Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Montreal (Vieux-Montréal)

On the edge of the St Lawrence River, Old Montreal (or Vieux Montréal) is the city’s birthplace with picturesque squares, grand old-world architecture, and a dense concentration of locals and visitors. The narrow Rue St-Paul, the old main ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very knowledgeable guide that had many interesting anecdotal as well as historical facts. The tour was done at the right pace and the stops for tastings were very enjoyable. Gave us a good sense of the history of Old Montreal.

Doing what: Best Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and about architecture. She was very nice and had a terrific sense of humor! We enjoyed touring both east and west sides of Old Montreal and learning about the history of the area. There was a lot of walking but it wouldn't be named walking tour if there was no walking! The pace was very leisurely and enjoyable.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A good experience for older families, couples, and those who enjoy history and architecture. We brought a stroller and found it impossible to get into some buildings on the west side of the tour the afternoon tour. That said, we really enjoyed learning about Old Montreal in this way.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took the morning tour of Old Montreal with our guide, Justin. The tour was very informative and Justin offered a great balance of usual information combines with an enjoyable narrative of the city's historic people and events. The small group of 14 made it easy for us to be close to our guide and to ask questions. The tour was well worth the time and was reasonably priced.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

THE BEST!!!!! Got a fabulous guide - Anula. This walking tour through the East side of Old Montreal - which I thought would be not much of an activity - was on par with the dinner of the lackluster dinner cruise. This guide is in a class to herself. She is easily the best guide we had, obviously very smart and very knowledgeable without sounding like a history professor. Her tour was much more than we expected. We enjoyed the sights and information completely.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We had an informative and enjoyable tour guide who kept us engaged with the history of Old Montreal. Even our 14 year old daughter enjoyed it not an easy accomplishment.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I took both the East and West Old Montreal tours. Louis was fabulous! Very knowledgeable, witty, and charming! Merci beaucoiup!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was wonderful and well worth the hour and a half walking around old Montreal. Our tour guide was very pleasant and informative. I wish we had been able to take the afternoon tour as well, but it was booked! All in all, a very enjoyable morning!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

our tour guide Sarah was great, very knowledgeable and interesting. We did the combo tour so the only down side was that lunch was quite brief, but overall a great walking introduction to Old Montreal for people visiting from south of the border.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour of Old Montreal. Frederic was our guide and did a great job of sharing the history, adding insight and wit to the tour. Frederic took the time to answer any guest questions and even went over the allotted time to make sure that all key stops and pertinent facts were shared with the tour group. Highly recommended. Ask for Frederic if he is available.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My family did a 3 hour tour of Old Montreal and it was a great way to learn about the city and everything it has to offer. My 3 children ages 9, 14 and 18 also enjoyed the tour. Carol was an excellent tour guide providing the group with much insight to the city.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great introduction to Old Montreal with very knowledgeable tour guides, who described the architecture of the different buildings, history of their use over time, and did so in an engaging way. I would recommend this to anyone who is not familiar with Montreal--or at least this part of the city.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Interesting and informative. We did the old Montreal morning tour,I think the East side.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this walking tour of Old Montreal. We had a very friendly host Justin, who made sure he explained the historical reference of the things we were looking at, and also handled questions well. I felt 1 1/2 hours was a little short, however, as we began rushing due to the slow movement of some. I think 2 hours would make it a little better.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour of East Old Montreal. Guide was very informative.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful morning and afternoon tour of old Montreal. Our guide was knowledgeable and moved us around from location to location without delay but with plenty of time to see particular sites. One item of special note is that the tour, on a weekend, included access to the interior of Nortre Dame as well as repeat visits at no extra charge. Highly recommended as all aspects of the tour were handled efficiently and professionally by the friendly folks at Viatour.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My guide was punctual and walked me around old Montreal telling stories as we walked
I enjoyed her company I saw places I would never have found on my own
Quebec is a beautiful state wish I had a longer stay

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour and terrific driver/tour guide. We had a limited amount of time to spend in Montreal and this tour was excellent. I wish there was a way to have seen more of old Montreal, but it was a thorough, well planed ride.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed both our morning and afternoon walking tours of Old Montreal. Brunco was a great guide! He made us love his city, and gave great recommendations for the rest of our trip. We would recommend this tour to any one!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We took the option of touring the West Side of Old Montreal because it fit well with another tour. The West side started at the Basilica and went through the former banking and warehousing/ sales area. We toured several showplace banks that we would not have know about otherwise. We appreciated the fine architecture and diversity of the area…then and now. Walking tours are a great way to 'get to know' an area. If we had more time in Montreal we would have done the East Side and Downtown Montreal tours. The walking pace allowed time to reflect on the area. The group was small enough to be able to ask questions.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We did both the East and West Tours of Old Montreal back to back. Both by native French Canadians. The East in the morning with Dorothy whetted our appetite and Georges brought is home with his vast knowledge of architecture and history of how the town was formed with the West tour in the afternoon. Don't recommend doing the back to back unless you rest in-between with lunch because your feet will pay for it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Tour was disappointing. The tour was on a Sunday and we were not advised until we got on the bus that morning that the two churches were not accessible to tours because of Sunday masses. Additionally the most important part for me was a tour of Old Montreal which again was not accessible because of a marathon. Had we been advised that 50% of the tour would not take place we would have booked a different day. If there are restrictions to areas advertised in the brochure let the clients know so that they can make informed decision on whether to make other arrangements.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We are sending your review over to the department that oversees the tours loaded in this area to have them look communicate with the tour operator concerning the tour description. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and do hope your holiday was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We did the east and west side tours of Old Montreal. The pace of the tour was nice and we had lots of time to take pictures in the Notre Dame (the fact that the visit to the church was included with the tour was very nice too). We had two different guides and both were very friendly and answered all questions well. The guides were both very knowledgable and we learned a lot about Montreal. We also took advantage of our ticket discount with the archaeology museum. The museum was neat to see as well.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I have been on five other food tours in Canada and the USA. The guide gave us lots of history and facts about the area. I think his name was Ron and he did know his information. Since the tour started at 9:30am and from my experience with other tours I suggested that we not eat breakfast. That was a mistake because there was only four small tastings, two at the start and two at the end. If I misread the info that was my mistake but most foodie tours have more food to offer.
Old Montreal is lovely with many food opportunities.

Doing what: Best Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour. Our tour covered both areas of old Montreal. We had a different guide for each tour and both were excellent. Both tours were very informative and well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message