India is filled with marvelous metropolises, but Mumbai offers something very different in its heady mix of markets, colonial heritage, cultural hot spots, beaches and big city mayhem. Experience the many rhythms of life in Mumbai on strolls past ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

During this small group 4 people walking tour we viewed several markets food, flower, jewel, garments. Moreover, we visited and the Mumba Devi Temple and learned about its history. The tour finished with a visit to the Panjrapole Cow Shelter, where we able to feed cows.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Anna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

During this small group (4 people) walking tour we viewed several markets (food, flower, jewel, garments). Moreover, we visited and the Mumba Devi Temple and learned about its history. The tour finished with a visit to the Panjrapole Cow Shelter, where we able to feed cows.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Boban Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really liked our guide Bibin?, who showed us how to travel around Mumbai using all the different modes of transportation available. This was really empowering later during our stay, when we dared take a train trip by ourselves and lived to tell about it! Plus, we got to see some cool areas we wouldn't have gone to on our own. Well worth it!

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

Anna T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

During this small group 4 people walking tour we viewed several markets food, flower, jewel, garments. Moreover, we visited and the Mumba Devi Temple and learned about its history. The tour finished with a visit to the Panjrapole Cow Shelter, where we able to feed cows.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Tamasin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was Pippin sorry this might not be quite right as we had so many guides on our trip I have forgotten the exact pronunciation and it was great fun going on the public transport around Mumbai. My partner is a train driver so he especially enjoyed the train trip. It was a great way to see the city from a different perspective and not jumping on and off of a tour bus! the only point it was slightly unnerving is when we needed two taxis as there were 4 on the tour and the guide was of course only with one set of people. You have to trust the taxi will take you where you need to go! Everything was fine with this but it did make me a little nervous! Overall we had a great time and the tour started at 8.30 and finished around 12.00pm. We got a taxi back from the end of the tour to our hotel which the guide helped us organise.

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

Dvora L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is really an authentic local experience in Mumbai. I find this tour very interesting and enjoyable. The guide Bipin Kumar was excellent. I felt very safe going with him on the public transport around Mumbai and he explained very nicely on the sites we passed on the way.

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

susie j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I was impressed with the visit - we only confirmed that we could attend the arranged meeting place the am of the trip and so were well pleased when we turned up and were met by the guide. He was good, showed us around a very busy market and then walked along to the Mumbadevi temple. I enjoyed the tour it lasted just the right time as Mumbai was hot and quite sticky. I would recommend the trip as being informative getting the chance to visit a real thriving market as used by locals living in Mumbai. I would have had difficulity in locating it on my own. Information given was very useful.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Teresa C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Met on time at the Regal cinema. I was the only person on the tour.
Had to wait 15 minutes for a taxi who was willing to take us to Crawford market on the meter.
Rushed through the various markets and didn't really get the chance to browse and experience the market. Guide was knowledgable but delivery of the information was dull and he wasn't very enthusiastic. Tour finished in less than 2 hours. A little disappointed at the end of the day as I had been looking forward to the tour.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Ste Smith United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

WoW.. quite an experience this one.. be prepared for a senses overload.!! was very busy just after Christmas..really worth a look.. great tour guide..

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Thuy-Van L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

I was the only tourist of the day, it might explain the lack of enthusiasm of the guide. The visit was also shortened because the dabba-wallahs were off on January 26, the Republic Day of India.

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

Jack D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The driver was talkative and great! The guide was knowledgeable about the area, the history, and even current politics. It was an enjoyable tour that left nothing wanting, except maybe a friend. If I went to Mumbai again I would do this trip a second time, but I would definitely go with a friend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

David N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Spent very little time in markets, guide didn't seem very interested

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

judy.bs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very good tour with a very good guide. We saw lots of sights and enjoyed travelling by bus and train. The only thing that could have been better is if we had finished at the same point as where we started

Doing what: Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation

Marilyn

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We had a truly delightful and educational tour of the Bhaja Caves. Our guide was very professional and informative. We enjoyed his sense of humor making the tour comfortable and pleasant. We highly recommend this tour. Our driver was helpful and thoughtful. He was an excellent addition to our tour. A must go see!

