Germans' love of beer is unrivaled worldwide, and Munich is home to Bavaria's most celebrated beer hall: Hofbrauhaus. Formerly the royal brewery for the Kingdom, Hofbrauhaus is now owned by the state government and also has the second largest tent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Tour lasted until almost midnight. We had to leave before going up the Olympic Tower and the night club because we had a very early flight the next morning. The Hofbrauhaus food was very good, and of course, the beer. Wish we could have stayed to go up the tower at night.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

If you do the Hofbrauhaus dinner and tour you can skip the Hop-On Hop-Off because the tour covers the route of the Express HO-HO, We got off at the Rathaus and had lunch in the Ratskeller Restaurant. Good food and good local color.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Not quite what I expected. The aim of the guide seemed to be to get the participants drunk with a secondary aim of informing. I would also have expected the tour to return to the starting point not leave the participants "stranded" at the Hofbrauhaus, pleasant though that may have been for many of the group.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was amazing! Keith was our tour guide and was entertaining as well as knowledgeable. There wasn't a lot of walking because we hopped on the public transportation a lot. It starts with beer at the meeting point, then more beer (and pretzels) at the beer museum, followed by food sampling at another place and the option to buy beer. The end is the Hofbrauhaus where beer can be purchased. One of the best tours ever and if you can take the tour with Keith (from Scotland), then even better!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great way to learn the history of German beer and to enjoy a couple of brews. Beer and food were excellent and Kevin from Texas our tour guide is very knowledgeable. The only part that that I didn't enjoy was the film in the museum, but that is a personal thing, and I am sure some people would enjoy it. The food was very good, at the stop were you had to buy your own beer, and we didn't get into the Hofbrauhaus as it was very full at this that time of night. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

We were disappointed that we were not able to see the show at the Hofbrauhaus - a fact we weren't told until we arrived at the restaurant. The bus tour of Munich gave a good perspective of the city but the visit to the bar/night club at the end of the night was a filler and not worth the effort at all.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

Some history at the beer museum. OK tour. Probably better just to go to Hofbrauhaus and enjoy.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Iain, our tour guide was great.
We met at the train station, had a beer while awaiting some other guest, had another while Iain explained what our night would consist of, then a small number of us had another beer to really enjoy the bavarian spirit!
We hopped on the S train, to get to destination #1, BEER MUSEUM..... was very different than expected (we had just from Amsterdam, and the Heinekin Experience ). Here, we learned about the history of Bavarian beer. The 4 ingredient, only 4! The ice lined kellers ( cellars)! And the chestnut trees above the kellers.
We sampled 3 different beers. A dark Lager, a light Lager, and a horrible wheat beer. The wheat beer was one of only two beers on our whole vacation I could drink. The other one was also a wheat beer, I guess I've learned something! Along with the beer samples were pretzels. MMMMMMmmmmmm, they were goooood!
Off to the HofbrauKeller. Where the beer was stored. Here we chatted a little more about a lot of things and enjoyed a large plate of mixed meats, veggies, cheeses.....and pretzels!
After we gourged and some HofBrau Summer Special Lager, we were loaded into the S train again back MarienPlatz, where we walked a short distance to THE Hofbrauhaus.
BUMMER, it was soooo full that my wife and couldn't find a seat. we retired to the hotel, it had been a long day. But not before walking upstairs to see where Hitler gave his first public speech!
This is a great way to experience the Bavarian way of life, try it!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What an amazing start to our trip to Munich! Our tour guide, Annette was simply outstanding. We got off to a late start which was more due to other passengers than our guide or driver. When we finally left Annette started the tour off with some jokes and a very informative tour of the city on the way to the Hofbrauhaus.
Based on other reviews my friend and I knew it would be difficult to get extra beer there so when we sat we set about trying to get our server's attention and he was extremely helpful. The Hofbauhaus was really something to see, despite its dark history, it was warm and fun and the singing and dancing were really fun to watch.
The Olympic tower offered really beautiful views of the city, and there was a great little gift shop on the main floor.
The last stop had live music and a nice ambience. The drinks were ridiculously over priced! Stick with the one that is included in the tour.
As other reviewers said, we got back late. This did put my friend and I in a tricky situation as we missed the last bus to our hotel and couldn't get a cab (we were staying just outside of Munich) and we were very lucky to have security offer us a ride.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed dinner at the Hofbrauhaus. The rest of the evening no. We had cocktails later that night at a high end hotel near a Michael Jackson shrine. The staff at the hotel were extremely rude. A busload of people and we were only allowed a few seats. Then to the Olympic park. In the dark. What a waste. You couldn't see anything. That should have been the first stop. Our guide though was very nice.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I think this tour has a lot of potential, but doing it completely in the dark wasn't actually all that interesting. It would be better if the Olympic tower was visited first, around dusk offering sunset views vs completely in the dark. You do the tour portion after dinner (which the description isn't really clear about). It would have been better if the tour portion was first, and then went to dinner. That way, if you wanted to stay at Hofbrauhaus after others wanted to go, you could. I think the "club" after is not really adding anything to this tour. Glad we did it, but not sure if it was worth the money.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent trip to Munich that included the Munich by night tour and dinner at the Hofbrauhaus. The location for bus pickup was not exactly correct but we eventually found it. The driver and host were good and she was quite informative.We did not think the meal at the Hofbrauhaus matched any other meals we had ay any other time in Munich or elsewhere for that matter , so that was a little disappointing but it could not spoil the atmosphere created by many jubilant patrons in the venue.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

What a fabulous evening. The Hofbrauhaus served great food and was very entertaining. The trip to the Olympic tour was also very interesting. I really enjoyed the drink at the bar at the end of the evening in a beautiful bar. My only complaint is that we didn't return to 1:15 am instead of midnight. I wish we could have been on time because we had an early wakeup call the next morning and it was difficult. Our guide was excellent! Not only was he informative, but he was very social with the group.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Took my 16 and 21 year old on this tour. My 21 year old daughter found this evening event to be the highlight of our trip to Munich. Personable guide, good company at the Hofbrauhaus, and bus tour and commentary enabled us to see parts of the city we would not have discovered on foot. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Not really worth the money. The tour would have been better if we learned more about the beer outside of the purity law. Perhaps learned more about the brew process and actually have saw a brew cellar or an actual brewery. The tour was just the oktober fest museum, one place to taste beer samples, and another to try traditional bar food (any beer there was on our tab). The tour ended was just taking us to the hofbrauhaus but just outside with minimum history of such a historic place.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message