• USD ($)
  • English

Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Montreal (Vieux-Montréal)

On the edge of the St Lawrence River, Old Montreal (or Vieux Montréal) is the city’s birthplace with picturesque squares, grand old-world architecture, and a dense concentration of locals and visitors. The narrow Rue St-Paul, the old main ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great guide. this tour was just what we needed (and had time for) not too long, not too short. Got a sense of Old Montreal from a true Francophone!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We did the East and West Old Montreal Tours. Both were very good. If I had to choose one I would choose the East Tour. Our gentleman guide was excellent. Many of us opted to take his tour both times. You tour Notre Dame Twice when you take both tours. Since there were weddings taking place on the second tour, I was glad of this fact as the second did not include the chapel in the back. Very well done. This is money well spent.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was my third walking tour of Old Montreal with Viator. How much can you learn about Old Montreal? Believe me alot! I especially enjoyed this tour. Again I came away with a better understanding of this city that I love to visit. Now what tour will I take next time???

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great introduction to Notre Dame Basilica and Old Montreal. Tour guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic and provided a most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We did both the east and west tours. Rene Houd was our first guide, and was excellent. They tell you that you can use your ticket to get back in the Notre Dame Basilica for free. Keep in mind that on a Saturday, they hold weddings there and close it off to the public -we had our tour on Friday, went back on Saturday to take pictures, and couldn't :( Great, informative tour though, and gave you interesting facts and history. It's a great way to see Old Montreal on your first day, and then decide what you want to do for the rest of it. The ticket also gave us 50% off entry to the Archeology Museum. Great value and very enjoyable- definitely worth it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

We did both the East and West Old Montreal tour. Good overview of the areas and history; facts and info about the founders of the area. It's worth going. Tour includes ticket to Notre Dame Basilica. If you are looking for a fun and upbeat tour, go with Jeremy.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

A nice blend of the historical, cultural, and architectural highlights of old Montreal. The pace was good considering the number of sights...in other words, no one dawdled. If you had a particular interest in something, you could always go back.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Informative tour. Knowledgable professional guide gave us very informative tour. Walking around old Montreal with tons of episodes in its history! H family from Boston

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We did both Old Montreal tours (East and West). Both guides were knowledgeable and interesting. Great way to see Old Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed our Montreal City Tour, especially with Dennis as our guide. He was extremely informative and very funny. We had the convenience of being picked up at our hotel by a smaller bus and taken to the departure point. The only drawback to that, and really not that significant, was that we were picked up about 45 minutes before tour time; however, though having to wait a while, we were able to board the bus and therefore get a front row seat. We also had a bit of a walk back to our hotel when the tour concluded because the bus was too large to fit down the street of our hotel (in Old Montreal the streets are very narrow)--only another very minor inconvenience. Overall, I highly recommend this tour as a way of getting a grand overview of Montreal.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I took the Old Montreal (East and West) tour with my family and it was excellent!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a wonderful walking tour of Old Montreal. Both of our guides were well-informed and made the old part of Montreal come alive. Very glad we took both the East and West walking tours!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good tour of old Montreal full of interest and the food tasting was superb.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2013

Our tour guide was AWESOME!

I took my parents (who were visiting from out west) on a tour of Montreal, since I haven't had the chance to see much of it myself, and we learned quite a lot and got to see some amazing things. I appreciated the tour guide and the photo stops, but this tour was certainly lacking in many respects and didn't live up to expectation.

1. This was billed as a 3 hour tour, but we were back at our hotel after 2.5 hours.
2. The bus wasn't as clean as it could have been, and the windows weren't washed, meaning that we couldn't see as much of the city sights as we wanted. On the website this is billed as a tram tour, and so being in a bus -- that wasn't heated very well -- was a disappointment.
3. Since we still had 30 minutes left, I felt like we should have been able to take more photo stops at Old Montreal, or perhaps stopped at a few more churches that were pointed out to us.
4. It would have been better if our tour guide weren't also our driver, as I was apprehensive about asking questions whilst the bus was moving for fear of distraction.

It's an easy way to see the city; our tour guide's sense of humour was right up my alley; the hotel pick-up and drop-off was great and very convenient; and we learned a lot about the city in a short amount of time. That said, I wouldn't go again unless we were a) guaranteed the same tour guide; b) guaranteed a different route; and c) guaranteed the full 3 hours with more photo stops.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Timetable Tim
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A wonderful way to explore Old Montreal during the holidays! Though it was a bitterly cold night (-14c!) our guide made the tour possible by keeping us inside as much as possible. We explored the historic shopping arcades and beautiful buildings of Montreal and learned about the history of Christmas and the influence of the church in this fascinating region of Canada. Our guide was informative, friendly and fun - we even finished the tour with some delicious cheese and wine! Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Christmas Walking Tour in Old Montreal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message