Germans' love of beer is unrivaled worldwide, and Munich is home to Bavaria's most celebrated beer hall: Hofbrauhaus. Formerly the royal brewery for the Kingdom, Hofbrauhaus is now owned by the state government and also has the second largest tent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

LeAnn A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Although we had an enjoyable evening, it was not as advertised. We did not go to any museum and learn any history of beer making. The tour company was scrambling at the last minute to find places to take us, the only set reservation was where we had food but still paid for our beer. As for ending at the Hofbrauhaus, that was a joke no reservation and long lines to get in, we literally stopped OUTSIDE and were told if you want to get in you'll have to wait in line!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a fabulous time, though after leaving the Hofbrauhaus evrywhere else felt a little rushed. However in the scheme of things this mattered little a highly recommended tour if you can get on it.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Tim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, highly recommended! Food was great! Beer was great! Learned some history and met some great people. Ending the tour at the Hofbrauhaus was the bonus allowing some of us to experience one of the most traditional beer halls in the world.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Ray T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

I will review in four parts. The bus tour of Munich at night was OK but due to the rain it was hard to see. Also repeating everything in English and German became tiring. The Hofbrauhaus dinner was good with a reserved table in a very crowded beer hall. This was the best part of the tour. Going to the top of the Olympic Tower would have been great if not for the wind and rain. Having a cocktail in a nightclub was Ok but could have been left out. It was not that great. Overall the trip was well guided and worth the price. Going to the dinner in the beer hall would have been enough to make it worthwhile.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Madison United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

I would not recommend this tour and it was definitely not worth 74.25. The bus ride to Hofbrauhaus was ok there were facts given along the ride. During dinner at Hofbrauhaus everyone pretty much did there own thing, I didn't quite understand what was going on neither did my sister this left us to coming up with our own interpretations on what was happening. Afterwards we rushed over to the Olympic Tower, at the top it was very cold and there wasn't much to see. Then we went to a very conservative hotel Hilary Clinton stays there lol and we had a quiet drink and that was it, this definitely was not a club environment. During the drink me and the rest of the people on the tour discussed how this tour definitely did not meet our expectations and how we could have just went and had dinner at Hofbrauhaus by ourselves and ordered a drink. I would not recommend this tour to anyone under 50! I was sadly disappointed...

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Irene USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an awesome night! The Hofbrauhaus had great food and amazing entertainment. I especially loved the atmosphere inside the beer hall. Everyone was enjoying themselves in there! One of my favorite parts was when the chef came out with several musicians and started serving pig right in front of my table. Seeing Munich from the top of the Olympic Tower after our dinner was wonderful too!

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

fredrikadfeldt

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Well organized with a tour bus taking us to the different destinations. I enjoyed the vegetarian dinner at Hofbrauhaus selection of mushrooms in a risotto. Typical German beer hall music that set the tone for the evening didn't disappoint either. The steins were flowing wild and it was Gemutlichkeit to 100. After a brief visit to the Olympic Tower, the final stop was a jazz club at a hotel called Bayerischer Hof. I decided to stay behind when the rest of the group were taken back by the bus to the starting point. Had a really good time practicing my German with the locals.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Vanessa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We started out at the tour office having a beer, took the train and visited the beer museum, got many samples of different types of beer, and got a great selection of Bavarian food at the Hofbrauhaus Keller. It was a great tour and I'd recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Kevin V

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

couldn't see anything on from the bus ride or when at the Olympic park and tower. The only thing that makes the tour worth it was dinner at the Hofbrauhaus. We had the best table up against the stage and the food was good. Atmosphere at the hofbrauhaus is second to none.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Casey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Coming into this tour, I wasn’t sure what to expect – we’d seen both positive and negative reviews, but assumed those reviews were based on expectations (for instance, negative reviews for the Olympic Tower portion b/c it was too foggy – not something Viator or the tour guide could control… Or the ‘night club’ portion where there wasn’t enough seating, it was too loud, etc.). So we tried to go into this tour with an open mind and were pleasantly surprised with the outcome. Reiner, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and passionate about the history and culture of the city. He was more than happy to answer all of our questions and more than tolerable with our group when we took part in the bier consumption at the Hofbrauhaus dinner. The Hofbrauhaus was an absolute blast – we had a table along the perimeter of the room, so we had a perfect vantage point for taking it all in.

