• USD ($)
  • English

Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 295 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a great day with a really excellent guide. Linderhof was fascinating...taken through with a friendly and knowledgeable local guide. Neuschwanstein Castle truly magnificent...no wonder Walt Disney used it as the idea for his Sleeping Beauty Castle in Disneyland. Like our previous Viator experiences, very good value for money. We will continue to use Viator for these type of outings on any future trips...ease of booking online, reliability, content, quality etc.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It rained most of the day but didn't spoilt the trip whatsoever! Our tour guide franschesca was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. It was a little bit rushed at linderhof and oberammagou, but I'm glad we got to see a little bit of both and had plenty of time at neuschwanstein. Thanks for the great day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a great tour. Linderhof, Oberamengau and Neuschwanstein are magnificent places. Everyone in my family enjoyed this tour. Lucia the guide was very knowledgeable, clear and concise, we really learned a lot from her. A+++

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was very good. The bus, the tour guide, the drive and schedule were all super. The visits and stops: Linderhof, Oberammergau, and Newschwanstein were all very well telegraphed and carried out. The tour guide was very professional and provided just the right amount of information: informative without being boring or intrusive. The bus itself was very comfortable. The driving was smooth and without incident - just the way it should be. I'd strongly recommend for those traveling for the first time or have limited mobility. For families or 3 or more and able to walk you can do this trip on your own in your car. One word of caution: Neuschwanstein has its own weather pattern. We left sunny Munich but caught some rain in the Fuessen area in southern Bavaria. There is a cable car ride in the vicinity that I caught a glimpse of but it is not part of this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour is a great way to see two of Bavaria's most impressive palaces. Both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are well worth the trip, and you should definitely not miss out on either of the interior tours. Oberammergau is a very picturesque village with some good souvenir shopping. The guides did a great job of keeping everyone reasonably on time, and provided lots of interesting information along the way. The driving through the countryside is absolutely beautiful, especially on a clear day. While the time at Neuschwanstein seems like a lot, you won't have too much time to wander. I would recommend bringing a lunch and immediately heading uphill to the bridge to get some good pictures, then eating your lunch before heading back to the palace for the tour. Overall, a very enjoyable tour that is worth the price!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

.The tour guide (Brigitte) was very friendly and spoke excellent English.... She lived in colorado for a number of years. The double decker bus was clean and very comfortable and had a bathroom onboard. You are allowed to eat on the bus as long as it's nothing messy, no ice cream, and drinks are allowed and even are sold on the bus for €1.5 . I advise that you bring snacks since it's a long day.
The tour departed on schedule and we were promptly made aware of the days itinerary and the expected departure times from each location . Linderhof is small but very ornate on the interior and height decadent as it is modeled on the palace of Versailles ( no photography allowed inside). At this stop there are a couple reasonable gift shops and clean restrooms. It is a short walk from the bus parking area to the, it is a beautiful stroll but know that it is a gentle uphill climb. Oberammergau was a nice stop for about 50 mins - the shops there are generally reasonable and the town is absolutely adorable. Very quaint and picturesque Bavarian village. The shops boast many carved wooden objects of beauty. We could've spent more time there but were aware that the main attraction was the next stop,
Neuschwanstein. There The tour had made a reservation at hotel restaurant for lunch called Hotel Muller in Hohenschwangau, located right by the trails that lead up to the castles. We ordered from the express menu and our food arrived hot and tasty in less than 60 seconds!
This allowed us plenty of time to line up to catch the bus up the hill to Neuschwanstein . When you get off the bus you go on a short but steep walk up to Mary's bridge (Marienbrucke) ...Which affords an absolutely not to be missed view of the castle but is a very high pedestrian bridge that is scary for anyone who does not like heights! from there it is a short downhill walk to the castle. Be on time for your tour! FYI, There are 200 steps inside but not to be missed for all who are able.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a terrific tour. We loved our tour guide Elizabeth - she was extremely friendly and helpful. We went to Linderhof first and we were more impressed with the interior than we expected to be. Then we stopped in a small town that was fairy-tale like for about an hour and made our way to Neuschwanstein. The views from the bridge here are incredible and WELL worth the walk over to it. We didn't have clear weather and still think this to be a can't miss! We had a great experience!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed this tour.There were only about 12 people on the day which made it extra good.Our tour guide was very informative although a little verbose. Having the entry tickets pre organised ensured viewings and took all the stress away.The highlight was the visit to Linderhof Palace.Would probably have not got to see this magnificent palace if it wasn't for the tour.The coach driver (Udo ?) is to be commended on his careful driving.
Absolutely worth every Euro.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic! The Linderhof castle and surrounding grounds were beautiful. The Neuschwanstein Castle had unbelievable scenery. I recommend taking the horse drawn carriage up the hill. It is a steep walk to the castle, the tour does not provide transportation from the parking area to the top of the castle entrance.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour company did a good job on this and the countryside was beautiful. We actually think that Linderhof was the better of the two, and the stop at Oberammergau was fun. Our guide, Sophie, was both bubbly and informative and we enjoyed the day with her.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful tour. A must-see for sure! Granted, there is quite a bit of walking for neuschwanstein, but totally worth it. The view is breathtaking. And I wasn't sure about Linderhof, but after visiting it, I recommend it to everyone! The interior of the castle, although small, is beautiful...it is very similar to palace of versailles. The location for both palaces are perfect though...amazing scenery- with the mountains and the farms and small villages-- straight out of a fairytale!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing!! This views and the tours of the castles were breathtaking! I especially liked the Linderhof Palace because of the art and decor found inside. Unfortunately, you are not allowed to take pictures of the castles while touring the interiors which is a huge bummer but understandable.

