• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Mount Cook

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The Tasman Glacier is a geology lesson in action. The largest glacier in the Southern Alps, the massive sheet of ice is slowly flowing south along the eastern edge of Aoraki/Mount Cook. The top of the glacier is covered in ice and snow, but its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A HUGE highlight of our honeymoon. Unfortunately, our camera was stolen a couple of days later before we had a chance to download our pictures, but as my wife says, "that just means we have to go back!" What a HUGE trip this is. Stunning scenery and landing on the glacier is a highlight. The only downside is that not all the headsets were working, so the pilot commentary wasn't heard by all. But that's a minor point.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This excursion was a big thrill for us as we expected it to be. Our son is physically disabled and we were nervous about getting him into the helicopter but we managed by using a small step stool and some good old elbow grease .i.e. lifting. The scheduled ride was tentative due to strong winds in the mountains but we made a slightly modified run, landing on a field of ice rather than a glacier. The thrill factor was present throughout the flight as the mountain and glacier scenery is simply amazing. The pilot was very informative and accommodating asking us if we wanted to stay longer in some areas. There were four of us and we will never forget this spectacular New Zealand experience.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What an amazing experience. You do not realise the enormous area of the alps until you can view them from above in a helicoptor. The walk in the fresh snow on top of Mount Cook was exhilarating. A 'must do' if you get the chance, from either Mt Cook (Glentanner), Fox Glacier or Franz Josef.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Very professional and considerate towards their customers.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The staff were friendly and very helpful. The actual helicopter ride was amazing and the pilot was good at informing us of where we were, what we were seeing, giving us background on the glaciers/area and also reassuring us when it got a little bumpy. Landing on the top of the glacier for photos was awesome. Definitely a highlight of my trip!

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The organisation at base office was friendly and professional, our Pilot Marcus left us with the feeling that he enjoyed his work taking great pride in explaining all the features of the flight. It was my wife's Christmas present, she was smiling from start to finish there is no better accolade

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Quite amazing and definitely a must for anybody visiting New Zealand. Unexplainable, you have to experience the trip to really "get it"

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Mervyn A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

This trip was truly amazing. We saw all there is to see and the landing on the snow was fantastic. We were booked to fly the following day but when we phoned earlier to confirm our booking etc we were offered this flight a day earlier as the weather was good - we just had to 'race' up from Queenstown to do it - and it was well worth it as the sky was almost cloudless - perfect! Thanks to all at the helicopter base for accommodating us. Just one downside. The helicopter seats 2 people in the front seat and 4 people in the rear seat and we were advised before the flight that although we were in the rear seats for the first part of the flight, seating is rotated after the snow landing to allow some of those in the rear seats to sit up front but the others on the same trip as us ignored this and took the front seats both times. We didn't want to cause a scene, but you need to make this much clearer to everyone going on the flight to make it fair to everyone.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Meredith H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Stunning vistas, excellent scenic flights and covered lots of area including circling around Mount Cook. Brilliant snow landing too.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Isadore U
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This trip was one of the highlights of our two-week journey to the South Island. The views were amazing, and the photo opportunities endless.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It is excellent just to be so close to Mount Cook.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Pamela M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

We were very fortunate to be taken to the Plateau Hut with an employee from the Department of Conservation. The whole experience was mind blowing and a highlight of our holiday in NZ.

Doing what: Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message