One caveat to our tour, they altered the order of the tour b/c it was Oktoberfest – we went to the night club after Hofbrauhaus, but before the Olympic Tower, so although we had a private room and it was a very pleasant atmosphere in the night club, the club/dancing portion hadn’t technically opened yet – we got there around 9 and it didn’t open until 10 for afterhours/live music – there were people eating dinner, but not the typical night club atmosphere you think of – at least from an ‘American’ perspective.

After the night club, we were bused to the Olympic Tower for an afterhours tour – we had a clear night, so it was very neat to see the city at night from that perspective. The Oktoberfest grounds were the highlight, with the Ferris wheel and roller coasters, all lit up off in the distance – very cool experience overall.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Candace V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was awesome and would do it again. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. The Hofbrauhaus and the top of the Olympic Tower to see Munich at night was amazing. This tour is a must do. I only gave it 4 stars because they could have skipped the night club.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Jacqueline G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Definitely worth doing. The Hofbrauhaus was fun as was the trip to Olympic Park and the ride to the top of the tower for a beautiful view of Munich at night. A nightcap at a famous hotel was a plus. Good time, good food

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Bridget W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I went to Munich for Oktoberfest and knew that I had no chance of getting into the Hofbrauhaus alone prompting me to book this tour. While being at the Hofbrauhaus was fantastic and the pre-ordering of food made for a smooth evening, there were many things that I would not recommend this tour because of. There were three parties in our group that were left at the resturaunt, one ran the streets of Munich looking for the bus to catch up to us. I even left at the same moment as the guide and lost him on the stairs, barely finding him again once outside and guessed they went back to the place the bus dropped us off at. The nightclub is just going and listening to music with bad cocktails. The Olympic Tower while nice to see is a bit late and rushed as it is the last thing of the evening. Hofbrauhaus was good, but the tour operator needs to have better accountability. If you want to see the place it is great, but I recommend going on your own.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

van

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Tour lasted until almost midnight. We had to leave before going up the Olympic Tower and the night club because we had a very early flight the next morning. The Hofbrauhaus food was very good, and of course, the beer. Wish we could have stayed to go up the tower at night.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

van

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

If you do the Hofbrauhaus dinner and tour you can skip the Hop-On Hop-Off because the tour covers the route of the Express HO-HO, We got off at the Rathaus and had lunch in the Ratskeller Restaurant. Good food and good local color.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Peter T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Not quite what I expected. The aim of the guide seemed to be to get the participants drunk with a secondary aim of informing. I would also have expected the tour to return to the starting point not leave the participants "stranded" at the Hofbrauhaus, pleasant though that may have been for many of the group.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

SHANNON B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was amazing! Keith was our tour guide and was entertaining as well as knowledgeable. There wasn't a lot of walking because we hopped on the public transportation a lot. It starts with beer at the meeting point, then more beer (and pretzels) at the beer museum, followed by food sampling at another place and the option to buy beer. The end is the Hofbrauhaus where beer can be purchased. One of the best tours ever and if you can take the tour with Keith (from Scotland), then even better!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Stephen M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great way to learn the history of German beer and to enjoy a couple of brews. Beer and food were excellent and Kevin from Texas our tour guide is very knowledgeable. The only part that that I didn't enjoy was the film in the museum, but that is a personal thing, and I am sure some people would enjoy it. The food was very good, at the stop were you had to buy your own beer, and we didn't get into the Hofbrauhaus as it was very full at this that time of night. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Mary Ellen B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