If you are choosing this tour because you get to visit the town of Oberammergau, DON'T!! We only got to spend 20 minutes in the gorgeous little town and the bus dropped us near the theatre which is no where near the main strip of shops. I really wanted to see the wood carving shops and was extremely disappointed when we didn't have a enough time. I would have planned our whole trip out to this area of Germany differently if I knew what a teaser this stop would be.

The only reason I am NOT giving this tour five stars is because of the tour guide (Nancy). She was extremely rude, disorganized and her facts were not consistent with the facts we were given during our tours of the castles. She was awful!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide, Elisabeth, did a really good job of providing historical background for the visit to Ludwig's castles. I give the tour a four, rather than a five, because I think the tour should be extended an hour to allow a visit to the Grotto at Linderhof. It's a shame to go all the there and not get to see the Grotto as part of the castle tour. There also should be some warning in the brochure that most of the stores in Oberammergau are closed on Sundays.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The bus trip to Linderhof and Neuschwanstein was as worthwhiel as the castles. We got to see some beautiful scenery and the toru guide was very helpful with information about the regions as we passed.

Linderhof was the real gem of the tour. The palace is quite small so the tour insdie the palace was relatively short, however the palace is so special that we really enjoyed. The room of mirrors was something to see.

Obergamau ( I hope I spelt it correctly) was very quaint and worth the stop.

Neuschwanstein is an amazing palace from the outside however the inside is nothing in comparison with Linderhof. As our guide explained, Neuschwanstein was dedicated to Richard Wagner's operas and as such was dark and somber. No wonder Ludwig II only spent 173 days in Neuschwanstein.

Overall the trip was a very full day. we had to walk up to the castle at Neuschwanstein and then to the bridge but it was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was one of the best decisions we made while in Munich. The drive through the countryside alone would have made it worth booking since the Bavarian mountains, valleys, and trees were so gorgeous and such a treat after being in the city. Linderhof was quite small, almost like a miniature castle and we could have easily skipped the small town we stopped in between castles. Neuschwanstein is spectacular. Be sure to wear good walking shoes and be prepared for a bit of a hike. We chose to walk up the hill to the castle rather than getting the bus or carriage ride because the scenery was so beautiful that we wanted to spend as much time in it as possible. It's also worth the extra effort to hike past the castle to the bridge for the view. Great day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message