Herreninsel is the larger of two inhabited islands in Chiemsee, a Bavarian lake near the Austrian border. While it features a monastery which dates back to the 8th century, the site of the post-war conference which drafted West Germany’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Had a wonderful time. Out tour guides we excellent and very informative

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: 2-Day Trip from Munich Including Neuschwanstein Castle and Herrenchiemsee Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our interest in visiting Herrenchiemsee Palace was as a result of a recent British TV programme concerning the palaces of King Ludwig II. We were extremely pleased with the tour that Viator provided to Herrenchiemsee. Our guide, Franz, took full responsibility for the tour and was very knowledgeable about the history of the palace and the character of King Ludwig II. I feel this insight enhanced the tour greatly and enabled us to understand and appreciate what we were seeing. Thanks again.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Maxine rushed everybody through the whole trip...while it was raining it stil was not necessary to make it rushed because there were many things to see and fotograph on the inside. Very knowledgeable though and a great group.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip is remarkably interesting and Herrenchiemsee is in my opinion the most moving and interesting of King Ludwig's "castles". The guide's English was poor. He was clearly bored to death and proved unwilling to provide information of any kind beyond: "look to your right, there's a nice church".

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, but fast-paced. Sabine is a great tour guide and her little dog makes it easy to find her in a crowd. If you have to pick only one of these two castles to tour then Herrenchiemsee is by far the prettiest inside and includes a day on the lake as you tour to the little islands that house the convent and the monastery as well. Beautiful statues everywhere at Herrenchiemsee and the interior is amazing.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: 2-Day Trip from Munich Including Neuschwanstein Castle and Herrenchiemsee Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely breathtaking! You really get to see how beautiful Bavaria is when you do this day trip! When you go to all the different Islands by boat you really see what a gorgeous place this truly is!

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This palace has to be seen to be believed. The amazing rooms and furniture in the palace, along with the accompanying story were incredible. The beautiful steam train and boat trip out to the island really added to the experience, and the food in the Monastery restaurant was impeccable!

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A surprising amount was included in the tour - could have done with an extra hour to see all that was on offer on Herrenchiemsee.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent!
The guide, Franz, was wonderful.
We al had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Elzette V
South Africa

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Visiting the palace was worthwhile as the gardens are beautiful and it almost surpasses Versailles. The only negative was perhaps since we went on a Sunday that the guide Yolanda was not that keen on spending the full alloted time on the island. As a result we did not visit the monastry.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A chance to see one of King Ludwig II's multiple construction projects. This was quite unique in that it was only partially complete on the inside but completed on the exterior. The hall of mirrors truly rivaled Versailles. The multiple boat trips on the lake were a real treat. The Frauinsel (Island) was very interesting. Great place to have lunch and enjoy being in the middle of a very large Bavarian lake. Our guide was fantastic. The vendor did a great job on all of the tours we took with them.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The tour group was small this time. Only 11 of us. Our guide was very knowledgable. She guided us through all the nooks and crannies of the castle and museum. She took great care to ensure she knew where all of us were. On the island, she showed us a bit of it. Made certain we all knew where and what time to meet. I felt comfortable with this tour. The end was rushed. The ferries were running behind schedule, it was summer, and she was concerned we would miss our train back to Munich. She demonstratedbthe foresight and called for cabs for all of us, missed the steam engine for the return trip, we all made the train in time. I would recommend this tour because it was a small group tour.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip was excellent. The Palace was more beautiful inside than Linderhof and the island location lovely. The guide was very good and
the trip was well organized with the train, then an old steam train, ferry and the Palace tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Excellent guide (Adam). Worthwhile if you've done everything else in the Munich area.

Doing what: Herrenchiemsee Palace Rail Trip from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message