Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 251 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My second visit to Dachau, but this visit was so much more informative because of Kevin, our guide. He provided very interesting background which helped put the whole history of the camp in perspective.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of Dachau was very well organized and informative. This is something I had wanted to do for a long time and I felt this was a great way to see it. Our guide Steve was so knowledgable and made it a very rich experience

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of Dachau was very well organized and informative. This is something I had wanted to do for a long time and I felt this was a great way to see it. Our guide Steve was so knowledgable and made it a very rich experience

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of Dachau was very well organized and informative. This is something I had wanted to do for a long time and I felt this was a great way to see it. Our guide Steve was so knowledgable and made it a very rich experience

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave thorough explanations of all that we saw on the two tours. He provided many opportunities for us to ask questions and responded with in depth answers. We had adequate time to peruse the sites. While Dachau was sad chapter in our history, the tour is tasteful and respectful. The guide did a very nice job of sharing the context, learnings, and aftermath of the holocaust. The film shown on site may be too graphic for younger children. I recommend this tour to visitors to Munich. (Excellent command of English for those wondering about that.)

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide, Nicola, was exceptional. She didn't soft coat the information. She painted a very matter-of-fact portrait of the activities that went on at Dachau. She was very knowledgeable and able to answer all matter of questions. She made our trip to and from easy and was great at keeping us together and organized.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour Guide Keith was great. He was prompt, knowledgeable, and personable. He made navigating the public transportation simple and the tour of Dachau memorable. It was a rainy day and a somber experience. I highly recommend the private tour. Keith went above and beyond.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Keith Warnack is an amazing guide, full of information and knows his history! His witty and upbeat personality made it even better than I expected and will definitely be taking more tours w/your company in the near future. As a crew member with United Airlines, I raved about Keith and many are interested in Dachau and other tours so expect some business!!! Thank you, I truly enjoyed every moment.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It is always confronting when you visit a concentration camp, and the experience can be either tasteless or educational, dependant on the tour guide.

We were fortunate to have a guide who understood the history of Dachau, the human loss, the sanctity of the final resting place of so many, and the human psychology at question behind it all. Well done Craig.

The tour was handled factually, and with great dignity and respect. I left knowing more about this sad and shameful part of all of our history, left feeljng ashamed of what mankind can do to fellow men, and left feelingmore connected to the current dilemas in the world and understanding that they are my dilemas too, and that I must always stand up for what is right.

Great tour. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a good tour and mostly because we had an excellent tour guide who was from Ireland. Can't remember his name but he got us together and made sure we stayed together on the train and at Dachau. He was very informative and straight forward when describing things. He knew his history. Dachau is quite "sanitized" today and our guide made sure that we saw through that and told us how it really was. Worth the trip.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Really found it an interesting but emotional tour. Our tour guide Ian I could not fault. Very informative and very respectful in regards to what occurred at Dachau. I would recommend this tour to everyone interested in going to Dachau.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I would definitely recommend a tour of Dachau to really experience an important part in the history of our world. Our tour guide was German and gave us an interesting and different perspective than the "typical WW2 commemoration", if there is such a thing. Strongly recommend A tour of Dachau, but not necessarily This tour because we did miss some important parts of the exhibition and although very factual it was lacking in emotional connection, which I feel is a necessary part of the memorial.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The guide on this tour (Steve) was a very knowledgeable British historian who had a lot to say. However, his voice was very soft and the group was too large. I rarely could follow anything he was saying although I tried to work my way close to him. Given that he talked for a great majority of the time we were at Dachau and this left almost no time to visit the exhibits the tour was almost useless. I just stood on the fringe of the group and heard nothing. This is a case where you need to supply the tour leader with a mike to talk into and earphones for the listeners.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour and the guide was magnificent!! I was not really sure what to expect, but the Dachau presentation was respectful, informative, historical and reverent. We had been through Munich on another historical tour and this one did not even overlap architecture!! The pace was a little quick, but he got a lot of buiIdings in, and I am glad I wore by sturdy shoes!! I would DEFINITELY recommend anyone of any religion to experience the Camp and the Third Reich tour so that we will never forget this horrible part of our past as humans.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I would really recommend this tour that is actually done thru a local tour operator. Nicola was our guide and was very passionate and honest about Dachau. While it's not an easy experience nor fun, I feel it's very important to see. Nicola is a local and explained everything and answered all of our questions. I don't think we would have gotten as much out of it without her.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message