Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

English Garden (Englischer Garten)

The Englischer Garten, German for "English Garden", is one of the world's largest urban parks - even larger than New York's Central Park. Named for the English style of landscape gardening, the park is popular with locals and visitors alike ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fortunately Munich is a safe city for cyclists because we didn't get offered any high viz vests, helmets, nor any advice as to the road rules. We just got on our bikes and went. Stopped often for a chat from Jeff (our guide) as to what we were looking at. Informative. Great way to see the city. English garden is impressive. Don't forget to look for the surfers in the stream.
Beer tour was much more enjoyable than expected. Austin (our guide) was funny, but informative. German beer is very nice. We drank beer for the next 4 weeks while in Europe!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Bavarian Beer and Food Evening

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We did this tour on our first full day in Munich as a family of 3 (including a teenage son) and it provided a great overview for the remainder of our Munich stay. Iahn was our tour guide and he was terrific with intimate knowledge of Munich history and great stories to tell with each stop. Bicycling is mostly easy and flat in Munich with one or two small hills above the English Garden (Munich's large city park) We covered a lot of ground in 3.5 hours so do recommend that you are in basic biking shape as the pace can be a bit brisk at times (but this was too our liking).

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Tour was excellent. The only problem, which was significant, was finding the bus stop. We wanted to start as close as possible to our hotel and searched for quite a while before finding the stop. We suggest you include an address for the different stops. We were at the Schwabing/English Garden stop. We experienced the same challenge in Berlin and to a lesser extent in Prague.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a great way to get around the town and see what places you want to explore more. We got off at the Royal Gardens, Olympic park and Marienplatz. The Royal Gardens were absolutely beautiful and worth exploring.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour absolutely made me fall in love with Muinch. We booked this tour for our last full day in the city, and it was amazing. Our tour guide Iain and his trusty sidekick Bernie did a tremendous job. Iain was lighthearted and funny, but he knew a lot about the places he showed us. We were lucky and had a small group (there was three of us, plus Iain) so it was easy to chat and ask questions and take it all in. Iain made sure the group was safe and always behind him. Plus how cool is it to go on a bike tour with a dog that rides along in the basket pretty much the whole time, harasses passers-by and eats everything people give him at the local beer garden. They are both cool dudes. Plus, Iain's bike is a postal bike - how cool is that? Cannot wait to get back to Munich. I would do this tour 100x over!

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Best way to see the wonderful city and heritage of Munich. We recommend the Grand tour. Started the tour in the outer circle (BMW museum, Olympic city, English Gardens) and then took the inner circle. The buses are every 20-30mins. Staying in a hotel near the main Munich train station made the trip very convenient. The trip starts opposite the main Munich train station. But you can pickup hop-on/off the bus at any of the 10 designated stops. Thanks to Viator, the trip was well-organized and they have a great partnership with the the best tour operators. We booked 4 different tours through Viator in 2 different countries, and all the tours were well-organized.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The Munich bike tour was the best tour of our whole trip. Iain and Bernie were our giudes. Iain was funny and energetic about the city. He took us around and made us feel like we were just like the locals. His dog Bernie was so sweet, just kickin it in the basket. We stopped at a beer garden ate some food, seen some naked dude at the park, watched some crazy people surf in the park. The tour was an excellent speed, and not a strenuous bike ride. I fell in love with Munich and the state of Bavaria. When we come back to Europe, we are taking this tour again. Thanks Iain for such a memorable bike ride. Also the bikes were perfect.comfortable, they even gave us our own baskets. Just talking about this tour makes me want to go back!! sniff sniff.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Jarrod, our tour guide, lead us through Munich on a nice easy paced, safe bike ride. The day was beautiful. Lunch in the English Garden was very nice. We learned alot about the history of Munich.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Wow!! Yolanda was perfect. Full of life and energy. Lots of info. The info from the 2nd WW was fascinating. She had "2" surprises to show us that is not mentioned on Viator. I won't spoil her surprise. It was perfect! This was a beautiful city and perfect way to see it. I wish we had done this in the other major cities. We ended at a beautiful lively Beer Garden for lunch (not the chinese beer garden). There was a live band playing and what an ending to a beautiful ride. Don't miss this tour of Munich!!

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The bike tour was great fun and a really good way to see parts of Munich, like the English garden, the Hofgarten, the "Welle" and the river banks, which would be too far on foot. Our guide, Gertraud gave us lots of interesting information about the history, landmarks and life of the city of Munich, which would have taken a long time to study in a guide book. I really enjoyed the tour and felt I saw more of the city in 3.5 hours than I had done the whole of the day before on foot.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

John
USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

At English Garden bus was full and we were told a second bus was less than 5 minutes away, it was more like 25 minutes. I waited 40 minutes in the rain for a bus.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Our family of 9 had a great time on this tour. The guide was excellent but completely unconcerned about time. I think we got back about an hour an a half later than scheduled. Spent a lot of time at the Chinese Garden which made it quite relaxing. The group was too large.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Nice orientation tour. Be sure to mark on your map where the beer gardens are, then revisit later!

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2011

It was really not good. We were never told by the guide that if we wanted to tour the BMW factory it had to be done by a certain time. Also when dropped off there we were told to just take the walking bridge over to the Olympic Stadium and to meet by the bathroom area. Knowone we asked knew where this pick up point was and we spent well over two hours trying to find it and then just returning to the BMW pickup point that we knew. Our first guide gave very little info or history as we drove by areas. We did visit the Palace for the one hour stop. Only our last tour guide gave any real info or history that was useful We had wanted to go to the Beer Gardens but she told us that by this time in the afternoon we would not be able to make it back to the pickup and it was a long walk and probably most would be closed by this time in the day. It was a real waste of money and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This is by far the best way to explore Munich. As it was Easter Sunday, the city was very quiet, which was perfect for cycling. The English Garden was definitely not quiet, and our guide, Ian, was more than happy to sit with us for a couple of hours in the garden eating, drinking and chatting. We felt that Ian read the group extremely well and tailored the tour accordingly. Munich is a lovely city, and I cannot think of a better way to explore it than on a bike.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message