Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Montreal (Vieux-Montréal)

On the edge of the St Lawrence River, Old Montreal (or Vieux Montréal) is the city’s birthplace with picturesque squares, grand old-world architecture, and a dense concentration of locals and visitors. The narrow Rue St-Paul, the old main ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Gave a good overview of Old Montreal, the city's history, and food offerings.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Ruth T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Glad we took the city tour gave us insight of the old montreal

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great day trip from Montreal to Quebec City. Very easy to sign up and they come pick up at the hotels, I went from Old Montreal. Quebec City is charming and the guide was excellent. I did the boat cruise which was about 90 minutes, it was decent but if I did it again, I would skip the boat and just have the extra time to walk around because there was so much to see,

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Christine Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very knowledgeable guide that had many interesting anecdotal as well as historical facts. The tour was done at the right pace and the stops for tastings were very enjoyable. Gave us a good sense of the history of Old Montreal.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful morning and afternoon tour of old Montreal. Our guide was knowledgeable and moved us around from location to location without delay but with plenty of time to see particular sites. One item of special note is that the tour, on a weekend, included access to the interior of Nortre Dame as well as repeat visits at no extra charge. Highly recommended as all aspects of the tour were handled efficiently and professionally by the friendly folks at Viatour.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Margtaubman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My guide was punctual and walked me around old Montreal telling stories as we walked
I enjoyed her company I saw places I would never have found on my own
Quebec is a beautiful state wish I had a longer stay

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Don M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour and terrific driver/tour guide. We had a limited amount of time to spend in Montreal and this tour was excellent. I wish there was a way to have seen more of old Montreal, but it was a thorough, well planed ride.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Josephine G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Tour was disappointing. The tour was on a Sunday and we were not advised until we got on the bus that morning that the two churches were not accessible to tours because of Sunday masses. Additionally the most important part for me was a tour of Old Montreal which again was not accessible because of a marathon. Had we been advised that 50% of the tour would not take place we would have booked a different day. If there are restrictions to areas advertised in the brochure let the clients know so that they can make informed decision on whether to make other arrangements.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We are sending your review over to the department that oversees the tours loaded in this area to have them look communicate with the tour operator concerning the tour description. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and do hope your holiday was excellent.

Linda D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I have been on five other food tours in Canada and the USA. The guide gave us lots of history and facts about the area. I think his name was Ron and he did know his information. Since the tour started at 9:30am and from my experience with other tours I suggested that we not eat breakfast. That was a mistake because there was only four small tastings, two at the start and two at the end. If I misread the info that was my mistake but most foodie tours have more food to offer.
Old Montreal is lovely with many food opportunities.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Karen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was my third walking tour of Old Montreal with Viator. How much can you learn about Old Montreal? Believe me alot! I especially enjoyed this tour. Again I came away with a better understanding of this city that I love to visit. Now what tour will I take next time???

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Carol V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed our Montreal City Tour, especially with Dennis as our guide. He was extremely informative and very funny. We had the convenience of being picked up at our hotel by a smaller bus and taken to the departure point. The only drawback to that, and really not that significant, was that we were picked up about 45 minutes before tour time; however, though having to wait a while, we were able to board the bus and therefore get a front row seat. We also had a bit of a walk back to our hotel when the tour concluded because the bus was too large to fit down the street of our hotel (in Old Montreal the streets are very narrow)--only another very minor inconvenience. Overall, I highly recommend this tour as a way of getting a grand overview of Montreal.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Alice J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good tour of old Montreal full of interest and the food tasting was superb.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Margarita R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2013

Our tour guide was AWESOME!

I took my parents (who were visiting from out west) on a tour of Montreal, since I haven't had the chance to see much of it myself, and we learned quite a lot and got to see some amazing things. I appreciated the tour guide and the photo stops, but this tour was certainly lacking in many respects and didn't live up to expectation.

