Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 305 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

First off, Sabine, our guide was super informative. Dachau is very somber and heavy but, everyone should see and experience it!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Had a great day with Ian as our guide. He is a very knowledgable and sensitive man who informs us thoroughly and completely without bias towards any of the ethnic or cultural groups intered at Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour guide and very informative. Even though this was a very sad place to be, this was one of our top events when we were in Germany. Dachau is a must see.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Hippoplatypus
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

A very insightful trip on the history of Dachau concentration camp. However, do not expect a 'ghost tour'.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I highly recommend this tour, and if it's possible to request a particular guide, ask for Alun. He was knowledgeable, sensitive, thorough, and interesting. You can get yourself to Dachau without too much difficulty on your own, but taking the tour was so much more meaningful than it would have been without a good guide.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Dachau Concentration Camp Tour was a very moving experience, one not easily forgotten. Very interesting and an important lesson for my teenage children (not to mention ourselves). Sabri, our tour guide, was very informative and happy to answer our many varied questions. Not a "fun" day out but a sombre learning day. I would highly recommend this tour for all ages. It was an easy journey from the Marienplatz in Munich to Dachau.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour is well worth money visiting Dachau is actually free and I would highly recommend it. Jeff was great and extremely knowledgeable about everything that we were seeing. If you go solo, there is an audio tour you can purchase but its not the same as being able to ask questions and getting a more in-depth commentary on the site and its history. Everyone should visit one of these memorials given the chance and the tour brings even more perspective to an appalling piece of human history. MJ

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Achim was a fantastic tour guide. He was very knowledge about Dachau the Concentration Camp and Dachau the city. He provided great insight to what was going on to the country, and the prisoners of the camp. After the tour was over, Achim came to each one of us to see if we needed any recommendations for places to see, or eat during the remainder of our trip. I would gladly book another tour if I knew Achim was going to be the guide.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Would highly recommend this tour. Was sad, but very informative. Our guide was excellent and did a great job at explaining the history of Dachau, and the various aspects of the camp.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was very inclusive and thorough, especially for the price! We paid 22 euros for the tour. The tour guide, Nancy, was very knowledgable on Dachau as well as present day facts about it. The train and bus we had to take to get to the camp was quick and easy to navigate. I felt like we had enough time at the camp, and Nancy really explained everything so well. The tour was about a half day tour, which was nice because you could still do other things that day. There are no extra fees which is very nice because on other tours in Munich we would have to pay entrance fees and transportation tickets during the tour. Would 100 recommend this to family and friends!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We visited Dachau. Our tour guide, Keith W. was amazing. He was very informative and helpful. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour of Dachau was a truly moving experience. Our tour guide Allen was very, very informative and knew the answer to every question we asked of him and gave additional insight as well. The tour was very well organized and the logistics were perfect. We would definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip to Dachau was very good. Our guide, Keith, was super knowledgeable and made the short tour extremely worthwhile!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were met on time at the place arranged. The tour guide was fantastic! He was very knowledgeable about the site. He covered the history of Dachau from WWI to its liberation at the end of WWII. He approached the tour from the perspective of the prisoner experience. He asked thought provoking questions of the group to further enhance our understanding of the site. Very professional and receptive to questions. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Dachau is a must see. The importance of learning not to repeat the past cannot be over told. This was our second trip and it was just as powerful.The not so great part was our tour guide, Jeff. He seemed to be having an off day (??). It started out as not a small group! We were thirty+ It was a nightmare of long walks (DO NOT TAKE THIS TOUR IF WALKING DISTANCES IS AN ISSUE) Jeff had us rush to catch the public bus and jam all of us in after we got off the train and then walk all over the place to return to the train. The tour made it seem as if they had their own bus to meet the train - well they don't. Jeff kept forgetting what he was going to say and there were long uncomfortable pauses between sentences. Perhaps Jeff has done this tour too many times? In contrast to the Royal Castle tour we had taken a few days before which was perfection, this was a bust transportation wise.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message