• USD ($)
  • English

Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 241 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My second visit to Dachau, but this visit was so much more informative because of Kevin, our guide. He provided very interesting background which helped put the whole history of the camp in perspective.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Really found it an interesting but emotional tour. Our tour guide Ian I could not fault. Very informative and very respectful in regards to what occurred at Dachau. I would recommend this tour to everyone interested in going to Dachau.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I would definitely recommend a tour of Dachau to really experience an important part in the history of our world. Our tour guide was German and gave us an interesting and different perspective than the "typical WW2 commemoration", if there is such a thing. Strongly recommend A tour of Dachau, but not necessarily This tour because we did miss some important parts of the exhibition and although very factual it was lacking in emotional connection, which I feel is a necessary part of the memorial.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour and the guide was magnificent!! I was not really sure what to expect, but the Dachau presentation was respectful, informative, historical and reverent. We had been through Munich on another historical tour and this one did not even overlap architecture!! The pace was a little quick, but he got a lot of buiIdings in, and I am glad I wore by sturdy shoes!! I would DEFINITELY recommend anyone of any religion to experience the Camp and the Third Reich tour so that we will never forget this horrible part of our past as humans.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I would really recommend this tour that is actually done thru a local tour operator. Nicola was our guide and was very passionate and honest about Dachau. While it's not an easy experience nor fun, I feel it's very important to see. Nicola is a local and explained everything and answered all of our questions. I don't think we would have gotten as much out of it without her.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Maxine took our tour at Dachau and was very knowledgeable and approachable. She made sure we went into the cinema ahead of the other groups and guided us around the site so that we avoided the queues. The visit was very touching but not as emotionally distressing as we thought it might be probably because the memorial site focuses on education and avoids touching on individual experiences from the camp. Our guide in the afternoon, Achim was also very knowledgeable and went to great lengths to bring his subject to life. He had a sarcastic and cynical style of delivery which was unusual, but as the tour went on we appreciated that this was the best way to deliver the subject matter. 2.5 hours walk was enough and we went back to our rooms very tired but well educated and interested in what we had learnt throughout the thoroughly enjoyable day. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Dachau tour was very well-organized and conducted. Our guide, Keith, was very informative and we learned a lot about how the camp, and the camps in general, were run. We found the tour very worthwhile and we recommend it highly.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was excellent. Our tour guide, Jeff, was extremely knowledgeable about the entire Dachau memorial site. He was very sensitive to the nature of the site and the guest's needs on the very warm day of our tour. Dachau is a difficult place to witness, but Jeff did a great job in showing us what it meant to history.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour! Luckily we had Keith as our guide. He was very informative. Answered all the questions are group had and made sure we stayed on schedule. I highly recommend checking out Dachau with Keith.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Steve was an excellent tour guide and his passion for the history of Dachau and the Third Reich is evident. He is highly informative and always kept us informed of what was happening on the tour. An emotional experience to go to Dachau but I have a lot of respect for Munich who have turned it into a place of learning and remembrance.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Dachau is a deeply touching experience. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful, and the schedule was appropriate.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good tour and knowledgeable guide. Too quick to be able to take in much of the exhibition inside Dachau, but good for an overview.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a day I'll long remember, although the advice to split the two tours (Dachau on one day, Third Reich on another) would have been wise if time had allowed. Both tours were interesting, informative, well-planned and well executed. The tour guides in both cases were well informed, helpful, and added considerably to the experience. While I might consider going to Dachau without a tour guide, the Third Reich tour is all about what the guide has to offer that brings events to life and puts them in perspective. My guide was absolutely amazing, and did a great job bringing his background as a history student as well as his personal experience interviewing one of the key Nazi-appointed rulers into the picture.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Marcus our tour guide was great. He was very informative and shared his excellent knowledge of Dachau. He made sure we all understood and his English was perfect. The train ride was easy and he made sure we knew exactly where we needed to be for the tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Levi was an outstanding guide and extremely knowledgeable. Very moving and informative. This was my second time to tour Dachau concentration camp but Levi's historical background going back to WWI made everything make much more sense of how Dachau came to be and how this could have happened especially in the 20th century.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message