Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 457 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was worth every penny! The castles were beautiful, the scenery was breathtaking. Bus was comfortable, our tour guide and driver were amazing. Neuschwanstein Linderhof combination is a must. Although Neuschwanstein is the more popular, Linderhof is not to be missed. We felt comfortable and loved booking through Viator! :

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Stamatios G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour is an absolute must for those visiting Munich and the south of Bavaria. The lanscape is magnificent and both castles are extraordinary. The bus is double decker, comfortable, clean -all fine. The guide saved us from queuing up in order to get the tickets for the interior of the castles, since he brought and distributed them. I would prefer half an hour more in Linderhof to see the gardens and the shops to 40 hectic minutes in Oberamergau.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

bgildea1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is the way to travel,,nice bus ! Nice guide. Plenty of time to see what you want. Only complaint was not able to see the swan cave at Linderhof...wasn't on tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Nelly United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour even though we got stuck with rain. Our guide was really sweet, I just don't remember her name. The Neuschwanstein castle was beautiful! Even the drive there was really nice. The Linderhof Castle was small but really interesting to see. I would definitely take the Luxury coach option since seats are more comfortable and it's a smaller group. Loved this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Rosario R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Though it was raining, the views were spectacular. Linderhof is a small castle and easy to go to. However, it was hard to go up Neuschwanstein castle even if you take the bus. We took the bus going up and down the castle since it was raining. There will still be a not so short walk to go to the castle itself.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Muhammad Imran A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour with excellent tour guide. Tourist should not miss this. The Linderhof Castle was great and the interior was too good I fact over done.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Leah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour! Bus ride was comfortable, air conditioned but no Wi-Fi. Neuschwanstein and Linderhof were beautiful, Oberammergau very quaint. Great day, highly recommend this tour :

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Kristy N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was an enjoyable tour, with a comfortable and clean tour bus. The only thing is that I felt the visit to Linderhof was too short.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

KHALED SABRY I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing Tour , every thing went perfect - Schedule was very sharp .
Amazing views at Linderhof castle and Neuschwanstein with a short stop at a beautiful village which we buy some souvenirs.
Tour guide was so helpful and gave us all information about History of those two Castles which we were not aware before.
i recommend this tour to every one coming to Germany.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

gailseedsman Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was the best way to see so much in one day. We could never have seen Linderhof Palace, Neuschwanstein Castle and walked around Oberammergau in the time. We avoided long queues for tickets, enjoyed guide's commentary along the way. And we did not feel hurried or pressured at all. We were a group of 6 with 2 children and we all thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Thank you!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Cassandra S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This is definitely worth the tour and I highly recommend going in the winter when they're in the low season. It's crowded all year long, but there are substantially less tours in winter so you're not fighting your way through the crowd. It's a lot to pack in one day, so taking the guided tour is much better than getting there on your own logistically, and the guide was incredibly knowledgeable so I genuinely learned so much from her tour. Touring inside the castles is debatable- they're beautiful inside, but you're pretty cramped for time at Neuschwanstein, so if you want to walk up to both at that site, you'll be scrambling to get to the tour on time. If you really want to see the beautiful rooms, spend your time inside Linderhof and skip the tour inside Neuschwanstein and relax for a few hours hiking around and exploring the premises which are equally as beautiful.

The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and I can't commend her preparation enough as she gave us so much information for the entire two hour drive.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jim C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Good tour. Great on-board guide and driver. Wonderful sights and service. The only less-than-great part were the on-site guides at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein, their English wasn't clear enough or articulated well enough to hear well on their interior tours. Not Viator/gray's fault.
Keep up the good work!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

rbwriter

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

We were part of a large group that left Munich in 2 buses. At first we were concerned about the size of the group, but it was no problem. the tour guide, Lucy, spoke in English and Spanish and held the group together very well. it's really the only way to get to these places unless you want to drive yourself. The walk up was doable if you are good at walking elevations... we did and it was great. Linderhoff was beautiful. My only complaint was we didn't have enough time at Oberammergau. the drive stops in front of one store frankly they must pay Grayline to do that because i wanded a bit into town and i thought other stores were better. The drive was beautiful and bus was very comfortable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Barbara G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Must see when in Munich. Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are too beautiful for words. We enjoyed this tour a lot. The bus ride was comfortable and it was a double decker. There are lots of walking involved though so wear comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip is fully loaded and is totally worth it and with this I mean it starts really early and ends late too.. But the good thing is that you would see so many things. The guided tours inside the Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles were pretty awesome. Our guide, Nancy likewise fed us with some very interesting information on our way to the castles. Overall, I think this trip is highly recommended!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Anna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This bus tour was a great way to see Linderhof Palace and Neuschwanstein. Visiting in January with cold, snowy weather, the bus was a nice alternative to figuring out transportation myself. Our tour guide was informative and helpful, too. It was exactly what I was looking for.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Nancy M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Exactly what I wanted - a comfortable bus to get me to Linderhof and Neuschwanstein, with a stop in a pretty village along the way. The bus leaves Munich conveniently across from the main train station. Get there early to get a window seat, or a seat together if you're a group. The guide did a great job communicating with tourists who spoke all different languages and, as you'd expect in Germany, the bus left exactly on time from each attraction. You have a good amount of time at each attraction - although I would have liked more time at the village - and I appreciated the quiet time with no tour guide talking on the return journey.

