Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 380 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Both Neuschwanstein and Linderhof are 30 minute guided tours at set times. We did not have enough time to look around all of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. I suggest the tour for those who do not what to plan everything themselves. Next time I will go without a tour, but I am glad I went on the tour and recommend it. Our bus was late but we got free drinks on board. Tour guide was knowledgeable. Be sure to show up on time or you will be left behind!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic. Well organised, nice guide, beautiful weather. Could not be better. I particular recommend Linderhof castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof! Everyone was polite and helpful, the bus was very nice indeed! A relaxing day tour....and we normally do not go for the organized tours. Recommended!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, great tour guide, very comfortable bus. Well worth the money, if you want to see Linderhof and Neuschwanstein this is the way to do it,

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour. Well worth it. Tour guide gave out very interesting facts and info. 8hrs tour. Back in the city by 630pm. Linderhof castle is small but really amazing.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I believe the tour guide's name was Christine. She was excellent. Linderhof is amazing and the landscaped grounds awesome. Oberammergau stop was way to short. However, Neuschwanstein was stunningly beautiful! Make sure you go to Mary's Bridge for the incredible view.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide! Saw a lot of places in a short time but was worth it. Wished they gave more time to linderhof and less to neuschwanstein, but still great overall

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Love the castles! I have been wanting to see Neuschwanstein for years, so was surprised when I toured Linderhof as it became my favorite inside and out!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth the trip. Bring your walking shoes, as there is some hiking to the castles from the bus parking and even from the shuttle bus drop off. Danielle and the driver were superb. Understand that, when Danielle gives a departure time, BE THERE! I almost missed the bus at Linderhof. There are strict time constraints, due to the distances, also resulting in not enough time at any of the sites. Still, well worth it. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she stayed with us throughout the day aside from when we were touring the castles. She warned us ahead of time about the long walk to Neuschwanstein and informed us about the other means of travel available. If the line is short I recommend the bus so you can ride up to the top, above the castle and two minutes from the bridge. Otherwise you have to walk up to the castle, then walk uphill further to the bridge worth it for the view. The only complaint I had was that we were unable to see Linderhof, but this is because of the G7 summit and not because of the tour. Instead we viewed Hohenschwangau which was still very nice.

Overall, great tour, though be warned the price you are paying here only covers the trip with the tour guide. It does not cover entry to the castles. We were asked to pay 22 euro for entry to both.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant day trip to the castles , informative and witty tour guide Maria.
Comfortable double decker air condition coach.
Excellent driver , cheap cold beer and water on board.
Couldn't have imagined trip to be any better ... Though would have liked longer at Linderhof to look round gardens and also would have preferred to take lunch at Obergmau passion play village!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

While we didn't actually get to tour Linderhof due to the G7 conference that was occurring in Germany at the time, this tour was nevertheless excellent. Linderhof was replaced with Hohenschwangau castle which was very impressive. Neuschwanstein itself is spectacular. Entertaining guide also.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Linderhof was great. Neuschwanstein was a problem because the buses weren't running - I wish that info had been included in the tour info when I booked. As a result my friend and I could not tour the interior of the castle, as she could not walk up the mountain and by the time we got to the head of the horse wagon line it was too late. Our local guide Maria was very good and helpful.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Linderhof small castle infact big house is better than neuschwanstein huge castle...

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was ok... just as expected ... visited 2 castles, Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. Quite a bit of walk to the Neuschwanstein Castle, nice on the outside but nothing much inside.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great, though it felt a bit rushed for me. I wouldn't have minded even an hour longer or so. You fit a lot into one day, and I enjoyed each of our tours at both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. Our brief stop at Oberammergau was lovely. I highly recommend this tour. You can't beat it for the price at all.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide and busride were great and it's awesome seeing the Bavarian countryside but neuschwanstein isn't worth the price of admission. Maybe go on this tour, check out linderhof and its great grounds, but pass on seeing neuschwanstein inside and enjoy it's town, views, and the alpensee.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed our visit to Neuschwanstein and Linderhof castle.Our guide Elisabeth was superb.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was interesting! Although we did not get to go to Linderhof, we were supplemented for another castle within the same vicinity and this perhaps gave us extra time for boating in the lake which was an awesome experience!
Our lady guide was friendly and shared with us interesting stories.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Unfortunately we were not able to do Linderhof because of the G7 summit, however they substituted another castle in lieu of. The tours were on time and inside the castles were beautiful. The weather did not cooperate and it was so foggy we couldn't even see the castle from the base. The walk up was a work out but if you can't do a lot of walking there were some alternatives. Lots of stairs inside the castle as well.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is the perfect way to see Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. The coach is comfortable, the tour guide knowledgeable, you get lots of time to sit back and admire the countryside and then just wander around before you see these amazing castles. Great value.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I had such a lovely time on this tour and would absolutely recommend it for anyone looking to visit Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. Elizabeth was wonderful and very knowledgable and the bus was extremely comfortable!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour- guide was really knowledgeable and time allotted to each site was the perfect amount. The only thing I could recommend the tour company is cut out the hour rest stop at Oberammergau after Linderhof. It just felt like an useless random stop in the middle of nowhere. Everyone was anxious to see the highlight of the tour- Neuschwanstein!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour but visiting Neuschwanstein castle is a pretty steep walk of around 30 minutes. The fountain at Linderhof is worth the trip on it's own. Good guide and on time thanks to the obliging couch passengers.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Simply amazing! Linderhof was such a pleasant surprise! Neuschwanstein was also pretty good! What a view, and the inside was also gorgeous! Our guide was the best one we have ever been with, EVER! Ana was her name! Perfect tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message