Moscow ATTRACTIONS See all

St Basil’s Cathedral (Pokrovsky Sabor)

With its colorful onion-shaped domes, St. Basil’s Cathedral may be one of the most iconic sights in Moscow, if not in all of Russia. Finished in 1561, the cathedral sits on one end of Red Square and marks the geometric center of Moscow. For 40 years ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The guide company forgot to turn up. After waiting half an hour at our hotel we rang and they lost our booking and forgot to turn up. We were offerred a tour much later that day or the following day but that didnt suit.
We ended up visiting the Kremiln by ourselves which was actually very easy

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Because the information on my voucher said "The route begins at Red Square", I went to Red Square at approx 9:45. But Red Square was a huge area. I had to call the local number (which wasn't contactable before 10:00) to ask where exactly at Red Square. Then I was told to go to behind St. Basille Cathedral. I waited there for 50 minutes until a bus showed up. It looks like the first bus doesn't really begin at 10:00 AM as mentioned. Otherwise, given a 20 minutes interval of time (bus comes every 20 minutes) I should have met a bus before that 50 minutes. It couldn't be because of traffic jam either, because it was Sunday morning and I saw it myself, the streets were still quiet at that time. I strongly suggest Viator to put in more specific information.

A few days ahead, I tried to contact Viator, asking from which stop near my hostel I could catch the bus. My hostel was actually very close to the main attractions. Thus, it shouldn't have been too complicated to give directions. However, Viator's answer was merely: "Ask your hotel staff." Why would I contact Viator if so? Many Russians don't speak English by the way. What's the plus of booking through Viator?

Service on the bus itself was excellent. I like the way the guide through the audio guide explained the surroundings. Getting on this bus helped me a lot to understand more about Moscow. I am perfectly satisfied with the service on board.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great overall experience. The guide took me across the city and gave me a good perspective on the history and things to see and do.

Doing what: Moscow Walking Tour: Architecture, History and Culture from a Local's Perspective

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, very good service.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My walking tour was immensely interesting and the guide was knowledgeable and thorough in her commentary. I was leaving Moscow that day and did not have time to pursue independent tours of some of the sites seen on the walking tour but the guides recommendations and tips for best times to visit sites would have been invaluable should I have been able to stay longer in the city.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We learned a ton of history!

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A must if first visit to Russia

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the highlight of our recent tour to Russia and all because of our amazing guide - Liudmila. It was just my husband and I on the tour and we were therefore able to decide where we want to go and Mila went out of her way to make it special - not only in what she showed us, but also in what she shared with us - and her English is amazing! It was a long day, but we saw everything we wanted and more and had a really interesting lunch at a typical Russian restaurant - loved it. If you are going on this tour ask for Liudmila to be your guide - of all the guides we had in Russia, she really stood out as the best! This is one tour you cannot miss when visiting Moscow.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

Drew
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour! So I had as my tour guide Arkadiy, this middle aged Russian who is practically like a walking textbook of Russia. I was the only one on the tour that day and Arkadiy shared with me a lot about how life was like back in the Soviet days. Very friendly and an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What an amazing tour! We were so surprised that it was just us two on the tour. The guide was friendly, very knowledgeable, very experienced in the tourist industry. We saw places we would never had found and was a great start to our wonderful holiday. The guide took our photograph which is a bonus with only two people travelling together. We were very grateful for his expertise and would recommend this company and this tour especially if it is your first time to Moscow. Very easy to book online.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Ok for the money, and worth a circuit on the bus. However catching the bus was slightly difficult. We have to go to the info centre near red square to find where to get it from. Other bus stops around the circuit are not well posted either.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The private walking tour of Moscow was wonderful. Antonia and Airat were very friendly and informative. They made our trip to Moscow a memory we will always cherish.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

It was absolutely worth doing and the commentary was very good giving you a good historical overview, but the windows of the bus were so dirty, due to snow the day before, that it was difficult to get a good view. Moscow is an incredible city and I wish the tour had a longer route.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

It was poor value for money. They didn't tell us that Red Sq and the Kremlin were closed on the day of our tour - the quality of the guide was just OK.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was really good and informative although at times the commentary was out of synch with where we actually were. It was a great way to see the sights and get our bearings.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful and amazing. Fantastic day, great sights and a wonderful guide.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very good tour. We were surprised as nobody else had booked this tour that day, and we had a private tour on a car with a very nice guide Tatiana, and a skilled driver. We asked them to leave us at the Tretyakov gallery at the end of the tour and they kindly accepted. We made stops at certain points so that we were able to take pictures.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The tour was not as booked due to a miscommunication between the company and tour guide so ended up just making up the last couple of hours of the tour as it had not been planned for the full day as booked.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

You do get to see the city but at a steep cost of time if you only haveBus routes overlap so you are forced to repeat 45 mins of sights you already saw. The info is different but drivers sit and wait quite a long time at certain stops to pick up more people. Take the metro and do sites on your own.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

I booked and paid for this tour in advance. Its very good to take a city bus tour in Moscow. I really enjoyed it especially from the top of the bus. It had an audio interesting commentary.The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful and spoke some English which was a plus for me. However..... this ONLY works in my opinion as a City bus tour and the concept of "hop on hop off" didn't really work in Moscow. There is too much very heavy traffic, and in the end practically only about 4 places to pick up the bus on the route.The actual stops ( about 4) were not signed and were difficult to find. I expected to be able to pick up the bus at any of the 20+ stops but it was not possible because the bus may be in the centre lanes of very heavy fast traffic and have to pass by the advertised stops. As a first time visitor to Moscow it was impossible to find the actual 4 stops using the map and tour literature, as they are quite far apart and Moscow centre is not easily accessible to find your way around for pedestrians and non-speaking/reading visitors, I wouldn't advise trying to walk between attractions and stops as they were when I went on this tour- perhaps they will improve it who knows- just take the whole bus tour without getting off. One other passenger told me he had tried to hop on and hop off and got hopelessly lost between the stops and it took hours to pick up the bus again. This needs to be better organised to be a hop on and hop off bus.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We got there right on time, but a couple arrived almost 30 minutes late. Not sure if this was the cause of the rest of the tour being rushed, but that was how it felt. We passed a lot of great sites but that was just it -- we passed by them. Only stopped at 3-4 sites to take photos for about 5 minutes.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

very well organized tour

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message