Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Dachau Concentration Camp

Dachau Concentration Camp was the first of its kind opened in Germany by the Nazi government in 1933, and it served as a model for later concentration camps. Designed to hold Jews, political prisoners, and other "undesirables," the camp is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 268 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My son Anthony and I took a trip to Germany, HE really wanted to goto Dachau, I was not sure if I wanted too, but went. I learned so much more going there, than I learned in school years ago. IT is very emotional for many reasons, and for various personal reasons. I would definately recommend this tour, it's part of our history and worth going there and seeing it for yourself. It was a very humbling experience and one I just can't explain in words.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The actual tour was carried out by Radius. One tour guide for Dachau and a different chap for Munich. Two different styles but excellent results from each. Both gentlemen were personable, knowledgeable and charming. Would repeat without hesitation.

My wife and I grabbed an excellent lunch in the Haptbanhof in between the tours at a German restaurant tucked away in the back area next to a Chinese/Japanese food stand. Terrific food and a nice rest.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an excellent tour. Our tour guide, Sabri, presented the information well and answered many questions. He was an engaging speaker on a difficult subject. He spoke not only of what had happened in Dachau so long ago, but also about how young Germans feel about it today. We would recommend this tour to any one making the journey to Munich.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was excellent! He was very knowledgeable as well as respectful of the circumstances associated with Dachau.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was handled and presented so well by our guide Diana, very professional, helpful and nice. If you are going to see Dachau you couldn't do any better than this!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We thought the tour to Dachau was excellent, go with a guide . Our guide Keith was so good and we learned so much going with him. If we had gone without him , we would have just wondered the camp . We saw lots of tourist stop and listen to him because of his knowledge .

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Two brilliant tour guide's with exceptional knowledge and great people skills. Dachau as to be seen while in Munich just the history behind it alone. Walking tour very interesting and a great way to see Munich.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a very informative tour, our guide Kevin was fantastic. He was knowledgable and knew exactly how to keep the tour going smoothly. I would recommend this tour for anyone interested in the history surrounding dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Firstly, I thought Craig was wonderful. So informative and also very respectful towards the victims of Dachau and the holocaust I general.
Andy, the Scottish tour guide for the Third Reich Tour, was also very good and knew his stuff and added a bit of humour in to it now and again, which was great!!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour of Dachau was very informative and we were very pleased we chose this tour. One, and only one negative was the time spent standing outside main gates. Though the information was thorough, just think it was far too long. Probably less narrative and more actually seeing would be better.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If you like history or not EVERYONE should take this tour. The Dachau portion is very humbling and makes you appreciate the progress the world has made. First half of the tour was at Dachau and the second half of the day was the Third Reich Walking tour. This was also very informative and really interesting to see. Our tour guide Levi was one of the best tour guides I have had. I would highly recommend Levi as he was a fountain of information and really cared about the topic. This would be a good tour with a bad tour guide, but having such an outstanding tour guide as Levi it made things that much better. Again I highly recommend this tour and if you are smart you would ask for Levi...

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was extremely well-versed in the history of the camp. While it was in many ways depressing and unusual to understand the horrors of Dachau, the 'dark tourism' of Germany has a purpose, and each of us having a chance to recount this history should do so. Therefore, I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I've been to Munich on several occasions and this is the first time I've gone to Dachau, it was a overwhelming experience. I had been to Auschwitz earlier this year so I was interested in seeing Dachau. I was disappointed in the lack of respect people showed. There were many dogs in and around, People playing with them, and allowing them to do their business on such a sacred ground. Overall I was moved at the knowledge of our English speaking guide and the care she took to cover all aspects of the history.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Dachau Concentration Camp part of this trip was excellent - really well organised and Craig was great -
very informative and looked after everybody on the tour really well.
I felt that the Third Reich Walking tour with Keith from Scotland was rather rushed but this may have been due to the weather - it rained very heavily.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good historical tour. The guide for Dachau was very knowledgeable and was able to present additional information. A little trouble keeping the group together...not his fault. Buses to and from the train station were jam-packed. Walking tour guide was exceptional in his knowledge of this history! He really walked us around the city and presented some good information in a way that had us hanging on every word!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message