Insider's Guide to Mount Cook

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Mount Cook ATTRACTIONS See all

Mount Cook (Aoraki)

The highest peak in New Zealand, the magnificent Mt. Cook (Aoraki) stands 12,349 feet (3,764 meters) tall. The Maori name Aoraki means "cloud piercer" and its striking beauty makes it one of the island's finest mountains. Of New ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A HUGE highlight of our honeymoon. Unfortunately, our camera was stolen a couple of days later before we had a chance to download our pictures, but as my wife says, "that just means we have to go back!" What a HUGE trip this is. Stunning scenery and landing on the glacier is a highlight. The only downside is that not all the headsets were working, so the pilot commentary wasn't heard by all. But that's a minor point.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This excursion was a big thrill for us as we expected it to be. Our son is physically disabled and we were nervous about getting him into the helicopter but we managed by using a small step stool and some good old elbow grease .i.e. lifting. The scheduled ride was tentative due to strong winds in the mountains but we made a slightly modified run, landing on a field of ice rather than a glacier. The thrill factor was present throughout the flight as the mountain and glacier scenery is simply amazing. The pilot was very informative and accommodating asking us if we wanted to stay longer in some areas. There were four of us and we will never forget this spectacular New Zealand experience.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip. The scenery on the short helicopter ride was spectacular. There were longer and more expensive options, but we found that the short ride was long enough.

Doing what: Mount Cook Alpine Vista Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What an amazing experience. You do not realise the enormous area of the alps until you can view them from above in a helicoptor. The walk in the fresh snow on top of Mount Cook was exhilarating. A 'must do' if you get the chance, from either Mt Cook (Glentanner), Fox Glacier or Franz Josef.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Very professional and considerate towards their customers.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The staff were friendly and very helpful. The actual helicopter ride was amazing and the pilot was good at informing us of where we were, what we were seeing, giving us background on the glaciers/area and also reassuring us when it got a little bumpy. Landing on the top of the glacier for photos was awesome. Definitely a highlight of my trip!

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The organisation at base office was friendly and professional, our Pilot Marcus left us with the feeling that he enjoyed his work taking great pride in explaining all the features of the flight. It was my wife's Christmas present, she was smiling from start to finish there is no better accolade

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

The view was very good, unfortunately the photo session was too short (not more than 10 minutes) and allowed at 1 spot only.

Doing what: Mount Cook Alpine Vista Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Quite amazing and definitely a must for anybody visiting New Zealand. Unexplainable, you have to experience the trip to really "get it"

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Rachel S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

We had a fantastic time! The weather, the views, the helicopter it was all fantastic. The guide was great too, he told us what we were seeing and made sure we all had photos taken on the glacier. Well worth it! Thank you.

Doing what: Mount Cook Alpine Explorer Helicopter Flight

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

We think it would have been amazing if we had been able to walk on a glacier; however, we did get to walk on some snow.

Doing what: Mount Cook Alpine Explorer Helicopter Flight

Barbara T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This trip was very good.

Doing what: Mount Cook Alpine Vista Helicopter Flight

Stephen B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Re-booking our flight to a later date was no problem at all. Friendly service and a flight experience that I definitely recommend to anyone keen to see some spectacular views.

Doing what: Mount Cook Alpine Vista Helicopter Flight

Mervyn A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

This trip was truly amazing. We saw all there is to see and the landing on the snow was fantastic. We were booked to fly the following day but when we phoned earlier to confirm our booking etc we were offered this flight a day earlier as the weather was good - we just had to 'race' up from Queenstown to do it - and it was well worth it as the sky was almost cloudless - perfect! Thanks to all at the helicopter base for accommodating us. Just one downside. The helicopter seats 2 people in the front seat and 4 people in the rear seat and we were advised before the flight that although we were in the rear seats for the first part of the flight, seating is rotated after the snow landing to allow some of those in the rear seats to sit up front but the others on the same trip as us ignored this and took the front seats both times. We didn't want to cause a scene, but you need to make this much clearer to everyone going on the flight to make it fair to everyone.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Meredith H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Stunning vistas, excellent scenic flights and covered lots of area including circling around Mount Cook. Brilliant snow landing too.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message