Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Montreal (Vieux-Montréal)

On the edge of the St Lawrence River, Old Montreal (or Vieux Montréal) is the city’s birthplace with picturesque squares, grand old-world architecture, and a dense concentration of locals and visitors. The narrow Rue St-Paul, the old main ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour. Our tour covered both areas of old Montreal. We had a different guide for each tour and both were excellent. Both tours were very informative and well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I took the combo Old Montreal tours, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. While both tours include the Notre Dame Basilica, the tour guide accommodated us by scheduling the Notre Dame visit last in the afternoon, so that we could leave the tour rather than duplicating this visit.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our first visit to Montreal. My wife and I did the Old Montreal East and West walking tours on the same day. That way we would have a better idea what to see more of the following day. The tour guides were George for the East and Rene for the West. Both were quite knowledgeable and entertaining, and both spoke perfect English. The tours were at a nice pace and were not rushed. We highly recommend, especially for first-time visitors like us.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great way to see Old Montreal and learn some of the very interesting history behind the buildings and other sites. The tour guides were excellent; they gave just the right amount of information and kept us moving along. We especially liked Georges, who was so charming and such a good speaker that several passers-by joined our tour and tipped him at the end!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Took the West and East Old Montreal tour. Without a doubt, East was so much more interesting. Plus by the time i started the West tour which came second, i was too exhausted to even pay attention. Both tour guides were nice and friendly. At the end of the West tour some french speaking tourists tipped, and everyone else followed suit, however that didn't happen with the first tour. I wished i had remembered to tip my tour guide for the East tour, he was a lot more interesting. Would recommend, and $40 is a decent price for a three hour tour if you can handle it. With children under 12 i would recommend just doing the East tour.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Old Montreal tour in the morning could have been better. Younger guide who was less informational and more of a jokester. Afternoon New Montreal tour was better and gave much better info

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great guide. this tour was just what we needed (and had time for) not too long, not too short. Got a sense of Old Montreal from a true Francophone!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We did the East and West Old Montreal Tours. Both were very good. If I had to choose one I would choose the East Tour. Our gentleman guide was excellent. Many of us opted to take his tour both times. You tour Notre Dame Twice when you take both tours. Since there were weddings taking place on the second tour, I was glad of this fact as the second did not include the chapel in the back. Very well done. This is money well spent.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was my third walking tour of Old Montreal with Viator. How much can you learn about Old Montreal? Believe me alot! I especially enjoyed this tour. Again I came away with a better understanding of this city that I love to visit. Now what tour will I take next time???

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great introduction to Notre Dame Basilica and Old Montreal. Tour guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic and provided a most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We did both the east and west tours. Rene Houd was our first guide, and was excellent. They tell you that you can use your ticket to get back in the Notre Dame Basilica for free. Keep in mind that on a Saturday, they hold weddings there and close it off to the public -we had our tour on Friday, went back on Saturday to take pictures, and couldn't :( Great, informative tour though, and gave you interesting facts and history. It's a great way to see Old Montreal on your first day, and then decide what you want to do for the rest of it. The ticket also gave us 50% off entry to the Archeology Museum. Great value and very enjoyable- definitely worth it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

We did both the East and West Old Montreal tour. Good overview of the areas and history; facts and info about the founders of the area. It's worth going. Tour includes ticket to Notre Dame Basilica. If you are looking for a fun and upbeat tour, go with Jeremy.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

A nice blend of the historical, cultural, and architectural highlights of old Montreal. The pace was good considering the number of sights...in other words, no one dawdled. If you had a particular interest in something, you could always go back.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Informative tour. Knowledgable professional guide gave us very informative tour. Walking around old Montreal with tons of episodes in its history! H family from Boston

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We did both Old Montreal tours (East and West). Both guides were knowledgeable and interesting. Great way to see Old Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message