• USD ($)
  • English

Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The Dachau museum is very well done and worth the visit. However, I would almost recommend seeing it without a guide. Even though our guide was thorough and the trip was about 5 hours, starting and ending at the Munich train station, I felt that I could have spent more time at the site itself. We didn't have time to read any of the individual exhibit information or to set foot in the two chapels that are set at the rear of the property. The guide recited his information almost verbatim from the information on the Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial website. If you read this information before you go, you can spend more time taking photos than listening to the guide. That's what I did, and am glad, otherwise I would have had no time for photos. What I did appreciate from the Viator tour booking service and local tour company was being provided the transportation. It was nice not to have to figure out on my won how to get there. But if you are willing to figure it out on your own, there is a train from the center Munich station of Hauptbahnhof to Dachau, then a dedicated bus to the Dachau camp called "Dachau Concentration Camp" that goes to/from the site from the Dachau (city) train station, so it is easy enough to make the trip on your own (there is a city called Dachau as well as the nearby camp called Dachau). I would still recommend the Viator tour if you prefer going with a group, but if you are a person who likes to linger and investigate on your own, you will find the tour moves too quickly from site to site within the camp, even though there is a lot to cover.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

You really need more time to visit Dachau but this short tour was great. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and had a lot to say. Just wish we had more time to explore. Train ride was very quick. No time for lunch so bring a snack.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

You really need more time to visit Dachau but this short tour was great. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and had a lot to say. Just wish we had more time to explore. Train ride was very quick. No time for lunch so bring a snack.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The Dachau Concentration camp tour was very interesting. In addition our tour guide was excellent and extremely informative. She was also very helpful in giving us advice on the best ways to navigate the city and return to the airport after our tour. This was greatly appreciated.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Guide presented the material in a real and honest manner. Without Keith as a guide, I would have never been able to understand the actual events inside Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Steve was a fantastic guide! He really gave a great overview of the history and events that happened at Dachau. The trip was also timed well, with time for listening to Steve and his explanation of the camp and also alone time to wander off and revisit anything you wanted to go back to. It was definitely money well spent. Highly recommended even for the non-history nerds like myself!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was very informative and included lots of information on the history of Dachau

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was respectful and informative and provided a very educational glimpse into the devastating situation at Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Guided tour of Dachau Memorial Concentration camp with Keith from Radius Tours - highly recommended. A moving, chilling, worthwhile to pay respects/tribute and very eye opening.
This site as opposed to Auschwitz has more of an informative/educational focus rather than concentration camp content re-creation of experience.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was excellent and very easy to be part of. The guide had wonderful knowledge of the history and stories of Dachau and really helped us understand where it fit In the whole Nazi plan.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Absolute must for anyone going to Munich, Dachau only 10 minute train journey, which is all part of the costs and dealt with by our guide.

I believe our guides name was Anna (could be wrong, appologies), and she certainly new her stuff.

From the moment she picks you up, the information starts, all the way on the train journey then the camp itself. Nowhere near as harrowing as going to Auschwitz for example, but enough there to really make you think and understand what actually to place. You tour the grounds, barracks, memorials and the Gas chamber and incinerators. Our guide made it very moving. Finally the museum which is very informative.

I took my 16 year old son, and would recommend to any age who you think would understand the gravity of where you are.

If you are going to do a couple of Munich trips, this is a MUST.

Neil and Tyler Barlow

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Dachau itself was very moving, and the is a place that should never be forgotten!

The tour itself was a little of a let down. Firstly on arrival at the nominated tour office the tour group was so big they had to call in an extra guide, so with the group split in half there were 25-30 in our group, so for a walking tor this is quite big considering there were people with prams and small children who slowed the grup down. Catching a train and then a bus to the memorial was fine but this was suppose to be a small group as per the title of the tour on Viator however this was diffidently not the case.

Entry to the memorial is free so you paying for the transportation and the guide. Once we arrived at the memorial other people who had not paid for the tour joined in, the guide said he saw it as a compliment that people wanted to hear what he wanted to say. Even though he was quite knowledgable, I found the ignorance to additional members of the public joining an already oversized tour quite rude.

I would not recommend this tour. You are best travelling to the site yourself and pick up one of the audio commentaries there and doing at your own pace or join an organised tour like most did for free!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

I booked the tour as it stated SMALL GROUP TOUR, when we got to Munich Station there were 30 people on this tour. No thanks never again it took forever with 30 people. Don't say SMALL GROUP TOUR when it is not that at all. I did complain at Munich Station but was told that Viator always does this. There was really not much originality left at Dachau. Very disappointed

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Sobering, sad and very memorable. This is a history lesson that is a must do tour as it stands as a reminder of the horrors that mass numbers of humans are capable of inflicting on other mass numbers of humans.
I am so glad that I made this journey. It stirred powerful emotions. The tour guide Keith did an excellent job of telling the story of Dachau and rise of the Third Reich.
Visiting the movie theatre. As the viewers were ushered in, many were talking amongst themselves but as the images on the screen unfolded, the voices became quieter. At the end of the movie, you could have heard a pin drop.
Visiting the Crematoriums was challenging.
It's not a nice tour, it's a very necessary one.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide to Dachau was both an avid researcher and historian. She was impassioned about imparting knowledge of the background and hierarchy of the camp, it's prisoners, the kapo and SS commanders. Her presentation was both thorough and very moving. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message