Herreninsel is the larger of two inhabited islands in Chiemsee, a Bavarian lake near the Austrian border. While it features a monastery which dates back to the 8th century, the site of the post-war conference which drafted West Germany’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The absolute BEST trip so far, thanks in the largest part to Roland, the GREATEST guide you could hope for...knowledgable in the history and a charming story-teller. The trip itself is fabulous, train from Munich, steam train from Prien to Chiemsee (too much fun) and then by boats between the islands...WOW! Scenic, varied and historic...what more could you ask for?

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Beautiful scenery with the Alps in the background . Neuschwanstein Castle tour was only 30 minutes. Not sure worth 4 hours on the train and we were minus one family whom held us up twice.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: 2-Day Trip from Munich Including Neuschwanstein Castle and Herrenchiemsee Palace

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

the place itself is really good to visit but go with a good travel agent or go on your own.The lady guide was rushing things and she was more bothered about covering the spots rather than enjoying with some time spending at each place. there was a strike (train) but they had no alternative or contingency plans and we had to change multiple times to get to the place.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

If this trip were my first time with Viator I would have not repeated the experience nor recommended the company.
Unlike my first trip with viator the guide was totally unprofessional, did not share much (if not all) about the history or cultural hints of the trip.
The only concern was about logistics (getting us from A to B was already challenging enough).
About the logistics, too, the guide was unable to manage the time in an efficient manner so to allow the group to spend the adequate time in the gardens, but was rather interested in getting us to the lunch destination (at 3pm in the afternoon!!!).
Having experienced the services of Viartor and being extremely satisfied with the guide to the Newshwanstein castle, I am aware the disappointment is only due to the guide itself.
For my next trip I will make sure to consult the agency directly so to be assigned to a specific guide.
What a shame as a second try!

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip! The castle and surrounding area were beautiful! Our guide, Austin, was very friendly and entertaining. He gave some great background on the castle and King Ludwig II, and made sure we got exactly where we needed to go. He was organized and made sure we always had seats even when the trains got crowded. I would recommend this tour to anyone who loves history, and even to the ones that simply like beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: 2-Day Trip from Munich Including Neuschwanstein Castle and Herrenchiemsee Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If you've not been to Versailles you won't need to bother once you've visited this amazing palace. On a smaller scale admittedly (except for the hall of mirrors which is actually larger) but the decor and the replication of the palace of Versailles is excellent and breathtaking. The fact that it is also on a lovely wooded island reached by boat and a short but sweet steam engine train ride just adds to the appeal of this tour.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Had a wonderful time. Out tour guides we excellent and very informative

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: 2-Day Trip from Munich Including Neuschwanstein Castle and Herrenchiemsee Palace

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This review is only for the Neuschwanstein Castle as I didn't enjoy it much and switched my next trip to Dachau, which happily they were willing to do for me. If you're into castles, it is breathtakingly beautiful. However, it is a horribly long day-longer than it needed to be. It could be done in 6 hours easily but the entire day of this tour is about 10.

The tour guides were great, no problem there. However, for a 10hr day, I'd recommend packing some sort of food with you. The only options there are really, really repulsive/disgusting with very limited options. And, if you're a healthy eater, you may as well fast for the day because it will gross you out even more. And beware of all the tourists there. If you hate crowds, simply don't go. They were horrendous the month I went (August). Skip it if you aren't truly into castles.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: 2-Day Trip from Munich Including Neuschwanstein Castle and Herrenchiemsee Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our interest in visiting Herrenchiemsee Palace was as a result of a recent British TV programme concerning the palaces of King Ludwig II. We were extremely pleased with the tour that Viator provided to Herrenchiemsee. Our guide, Franz, took full responsibility for the tour and was very knowledgeable about the history of the palace and the character of King Ludwig II. I feel this insight enhanced the tour greatly and enabled us to understand and appreciate what we were seeing. Thanks again.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Maxine rushed everybody through the whole trip...while it was raining it stil was not necessary to make it rushed because there were many things to see and fotograph on the inside. Very knowledgeable though and a great group.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip is remarkably interesting and Herrenchiemsee is in my opinion the most moving and interesting of King Ludwig's "castles". The guide's English was poor. He was clearly bored to death and proved unwilling to provide information of any kind beyond: "look to your right, there's a nice church".

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, but fast-paced. Sabine is a great tour guide and her little dog makes it easy to find her in a crowd. If you have to pick only one of these two castles to tour then Herrenchiemsee is by far the prettiest inside and includes a day on the lake as you tour to the little islands that house the convent and the monastery as well. Beautiful statues everywhere at Herrenchiemsee and the interior is amazing.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: 2-Day Trip from Munich Including Neuschwanstein Castle and Herrenchiemsee Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely breathtaking! You really get to see how beautiful Bavaria is when you do this day trip! When you go to all the different Islands by boat you really see what a gorgeous place this truly is!

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This palace has to be seen to be believed. The amazing rooms and furniture in the palace, along with the accompanying story were incredible. The beautiful steam train and boat trip out to the island really added to the experience, and the food in the Monastery restaurant was impeccable!

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A surprising amount was included in the tour - could have done with an extra hour to see all that was on offer on Herrenchiemsee.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message