One of the best known theaters in the world, the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow, traces its history back to 1776. This was when Empress Catherine the Great granted Prince Pyotr Urusov the privilege of maintaining theater performances of all kinds for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Natalia was an amazing tour guide. She knew her material, gave us a thorough tour of Moscow, and answered any and all questions we had. We could have not asked for a better experience.

Like many others, we had her all to ourselves which was an added bonus.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide who met us up in front the Bolshoi theater was actually the translator. She translate all the narration given by the Bolshoi Theater staff in Russian, which in this case make the tour a bit boring which we have to listen twice the same explanation in Russianwhich we don't understand and then in English. Then the audience hall is not light up when we enter the hall. I did ask for the lights to be turn on for some 5-10 minutes for me to enjoy and feel the atmosphere of the theater with all the grand chandelier lights, rows of audience seats glimmering in gold while the lights is on. But the Bolshoi Theater staff said No. A bit disappointed. But for soem unknown reason, the lights did turn on for some 2-3 minutes. Overall, the tour guide is very friendly and I can tell she is trying her best to make sure we enjoy the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour of the Bolshoi Theater in Moscow

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Irenia was very personable and had good English she has a wealth of knowledge about Moscow. As we had previously visited some of her tour she was very flexible in moving to other areas and assisting us obtain other tickets.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Suzanne R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a completely fantastic tour. Just the right duration, hugely informative and interesting, our guide knew everything and was happy to answer questions. The walking pace was good and not rushed, for an overview of Moscow, I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide had very good knowledge and provided an excellent tour.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a very close second to the best city tour I have had and I am strictly speaking from the experience enhanced by the guide and not the city itself. Our guide, a part time IT consultant paced the journey perfectly, encouraged interaction and complicated questions and a 6 hour walk one one of the hottest day in Moscow passed us by. The choice of restaurant for lunch was amazing as well. A strong recommendation as just a separate Moscow tour just would not do without including the Kremlin.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Irena, was brilliant. There were only three of us on the tour in total and I really felt that we got a good taste of Moscow and the main sights - plus some useful local insider knowledge on where to eat and where to find free toilets! She tailored the last part of the tour for us - giving us some options on places we could visit and also took us to a local cafe and helped us order some traditional Russian dishes for lunch.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The guide company forgot to turn up. After waiting half an hour at our hotel we rang and they lost our booking and forgot to turn up. We were offerred a tour much later that day or the following day but that didnt suit.
We ended up visiting the Kremiln by ourselves which was actually very easy

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyed the tour and the guides were very good. Two disappointments - that we were unable to see behind the scenes of the theatre and that we did not have an English speaking guide which we realised there were at the theatre. Our guide from Viator made a really good job of the translation but it obviously took a bit of time and some of the meaning was inevitably lost a bit.

Doing what: Private Tour of the Bolshoi Theater in Moscow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My walking tour was immensely interesting and the guide was knowledgeable and thorough in her commentary. I was leaving Moscow that day and did not have time to pursue independent tours of some of the sites seen on the walking tour but the guides recommendations and tips for best times to visit sites would have been invaluable should I have been able to stay longer in the city.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We learned a ton of history!

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A must if first visit to Russia

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the highlight of our recent tour to Russia and all because of our amazing guide - Liudmila. It was just my husband and I on the tour and we were therefore able to decide where we want to go and Mila went out of her way to make it special - not only in what she showed us, but also in what she shared with us - and her English is amazing! It was a long day, but we saw everything we wanted and more and had a really interesting lunch at a typical Russian restaurant - loved it. If you are going on this tour ask for Liudmila to be your guide - of all the guides we had in Russia, she really stood out as the best! This is one tour you cannot miss when visiting Moscow.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

Drew
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour! So I had as my tour guide Arkadiy, this middle aged Russian who is practically like a walking textbook of Russia. I was the only one on the tour that day and Arkadiy shared with me a lot about how life was like back in the Soviet days. Very friendly and an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What an amazing tour! We were so surprised that it was just us two on the tour. The guide was friendly, very knowledgeable, very experienced in the tourist industry. We saw places we would never had found and was a great start to our wonderful holiday. The guide took our photograph which is a bonus with only two people travelling together. We were very grateful for his expertise and would recommend this company and this tour especially if it is your first time to Moscow. Very easy to book online.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The private walking tour of Moscow was wonderful. Antonia and Airat were very friendly and informative. They made our trip to Moscow a memory we will always cherish.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

It was poor value for money. They didn't tell us that Red Sq and the Kremlin were closed on the day of our tour - the quality of the guide was just OK.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful and amazing. Fantastic day, great sights and a wonderful guide.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very good tour. We were surprised as nobody else had booked this tour that day, and we had a private tour on a car with a very nice guide Tatiana, and a skilled driver. We asked them to leave us at the Tretyakov gallery at the end of the tour and they kindly accepted. We made stops at certain points so that we were able to take pictures.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The tour was not as booked due to a miscommunication between the company and tour guide so ended up just making up the last couple of hours of the tour as it had not been planned for the full day as booked.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We got there right on time, but a couple arrived almost 30 minutes late. Not sure if this was the cause of the rest of the tour being rushed, but that was how it felt. We passed a lot of great sites but that was just it -- we passed by them. Only stopped at 3-4 sites to take photos for about 5 minutes.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

very well organized tour

Doing what: Best Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message