Moscow ATTRACTIONS See all

Bolshoi Theatre

One of the best known theaters in the world, the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow, traces its history back to 1776. This was when Empress Catherine the Great granted Prince Pyotr Urusov the privilege of maintaining theater performances of all kinds for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Anya was fantastic. Jamie and I had a wonderful day. Her quiz questions kept us on our toes all day. Anya wa s on full of energy, facts and enthusiasm. Well done Anya. We so appreciated your knowledge and great style. Diana

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

Tobias W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very knowledgeable guide. Took me for a great walk around. Make sure you have some time after the tour to stroll around on your own to reflect on things and let it all sink in....!

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Beatrice D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

relaxing way to have a first view of the city - very friendly and skilful guide

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

david o

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good young guide Irina?, lots of energy and enthusiasm.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Virginia W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was good and thorough

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

M G S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This was the most sub optimal tour I have taken in a Long time. Anna the guide was hardly qualified to lead a private tour. She had charm but little in the form of knowledge of the history, culture and art of the place of which there was plenty on display. I could have done miles better on a self guided tour. Not value for money at all. In contrast read my review of the St Petesburg walk.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

Joanne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was 10 out of 10. Our tour leader was Arkady who has been conducting tours for decades ... his English is superb and his knowledge of Russian history is outstanding. We saw and learned so much more doing this tour than what we could have seen on our own. Most tourists are only a short time in Russia my advice is don't waste any time here and take a tour. Its an investment!

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Joanne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I highly recommend this tour which was thoroughly enjoyed by our family of four. Our tour guide's name was Arkady who was extremely well-educated and seemed to possess sophisticated knowledge of Russian history and current economics. Arkady was very attentive and went well over the two hours allotted to our tour time. We could not have found all the famous churches and streets, and gleaned such rich insight into the incredible history of Moscow without the assistance of our amazing tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Noah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great English speaking tour guide who added insight into the daily life of Moscow residents.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

Karim Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent tour. My guide knew a lot about Moscow. I had a great time walking around the city with him. It was a pleasant and instructive walk. Recommended !

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Nick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This ended to be one on one walking tour so I got special attention. The guide was just amazing and got into the history of the Soviet Union etc. Moscow is one of the most amazing cities contrary to the media.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

richard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Did this tour the following day after arriving in Moscow. The tour guide was very informative and spoke very good English. Did not have to wait in any lines for tickets to the Kremlin, HIghly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Natalia was an amazing tour guide. She knew her material, gave us a thorough tour of Moscow, and answered any and all questions we had. We could have not asked for a better experience.

Like many others, we had her all to ourselves which was an added bonus.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Sujeni W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide who met us up in front the Bolshoi theater was actually the translator. She translate all the narration given by the Bolshoi Theater staff in Russian, which in this case make the tour a bit boring which we have to listen twice the same explanation in Russianwhich we don't understand and then in English. Then the audience hall is not light up when we enter the hall. I did ask for the lights to be turn on for some 5-10 minutes for me to enjoy and feel the atmosphere of the theater with all the grand chandelier lights, rows of audience seats glimmering in gold while the lights is on. But the Bolshoi Theater staff said No. A bit disappointed. But for soem unknown reason, the lights did turn on for some 2-3 minutes. Overall, the tour guide is very friendly and I can tell she is trying her best to make sure we enjoy the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour of the Bolshoi Theater in Moscow

Douglas G. B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Irenia was very personable and had good English she has a wealth of knowledge about Moscow. As we had previously visited some of her tour she was very flexible in moving to other areas and assisting us obtain other tickets.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Suzanne R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a completely fantastic tour. Just the right duration, hugely informative and interesting, our guide knew everything and was happy to answer questions. The walking pace was good and not rushed, for an overview of Moscow, I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Terry D W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide had very good knowledge and provided an excellent tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Deep M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a very close second to the best city tour I have had and I am strictly speaking from the experience enhanced by the guide and not the city itself. Our guide, a part time IT consultant paced the journey perfectly, encouraged interaction and complicated questions and a 6 hour walk one one of the hottest day in Moscow passed us by. The choice of restaurant for lunch was amazing as well. A strong recommendation as just a separate Moscow tour just would not do without including the Kremlin.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

Zachary f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Tim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Irena, was brilliant. There were only three of us on the tour in total and I really felt that we got a good taste of Moscow and the main sights - plus some useful local insider knowledge on where to eat and where to find free toilets! She tailored the last part of the tour for us - giving us some options on places we could visit and also took us to a local cafe and helped us order some traditional Russian dishes for lunch.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

robert w e

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The guide company forgot to turn up. After waiting half an hour at our hotel we rang and they lost our booking and forgot to turn up. We were offerred a tour much later that day or the following day but that didnt suit.
We ended up visiting the Kremiln by ourselves which was actually very easy

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

Michael A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyed the tour and the guides were very good. Two disappointments - that we were unable to see behind the scenes of the theatre and that we did not have an English speaking guide which we realised there were at the theatre. Our guide from Viator made a really good job of the translation but it obviously took a bit of time and some of the meaning was inevitably lost a bit.

Doing what: Private Tour of the Bolshoi Theater in Moscow

Judith R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My walking tour was immensely interesting and the guide was knowledgeable and thorough in her commentary. I was leaving Moscow that day and did not have time to pursue independent tours of some of the sites seen on the walking tour but the guides recommendations and tips for best times to visit sites would have been invaluable should I have been able to stay longer in the city.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

smilinback88

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We learned a ton of history!

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Moona G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A must if first visit to Russia

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message