One of the largest cities of the world and the heart of Russia for centuries, Moscow is a vibrant, eclectic city with a little something for everyone. A three-day visit to this historic city isn’t about relaxation, but about squeezing in as much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 167 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide had very good knowledge and provided an excellent tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guide (unfortunately, her name escapes me at the moment) with a wealth of knowledge on the Soviet era. Highly recommended for history enthusiasts.

Doing what: Moscow at Night: Small-Group Walking Tour with Annushka Tram

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good trip. Amazing underground wirld!

Doing what: Moscow Bunker and Underground Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a very close second to the best city tour I have had and I am strictly speaking from the experience enhanced by the guide and not the city itself. Our guide, a part time IT consultant paced the journey perfectly, encouraged interaction and complicated questions and a 6 hour walk one one of the hottest day in Moscow passed us by. The choice of restaurant for lunch was amazing as well. A strong recommendation as just a separate Moscow tour just would not do without including the Kremlin.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An excellent tour led by two knowledgeable, helpful and friendly people.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Irena, was brilliant. There were only three of us on the tour in total and I really felt that we got a good taste of Moscow and the main sights - plus some useful local insider knowledge on where to eat and where to find free toilets! She tailored the last part of the tour for us - giving us some options on places we could visit and also took us to a local cafe and helped us order some traditional Russian dishes for lunch.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Nikolai was fantastic - couldn't have hoped for a better or more knowledgeable tour guide. There were only three of us on the tour and he did a great job of showing us some of the more interesting and stunning stations on the Metro, as well as explaining what the paintings, statues and mosaics represented and meant to ordinary Russians - including himself. The bunker tour was also really interesting, although almost everything is in Russian so we'd have been lost without Nikolai's translation skills and explanations and be warned that you're not allowed to take photos in any of the interesting areas! The lunch after the tour was a nice touch too. It was definitely the highlight of my trip to Russia, although a lot of that was probably down to the tour guide we had.

Doing what: Moscow Bunker and Underground Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

First of all, a visit to the Kremlin is an absolute must whilst in Moscow. If you're short on time, then this tour is a great way of getting an overview of the main highlights and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour very interesting. However, it took about 45 minutes from when we met to actually get in to the Kremlin as we waited for those who hadn't pre-booked to pay for their tour, for the tour guide to get the entry tickets and to get through security. This meant that by the time we had finished, we only had about 45 minutes left before the Kremlin closed for the day to explore on our own. Overall, I'd say it's worth doing if you only have limited time but be aware that you may not have a lot of time to explore anything in greater detail.

Doing what: Kremlin Small-Group Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

I recommend visiting the monastery on your own since it's not far from Moscow.

Rest of it did not interest me like rural history of Russian people and other religious teachings and history

Doing what: Private Tour: Sergiev Posad Day Trip and Trinity Lavra Monastery of St Sergius Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

At specified tour time and place, there is no trace of tour leader, I have to buy the ticket myself at the ticket office, I just don't know what happened!

Doing what: Kremlin Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour at a great price. It was just me and the tour guide!! She was very knowledgeable and would recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A tour to the Kremlin during the 70th anniversary victory parade time frame can be nothing but spectacular and having a guide to show the best viewing areas is priceless. We highly recommend this tour group for their professional and world renowned availability. Our only disappointment was that our guide chose to send us in to the armory and jewel room with headsets rather than providing one on one services which he did do for the many churches. As we paid over 400 for the two of us we would have preferred this although maybe others would enjoy the option of going at your own pace and viewing what you chose.

Doing what: Early-Admission Kremlin Tour in Moscow: Armory, Diamond Fund Exhibition and Assumption Cathedral

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The guide company forgot to turn up. After waiting half an hour at our hotel we rang and they lost our booking and forgot to turn up. We were offerred a tour much later that day or the following day but that didnt suit.
We ended up visiting the Kremiln by ourselves which was actually very easy

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

This was the most disappointing Viator tour I have ever purchased. It was not at all clear from the description on Viator that the tour would only include the cathedrals inside the Kremlin. There were no options for tours of other parts of the Kremlin - which would have been more interesting to me. A more thorough description should be written.

Doing what: Kremlin Small-Group Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

I give the shooting experience 2 stars for the following:

Firtst there was a problem with the booking whereby the event had to be reschedule.
So I had to do the shooting on the day we left Moscow, what was a bit inconvenient..
However the people of Moscow free tour did all there best to solve this problem.

Second I was very dissapointed that it was not possible to thake photo s at the shooting range, although this is mentioned in the description of the activity.
This makes it a bit expensive, because a good photo is surely what you need to brag with it at home!
Maybe its would be an idee to have a replica ak47 just for photo..

Pluspoint for the girl of Moscow free tour who guide us to the range, and the guy who assist the shooting itself. They where very friendly, enjoyable and helpful.

Doing what: Moscow Shooting Experience: Shoot an AK-47 at the Central Shooting Club

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Especially our guide was awesome. She interested with us about any issue. Thank you for all.

Doing what: Moscow Shooting Experience: Shoot an AK-47 at the Central Shooting Club

Stuart F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

excellent guide, excellent knowledge. This is a must do.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I absolutely recommend this tour. Our guide was really cool. She picked us up on time and managed everything perfectly. It´s a little bit expensive, but it is worth it.

Doing what: Moscow Shooting Experience: Shoot an AK-47 at the Central Shooting Club

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip was well worth the money. Great to see the beauty of the stations.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It brought an insight to me to understand the kind of communism in Russia. During the tour we didn't merely talk about communism, but also other terms regarding to Russia. A great thanks again to Elena, our tour guide, we had a great time.

Doing what: Communist Moscow: Evening Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Anyone into architecture, definitely should take this tour. We were guided to various subway stations and none of them were alike. Each had it's own uniqueness, and own culture. Thanks a lot to Elena, our tour guide. She guided us in such a way which stirred my excitement about Russia even more.

However, the information on my voucher was misleading. It stated that the meeting point was:
"Biblioteka Lenina metro. KutafiaTower of the Moscow Kremlin"
As a matter of fact, Biblioteka Lenina Metro (the entrance where the sign is) and Kutafia Tower were two different places. The two were separated by a broad street, and not exactly across each other.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Tour guide, a young woman...arrived late, she did not speak English very well, nor could she understand English very well, we tried to communicate...but it did not go very far, so that was frustrating.....she didn't quite know what to do with us...took us to some places where it was the dark,some back streets... but it wasn't very interesting...there was extra time at the end, disappointment!

Doing what: Moscow at Night: Small-Group Walking Tour with Annushka Tram

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Guide made a Great JOB we had a wonderful experience I strongly recommend to enjoy this tour in Moscow. My only problema was to find the meeting point. Really our tour guide put passion to the explanation to each detail an she speaks many languages including spanish!! A summary in one Word "GREAT"

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great overall experience. The guide took me across the city and gave me a good perspective on the history and things to see and do.

Doing what: Moscow Walking Tour: Architecture, History and Culture from a Local's Perspective

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message