Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 332 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide at 12:15 was excellent, knowledgeble, and personable.
He gave us the space to take in this incredible story. It can be very overwhelming.
But, such a sensitive and caring guide realized how potent and strong the
details are of Dachau. Definitely, 4 stars

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour guide. He was so informed about Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was great. Fun personality and VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE. I knew a little about Dachau but presented with so much more knowledge of the camp and it's history. Travel to and from the site was easy. I would recommend any associate of mine to see the site and book with our guide. A worthwile experience for everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour of Dachau was a life changing experience.One will never take life for granted after the almost spiritual experience.The guide was incredibly informative and sensitive to the past history.Regards Robert.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Levi did an excellent job of presenting information about Dachau Concentration camp. We would highly recommend him again.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was well organized and led. Of course what we saw was disturbing, Our leader's comments were objective and fair. He was respectful of the solitary confinement barracks, not going in nor talking too loud.
He emphasized that Dachau was not an extermination camp although some of the signage at the camp suggested otherwise, but he pointed out that many people were killed there.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked the Dachau tour directly through viator and was not disappointed! Given the low price I did not have high expectations but was pleasantly surprised which is rare these days. Our tour guide Keith, the Irish one, was well informed and interesting. His experience and understanding of the history was exceptional. Despite a setback with the trains, Keith was able to keep everyone on track and to get to the site and through the tour on-time. I have an appreciation for history and, as such, would highly recommend this tour, and Keith, to anyone.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jeff was a fantastic guide and gave the site the respect it deserved. He was extremely knowledgeable about the area and Dachau itself.

While we chose small group, it was actually that small, but in this instance it wasn't really a problem.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was very informative. The tour guide did an excellent job explaining what happened at Dachau. The story was depressing, but it needs to be told. Hopefully something as terrible as this will never happen again.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

we went on the tour of Dachau and walking tour with Achim. I very much enjoyed hearing all of his knowledge on the matter and he kept the tour upbeat and informational. I very much enjoyed the Third Reich walking tour and would suggest anyone interested in History take these tours...they were superb

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very moving visit. The tour guide was what made the trip oner the top. He was able to share with us some insights that only a very knowledgable guide could know. I would recommend this to everyone. My father liberated on of the minor camps from Dachau and this added to the emotion of the visit.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was excellent and your guide Keith was the reason. He was well informed, making the your that much more interesting. Dachau is not a fun tour but an important one snd Keith gives it the proper tone and respect. Not to be missed!!!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a memorable, though sad, sight - Dachau. But our guide did a very informative and sensitive/respectful job.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Dachau tour was really interesting and informative. Nicola the guide was excellent. The Third Reich tour wasn't as interesting as I hoped. NOTE: My voucher indicated Third Reich tour was at 11.30am and I planned my trip around this, however it is actually 3pm. Luckily I was able to rejig my trip to allow for this but I didn't find this out until I turned up for the Dachau tour and had to then switch the days around.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting tour and we had a great tour guide who was British. The only drawback we would note is that there was not enough time to go through all of the exhibits at Canp Dachau.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

whilst the use of public transport keeps costs down, the inability to get on a bus upon arrival at Dachau town shortened our day at the Memorial site. this limited our time to see all the points of interest. More time to review the exhibits and chapels would have been beneficial. A small group is not one of around 30!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Dachau Should've given more time to spend in Dachau for ourselves. We're given only 20 minutes to explore on our own then had to regroup at the main gate to catch bus back to train station. Most of us need at least 1 hour walk around and take more photos.
3rd Reich There are more places and plaques that the guide didn't bring us to see.
Result Me, my wife and a couple of friends we made during the tour went to Dachau again together on the next day - Fazrel from Malaysia

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The reason for the low rating is simply the fact that I paid for a small group tour, there were over 40 people on this tour not a small tour in any sense as this is a walking tour. There were no wireless headsets or even an aid to amplify the guides voice. As a walking tour, with over 40 people, jockeying for space and talking, it was impossible to get much out of this tour. Dachau itself lends to a more somber and respectful sensitivity. There are many visitors, many guided tours and self-guided tours, so any other option would be better than this. This being said, I had also booked with the contractor for a Third Reich Tour, later in the day, same guide, another walking tour, but a group of 10, and it was fantastic.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was an essential part out of getting the most from a visit to Dachau. The guide was highly respectful while comprehensive in knowledge.
Any one visiting Munich must do the tour to appreciate what occurred and must not happen again.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

1st: Viator, please update the start times of these tours! Both were wrong and it was a little upsetting to arrive at the tour to find out that I missed the first one and had 2 hours til the second one on my first day in Munich.

But tour-wise....both were super informative and I was very happy to learn so much on these tours. Keith was great at Dachau, and I cannot remember the guide for the Walking Tour but he was truly an expert!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Scott was very well read on german history of hitler's time and provided us with a fluent summary of key events. He focused on giving a perspective of Dachau from a prisoner's point of view, from their arrival to the camp to their death/liberation. It was an eyeopening experience.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dachau Concentration Camp is a must visit. This camp was quite a haunting experience, not only seeing how the site but hearing the stories of hardship and torture that occurred. Our tour guide, Steve, brought the whole experience to life. As a World War II expert, he was able to impart information that you never come across in books and helped us understand the important role Dachau had in Nazi Germany. He shared with us first hand stories from survivors he has met throughout the years.

With only three days in Munich, I was uncertain about taking the time for this day trip. However, I'm glad I did the tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Jeff was an amazing guide. Very knowledgeable and I feel like we got the most out of Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an amazing tour. We felt so fortunate to have Jeff as our tour guide. He so knowledgeable and really made the tour for us. We feel we got so much out of the Dachau Concentration Camp because of this tour and Jeff that friends of ours who went on their own completely missed. Jeff detailed what life was like at the Camp from arrival to daily life, the Crematorium and Barrack X. This tour was incredibly moving and should not be missed. Jeff also mentioned he leads other tours and I wish we would have had time to go on the SS Hitler Tour in Munich. This tour is an A

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was knowledgable, personable, and gave us great insight into the horrors of Dachau. It was rainy and cold the entire time we were there, which really only made the experience more poignant as we learned what prisoners endured during those horrible years. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message