Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 294 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour. Our guide was wonderful and very informative. The movie is best for guest over the age of 12 and we were informed of this before our tour since we had an 11 year old with us. Our guides were different from the Dachau and the Third Reich. The company in Munich was also friendly.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took many tours on our recent trip to London, Paris, and Munich, all booked through Viator. They have all been very good to excellent. This trip however stands out as the best of all, thanks to our guide Keith W.. Although you can easily get to Dachau on a train, you would not have the excellent commentary provided by Keith. He explained the purpose, function, and most importantly the significance of preserving Dachau, as a reminder of those who gave their lives to free Europe. If I could give this tour 6 stars I would!!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My 16 year old son and I did this tour during a short trip to Munich. The tour guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and passionate about his subject, and committed to understanding what took place at Dachau in the broader context of German, European and Jewish history. It was always very interesting, and we moved at a good pace, that is neither too hurried or boringly slow. Dachau itself is a sombre place, of course, and very well organised for people such as us with only a few hours to be there. I felt that my son probably learned the equivalent of 2 months of Modern History syllabus in our 2-3 hours there. I was uncertain as to how he'd respond, but he was completely engaged the whole time by the tour and the guide's talk.
My only criticism of the guide is that he was a bit short with some latecomers, and not as welcoming as I felt he should have been to them.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As part of our 12 day tour to Germany we choose to spend 3 days in Munich. An important site for my wife was to tour Dachau as her parents were survivors of the Holocaust. The day tour of Dachau was excellent as the tour guide that we had was very knowledgeable of World War II and the concentration camps through out Germany and how Dachau was started and its history. We have traveled thought out the world and have not had a better tour guide. Thank you Viator!
Mort Harris

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommend this tour for anyone who’s ever had the slightest interest in the history and progression of Western Europe and Hitler’s rise to power. I had the fortunate opportunity to visit the Holocaust Museum in Washington D.C. a couple weeks prior to this, so it was very powerful to see it all first-hand. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about Dachau. He also guided other Munich tours as well, and was an archeologist by trade, so he brought a very unique perspective to the tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Ian who is 1/2 German and 1/2 American gathered our group of about a dozen at the Munich Bahnhof where we boarded a train and then a bus for our 5-1/2 hour tour of Dachau. Ian was quite knowledgeable about the first Nazi concentration camp and gave us a comprehensive tour of what is left of the camp. Although there are only a few of the original buildings left and everything in and around the camp is clean and it is now much more populated around the camp, the exhibits did a good job of educating us. Ian filled in with other important information that helped us understand what we were seeing. For example, I didn’t know there were so many satellite camps associated with the concentration camps. Please remember that these tour guides work for tips that are not included in the tour price.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Ian who is 1/2 German and 1/2 American gathered our group of about a dozen at the Munich Bahnhof where we boarded a train and then a bus for our 5-1/2 hour tour of Dachau. Ian was quite knowledgeable about the first Nazi concentration camp and gave us a comprehensive tour of what is left of the camp. Although there are only a few of the original buildings left and everything in and around the camp is clean and it is now much more populated around the camp, the exhibits did a good job of educating us. Ian filled in with other important information that helped us understand what we were seeing. For example, I didn’t know there were so many satellite camps associated with the concentration camps. Please remember that these tour guides work for tips that are not included in the tour price.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Ian who is 1/2 German and 1/2 American gathered our group of about a dozen at the Munich Bahnhof where we boarded a train and then a bus for our 5-1/2 hour tour of Dachau. Ian was quite knowledgeable about the first Nazi concentration camp and gave us a comprehensive tour of what is left of the camp. Although there are only a few of the original buildings left and everything in and around the camp is clean and it is now much more populated around the camp, the exhibits did a good job of educating us. Ian filled in with other important information that helped us understand what we were seeing. For example, I didn’t know there were so many satellite camps associated with the concentration camps. Please remember that these tour guides work for tips that are not included in the tour price.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Ian who is 1/2 German and 1/2 American gathered our group of about a dozen at the Munich Bahnhof where we boarded a train and then a bus for our 5-1/2 hour tour of Dachau. Ian was quite knowledgeable about the first Nazi concentration camp and gave us a comprehensive tour of what is left of the camp. Although there are only a few of the original buildings left and everything in and around the camp is clean and it is now much more populated around the camp, the exhibits did a good job of educating us. Ian filled in with other important information that helped us understand what we were seeing. For example, I didn’t know there were so many satellite camps associated with the concentration camps. Please remember that these tour guides work for tips that are not included in the tour price.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour, and Steven provided fantastic historical background. His insights greatly enhanced the tour and made it a very special experience. He was able to treat a sober experience with the respect required, but still present a historical perspective far beyond what is usually covered in history books. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to not just see Dachau, but really experience and learn about Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Both tour guides were extremely knowledgeable on the tour. I wish I remembered the lady from Australia who gave the Dachau tour as well as the gentleman from Ireland who gave the walking tour. There was some much to see at Dachau that I could have spent the entire day just at this site. Very moving experience.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant, our tour guide, Steve, was so knowledgeable about this entire historical period. I would highly highly recommend this tour. Even though you can go to Dachau without a tour, I certainly felt that having a tour guide was very beneficial.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour and Jeff was very knowledgeable and informed about the events that happened in Dachau. He was very patient and answered all questions in a kind way.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide Steve was great. He provided a comprehensive history and guided us around the main highlights of Dachau. Time was available to wonder at the end of the tour before catching bus/train back.
I recommend doing this tour so that you gain a comprehensive understanding of what happened at Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Keith W. took us on a trip through time during our Dachau tour in Munich. He was informative, very knowledgeable and approachable, so no one felt too intimidated to ask questions. He delivered the tour with the perfect balance of dignity and insight, and it was a pleasure to be a part of.

A wonderful tour I would recommend for anyone.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message