• USD ($)
  • English

Mumbai ATTRACTIONS See all

Gateway of India

Perhaps the ultimate symbol of Mumbai’s former colonial glory, the art deco Gateway of India stands guard over Apollo Bunder Harbour in the city’s south. The three-arched monument was completed in the 1920s, commemorating the royal visit of King ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Although the original tour operator was ill Viator quickly organised another tour guide who turned out to be very good and knowledgeable and we were highly delighted.
I fully recomend using Viator when booking tours abroad in advance

Doing what: Mumbai City Highlights Small-Group Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Our guide was 1 hour late. He was pleasant and knowledgeable but I don't think he gave us the tour that was advertised. According to the Viator website, we were supposed to take a taxi and train on the tour. Except for a metro ride to the open air laundry we walked for the entire tour. I believe he left out some of the sights, we did not see the Hindu temple and when we asked about Gandhi's house, he said there wasn't one.

Doing what: Mumbai City Highlights Small-Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

To be fair, within 4 hours there were limited places where we could cover (due to heavy traffic from one location to another). For me, Gateway of India was the highlight although my other half liked the Museum as well.
Package could have been better if a local lunch was thrown in and also perhaps to extend the package to take tourist to local markets or popular shopping areas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I love this tour very much, with special thanks to our guide, Pravar. He is friendly and he knows the history very well. He even took the extra mile to pick us from our hotel, let us try local food and even take the train, which is a great experience! After we are back to the hotel, we wanted to go out to buy something, but were worried about safety. I called Pravar and he gladly brought us out again without any charge. As for this tour, it's a well-planned tour that gives us a good local experience and understanding of the Mumbai city. I highly recommend it to those who want to explore the Mumbai City.

Doing what: Mumbai City Highlights Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Urban Adventures was not aware that we had booked a whole day tour. They had to adjust the programme. Guide was good. We had to take an expensive taxi to return to the city center.

Doing what: Mumbai City Highlights Small-Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

It was ok to get an short Idea of Mumbai.
Lots of walking on this Tour. Guide was very friendly and helpful.
Very negativ on this Tour are the starting Point which was very, very hard to find. No signs! Also end of the Tour in Bandra a very negativ point. Bandra is far outside of Mumbai City.

Doing what: Mumbai City Highlights Small-Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The trip was informative and the guide pleasant and knowledgable, but the trip was advertised as travel aboard an air-conditioned motor coach. No A/C and no motor coach, miles of walking that wouldn't be possible for some with handicaps. A boring lunch -- for a group they should be variety and sharing to enhance experience. We cut trip short after lunch as we were tired, hot, and sun burnt. Would not have seen the sights of the city without so the overall trip was reasonably enjoyable.

Doing what: Mumbai City Highlights Small-Group Tour

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern about food and A/C with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

A thorough and enjoyable walking tour around the main sights of Colaba and Fort. My guide was friendly and willing to modify the tour for my interests as I was lucky to be the only person on the tour. Breakfast was also delicious.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message