Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 394 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mark b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was very well organised, easy to find and follow etc.,
Maxine's knowledge is phenomonal but also she delivered the history in a sensitive and non emotional manner, being sensitive to the fact that Germans around us are somewhat tired of hearing tourists talking about bad things that happened 70 years ago.
The tour is a full 4 hour tour, well worth the trip and my comment would be that to do the Dachau visit justice, it actually takes longer than 4 hours. So, take the tour, get the information and then plan to return to do it at your own pace and absorb even more of this dramatic history.
Thank you for introducing Dachau to us Maxine, you are a great guide.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

BabyBluesMomof4 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Steve, our tour guide, met us at the Munich Bahnhoftrain station and kept us together as a group, and truly did an exceptional job explaining such a difficult place as Dachau. One of the first things Steve stated was he would provide an objective and informative tour. He did this eloquently. I would highly recommend Viator for this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Sonja B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had access to probably the best tour guide ever. I guess my only disappointment about Dachau is that it is now just a replica of what it was originally. The gate had been stolen againsuch a disappointment, but I suspect it too was a replica in the first place. Still worth a visit...

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

kimwalsh27

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our guide Jeff was extremely knowledgeable and interesting. While there was not time to tour the museum in Dachau you would need a lot more time we certainly did not leave feeling we had missed anything. A guide is definitely a must to get the most out of the experience.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Beth A H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour! You could do this excursion on your own. HOWEVER, the knowledge from a tour guide is indispensable. We learned so much. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, but he was rude to those who could not walk quicly/keep up. A great tour, nonetheless. I would definitely recommend to anyone who is considering see Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Bonnie D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very moving tour. We met our guide at the main train station in Munich, took a train then a bus to Dachau. It was a simple journey to get there. Our guide was knowledgeable and did a great job leading us around the grounds and sharing stories of the events that took place there.
The group was quite large for a guided tour, but if we scooted in, we could all hear the dialogue.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Rowena V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour group of 30 met at Tour office at the Munich main train station as assigned. Our guide, Steve, was a well-seasoned British tour guide, very knowledgeable of the era/regime of the period. His insights included conversations with his friends grandparents who had first hand experience of the holocaust, and his meeting with a WWII veteran liberator of Dachau. One has to visit this place with a guide because if you are on your own, there is not much literature posted at sights, and you will walk away not understanding the gravity of what you saw. Our party of 4 were all in unison, that we made the right call to book with a knowledgeable guide. Once in the camp, our tour lasted 3 hrs. with the last 30 min. on our own time for reflection. Other friends of ours went a day earlier without a guide and left saying there's nothing to see . Their loss! Highly recommend going with a guide.
I must thank Steve for holding the bus for return ride to train depot for us, we were in the wash room when the bus arrived a bit early.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Dachau you can do yourself by train easily, but the walking tour was excellent for seeing places you would pass without realising their significance.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Janan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I found this guided tour to be outstanding! Our guide was very knowledgeable, insightful, and incredibly friendly! We highly recommend this small group tour when visiting Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Max S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I highly recommend this tour of Dachau. Alun was full of information and very well educated on this time period and everything that went on. He completely answered any questions we had. He gave us a very extensive tour and we learned so much. Alun also gave us time on our own, when appropriate. Very well thought out. This is a difficult place to visit but as Alun and ourselves think- it's very important to educate yourself on this. Excellent tour full of knowledge. Thank you Alun! -Courtney and Chris

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Tour from Munich

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Keith was awesome. Would have liked to have my family with me to experience Dachau through his eyes. Very informative, sensitive to the topics and thorough.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Theodore T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Nicola was excellent and so knowledgeable. She managed our group w/ ease.
She took us step by step of all the important aspects of Dachau. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Eric D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I would not have wanted to do this on my own, but I was worried that taking a tour I would miss things along the way. No worries! I really feel that I got the best tour possible. Our guide was informed, passionate, and personal. I left with such a deeper understanding of the events leading up to the use of Dachau Concentration Camp and the series of events after the war. Take this tour. You will not leave disappointed.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Mike O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

For our Dachau tour we had a German citizen that gave the tour, which added a little more weight to his words. There is a lot of walking on this tour, so make sure you wear comfortable shoes. As far the actual Dachau memorial site, there is a lot to see but the tour guide does a great job hitting the high points and providing additional information.