1. This was billed as a 3 hour tour, but we were back at our hotel after 2.5 hours.
2. The bus wasn't as clean as it could have been, and the windows weren't washed, meaning that we couldn't see as much of the city sights as we wanted. On the website this is billed as a tram tour, and so being in a bus -- that wasn't heated very well -- was a disappointment.
3. Since we still had 30 minutes left, I felt like we should have been able to take more photo stops at Old Montreal, or perhaps stopped at a few more churches that were pointed out to us.
4. It would have been better if our tour guide weren't also our driver, as I was apprehensive about asking questions whilst the bus was moving for fear of distraction.

It's an easy way to see the city; our tour guide's sense of humour was right up my alley; the hotel pick-up and drop-off was great and very convenient; and we learned a lot about the city in a short amount of time. That said, I wouldn't go again unless we were a) guaranteed the same tour guide; b) guaranteed a different route; and c) guaranteed the full 3 hours with more photo stops.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Timetable Tim United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A wonderful way to explore Old Montreal during the holidays! Though it was a bitterly cold night (-14c!) our guide made the tour possible by keeping us inside as much as possible. We explored the historic shopping arcades and beautiful buildings of Montreal and learned about the history of Christmas and the influence of the church in this fascinating region of Canada. Our guide was informative, friendly and fun - we even finished the tour with some delicious cheese and wine! Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Christmas Walking Tour in Old Montreal

Frank C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

I've been on a walking food tour in our home city of Chicago (which is also a great food city, by the way!), but this tour in Old Montreal was really something special. Our guide Ronald Poire was witty and knowledgeable, helping us understand more of the history of Historic Montreal. The charm of the city comes through in the food samples, starting the day with macaroons and hot coffee, sampling some different pates and cheeses, and finishing with some delicious maple syrup gelato. A great way for new comers to get an intimate look at one of the most romantic and people friendly parts of Montreal.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Jeffrey L. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Our tour guide was terrific. A small group of 3 created an tour that was very intimate, informal and informative. Our four food stops provided us with a perfect opportunity to capture the flavor of Old Montreal. We highly recommend this tour and we will take it the next time we visit Montreal. .

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Nancy D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

We were a bit concerned as our pick up at the hotel was late. The lines we had to wait in to trade our voucher for a ticket, and then to board the bus, were both rather lengthy. Once on the bus, our guide did a good job of giving us the history and other information at all the stops. This was a good overview of the city, but I'm glad I had time to walk around Old Montreal a bit more later.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Kate S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

Tour was good though not enough time spent at Old Montreal. Would have been better to spend more time here and less at the Biodome and going through Universities. Really, who cares what times the Law lectures are on, we're on holidays people!

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Michael O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

It was very nice being picked up and dropped back at our hotel after the tour, and the guide was engaging and informative and funny. Once we were picked up we were brought to the ticket booth where we had to wait in line for tickets even though we had purchased them on line, which was bothersome. Although it was advertised as a 3 hour tour, it was only 2 1/2 hours; for $45 each we wanted a full 3 hours! We did see the major sights, like Mount Royal and the Olympic Stadium and Village, but the majority of time is spent navigating city traffic while the driver pointed out various office buildings. We'd recommend the walking tour of Old Montreal and using public transportation to see Mount Royal and Notre Dame and the botanical gardens instead of this bus tour.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Joyce P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

It was a good tour of the city. It covered a good variety of what I expected. There were a few things I didn't care for about the tour. There wasn't enough time spent on Old Montreal. It would have been nice to tour the Notre Dame. Also I was of the understanding that the tour would be in English only. But it was bilingual and therefore I don't believe the tour guide had enough time to explain more about the history, etc. of the buildings and area we were covering. Also, I was of the understanding that we would be on one of the open topped buses. Because it was a greyhound type of bus and i was sitting on the wrong side of the bus, I was unable to see a lot of the Mount Royal area since it was on the other side of the bus.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Five of us booked a day trip to Quebec with the cruise to Montmorency Falls. We stayed in Old Montreal and planned for a day trip to Quebec out itinerary was very limited. The bus driver was accommodating, even though the bus experienced mechanical problem. Our bus arrived in time for the tour and the cruise. Rogere sp our tourguide was highly informative and humorous. My children thoroughly enjoyed the trip. This is my second time booking with Viator first in Barcelona, I will use Viator again for future trips.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message