Venerable Augsburg was settled in 15BC; along with remnants of the ancient city wall, you can see numerous antiquities in the Römisches Museum. But even more than its status as one of the few Roman settlements in Germany, Augsburg’s glory comes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The first day was simply checking in to the hotel and entertaining ourselves for the day. The second day to Zugspitz was a bit of a disappointment as the mountain was enclosed in fog...nothing one could do about the weather though. The Augsburg day was also unfortunate in that the walking tour ended up being in heavy rain. However, the stops on the tour were very interesting, and we would have liked to spend more time in Augsburg in nice weather of course. Because there were only two of us English speaking persons on the walking tour, the guide spoke first in German and then in English. This made the tour seem quite long. Rothenburg was a highlight, and we really enjoyed our time there. We arrived in Frankfurt quite late on the last day. The bus drivers were friendly, but there was a tour guide for only a short portion of the trip. There were recorded informations given as we drove past some of the towns, but it would have been nice to have a bit more stories about what we were seeing along the way. The hotels were excellent, and the staff very helpful and friendly.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Rothenburg, Augsburg, Zugspitze

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

the tour is good, the transportation from hotel to hotel was terrible. from munich to neuschwanstein the bus had a non working toilet, from neuschwanstein to ausburg the bus had a broken air conditioner; also instead of using a tourbus they used a municipal bus and traveling from neuschwanstein to ausburg they had to go to munich to pick up extra passengers this extended the length of time to get to ausburg.
from ausburg to rothenburg i got a driver that acted like an idiot screaming at me and raising his voice like i was a little child because according to him i was not at the bus stop on time . what happened is that my paperwork said they would pick me up at 12.25 at the bus station and we were there at 12:10 but at 12:35 they did not show up so i went into the hotel to inquire about it but they said they didnt know anything about it. by the time i came outside here was this driver acting stupid.
overall the trip was great, the places we visited were nice, just remind this driver that without tourists he would not have a job. the driver from rothenburg to frankfurt was very nice and polite, in fact he discovered that i had been charged round trip from munich to frankfurt and back by the touring co even though i was not returning to munich.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a wonderful tour. The tour guide, Dirk and the bus driver, Gunter, were excellent! The hotels were all very nice and the sights were beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful overview of the beauty of Bavaria. The historic towns and tours were fascinating. We had to make a change in itinerary to end in Munich instead of Frankfurt - it was easy to do by phone, so the support was great. The bus drivers on the Romantic Road buses were generally helpful but it varied by day.

The combination of reserved transportation and hotels, plus lots of free time to wander the cities, was just right for us. We really enjoyed those days more than the first tour day of two castles and a tourist town! It was too rushed with little time for exploration, questions, etc. The slower pace of the next three days was much more pleasant.

The start was confusing. We didn't realize we were to take the bus tour from Munich to Neuschwanstein and the drivers/tour guides weren't sure what to do with us either. Once we got going we realized how it worked. But more information at the beginning would have been very helpful.

Our overall impression was very positive, again, once we figured out how it worked. Thanks for a wonderful introduction to the history of the region. We want to come back again soon.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

It was labeled as a guided tour however; it turned out to be a self guided tour. Extremely misleading and nerve racking for my parents (whom I bought this for). Everything turned out wonderfully however, be prepared to "figure" it out.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Rothenburg, Augsburg, Zugspitze

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We enjoyed this 3 day trip so much. Our tour guide and bus driver were very knowledgable and personable. The bus was comfortable and we even got to buy samples of the wine and beer from the regions we drove through. I would definitely recommend this trip for anyone who visits Germany.

Doing what: Three Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Heidelberg, Rothenburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I was left wondering a bit when I booked the tour I was told all meals were inclusive ,but my guide dirk who was very good got in touch with touring the company who viator booked it with and I myself also sent viator e mails from Germany but received no reply from either touring or from viator as a dead silence was maintained --the driver and itinerary and the guide were excellent -I liked the hotels except in fossen they wanted me to pay for wifi -and we stayed two nights .in munich wifi was not free as well and hotel was in suburbs than centre -the last straw was the hotel in Heidelberg was changed we were sent on last moment to Darmstadt because an event of formula racing was happening in Heidelberg -it meant we spent the last day mostly in the coach travelling -if everything had happened as I was told by viator I will rate it as 4.5 but these were irritable and rather poor planning on part of both firms so I would look forward to an explanation -the event in Heidelberg must have been planned months before so was that not known to tour organisers .

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really like the time to explore Rothenburg, which is a fabulous experience. Highly recommend the night watchman's tour!

Doing what: Three Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Heidelberg, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Beutiful trip I will reccomend to every body. I am not happy about the hotel acomadation.

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our tour was outstanding. The activities and sights that were included in the tour were exactly what we were hoping for on this trip. Our tour guide, Dirk, was incredibly knowledgeable on both the history of the region, as well as current information on the country. It's not easy to accommodate the various needs and meet the expectations of a group of people on vacation, but the consensus of nearly every one of our fellow travelers was that our tour guide was exceptional and went above and beyond to assure that we had an enjoyable experience. We would definitely go on another tour through Viator and Touring Tours and we would recommend this particular trip without reservation.

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I enjoyed very much The Romantic Germany Tour. It was much more than I have expected. The driver Andreas and the guide Dirk were both excelent. The hotels were all good. The only thing I did not like was that we had problems with the bus air conditioning and it was somewhat unconfortable due to the very hot days we had during the tour.

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Everything I had been hoping for and more. great hotels and an excellent tour guide and driver.

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

First trip to Germany. This tour made it so easy to see the Romantic Road area. The vouchers for bus travel, taxi service and hotel rooms worked flawlessly. For a first trip, this was a great way to see the highlights we wanted to see in the time available, without the hassle of renting a car or wondering at which hotel to stay. It does require you to keep up with the details, since there is no tour guide - you are simply given a packet with the complete itinerary and details. The information in the packet was detailed and in order with the itinerary. The hotels, taxi and bus service all knew what the vouchers were and had no problems accepting them. You do need to be on your toes. We discovered that Germans are very punctual, so keep with the schedule and you won't have any problems. A few things were a little confusing, such as where to meet for the walking tour in Augsburg. Some construction in the area made the meeting place not so obvious, and the instructions were a little misleading. Overall, I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting an hassle-free tour of the Romantic Road.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a great tour. The only negative I have was the city tour in Augsburg. The tour guide was probably 80 years old and the tour was in German and English. He would speak about 10 minutes in German, and then one sentence in English. Otherwise, everything was really nice. The hotels were great. I would definitely do this again.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message