Insider's Guide to Mount Cook

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Hiking, bushwalking and trekking are called "tramping" in New Zealand, one of the top destinations in the world to strap on your walking boots and follow a trail. The country is crisscrossed by a network of tracks linked by overnight huts, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Well worth seeing although it is a long drive from Christ Church. Tour guide did a very nice job, I appreciate the small number of participants as opposed to a huge bus with 50 people!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a good trip , we saw some fantastic sights. This was a small group tour, with our selves and two other couples. Stopping at Lake Tekapo was beautiful, we did see half of Mount Cook from a distance, unfortunately the clouds came in when we were at Mount Cook and did not get to see the mountain, but that is Mother Nature for you. This was a good day but a long day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

George Z
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great time of year to see some of the most beautiful scenery in the country. Long day, but so worth it. Lunch was fabulous.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

LYNN G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great way to see a bit of countryside. Long day but really interesting. Geoff, our driver, had great knowledge of the areas we travelled through. Even though low cloud stopped us from directing viewing Mt Cook I still felt that we had value for money.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

John K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Had a great although long day out. Unfortunately windy weather precluded any flying, but the weather was otherwise good and the views were great. Driver was very informative and chatty. As visitors to New Zealand, we learned a great deal about life there.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

The weather did not cooperate -- we could see only a small portion of the mountain before the clouds covered it. Also worth noting that you do not get near a glacier. Had wonderful discussions with the tour guide, though, mostly on native Maori themes -- learned a lot!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Kenneth A
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Driver was good and had great knowledge of the area. Maybe a round trip would be better for such a long day. Enjoyed our lunch and the visit to the center at Mt Cook.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

The tour was good and the tour guides were very friendly and nice. However, we were expecting to see the glacier which we did not at all. We were very disappointed that we did not see it and that we were not informed that we were not going to it, which is one of the main attractions of the tour. It was what we were most excited to see. It was very depressing that we went all that way and did not even see it. It was just disappointing and sort of put a damper on the rest of the tour.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Note from Viator: Thanks for the note. The tour description is correct, there are however occasions when - due to poor weather - the walk up Tasman Glacier does not take place. We are updating the tour description with this caveat about inclement. We apologize for any convenience.

C.H F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Overall we had a great trip. A very sweet driver guide accompanied us. Had a lovely lunch at the Hermitage Hotel, very comfortable journey. It's a very scenic drive too! We're glad we didn't miss out!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Johnson H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Amazing scenary, friendly tour guide, highly recommended!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We had a great trip. We really enjoyed hiking up the the glacial lake and down to the banks. That was probaly the highlight of our entire vacation. That being said, the meal at the Hermitage was ho-hum, and surely added to the cost of the trip. We had a lot of fun stopping in Gerladine. Our driver was very helpful and informative, but he seemed to be in a big hurry to get back to Christchurch.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We all had an enjoyable time. Our tour guide was very informative and we enjoyed our lunch with a fabulous view of Mount Cook.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

What an amazing sight. We had a lovely four course meal, but it cut into our time spent admiring the beauty that is Mt Cook.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Matthew R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

A wonderful day out. Stunning scenery and a great guide/driver.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Pui Shan T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

A very nice trip! But a little bit uncomfortable when the tour guide was trying to persuade us to take the flight.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message