Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 403 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour of Dachau was sobering, but excellent. Our guide,Steve, was very knowledgeable and respectful of the place we were visiting. He gave an unbiased view and told us so much background we were unaware of. He was great on the Third Reich walking tour later too. My feet ached a bit at the end but it was awesome to get so much in perspective. We could never have found those places on our own. Thanks!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Ana K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was excellent. His knowledge of history brought the place to life. If you visit without a guide you will not have a full experience. The buildings left standing do not convey the significance of the site. It was only through the narrative tour provided by a very knowledgeable guide that one can fully experience the significance of a visit to Dachau Concentration Camp.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

cheryl c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The only way to tour Dachau is with a guide. Our guide, Steve, was excellent and gave us an abundance of information about the camp and background history.
Excellent tour!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Chingor Cecilia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I normally like to explore on my own, however, since I have a limited amount of time at Munich I wanted to get the most out of it. Not disappointed with the viator / local tour operator half day tour to Dachau. Guide Matt is very knowledgeable about the subject matter and did the tour in an objective and dignified manner. The tour covers train and bus rides so you don't have to worry about logistics to the site, and lots of narration from Matt. Not a lot of building structures are left on site so having a tour guide to fill in the details really helped. Could you do this on your own? Yes, but probably not with as much understanding if you haven't been studying in advance about this subject.

The tour ended at about 2pm for our group back at the Munich main train station, which seemed longer than promised half day? but I am not complaining. If you have onward trains to catch be sure to buy flexible tickets for the day or just buy after you return to the main train station.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Jeannette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very knowledgeable guide, the tour was very interesting but be prepared to be on your feet for several hours - standing and walking. The train to bus transport was a bit difficult with masses of school children pushing their way in, however, our guide did the best he could to get us in as a group. Dachau itself was a bit disappointing. My husband was there 40 years ago and he said that it has been toned down quite a bit, almost made PG-13. Overall, I am glad we went and used VIATOR.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

John M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Deeply moving experience. Our tour guide Sabri was incredible. He handled the tour with the knowledge and tact that is required of a place like Dachau, and his knowledge of not only Dachau but also German WWII history is staggering. Our small group had dozens of in-depth questions, and he was able to answer each one. My wife and I are not the kind of travelers that typically use guided tours we like to read and explore on our own. We were blown away by how much value Sabri added to this experience, and we walked away thankful that we were able to tap his knowledge. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Nicola did a great job with this tour. The only thing that would be better is if it was an hour longer to give you more time to explore Dachau on your own when the guided portion ends. Definitely a must see.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Robyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Keith was the tour leader and his information was so good. The tour was excellent, even though the stories of Dachau are dreadful. We all need to remember what happened and to make sure it never happens again. It was a privilege to be taken on this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

mark b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was very well organised, easy to find and follow etc.,
Maxine's knowledge is phenomonal but also she delivered the history in a sensitive and non emotional manner, being sensitive to the fact that Germans around us are somewhat tired of hearing tourists talking about bad things that happened 70 years ago.
The tour is a full 4 hour tour, well worth the trip and my comment would be that to do the Dachau visit justice, it actually takes longer than 4 hours. So, take the tour, get the information and then plan to return to do it at your own pace and absorb even more of this dramatic history.
Thank you for introducing Dachau to us Maxine, you are a great guide.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Irene L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had an excellent guide, he dealt with a difficult tour with sensitivity and a wealth of valuable information. I was hesitant to go to Dachau but my family and I found the tour very worthwhile and definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

BabyBluesMomof4 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Steve, our tour guide, met us at the Munich Bahnhoftrain station and kept us together as a group, and truly did an exceptional job explaining such a difficult place as Dachau. One of the first things Steve stated was he would provide an objective and informative tour. He did this eloquently. I would highly recommend Viator for this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Sonja B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had access to probably the best tour guide ever. I guess my only disappointment about Dachau is that it is now just a replica of what it was originally. The gate had been stolen againsuch a disappointment, but I suspect it too was a replica in the first place. Still worth a visit...

