• USD ($)
  • English

Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My second visit to Dachau, but this visit was so much more informative because of Kevin, our guide. He provided very interesting background which helped put the whole history of the camp in perspective.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of Dachau was very well organized and informative. This is something I had wanted to do for a long time and I felt this was a great way to see it. Our guide Steve was so knowledgable and made it a very rich experience

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of Dachau was very well organized and informative. This is something I had wanted to do for a long time and I felt this was a great way to see it. Our guide Steve was so knowledgable and made it a very rich experience

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of Dachau was very well organized and informative. This is something I had wanted to do for a long time and I felt this was a great way to see it. Our guide Steve was so knowledgable and made it a very rich experience

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave thorough explanations of all that we saw on the two tours. He provided many opportunities for us to ask questions and responded with in depth answers. We had adequate time to peruse the sites. While Dachau was sad chapter in our history, the tour is tasteful and respectful. The guide did a very nice job of sharing the context, learnings, and aftermath of the holocaust. The film shown on site may be too graphic for younger children. I recommend this tour to visitors to Munich. (Excellent command of English for those wondering about that.)

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide, Nicola, was exceptional. She didn't soft coat the information. She painted a very matter-of-fact portrait of the activities that went on at Dachau. She was very knowledgeable and able to answer all matter of questions. She made our trip to and from easy and was great at keeping us together and organized.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Really found it an interesting but emotional tour. Our tour guide Ian I could not fault. Very informative and very respectful in regards to what occurred at Dachau. I would recommend this tour to everyone interested in going to Dachau.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I would definitely recommend a tour of Dachau to really experience an important part in the history of our world. Our tour guide was German and gave us an interesting and different perspective than the "typical WW2 commemoration", if there is such a thing. Strongly recommend A tour of Dachau, but not necessarily This tour because we did miss some important parts of the exhibition and although very factual it was lacking in emotional connection, which I feel is a necessary part of the memorial.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The guide on this tour (Steve) was a very knowledgeable British historian who had a lot to say. However, his voice was very soft and the group was too large. I rarely could follow anything he was saying although I tried to work my way close to him. Given that he talked for a great majority of the time we were at Dachau and this left almost no time to visit the exhibits the tour was almost useless. I just stood on the fringe of the group and heard nothing. This is a case where you need to supply the tour leader with a mike to talk into and earphones for the listeners.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour and the guide was magnificent!! I was not really sure what to expect, but the Dachau presentation was respectful, informative, historical and reverent. We had been through Munich on another historical tour and this one did not even overlap architecture!! The pace was a little quick, but he got a lot of buiIdings in, and I am glad I wore by sturdy shoes!! I would DEFINITELY recommend anyone of any religion to experience the Camp and the Third Reich tour so that we will never forget this horrible part of our past as humans.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I would really recommend this tour that is actually done thru a local tour operator. Nicola was our guide and was very passionate and honest about Dachau. While it's not an easy experience nor fun, I feel it's very important to see. Nicola is a local and explained everything and answered all of our questions. I don't think we would have gotten as much out of it without her.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Maxine took our tour at Dachau and was very knowledgeable and approachable. She made sure we went into the cinema ahead of the other groups and guided us around the site so that we avoided the queues. The visit was very touching but not as emotionally distressing as we thought it might be probably because the memorial site focuses on education and avoids touching on individual experiences from the camp. Our guide in the afternoon, Achim was also very knowledgeable and went to great lengths to bring his subject to life. He had a sarcastic and cynical style of delivery which was unusual, but as the tour went on we appreciated that this was the best way to deliver the subject matter. 2.5 hours walk was enough and we went back to our rooms very tired but well educated and interested in what we had learnt throughout the thoroughly enjoyable day. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Dachau tour was very well-organized and conducted. Our guide, Keith, was very informative and we learned a lot about how the camp, and the camps in general, were run. We found the tour very worthwhile and we recommend it highly.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was excellent. Our tour guide, Jeff, was extremely knowledgeable about the entire Dachau memorial site. He was very sensitive to the nature of the site and the guest's needs on the very warm day of our tour. Dachau is a difficult place to witness, but Jeff did a great job in showing us what it meant to history.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour! Luckily we had Keith as our guide. He was very informative. Answered all the questions are group had and made sure we stayed on schedule. I highly recommend checking out Dachau with Keith.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message