If you're looking for a small, personal guided excursion, this is not it - it's a double decker bus and the guide provides extremely basic information about Bavaria, the history of King Ludwig, the time period, and the castles. I'd recommend reading up on the history beforehand if you're interested. Also, eat lunch before hiking up the hill to Neuschwanstein there's a restaurant and snack bar up there, but many more options in the little town at the bottom of the hill.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

iswanto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

First of all, the booking choice and process of 4 consecutive day-trips via Viator was easy and convenient. Having read the previous reviews, all the guides seemed to have a very good knowledge of the history and professional in conducting the tour, so was ours. Markus guide and Markus coach driver were 5 stars in taking and guiding us to 3 different locations, Oberammergau, Neuschwantein and Linderhof, timing was just perfect.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Maria F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was incredible and the sites were amazing! I don't know how we would have got to Linderhof had it not been on this tour. We went in the winter and everything was beautiful as it had just snowed a few days before. You spend a minimal amount of time at Linderhof and then make your way to Neuschwanstein. Because it was winter there were only a bistro cafe and the restaurant up the castle hill to eat at, but in the summer our tour guide says more places are opened. The bridge for the viewing point was just down for maintenance but the castle was still amazing. I would 100 recommend this tour and would do it again myself. Do note that the price of the castle to get inside is not included.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Chris M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a great tour that I would recommend for those who have never explored the 3 locations that you visit: Linderhof palace, Oberammergau town location of the Passion Play, and of course Neuschwanstein, the dream-medieveal castle built by King Ludwig II that inspired the Disney castle. Linderhof palace is a beautiful retreat home built by Ludwig II set back into the mountains on extensive garden grounds near Oberammergau. Linderhof is done in the style of Versailles and is truly visually magnificient and over the top!. I would recommend taking the long walk up to the castle Neuschwanstein, as the walk is full of sights both up to the castle and down across the valley that it overlooks. Taking the horse buggy or bus does not save you from having to walk, so you might as well enjoy it! Unfortunately, like many multi-site tours, it felt like not much time was given to each location. One only has about an hour for Linderhof and Oberammergau each, with the rest of the trip being dedicated to Neuschwanstein and getting to and from locations. While this is ok for a first-time visit to these locations, anyone looking to really dig deep into each one should set out and explore on their own.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Phyllis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had a lovely time on this tour, our tour guide Gerda was brilliant and the whole experience from start to finish was carried out with care and professionalism. Loved the journey through Bavarian countryside and was absolutely blown away by Neuschwanstein castle and the breath-taking scenery also the awesome Linderhof palace which was simply stunning. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Mikkel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Trip was wonderful! Gerta was fantastic. I loved her stories and facts about Munich as we drove through to the countryside to reach the castles. She has a wealth of knowledge!

The tour went to a smaller castle in the morning Linderhof then a really cute Bavarian town where we had a quick 45 minutes to explore then the main attraction, Neuschwanstein. We went during the winter - so Linderhof had a lot less to see on its exterior as all the fountains and such were boarded up to resist frost and the landscape was sparse. But still one of the most beautiful interiors to experience and I've seen a lot of castles in my day!.

I would recommend bringing snacks and maybe even a sandwich for lunch. Though there is certainly time to grab a bite here or there time is limited and I much preferred walking around then spending time in line for a pastry. If you have dietary restrictions definitely bring something as most of the quick options in the town around Neuschwanstein was meat bread of some sort.

Just an FYI - there are a TON of photo opps on the grounds and exteriors but you're not allowed to take photos inside either castle.

Also, the additional price for admission for the castle tours was 23 Euro and I opted for a 6 Euro horse carriage ride up to Neuschwanstein, which was worth it! About 10 people can go per carriage ride so they just fill it up with whoever's in line to go up there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Cynthia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although it was a drizzly day, our trip was on time and the guide's cheerful attitude made the whole day worthwhile. This tour visits 3 sites - Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein.
The stop at Oberammergau was a quick on-off -run-shop stop...but it was interesting to hear about the Passion Play and the region.
The tours at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein were very interesting. Just a note that the entrance fees are NOT included in the Viator reservation - I think it was an additional 23 euros.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jonna.vainio

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

All in all, the day tour was great! We would not have been able to do this on our own. The audio guided tour group in Neuschwanstein was way too big so we found the experience somewhat lacking as we didn't get to see everything because of the crowds in relatively small and dark places. Also the audio guide didn't always work so we missed some of the commentary. Linderhof was a much better experience with a very lively local guide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyable trip to visit the castles at Neuschwanstein and Linderhof with a stop at Oberammergau. Our tour guide was outstanding and we enjoyed all three stops. The castles are amazing, and the highlight of our time in Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message