We were disappointed that we were not able to see the show at the Hofbrauhaus - a fact we weren't told until we arrived at the restaurant. The bus tour of Munich gave a good perspective of the city but the visit to the bar/night club at the end of the night was a filler and not worth the effort at all.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Troy J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

Some history at the beer museum. OK tour. Probably better just to go to Hofbrauhaus and enjoy.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Sam N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Iain, our tour guide was great.
We met at the train station, had a beer while awaiting some other guest, had another while Iain explained what our night would consist of, then a small number of us had another beer to really enjoy the bavarian spirit!
We hopped on the S train, to get to destination #1, BEER MUSEUM..... was very different than expected (we had just from Amsterdam, and the Heinekin Experience ). Here, we learned about the history of Bavarian beer. The 4 ingredient, only 4! The ice lined kellers ( cellars)! And the chestnut trees above the kellers.
We sampled 3 different beers. A dark Lager, a light Lager, and a horrible wheat beer. The wheat beer was one of only two beers on our whole vacation I could drink. The other one was also a wheat beer, I guess I've learned something! Along with the beer samples were pretzels. MMMMMMmmmmmm, they were goooood!
Off to the HofbrauKeller. Where the beer was stored. Here we chatted a little more about a lot of things and enjoyed a large plate of mixed meats, veggies, cheeses.....and pretzels!
After we gourged and some HofBrau Summer Special Lager, we were loaded into the S train again back MarienPlatz, where we walked a short distance to THE Hofbrauhaus.
BUMMER, it was soooo full that my wife and couldn't find a seat. we retired to the hotel, it had been a long day. But not before walking upstairs to see where Hitler gave his first public speech!
This is a great way to experience the Bavarian way of life, try it!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Abbs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What an amazing start to our trip to Munich! Our tour guide, Annette was simply outstanding. We got off to a late start which was more due to other passengers than our guide or driver. When we finally left Annette started the tour off with some jokes and a very informative tour of the city on the way to the Hofbrauhaus.
Based on other reviews my friend and I knew it would be difficult to get extra beer there so when we sat we set about trying to get our server's attention and he was extremely helpful. The Hofbauhaus was really something to see, despite its dark history, it was warm and fun and the singing and dancing were really fun to watch.
The Olympic tower offered really beautiful views of the city, and there was a great little gift shop on the main floor.
The last stop had live music and a nice ambience. The drinks were ridiculously over priced! Stick with the one that is included in the tour.
As other reviewers said, we got back late. This did put my friend and I in a tricky situation as we missed the last bus to our hotel and couldn't get a cab (we were staying just outside of Munich) and we were very lucky to have security offer us a ride.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Joanne K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed dinner at the Hofbrauhaus. The rest of the evening no. We had cocktails later that night at a high end hotel near a Michael Jackson shrine. The staff at the hotel were extremely rude. A busload of people and we were only allowed a few seats. Then to the Olympic park. In the dark. What a waste. You couldn't see anything. That should have been the first stop. Our guide though was very nice.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Shayna I

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I think this tour has a lot of potential, but doing it completely in the dark wasn't actually all that interesting. It would be better if the Olympic tower was visited first, around dusk offering sunset views vs completely in the dark. You do the tour portion after dinner (which the description isn't really clear about). It would have been better if the tour portion was first, and then went to dinner. That way, if you wanted to stay at Hofbrauhaus after others wanted to go, you could. I think the "club" after is not really adding anything to this tour. Glad we did it, but not sure if it was worth the money.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Gerhard K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent trip to Munich that included the Munich by night tour and dinner at the Hofbrauhaus. The location for bus pickup was not exactly correct but we eventually found it. The driver and host were good and she was quite informative.We did not think the meal at the Hofbrauhaus matched any other meals we had ay any other time in Munich or elsewhere for that matter , so that was a little disappointing but it could not spoil the atmosphere created by many jubilant patrons in the venue.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message