Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 313 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was an essential part out of getting the most from a visit to Dachau. The guide was highly respectful while comprehensive in knowledge.
Any one visiting Munich must do the tour to appreciate what occurred and must not happen again.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

1st: Viator, please update the start times of these tours! Both were wrong and it was a little upsetting to arrive at the tour to find out that I missed the first one and had 2 hours til the second one on my first day in Munich.

But tour-wise....both were super informative and I was very happy to learn so much on these tours. Keith was great at Dachau, and I cannot remember the guide for the Walking Tour but he was truly an expert!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Scott was very well read on german history of hitler's time and provided us with a fluent summary of key events. He focused on giving a perspective of Dachau from a prisoner's point of view, from their arrival to the camp to their death/liberation. It was an eyeopening experience.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dachau Concentration Camp is a must visit. This camp was quite a haunting experience, not only seeing how the site but hearing the stories of hardship and torture that occurred. Our tour guide, Steve, brought the whole experience to life. As a World War II expert, he was able to impart information that you never come across in books and helped us understand the important role Dachau had in Nazi Germany. He shared with us first hand stories from survivors he has met throughout the years.

With only three days in Munich, I was uncertain about taking the time for this day trip. However, I'm glad I did the tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Jeff was an amazing guide. Very knowledgeable and I feel like we got the most out of Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an amazing tour. We felt so fortunate to have Jeff as our tour guide. He so knowledgeable and really made the tour for us. We feel we got so much out of the Dachau Concentration Camp because of this tour and Jeff that friends of ours who went on their own completely missed. Jeff detailed what life was like at the Camp from arrival to daily life, the Crematorium and Barrack X. This tour was incredibly moving and should not be missed. Jeff also mentioned he leads other tours and I wish we would have had time to go on the SS Hitler Tour in Munich. This tour is an A

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was knowledgable, personable, and gave us great insight into the horrors of Dachau. It was rainy and cold the entire time we were there, which really only made the experience more poignant as we learned what prisoners endured during those horrible years. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The visit to Dachau was was worth seeing, however the use of local public train and local bus, wasted time that could have been spent looking at more museum exhibits

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

First off, Sabine, our guide was super informative. Dachau is very somber and heavy but, everyone should see and experience it!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Had a great day with Ian as our guide. He is a very knowledgable and sensitive man who informs us thoroughly and completely without bias towards any of the ethnic or cultural groups intered at Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour guide and very informative. Even though this was a very sad place to be, this was one of our top events when we were in Germany. Dachau is a must see.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Hippoplatypus
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

A very insightful trip on the history of Dachau concentration camp. However, do not expect a 'ghost tour'.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I highly recommend this tour, and if it's possible to request a particular guide, ask for Alun. He was knowledgeable, sensitive, thorough, and interesting. You can get yourself to Dachau without too much difficulty on your own, but taking the tour was so much more meaningful than it would have been without a good guide.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Dachau Concentration Camp Tour was a very moving experience, one not easily forgotten. Very interesting and an important lesson for my teenage children (not to mention ourselves). Sabri, our tour guide, was very informative and happy to answer our many varied questions. Not a "fun" day out but a sombre learning day. I would highly recommend this tour for all ages. It was an easy journey from the Marienplatz in Munich to Dachau.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour is well worth money visiting Dachau is actually free and I would highly recommend it. Jeff was great and extremely knowledgeable about everything that we were seeing. If you go solo, there is an audio tour you can purchase but its not the same as being able to ask questions and getting a more in-depth commentary on the site and its history. Everyone should visit one of these memorials given the chance and the tour brings even more perspective to an appalling piece of human history. MJ

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Achim was a fantastic tour guide. He was very knowledge about Dachau the Concentration Camp and Dachau the city. He provided great insight to what was going on to the country, and the prisoners of the camp. After the tour was over, Achim came to each one of us to see if we needed any recommendations for places to see, or eat during the remainder of our trip. I would gladly book another tour if I knew Achim was going to be the guide.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Would highly recommend this tour. Was sad, but very informative. Our guide was excellent and did a great job at explaining the history of Dachau, and the various aspects of the camp.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was very inclusive and thorough, especially for the price! We paid 22 euros for the tour. The tour guide, Nancy, was very knowledgable on Dachau as well as present day facts about it. The train and bus we had to take to get to the camp was quick and easy to navigate. I felt like we had enough time at the camp, and Nancy really explained everything so well. The tour was about a half day tour, which was nice because you could still do other things that day. There are no extra fees which is very nice because on other tours in Munich we would have to pay entrance fees and transportation tickets during the tour. Would 100 recommend this to family and friends!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We visited Dachau. Our tour guide, Keith W. was amazing. He was very informative and helpful. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour of Dachau was a truly moving experience. Our tour guide Allen was very, very informative and knew the answer to every question we asked of him and gave additional insight as well. The tour was very well organized and the logistics were perfect. We would definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip to Dachau was very good. Our guide, Keith, was super knowledgeable and made the short tour extremely worthwhile!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were met on time at the place arranged. The tour guide was fantastic! He was very knowledgeable about the site. He covered the history of Dachau from WWI to its liberation at the end of WWII. He approached the tour from the perspective of the prisoner experience. He asked thought provoking questions of the group to further enhance our understanding of the site. Very professional and receptive to questions. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Dachau is a must see. The importance of learning not to repeat the past cannot be over told. This was our second trip and it was just as powerful.The not so great part was our tour guide, Jeff. He seemed to be having an off day (??). It started out as not a small group! We were thirty+ It was a nightmare of long walks (DO NOT TAKE THIS TOUR IF WALKING DISTANCES IS AN ISSUE) Jeff had us rush to catch the public bus and jam all of us in after we got off the train and then walk all over the place to return to the train. The tour made it seem as if they had their own bus to meet the train - well they don't. Jeff kept forgetting what he was going to say and there were long uncomfortable pauses between sentences. Perhaps Jeff has done this tour too many times? In contrast to the Royal Castle tour we had taken a few days before which was perfection, this was a bust transportation wise.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The guide was extremely knowledgeable. In addition having an intimate knowledge of Dachau was able to describe the events taking place around the world during that time period which added a great deal of additional color. The guide efficiently lead the group through the various forms of transportation, (train and bus) to arrive at our destination. The guide did a great job describing the camp and even allowed time for private reflection. The camp is very well maintained. I highly recommend this tour and feel that everyone should experience this firsthand in order to ensure that the events that took place, never occur again.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

I gave this a lower rating as Viator mis-booked this tour and we were only able to do one of the tours on the selected day and we chose Dachau. Looking back, you can easliy do Dachau on your own and have more time to see everything and the exhibits and not feel rushed, it is easy to get to and then you can go at your own pace. Looking back, we wish now we would have done the Third Reich Walking Tour and done Dachau on our own.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message