Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 342 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is an important, but heart-wrenching tour which everyone visiting Germany should take. Our guide, Steven, did an outstanding job sensitively and respectfully guiding us through Dachau with the most insightful narrative I have ever heard on a tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly informative tour from an excellent tour guide. Keith gave an extremely detailed account of Dachau from its inception to liberation. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Jeff our tour guide was brilliant! He expertly guided us through Dachau keeping us from the crowds whilst ensuring we didn't miss a thing. The Third Reich tour was a must also, you cannot visit Dachau without the Munich background.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My guide Steve was extremely knowledgeable and informative. The tour was comprehensive. You need 5 hours 3.5 for the tour and transportation to and from Dachau to complete the tour. Be aware, there is a lot of walking and standing in this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Keith the Irish one was a great tour guide - he gave the tour and the memorial site the respect it deserved. Visiting the Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial is a a very moving experience and something you have to do when visiting Munich.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Kai, was passionate about WWII history. Rather than lecture us for hours, he consistently engaged us by asking questions and welcoming questions we asked him. I'm so grateful he was our guide through Dachau and will certainly recommend him to friends and family.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

THE GUIDE WAS THE BEST ALTHOUGH DACHAU WAS WITHOUT A DOUBT PART OF THE WORST TIME IN HISTORY IT IS SOMETHING THAT EVERYONE NEEDS TO SEE AND THINK ABOUT WHAT HAPPENED DURING THIS TIME IN HISTORY SO NOTHING LIKE THIS EVER HAPPENS AGAIN . WE ARRIVED ON THE APRIL 29TH THE 70TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE LIBERATION OF DACHAU. WE WERE HONORED TO BE THERE WITH SOME SURVIVORS AND MANY FAMILY MEMBERS WHO WERE THERE FOR THE ANNIVERSARY. SURPRISINGLY MOST OF THE 25,000 PLUS VICTUMS WERE CHRISTIANS FROM POLAND. I HATE TO THINK WHAT OUR WORLD WOULD LOOK LIKE TODAY IF WE LOST.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Taking this tour made the connections to Dachau very clear and easy, the guides were knowledgeable. Our guide for the Third Reich Tour was Scottish unfortunately I can't remember his name and very enthusiastic about passing on the relevant information.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide seemed very well-informed and very approachable and most importantly for a place like Dachau, he came across as very passionate about his subject matter.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A small group of 30 people is not a small group. When we left for Dachau from the train station there was a no train, but our guide was prepared and took us via the metro. Our guide was great but the group felt too rushed.
I wouldn't recommend against a tour, but I would rather have gone through without a guide.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was an extremely hot day but Tom made the best of it by finding the shade. He gave an informative and passionate tour of Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide at 12:15 was excellent, knowledgeble, and personable.
He gave us the space to take in this incredible story. It can be very overwhelming.
But, such a sensitive and caring guide realized how potent and strong the
details are of Dachau. Definitely, 4 stars

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour guide. He was so informed about Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was great. Fun personality and VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE. I knew a little about Dachau but presented with so much more knowledge of the camp and it's history. Travel to and from the site was easy. I would recommend any associate of mine to see the site and book with our guide. A worthwile experience for everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour of Dachau was a life changing experience.One will never take life for granted after the almost spiritual experience.The guide was incredibly informative and sensitive to the past history.Regards Robert.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Levi did an excellent job of presenting information about Dachau Concentration camp. We would highly recommend him again.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was well organized and led. Of course what we saw was disturbing, Our leader's comments were objective and fair. He was respectful of the solitary confinement barracks, not going in nor talking too loud.
He emphasized that Dachau was not an extermination camp although some of the signage at the camp suggested otherwise, but he pointed out that many people were killed there.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked the Dachau tour directly through viator and was not disappointed! Given the low price I did not have high expectations but was pleasantly surprised which is rare these days. Our tour guide Keith, the Irish one, was well informed and interesting. His experience and understanding of the history was exceptional. Despite a setback with the trains, Keith was able to keep everyone on track and to get to the site and through the tour on-time. I have an appreciation for history and, as such, would highly recommend this tour, and Keith, to anyone.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jeff was a fantastic guide and gave the site the respect it deserved. He was extremely knowledgeable about the area and Dachau itself.

While we chose small group, it was actually that small, but in this instance it wasn't really a problem.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was very informative. The tour guide did an excellent job explaining what happened at Dachau. The story was depressing, but it needs to be told. Hopefully something as terrible as this will never happen again.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

we went on the tour of Dachau and walking tour with Achim. I very much enjoyed hearing all of his knowledge on the matter and he kept the tour upbeat and informational. I very much enjoyed the Third Reich walking tour and would suggest anyone interested in History take these tours...they were superb

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very moving visit. The tour guide was what made the trip oner the top. He was able to share with us some insights that only a very knowledgable guide could know. I would recommend this to everyone. My father liberated on of the minor camps from Dachau and this added to the emotion of the visit.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was excellent and your guide Keith was the reason. He was well informed, making the your that much more interesting. Dachau is not a fun tour but an important one snd Keith gives it the proper tone and respect. Not to be missed!!!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a memorable, though sad, sight - Dachau. But our guide did a very informative and sensitive/respectful job.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Dachau tour was really interesting and informative. Nicola the guide was excellent. The Third Reich tour wasn't as interesting as I hoped. NOTE: My voucher indicated Third Reich tour was at 11.30am and I planned my trip around this, however it is actually 3pm. Luckily I was able to rejig my trip to allow for this but I didn't find this out until I turned up for the Dachau tour and had to then switch the days around.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message