India is filled with marvelous metropolises, but Mumbai offers something very different in its heady mix of markets, colonial heritage, cultural hot spots, beaches and big city mayhem. Experience the many rhythms of life in Mumbai on strolls past ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We did the Karla and Bhaja Caves between Mumbai and Pune, amazing! Drive out there definitely takes a while but we had such a good driver (not crazy like most there) and a very knowledgeable guide with great communication skills. The history is amazing, the walk up and down to each one is half the battle for sure. Very enjoyable experience for the day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very good look at Mumbai, which is so huge you could never see all of it... Really enjoyed my driver and guide, safe, knowledgeable, good communication skills and a real ability to talk about and show what I was interested in during the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Malabar Hill, Mani Bhavan and Dhobi Ghat in Mumbai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide is very knowledgeable about the place. He also recommended other places of interest in Mumbai. Transport is provided and he makes the trip a very pleasant one .

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a great day out for me - just what I wanted. There was only me, so it was essentially a private tour, but they can accommodate more people if needed. It was monsoon time, so it was raining for much of the day (I knew that before I went so it wasn't a surprise). My guide and driver were really great - very accommodating, enthusiastic, informative, patient and helpful. The journey there and back took much longer than expected 3 hours each way due to the rains and sheer volume of traffic on the roads, but, I really wanted a trip that would take me out of the city and into the countryside a little, which is what this did. The two sets of cave dwellings are relatively compact, no longer than 20 minutes needed at each to see them, but, they were both different and crowds of locals were excitedly enjoying festivals in the pouring rain which added to the spectacle (and the traffic chaos!) on the day of my visit. A big thanks to Viator for organising a perfect day out for me.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

Marcela
Czech Republic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I had a great guide for this tour. Ekata was lots of fun to hang around with. All of the food was delicious! If you come in the month of May that's the season for mangoes. Make sure that you try mango with cream. It's absolutely amazing!!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Mumbai Street Food Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

UNESCO World Heritage Site--these caves with their beautiful wall-relief carvings are beautiful and unique. Guide was very knowledgeable and that is crucial. Tour company was somewhat lackluster in their organization skills but that was more than made up by the guides who are eager to please. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Kanheri Caves - Amazing!!! 109 caves - carvings all done by hand in BC times. My tour guide Tom B was very informative. He told me the meaning of several of the carvings and what certain caves would be used for. Very easy walk, not strenuous at all.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour really interesting and too much food! We literally had to say no more but all so delicious and a lot of fun

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Mumbai Street Food Tour by Night

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great organization. Wonderful driver(hotel was an hour away). Experienced guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Our tour guide was great...very knowledgeable and funny. Since we booked two tours, the company did decide (without consulting us) to changed our schedule around, which was a little frustrating as it left us with a few hours to kill where we weren't able to go out and do anything due to evening plans (since we didn't find out until the day of). They thought it was in the best interest of the flow of the two tours, and I would have been a lot more open to it if they would have informed us ahead of time. It made me keep questioning if we really were getting the full tours our if we lost 2 hours of the experience somewhere. The Prince of Wales Museum could have also been done by ourselves since it was just museum's audio tour (probably would have saved a bit of money, too). Nice people, though.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Our tour guide was great...very knowledgeable and funny. Since we booked two tours, the company did decide (without consulting us) to changed our schedule around, which was a little frustrating as it left us with a few hours to kill where we weren't able to go out and do anything due to evening plans (since we didn't find out until the day of). They thought it was in the best interest of the flow of the two tours, and I would have been a lot more open to it if they would have informed us ahead of time. It made me keep questioning if we really were getting the full tours our if we lost 2 hours of the experience somewhere. Nice people, though.

Doing what: Private Tour: Malabar Hill, Mani Bhavan and Dhobi Ghat in Mumbai

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

To be fair, within 4 hours there were limited places where we could cover (due to heavy traffic from one location to another). For me, Gateway of India was the highlight although my other half liked the Museum as well.
Package could have been better if a local lunch was thrown in and also perhaps to extend the package to take tourist to local markets or popular shopping areas

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

It was just the two of us on this tour and the guide was more interested in taking us to see all of the sights of Mumbai at night than taking us around to clubs and pubs.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The guide was not very professional - seemed to have hooked up with someone from the previous tour who tagged along and was more interested in chatting and hanging out with him. Disappointing,

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Mumbai Street Food Tour by Night

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Our Mumbai tour was extraordinary. It was educational and beautifully scenic. Our tour guide was very informative and helpful. The tour was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message