Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 299 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Dachau Concentration Camp Tour was a very moving experience, one not easily forgotten. Very interesting and an important lesson for my teenage children (not to mention ourselves). Sabri, our tour guide, was very informative and happy to answer our many varied questions. Not a "fun" day out but a sombre learning day. I would highly recommend this tour for all ages. It was an easy journey from the Marienplatz in Munich to Dachau.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour is well worth money visiting Dachau is actually free and I would highly recommend it. Jeff was great and extremely knowledgeable about everything that we were seeing. If you go solo, there is an audio tour you can purchase but its not the same as being able to ask questions and getting a more in-depth commentary on the site and its history. Everyone should visit one of these memorials given the chance and the tour brings even more perspective to an appalling piece of human history. MJ

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Achim was a fantastic tour guide. He was very knowledge about Dachau the Concentration Camp and Dachau the city. He provided great insight to what was going on to the country, and the prisoners of the camp. After the tour was over, Achim came to each one of us to see if we needed any recommendations for places to see, or eat during the remainder of our trip. I would gladly book another tour if I knew Achim was going to be the guide.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Would highly recommend this tour. Was sad, but very informative. Our guide was excellent and did a great job at explaining the history of Dachau, and the various aspects of the camp.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We visited Dachau. Our tour guide, Keith W. was amazing. He was very informative and helpful. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour of Dachau was a truly moving experience. Our tour guide Allen was very, very informative and knew the answer to every question we asked of him and gave additional insight as well. The tour was very well organized and the logistics were perfect. We would definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip to Dachau was very good. Our guide, Keith, was super knowledgeable and made the short tour extremely worthwhile!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were met on time at the place arranged. The tour guide was fantastic! He was very knowledgeable about the site. He covered the history of Dachau from WWI to its liberation at the end of WWII. He approached the tour from the perspective of the prisoner experience. He asked thought provoking questions of the group to further enhance our understanding of the site. Very professional and receptive to questions. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Dachau is a must see. The importance of learning not to repeat the past cannot be over told. This was our second trip and it was just as powerful.The not so great part was our tour guide, Jeff. He seemed to be having an off day (??). It started out as not a small group! We were thirty+ It was a nightmare of long walks (DO NOT TAKE THIS TOUR IF WALKING DISTANCES IS AN ISSUE) Jeff had us rush to catch the public bus and jam all of us in after we got off the train and then walk all over the place to return to the train. The tour made it seem as if they had their own bus to meet the train - well they don't. Jeff kept forgetting what he was going to say and there were long uncomfortable pauses between sentences. Perhaps Jeff has done this tour too many times? In contrast to the Royal Castle tour we had taken a few days before which was perfection, this was a bust transportation wise.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The guide was extremely knowledgeable. In addition having an intimate knowledge of Dachau was able to describe the events taking place around the world during that time period which added a great deal of additional color. The guide efficiently lead the group through the various forms of transportation, (train and bus) to arrive at our destination. The guide did a great job describing the camp and even allowed time for private reflection. The camp is very well maintained. I highly recommend this tour and feel that everyone should experience this firsthand in order to ensure that the events that took place, never occur again.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

I gave this a lower rating as Viator mis-booked this tour and we were only able to do one of the tours on the selected day and we chose Dachau. Looking back, you can easliy do Dachau on your own and have more time to see everything and the exhibits and not feel rushed, it is easy to get to and then you can go at your own pace. Looking back, we wish now we would have done the Third Reich Walking Tour and done Dachau on our own.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour. Our guide was wonderful and very informative. The movie is best for guest over the age of 12 and we were informed of this before our tour since we had an 11 year old with us. Our guides were different from the Dachau and the Third Reich. The company in Munich was also friendly.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took many tours on our recent trip to London, Paris, and Munich, all booked through Viator. They have all been very good to excellent. This trip however stands out as the best of all, thanks to our guide Keith W.. Although you can easily get to Dachau on a train, you would not have the excellent commentary provided by Keith. He explained the purpose, function, and most importantly the significance of preserving Dachau, as a reminder of those who gave their lives to free Europe. If I could give this tour 6 stars I would!!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My 16 year old son and I did this tour during a short trip to Munich. The tour guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and passionate about his subject, and committed to understanding what took place at Dachau in the broader context of German, European and Jewish history. It was always very interesting, and we moved at a good pace, that is neither too hurried or boringly slow. Dachau itself is a sombre place, of course, and very well organised for people such as us with only a few hours to be there. I felt that my son probably learned the equivalent of 2 months of Modern History syllabus in our 2-3 hours there. I was uncertain as to how he'd respond, but he was completely engaged the whole time by the tour and the guide's talk.
My only criticism of the guide is that he was a bit short with some latecomers, and not as welcoming as I felt he should have been to them.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As part of our 12 day tour to Germany we choose to spend 3 days in Munich. An important site for my wife was to tour Dachau as her parents were survivors of the Holocaust. The day tour of Dachau was excellent as the tour guide that we had was very knowledgeable of World War II and the concentration camps through out Germany and how Dachau was started and its history. We have traveled thought out the world and have not had a better tour guide. Thank you Viator!
Mort Harris

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message