Housed in a futuristic mirrored building as fashion-forward as its cars, automobile pioneers BMW take the spotlight at Munich’s BMW Museum, located at the company headquarters near Olympic Park. Whether you’re an auto enthusiast or just looking to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was very informative. Stops covered major attractions within the city, but we mainly used it to get to the BMW Museum(highly recommended!). Also, you get a discount on entry fee to BMW if you present your hop-on hop-off receipt. I recommend if you would like tour/scope out the attractions within one day.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour, would highly recommend it as it goes everywhere you may want to go. Definitely go the BMW Museum. Awesome!

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

As with all hop-on-hop-off tours, it is a great way to get around the city. We were only able to take advantage of this in the afternoon, so we used it to head directly to the BMW Museum and Olympic Park. The ride back from Olympic Park was great....sit on the top deck to get a taste of the neighborhoods.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had 1 day in Munich, so this was a wonderful way to get to see the highlights of the city. We toured the Nymphenburg Castle, BMW Museum, and Olympic Park which are all stops on the Grand Tour route. We finished the Hop-on Hop-off tour back at the main train station, and we walked into the pedestrian area of the city for dinner, walking after dinner, then making our way into one of the popular beer halls. Great experience and would recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Ian M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent way to see Munich, with a short and a long trip available. The longer route takes you to the Nymphenberg Palace, a gorgeous extravagance, where the Wittelsbachs would retire from the pressures of marriage arrangements, and becoming Holy Roman Emperor. It then takes you to the Olympic Park, where there is a tower, and the HQ of BMW. The short trip is a really good introduction to what to see in the old town.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent well worth doing we really enjoyed the stops at BMW and Olympic Park.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We did the Grand Tour so we had both routes. The guides were very helpful and friendly! The outer tour was better for transportation between sites (BMW museum, Olympic Park, etc.) but the inner tour of the city center was so informative! It was also a great alternative to renting a car since you can hop off at any of the locations around town.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Its a must. To get a first impression of the city of Munich! Start at Point Nr. 1. Its near the Maintrain Station and Karstadt. There is a express Roundtrip with 6 stops around one hour. The big roundtrip goes out to the BMW museum and the Castle etc and takes around 2,5 hrs. I recommand to enjoy both.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

DONNA W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

We had a really good day apart from the rain. We stopped off at Olympia Park, where we went ice skating. We also went to the new BMW World. That building is amazing, as are all the cars on show! My son bought two really nice BMW car models. Great day out, would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Munich.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Tour gave a good overview of Munich. BMW World stop over was a highlight.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great way to get an overview of the city and hop off and on at various locations. I used this when I arrived in Munich and took advantage of it to get to the further-out sites that aren't in quick walking distance e.g..Nymphenburg Palace, BMW Museum etc. Also being on it allows you to get familiar with the city before setting off on foot which I found good when I had just arrived on my own in the city after a flight. The guides on the bus give good information about the city also. I definitely recommend this!

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Best way to see the wonderful city and heritage of Munich. We recommend the Grand tour. Started the tour in the outer circle (BMW museum, Olympic city, English Gardens) and then took the inner circle. The buses are every 20-30mins. Staying in a hotel near the main Munich train station made the trip very convenient. The trip starts opposite the main Munich train station. But you can pickup hop-on/off the bus at any of the 10 designated stops. Thanks to Viator, the trip was well-organized and they have a great partnership with the the best tour operators. We booked 4 different tours through Viator in 2 different countries, and all the tours were well-organized.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The extended drive to Nymphemburg and the BMW factory were somewhat rushed. Being able to look at the Olympic tower was meaningless. I appreciate that a recorded commentary often gets out of synchronisation but tour commentators need to be able to cover more aspects than the one that was in my bus was able to do.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Best value for price. Great way to visit sights like: Nymphenburg Palace, BMW Museum, Olympiapark and Allianz Arena without the hustle of public transport.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Vic
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

It was organized and the staff of the bus was friendly. the only problem was that when we went down on the BMW Welt and decided to just walk to the Olympic park which was just beside it and also a stop on the tour. the stop in the Olympic park was difficult to locate. otherwise, tour was great

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This is the way to see the sights. Take the grand tour and stay on the bus until after the short tour returns to the starting point. Then continue and get off at Nymphenberg Scloss.I also recommend the BMW Welt and museum. Also get great views from the Olympiad Tower. Had Barbara for the short tour part. She was great

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

A good way to get a quick overvew of Munich and its history. At the BMW stop, you have two choice....one building is free with lots of newer cars and some exhibits...not bad. The other is the BMW museum. Lot's of motorcycles, cars, and displays....but is NOT free. Unless you are a real BMW officianado opt for the free.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Great tour of the city. However if you decide to take the extended tour, be warned that they only have a bus every hour. So plan accordingly. The Olympic Park BMW area alone will take a good portion of the day to see. I recommend starting off there.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

An easy way of negotiating Munich and getting to those attractions just outside of the central area e.g. BMW World, the Palace. Highly recommend that you hop of at the Palace and have a look.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

If you don't already know Munich, this is a great way to get your bearings in the city and covers many of the key sights including Nymphenburg Palace, the BMW Museum, and the Olympic Park.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

tour guide was knowledgeable regarding the past Olympics but a little hard to understand-I did like seeing the city from above and info on the event center -bmw museum ok

Doing what: Munich Olympiapark Tour And BMW Museum Visist

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

This tour is split into two parts if you buy the Grand Circle. Stops 7-10 were "OK" - our guide was lifeless, and spoke rapidly in English and German, alternatively - making it very difficult to understand her. She was entirely scripted with zero personality. The sights include the Schlossberg Castle, Olympic Park, Allianz Arena (which is closed to visitors when a game is scheduled, as it was for our tour) and BMW complex. The first half, stops 1-6 were outstanding - mostly right within the city - our guide was dynamic, interesting, spoke beautiful English and alternated in German - told amusing anecdotes, and the tour was comprehensive. I'd definitely recommend the inner circle tour. It's easy to get to any of the places on the Grand Circle tour by public transportation and get as much if not more out of seeing it yourself.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The fact that it gets you around the main p,aces is great specially if you buy the grand tour so you get the chance to go to the BMW museum and to the stadium. The explanation on board is difficult to understand though. We were on 2 different buses and both we couldn't understand the explanation very well

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

This is definitely worth doing, but do 2 days unless you only want to sit thru the bus tour. If you want to get off, you need to get the 2-day pass. The palace alone is a couple hours because of the size of the place, and the fact that the bus only stops there hourly. shopping DT is amazing, check out the open market. It's the best and the shops are great. We actually did Schwabing a little with friends the night prior so we didn't even want to bother during the tour, but that's the Munich SoHo area, very cool. We stayed near the Olympic Park area so we did a walk-thru (not the hilltop) in about an hour. Book a BMW plant tour ahead of time, or the museum tour (if you are a real BMW fan), otherwise you can't do that. So all in all - book the 2-day pass to really enjoy the city!

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

JAMES STEPHEN ONG
United Arab Emirates

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

it was a quickhop on hop off tour.....all is just around the city.....the nicest place to visit here is the far out the central area which includes the schloss nymphenburg, the BMW world, olympic park ........thats the hightight of this hop on hop off trip!

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message