Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 358 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Dachau tour was superb mainly because of the talented tour guide, Sadri, who took us through a very difficult subject in a tasteful and insightful manner. He made the camp come alive even after 70 years. Excellent guide and we would book again with him on another tour.
Tim from North Carolina

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a pretty intense experience. Make no mistake. Dachau was brutal.
We met our guide at the train station which was easy for me to find because I was staying 2 blocks away. Dachau is about 30-45 minutes outside of Munich.
Our guide was very knowledgeable and tried to answer all of our questions for some questions there are simply no answers at Dachau. He also understood how emotional this tour can be and was understanding and kind. Our guide only does this tour 2-3 times a week because of the emotional toll it takes. Even though he was born after the war it was clear how disturbing this chapter is for him.
It was striking to me that 70 years later Germany is still coming to grips with this chapter of history.
I recommend that everyone visit Dachau so that we never forget.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Dachau tour was a very profound experience. Our guide Keith was very informative and a great guide for that type of tour.
The Third Reich walking tour was very interesting and I learned a lot about Munich and how its history is still in plain sight. Definitely a must if you are visiting Munich.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We took this tour back in early June, and it's something everyone should do when visiting Munich. A sobering moving experience. Special Thanks go out to our tour guide Jeff, for keeping us informed during the tour, helping us avoid the crowds, and when traveling via the train and bus to Dachau. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is an important, but heart-wrenching tour which everyone visiting Germany should take. Our guide, Steven, did an outstanding job sensitively and respectfully guiding us through Dachau with the most insightful narrative I have ever heard on a tour.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tom was SUPER knowledgable and provided us a great tour of Dachau. I would highly recommend Tom and this tour for anyone who wants to know the details behind Dachau. Even with Dachau being crowded with summer crowds Tom worked his way through the crowds to make it all work.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

With our guide Keith, one of the best we've ever had on any tour, visiting Dachau was indeed a profound learning experience. Although what you see and hear about the camp is both sad and disturbing, I think it should be part of a visit to Munich. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide, Keith, was outstanding. His knowledge of Dachau was top-rate and his passion was clearly evident. He was sensitive to what occurred here and as a result, respectful to its memory. Very informative. It's a sobering tour - not a fun one - but never-the-less, one that should not be missed.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was very informative and intense. Our tour guide was excellent - very knowledgeable, friendly, and he communicated well. It was easy to find the meeting place at the train station. Then a short train ride, and then a bus ride to Dachau. The bus ride is a public bus, and our tour was too big to fit, so had to wait for the next bus about 10 minutes. The tour guide had plenty of information to fill the gap. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Every informative tour. If you are keen on history I'd definitely recommend it. I'm someone that prefers to hear the history and stories from a tour guide than reading information boards. I felt I walked away with a lot of information not only about Dachau but about all the camps throughout Europe. I'd definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour was very nice and interesting. Both of our tour guides were very knowledgeable. Our Guide in Dachau had the sensibility to explain the horrors of the concentration camp in a good way. Our guide in Munich Irish person was very knowledgeable. Michele and I were very happy with it

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Both tour guides where very knowledgeable Roland and Geoff. Really enjoyed the walking tour and Dachau was very treated with respect

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Met Joshua and the other participants for the tour at the tour company's offices at the train station. Everything was right on time, was taken to the train and traveled together to Dachau and then got on a bus and then walked through the camp with Joshua who was quite knowledgable and interesting. He answered everyone's questions, and even kept a loud group of visitors on the tour quiet during the walk through the cemetery part of the camp. Was a very hot day, and he kept us as cool as possible in some shade, although there is not much shade there on the grounds.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Scott the Australian tour guide was excellent in his approach as he focused on the human element of Dachau and his knowledge on the background gave us good insight and information on the tour.
Highly recommended
Note: A visit to the National Socialist Documentation Center before doing this tour would be beneficial

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The 3rd Reich walking tour was very informative and the Dachau Concentration camp tour was very somber and appropriate. You don't get much time to read the materials at Dauchau though.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

I just wanted to give you one heads up regarding the Dachau tour guide. He was absolutely terrible. The first day in Munich we booked a bike tour of the 3rd Reich through Mikes Bikes and our guide was so knowledgeable and informative and so interesting, the kids absolutely loved it. The guide that took us to Dachau by comparison, told us on meeting that he was normally the guy who answers the phone and that it was so hot and so many school tours and basically moaned non stop about the way that it had changed. He could not have been less interested. At the end of the tour, he asked us if we would rather just go home than go into the museum the most important part then stood around looking bored whilst we toured the museum on our own. We told him to go eventually and that we would make our own way back. By comparison there were other guides there that were fantastic and we saw how interesting they were by doing a bit of eaves dropping

Doing what: Best Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly informative tour from an excellent tour guide. Keith gave an extremely detailed account of Dachau from its inception to liberation. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Jeff our tour guide was brilliant! He expertly guided us through Dachau keeping us from the crowds whilst ensuring we didn't miss a thing. The Third Reich tour was a must also, you cannot visit Dachau without the Munich background.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My guide Steve was extremely knowledgeable and informative. The tour was comprehensive. You need 5 hours 3.5 for the tour and transportation to and from Dachau to complete the tour. Be aware, there is a lot of walking and standing in this tour.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Keith the Irish one was a great tour guide - he gave the tour and the memorial site the respect it deserved. Visiting the Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial is a a very moving experience and something you have to do when visiting Munich.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Kai, was passionate about WWII history. Rather than lecture us for hours, he consistently engaged us by asking questions and welcoming questions we asked him. I'm so grateful he was our guide through Dachau and will certainly recommend him to friends and family.

Doing what: Best Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

THE GUIDE WAS THE BEST ALTHOUGH DACHAU WAS WITHOUT A DOUBT PART OF THE WORST TIME IN HISTORY IT IS SOMETHING THAT EVERYONE NEEDS TO SEE AND THINK ABOUT WHAT HAPPENED DURING THIS TIME IN HISTORY SO NOTHING LIKE THIS EVER HAPPENS AGAIN . WE ARRIVED ON THE APRIL 29TH THE 70TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE LIBERATION OF DACHAU. WE WERE HONORED TO BE THERE WITH SOME SURVIVORS AND MANY FAMILY MEMBERS WHO WERE THERE FOR THE ANNIVERSARY. SURPRISINGLY MOST OF THE 25,000 PLUS VICTUMS WERE CHRISTIANS FROM POLAND. I HATE TO THINK WHAT OUR WORLD WOULD LOOK LIKE TODAY IF WE LOST.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Taking this tour made the connections to Dachau very clear and easy, the guides were knowledgeable. Our guide for the Third Reich Tour was Scottish unfortunately I can't remember his name and very enthusiastic about passing on the relevant information.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide seemed very well-informed and very approachable and most importantly for a place like Dachau, he came across as very passionate about his subject matter.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A small group of 30 people is not a small group. When we left for Dachau from the train station there was a no train, but our guide was prepared and took us via the metro. Our guide was great but the group felt too rushed.
I wouldn't recommend against a tour, but I would rather have gone through without a guide.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message