For the Third Reich walking tour our guide was very knowledgeable about the subject and explained everything in detail often making comparisons to current times. It was very interesting to walk around Munich and see some of the important locations, as well as hear the history. I would recommend this tour to anyone that has an interest in this part of Munich's history.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour of Dachau. Our guide was knowledgeable, articulate and engaging. We decided to skip the Third Reich tour, which I regret.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We booked this private tour of Dachau because we wanted to really understand the history of Dachau. There is a local tour company Viator contracted with for this tour. Adam, our tour guide picked us up at our hotel right on time. Adam escorted us to the trains to take us to Dachau. While enroute Adam told us history of the area we were traveling through. He was very knowledgeable and easy to listen to. He told us we would walk the same path that the prisoners arriving at the camp did.

Once at Dachau Adam guided us through each of the areas. He gave us an overview of what occurred in each area. He gave us plenty of time to look at photos and read the displays. He explained what was from the original camp and what was rebuilt for the memorial.

The 5 hour tour was over so quickly. We felt that the private tour gave us so much more insight and personal connection to the Memorial than going in a large group tour. Adam guided us back the main train station in Munich. He even helped us find a place for lunch before we parted ways. It was one of the most enjoyable tours we have ever taken

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Nancy L H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour of Dachau was one of the highlights of our trip to Germany!

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Nicole R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I was in Munich for 7 days. We had a very full 7 days and did a few tours. This was my favourite, the highlight for me, and will be my most memorable part. Our tour guide, Mat was very knowledgable, it was nice to listen to him telling us the history right from his memory. He knew names and dates and answered any question asked, and he was passionate about what he was telling us. This is a part of our history. If you go to Munich, do not miss this. It's a way to pay your respect, and so the victims will not be forgotten. We ended up only doing the Dachau tour, not the Third Reich part of it, as it was suppose to be on two different days, but it got rolled into one day and after 5 hours at Dachau we just had no energy for another three hours doing another tour. So if you book this one, I would suggest to make sure you do it on two separate days as both together may just be too much.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Catheryn Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

As much as this was a very somber tour, our guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant. We were easily guided through Dachau with information to help us better understand its importance. Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Bradley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Having taken this tour I cannot imagine walking through Dachau without a guide. Tom did a wonderful job of imparting applicable information and keeping the tour on track. There is a lot to see and a lot of horrible information to digest and I would say this is the ideal way to do it.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Brittani B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour was extremely informative and interesting. Dachau was such a powerful experience, and a quite emotional one at that. Our tour guide for this portion was very knowledgeable, but a bit quirky - at times he was a bit short on patience with the group and a bit brash with his words. I could tell that the entire group felt a bit uneasy at various points of the tour, with his behavior. The walking tour through the city was phenomenal and our tour guide for this segment was absolutely lovely. She was also extremely knowledgeable, and we welcomed her easy manner.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Dylan C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This small group tour ended up having about 30 people in it, which doesn't really come off as a small group. In addition, there was very little information that was shared with us, but our tour guide provided a lot of personal opinions and views about World War II and the concentration camps. We considered following a different tour guide during our visit just so we could learn more about the camp. The two of us that had purchased the tour both left the camp feeling as if we could have visited the camp ourselves and had a better experience and not have paid as much as we did for this tour. We would not recommend visiting Dachau with this tour group again but would recommend individuals make the trip on their own. It is an easy enough location to get to, and the site provides plenty of information throughout the area.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Timothy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Dachau tour was superb mainly because of the talented tour guide, Sadri, who took us through a very difficult subject in a tasteful and insightful manner. He made the camp come alive even after 70 years. Excellent guide and we would book again with him on another tour.
Tim from North Carolina

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

ERIKA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a pretty intense experience. Make no mistake. Dachau was brutal.
We met our guide at the train station which was easy for me to find because I was staying 2 blocks away. Dachau is about 30-45 minutes outside of Munich.
Our guide was very knowledgeable and tried to answer all of our questions for some questions there are simply no answers at Dachau. He also understood how emotional this tour can be and was understanding and kind. Our guide only does this tour 2-3 times a week because of the emotional toll it takes. Even though he was born after the war it was clear how disturbing this chapter is for him.
It was striking to me that 70 years later Germany is still coming to grips with this chapter of history.
I recommend that everyone visit Dachau so that we never forget.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Sarah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Dachau tour was a very profound experience. Our guide Keith was very informative and a great guide for that type of tour.
The Third Reich walking tour was very interesting and I learned a lot about Munich and how its history is still in plain sight. Definitely a must if you are visiting Munich.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message