• USD ($)
  • English
Herreninsel is the larger of two inhabited islands in Chiemsee, a Bavarian lake near the Austrian border. While it features a monastery which dates back to the 8th century, the site of the post-war conference which drafted West Germany’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely breathtaking! You really get to see how beautiful Bavaria is when you do this day trip! When you go to all the different Islands by boat you really see what a gorgeous place this truly is!

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This palace has to be seen to be believed. The amazing rooms and furniture in the palace, along with the accompanying story were incredible. The beautiful steam train and boat trip out to the island really added to the experience, and the food in the Monastery restaurant was impeccable!

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A surprising amount was included in the tour - could have done with an extra hour to see all that was on offer on Herrenchiemsee.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent!
The guide, Franz, was wonderful.
We al had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Elzette V
South Africa

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Visiting the palace was worthwhile as the gardens are beautiful and it almost surpasses Versailles. The only negative was perhaps since we went on a Sunday that the guide Yolanda was not that keen on spending the full alloted time on the island. As a result we did not visit the monastry.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A chance to see one of King Ludwig II's multiple construction projects. This was quite unique in that it was only partially complete on the inside but completed on the exterior. The hall of mirrors truly rivaled Versailles. The multiple boat trips on the lake were a real treat. The Frauinsel (Island) was very interesting. Great place to have lunch and enjoy being in the middle of a very large Bavarian lake. Our guide was fantastic. The vendor did a great job on all of the tours we took with them.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The tour group was small this time. Only 11 of us. Our guide was very knowledgable. She guided us through all the nooks and crannies of the castle and museum. She took great care to ensure she knew where all of us were. On the island, she showed us a bit of it. Made certain we all knew where and what time to meet. I felt comfortable with this tour. The end was rushed. The ferries were running behind schedule, it was summer, and she was concerned we would miss our train back to Munich. She demonstratedbthe foresight and called for cabs for all of us, missed the steam engine for the return trip, we all made the train in time. I would recommend this tour because it was a small group tour.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip was excellent. The Palace was more beautiful inside than Linderhof and the island location lovely. The guide was very good and
the trip was well organized with the train, then an old steam train, ferry and the Palace tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Excellent guide (Adam). Worthwhile if you've done everything else in the Munich area.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

I have booked tours through Viator many times, and I have participated on Radius Tours in Munich on many occasions. This tour was conducted by Radius, but as interesting as it sounds, it was most disappointing. While the guide was pleasant enough, there was no more than 3 minutes of historical discussion on the palace, King Ludwig, the other sites on the nearby islands. The tour was more of a "see it yourself" with a guide to get you to the train and back. Most disappointing.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Went at the wrong the of the year since winter refused to leave us. The gardens of the Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee was bare and the fountains were still covered. Maybe if I went there 2-4 weeks later it might have been just a little bit warmer and the fountains would have been uncovered. Still viewing the interior of the castle was worth the trip.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The palace was great. The boat ride was nice . Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The cog railway was fun. The train and scenery were nice.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

The places we visited where great. The tour leader a dissapointment and should retire. had i known at this stage she would be on the tour we booked to Salzburg i would have cancelled it.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Markus, our guide was superb! We had great weather for our travels,. The boat trips on the Chiemsee were wonderful. because of the sunshine and warm temps. Markus did a fantastic job of communicating in German and English..switching back and forth every few words so that everyone was always informed. We loved the whole experience; of course, the castle was magnificent, as were the grounds. The tour went smoothly. Would not have liked it if there had been rain, as there was so much outside activity in addition to the inside castle viewing.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message