I did the boat cruise which was about 90 minutes, it was decent but if I did it again, I would skip the boat and just have the extra time to walk around because there was so much to see,

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

william L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great walking tour, The East was better then the West, both are good. The East was more of the old Montreal. There is a about a hour break between both tours. They do not leave you at the same starting spot.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Charles M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An interesting, informed tour of Old Montreal. Our tour guide, Carole, was extremely knowledgeable, at times entertaining and very energetic. This tour was well worth the investment, well organized and should we visit another location where a Viator tour is available, we would not hesitate to sign up. Thank you Viator and Carole for a very pleasant experience.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Belinda P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Loved the first part of the Eastern part of Old Montreal with Martin. The second part of the Western part with Catherine was a little rushed and I did not have enough time to take pictures.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Christine Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very knowledgeable guide that had many interesting anecdotal as well as historical facts. The tour was done at the right pace and the stops for tastings were very enjoyable. Gave us a good sense of the history of Old Montreal.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Michele H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and about architecture. She was very nice and had a terrific sense of humor! We enjoyed touring both east and west sides of Old Montreal and learning about the history of the area. There was a lot of walking but it wouldn't be named walking tour if there was no walking! The pace was very leisurely and enjoyable.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Andrew M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A good experience for older families, couples, and those who enjoy history and architecture. We brought a stroller and found it impossible to get into some buildings on the west side of the tour the afternoon tour. That said, we really enjoyed learning about Old Montreal in this way.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took the morning tour of Old Montreal with our guide, Justin. The tour was very informative and Justin offered a great balance of usual information combines with an enjoyable narrative of the city's historic people and events. The small group of 14 made it easy for us to be close to our guide and to ask questions. The tour was well worth the time and was reasonably priced.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Annette K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

THE BEST!!!!! Got a fabulous guide - Anula. This walking tour through the East side of Old Montreal - which I thought would be not much of an activity - was on par with the dinner of the lackluster dinner cruise. This guide is in a class to herself. She is easily the best guide we had, obviously very smart and very knowledgeable without sounding like a history professor. Her tour was much more than we expected. We enjoyed the sights and information completely.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Michael M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We had an informative and enjoyable tour guide who kept us engaged with the history of Old Montreal. Even our 14 year old daughter enjoyed it not an easy accomplishment.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I took both the East and West Old Montreal tours. Louis was fabulous! Very knowledgeable, witty, and charming! Merci beaucoiup!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message