Doing what: Private Tour: Kanheri Caves, Elephanta Caves or Karla and Bhaja Caves from Mumbai

Sandra S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We were happy with the tour content and our tour guide, who went under the name G2 for ease.

Doing what: Small-Group Mumbai Night Tour

Sue R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

I was disappointed with this tour as it seemed hurried going from one market to another and I felt it was difficult to stop and browser except at the stops already organised

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

India can be an intimidating food scene. Thankfully the Mumbai Street Food Tour is a safe and delicious way to experience a wide sampling of India dishes. Our guide gave us a diverse and tasty tour of various indian street foods including masala dosa, tandoori shrimp, etc. During the walking tours we also received a little taste of Bollywood passing by the homes of two of India’s biggest stars. We certainly left the tour well feed and feeling comfortable trying Indian street food

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Mumbai Street Food Tour by Night

Kenneth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a fantastic tour. Our guide was fun, knowledgable, and personable. We had the opportunity to eat a bunch of different foods, and each one was excellent. Our guide made sure that we knew what we should and shouldn't eat, and none of us got even a little bit sick :- If you like Indian food, or if you are willing to try new things, I would absolutely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Mumbai Street Food Tour by Night

Rahui S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was outstanding. There was so much food it was ridiculous, trust me I can eat, but there was no way that i could eat all that was put in front of me. I was alone and my guide who was very informative was not eating, so each time we went somewhere an entire plate of food would arrive for me....Good grief, make sure you come with someone else and share, I wasted so much. The variety of food was great, we went from some of the best chicken I have ever had to Dosa, Indian burgers, some other treats got to keep some surprises in there and my absolute favorite, Pana Puri, these little balls of deliciousness were an absolute taste and texture sensation. Never had anything like them. Bandra is a really interesting area and allow time to explore the markets before or after the food tour and also if you are coming from South Mumbai allow a long time for travel. It took me 90 minutes to get to the meeting point. This is an excellent tour worth every penny, it takes the guess work out of knowing which stalls to go to, who has the best reputations and biggest turnover. If you are a foodie I would absolutely recommend this. One last tip, if you book, don't forget to confirm and make contact with your tour guides 24-48 hours beforehand, it will allow any last minute logistics to be worked out, let them know the best way to contact you....Enjoy and don't be afraid to ask lots of questions.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Mumbai Street Food Tour by Night

Claudia M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great. I was a comprehensive introduction to Mumbai. The guide was very atentive satisfaying our curiosity about indian culture and the myths associated to it. this was not part of the tour was she gather that we were interested in history and culture as well. She was super finfing ua a place were we could paint our hands with heena.

Doing what: Private Tour: Malabar Hill, Mani Bhavan and Dhobi Ghat in Mumbai

Donald F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Rahul was great - very knowledgeable about the food and the city. He promised to fill us up with delicious food and he was true to his word. The stops we made on the tour were thoughtfully chosen and the food all round was excellent. My advice - pace yourself! Eat half portions all along ... especially if you plan on taking a bumpy taxi ride home! This was great value and highly recommended, not just for the food, but for the conversation and the insight to nightlife in Bandra. Thanks Rahul!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Mumbai Street Food Tour by Night

Debby B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was good and my English speaking lady guide was great as was my driver. BUT i wascharged 132.50 on my credit card instead of the quoted 33 on the website. Every one I speak to heresays its no my problem, so it would begood if someone could check and get back to me insteadof passing the buck. Thanks.

Doing what: Private Tour: Malabar Hill, Mani Bhavan and Dhobi Ghat in Mumbai

Michael N

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Fabulous thank you .really great guide .

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Keren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent tour and guide!

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Christine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour with a fabulous guide, who was funny and knowledgeable. I could only have found my own way around with the greatest of difficulties, so I would highly recommend this way of exploring the market area. Cham asked us about preferences and what we wanted to see/do/taste within the tour structure. It was very, very worthwhile.

Doing what: South Mumbai Walking Tour: Markets and Mumbadevi Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message