Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Herrenchiemsee

Herreninsel is the larger of two inhabited islands in Chiemsee, a Bavarian lake near the Austrian border. While it features a monastery which dates back to the 8th century, the site of the post-war conference which drafted West Germany’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful day out from Munich...the Palace was all that I expected and the second island was a pleasant, unexpected experience. And our guide, Maxine, could not have been better...well-informed and very, very helpful when we had a slight hitch in plans.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Jo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Maxine our tour guide was wonderful, explaining every step of the way. The castle is awesome and the steam train ride very quaint. The boat trip across to both islands was lovely. Highly recommend a hat and sunscreen if going in the summer or hot weather. All in all a great day out.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Renee S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Franz, our tour guide, was amazing. He was the favorite of the tour guides that I had had. If I could figure out how to request specifically him, I would do it! I also enjoyed the trip and the sights. Wonderful trip.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

Ee Him O Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth the trip - good experience of the steam railway to reach the harbor to take the boat ride to the island.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

gailvrooman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Early September, 2015, Munich was preparing to receive its first trainload of refugees so the tour company rented a comfy bus to take us to Neuschwanstein. Our guide, Anya, was informative, organized, humourous, and energetic, a real asset to the company. Traveling by coach instead of train meant that we were able to take more scenic routes which made the journey more enjoyable. The walk to the castle is not that difficult and we had plenty of time to make our way up the hill. Neuschwanstein has its own tour guides who escort you through the castle efficiently. Anya's advice prior to the tour was to look up and without that advice many wonderful ceilings and features would have been missed. Approaching Munich on the way home, we got caught in traffic, but Anya kept us well entertained, even showing us photos of the new dirndl she would wear to Oktoberfest! It was a very enjoyable and worthwhile daytrip.
The following day we went to Herrenchiemsee. Once again, the refugee situation affected our departure as usual platforms were relegated to refugee arrivals.. Our guide, Roland, led us on a merry chase through the train station trying to find the train to Herrenchiemsee. The ferry rides on Chiemsee was pleasant as we once again had sunny weather. We were fortunate to experience the fun ride by steam engine on both legs of the trip. The tour of the castle was more relaxed than at Neuschwanstein and it was lovely to wander around the gardens and fountains. Our guide was more shepherd than guide as he was dealing with a group of people of vastly differing mobility capabilities. Somehow, he didn't lose anyone! Despite the problems encountered, my friend and I both preferred the Herrenchiemsee tour. We especially enjoyed walking around the island, stopping in artisan shops, restaurants, and park. There was even a real beer garden, with beer bottles planted in rows in the soil.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: 2-Day Trip from Munich Including Neuschwanstein Castle and Herrenchiemsee Palace

wjmeyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were a smaller group on the bus so it was much easier for our guide. She was very good in telling us about the history and giving us suggestions at our destinations for sights to see. Small details made our trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

Diane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely fantastic day, the Palace was amazing as was our guide Roland. Enjoyed the train journey and little steam train and ferries, couldn't have been better.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

David A G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide, Monica, was very knowledgeable about the history of the area . I became very interested in the life of King Ludwig and am now reading up on this interesting man. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

P J V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The day was superb and the sights were too. The day would have been better had we not been shepherded to an inferior restaurant for lunch when there were clearly choices. Also the promised free time never came to pass as we were rushed off the island and back to wait in a cafe near Prien station. Why was that?

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Airin C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

unfortunately it was raining on the day which made the tour less enjoyable could not hear the commentary that well

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

Patricia Mary N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Did not pick up on paying for entrance fees, so I used up my euros faster than I wanted. Tour was worth it, however.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

Sups2004 France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

In one word...awesome
Fraueninsel is the idyllic isle and Herrenchiemsee the castle that one can only marvel at.
Excellent guide

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

Roger S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great trip. You get to see another side of Munich and gain further insight into King Ludwig 2. Patrick our guide looked after us very well. It is a long day and a bit drawn out but that is due to the train schedule. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

davidbrenge

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Lunch was too late and the Nun's island is not much fun on a wet day , Waiter seemed very off putting to be doing lunch at 15.00

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

cally h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

For the Neuschwanstein tour it was very cold and rainy, so unfortunately the bus that takes you up the hill to the castle was not running and we had to walk the entire way. Although it was unfortunate to have to walk uphill in the rain the castle was definitely worth it. This company was fantastic!!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: 2-Day Trip from Munich Including Neuschwanstein Castle and Herrenchiemsee Palace

Stan J Foote Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting, the tour was very good. Our guide was very good as well as interesting. very good at co-ordinating everything by getting everyone on the boats and train on time. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Doug O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It is the most beautiful of the Bavarian castles of King Ludwig. The travel takes a bit of time to get there, but it is well worth the time. The travel director we had was delightful, informative, and always helpful. In spite of a bit of rain, it was a perfect day.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Gerry W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip very well guided by the extremely efficient and pleasant Yolanda. The weather wasn't great on the day, but the combination of train, steam train and boat made for a super day out. The palace itself is a delight and the interior stunning. All in all, well worth the price.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Wilson Fok

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee, either inside or outisde construction and design, is such an amazing castle

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Palace and grounds were amazing, and they rounded out our visits to the other Ludwig II castles. The tour of the palace was short, but the rooms were gorgeous. Maxine, our guide was very good, and the size of the group only 12 was excellent. Maxine also showed us a great local restaurant at the little island we visited.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Allan G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nice Dayton trop. Earlton on seras on so not Bush or crowdwd. Time to vies and se sights.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very well organised using train for most of the journey. With Neuschwanstein you also take a bus to get you to the little township below the castle site. With Herrenchiemsee you also get to go on a steam train and ferry as part of the experience of getting to the palace. Both are worth seeing and unique in their own way because of their setting and styles. If you get a chance do Linderhof as well. That is the smallest of the palaces, but it is complete, almost 'homely' compared to the others and it is where King Ludwig spent most of his time.
The views from Neuschwanstein are amazing! Herrenchiemsee has a lovely village and abbey nearby to visit. Our guides were wonderful, friendly and accommodating. Very pleasant experience. Great way to see some of countryside as well.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: 2-Day Trip from Munich Including Neuschwanstein Castle and Herrenchiemsee Palace

CestJacque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The absolute BEST trip so far, thanks in the largest part to Roland, the GREATEST guide you could hope for...knowledgable in the history and a charming story-teller. The trip itself is fabulous, train from Munich, steam train from Prien to Chiemsee (too much fun) and then by boats between the islands...WOW! Scenic, varied and historic...what more could you ask for?

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Linda K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Beautiful scenery with the Alps in the background . Neuschwanstein Castle tour was only 30 minutes. Not sure worth 4 hours on the train and we were minus one family whom held us up twice.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: 2-Day Trip from Munich Including Neuschwanstein Castle and Herrenchiemsee Palace

Sbm

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

the place itself is really good to visit but go with a good travel agent or go on your own.The lady guide was rushing things and she was more bothered about covering the spots rather than enjoying with some time spending at each place. there was a strike (train) but they had no alternative or contingency plans and we had to change multiple times to get to the place.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message