Moscow ATTRACTIONS See all

Red Square (Krasnaya Ploschad)

Red Square is the central square in Moscow, sitting just northeast of the famous Kremlin. Once a marketplace, over the years it has been the sight of public ceremonies and proclamations, the occasional coronation and during Soviet times, military ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Because the information on my voucher said "The route begins at Red Square", I went to Red Square at approx 9:45. But Red Square was a huge area. I had to call the local number (which wasn't contactable before 10:00) to ask where exactly at Red Square. Then I was told to go to behind St. Basille Cathedral. I waited there for 50 minutes until a bus showed up. It looks like the first bus doesn't really begin at 10:00 AM as mentioned. Otherwise, given a 20 minutes interval of time (bus comes every 20 minutes) I should have met a bus before that 50 minutes. It couldn't be because of traffic jam either, because it was Sunday morning and I saw it myself, the streets were still quiet at that time. I strongly suggest Viator to put in more specific information.

A few days ahead, I tried to contact Viator, asking from which stop near my hostel I could catch the bus. My hostel was actually very close to the main attractions. Thus, it shouldn't have been too complicated to give directions. However, Viator's answer was merely: "Ask your hotel staff." Why would I contact Viator if so? Many Russians don't speak English by the way. What's the plus of booking through Viator?

Service on the bus itself was excellent. I like the way the guide through the audio guide explained the surroundings. Getting on this bus helped me a lot to understand more about Moscow. I am perfectly satisfied with the service on board.

Doing what: Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great overall experience. The guide took me across the city and gave me a good perspective on the history and things to see and do.

Doing what: Moscow Walking Tour: Architecture, History and Culture from a Local's Perspective

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, very good service.

Doing what: Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My walking tour was immensely interesting and the guide was knowledgeable and thorough in her commentary. I was leaving Moscow that day and did not have time to pursue independent tours of some of the sites seen on the walking tour but the guides recommendations and tips for best times to visit sites would have been invaluable should I have been able to stay longer in the city.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We learned a ton of history!

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A must if first visit to Russia

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Drew
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour! So I had as my tour guide Arkadiy, this middle aged Russian who is practically like a walking textbook of Russia. I was the only one on the tour that day and Arkadiy shared with me a lot about how life was like back in the Soviet days. Very friendly and an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What an amazing tour! We were so surprised that it was just us two on the tour. The guide was friendly, very knowledgeable, very experienced in the tourist industry. We saw places we would never had found and was a great start to our wonderful holiday. The guide took our photograph which is a bonus with only two people travelling together. We were very grateful for his expertise and would recommend this company and this tour especially if it is your first time to Moscow. Very easy to book online.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Ok for the money, and worth a circuit on the bus. However catching the bus was slightly difficult. We have to go to the info centre near red square to find where to get it from. Other bus stops around the circuit are not well posted either.

Doing what: Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

It was absolutely worth doing and the commentary was very good giving you a good historical overview, but the windows of the bus were so dirty, due to snow the day before, that it was difficult to get a good view. Moscow is an incredible city and I wish the tour had a longer route.

Doing what: Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was really good and informative although at times the commentary was out of synch with where we actually were. It was a great way to see the sights and get our bearings.

Doing what: Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very good tour. We were surprised as nobody else had booked this tour that day, and we had a private tour on a car with a very nice guide Tatiana, and a skilled driver. We asked them to leave us at the Tretyakov gallery at the end of the tour and they kindly accepted. We made stops at certain points so that we were able to take pictures.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message