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

kimwalsh27

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our guide Jeff was extremely knowledgeable and interesting. While there was not time to tour the museum in Dachau you would need a lot more time we certainly did not leave feeling we had missed anything. A guide is definitely a must to get the most out of the experience.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Beth A H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour! You could do this excursion on your own. HOWEVER, the knowledge from a tour guide is indispensable. We learned so much. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, but he was rude to those who could not walk quicly/keep up. A great tour, nonetheless. I would definitely recommend to anyone who is considering see Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Bonnie D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very moving tour. We met our guide at the main train station in Munich, took a train then a bus to Dachau. It was a simple journey to get there. Our guide was knowledgeable and did a great job leading us around the grounds and sharing stories of the events that took place there.
The group was quite large for a guided tour, but if we scooted in, we could all hear the dialogue.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Rowena V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour group of 30 met at Tour office at the Munich main train station as assigned. Our guide, Steve, was a well-seasoned British tour guide, very knowledgeable of the era/regime of the period. His insights included conversations with his friends grandparents who had first hand experience of the holocaust, and his meeting with a WWII veteran liberator of Dachau. One has to visit this place with a guide because if you are on your own, there is not much literature posted at sights, and you will walk away not understanding the gravity of what you saw. Our party of 4 were all in unison, that we made the right call to book with a knowledgeable guide. Once in the camp, our tour lasted 3 hrs. with the last 30 min. on our own time for reflection. Other friends of ours went a day earlier without a guide and left saying there's nothing to see . Their loss! Highly recommend going with a guide.
I must thank Steve for holding the bus for return ride to train depot for us, we were in the wash room when the bus arrived a bit early.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Dachau you can do yourself by train easily, but the walking tour was excellent for seeing places you would pass without realising their significance.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Janan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I found this guided tour to be outstanding! Our guide was very knowledgeable, insightful, and incredibly friendly! We highly recommend this small group tour when visiting Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Max S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I highly recommend this tour of Dachau. Alun was full of information and very well educated on this time period and everything that went on. He completely answered any questions we had. He gave us a very extensive tour and we learned so much. Alun also gave us time on our own, when appropriate. Very well thought out. This is a difficult place to visit but as Alun and ourselves think- it's very important to educate yourself on this. Excellent tour full of knowledge. Thank you Alun! -Courtney and Chris

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Tour from Munich

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Keith was awesome. Would have liked to have my family with me to experience Dachau through his eyes. Very informative, sensitive to the topics and thorough.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Theodore T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Nicola was excellent and so knowledgeable. She managed our group w/ ease.
She took us step by step of all the important aspects of Dachau. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Eric D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I would not have wanted to do this on my own, but I was worried that taking a tour I would miss things along the way. No worries! I really feel that I got the best tour possible. Our guide was informed, passionate, and personal. I left with such a deeper understanding of the events leading up to the use of Dachau Concentration Camp and the series of events after the war. Take this tour. You will not leave disappointed.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Mike O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

For our Dachau tour we had a German citizen that gave the tour, which added a little more weight to his words. There is a lot of walking on this tour, so make sure you wear comfortable shoes. As far the actual Dachau memorial site, there is a lot to see but the tour guide does a great job hitting the high points and providing additional information.

For the Third Reich walking tour our guide was very knowledgeable about the subject and explained everything in detail often making comparisons to current times. It was very interesting to walk around Munich and see some of the important locations, as well as hear the history. I would recommend this tour to anyone that has an interest in this part of Munich's history.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour of Dachau. Our guide was knowledgeable, articulate and engaging. We decided to skip the Third Reich tour, which I regret.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We booked this private tour of Dachau because we wanted to really understand the history of Dachau. There is a local tour company Viator contracted with for this tour. Adam, our tour guide picked us up at our hotel right on time. Adam escorted us to the trains to take us to Dachau. While enroute Adam told us history of the area we were traveling through. He was very knowledgeable and easy to listen to. He told us we would walk the same path that the prisoners arriving at the camp did.

Once at Dachau Adam guided us through each of the areas. He gave us an overview of what occurred in each area. He gave us plenty of time to look at photos and read the displays. He explained what was from the original camp and what was rebuilt for the memorial.

The 5 hour tour was over so quickly. We felt that the private tour gave us so much more insight and personal connection to the Memorial than going in a large group tour. Adam guided us back the main train station in Munich. He even helped us find a place for lunch before we parted ways. It was one of the most enjoyable tours we have ever taken

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message