Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 477 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Heather S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This luxury bus tour was exceptional and well worth the extra money! Sites were beautiful, and the alps are stunning. Our guide, Monica was outstanding. She was well informed and conveyed Germany's history in an interesting manner, with anecdotes on many subjects. Our driver, Frieda was friendly and warm, and we felt safe with her at the wheel. Neushwanstein visit was organized well, as was Linderhof. Glorious historic buildings! The village we visited was a perfect vignette into rural German life: I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Jessica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was worth the money we paid for it - our main guide was very informative and entertaining. The guides at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein were also great. We did the day trip because we didn't want to stress about making our own way to the castles and back to Munich. We were impressed by the amount of free time at each.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Peggy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We met in front of the Karlstadt Mall great shopping by the way and loaded into a bus where each row was single seating and staggered allowing for each seat to have a foot rest. Christine our guide and Freida our driver were both excellent. Christine did an excellent job with commentary and keeping our group together, getting tickets and suggesting shopping and dining spots.

Frieda gave us the smoothest ride, slow and easy. I would have liked a stop or two to take some scenic pictures, but I understand that it is not possible to stop in the middle of the road.

We were provided a snack box and coffee, water and sodas on the bus. Since Frieda was the only one that knew how to use the coffee machine, you could not have coffee during the ride which really was no big deal.

We had good weather for most of the trip, some rain during our Neuschwanstein Castle tour, umbrellas are not available from the bus, but vendors around the area sell them for 5 Euro. There is a lot of walking and stairs. You can take a horse coach to the castle and back, but there is a bit of walking...all pretty easy through the castle.

It was suggested to have lunch in the town, but we really didn't have time. I know some on the bus did, but I don't see how unless they ran up to the castle and ran back down.

We then traveled to Linderhof, passing through a wonderful woodcarving town of Oberammergau. We had a brief stop to shop, use the restroom and grab a coffee. Then on to Linderhof which was a better experience than Neushwanstein as far as grounds and lines go.

The little extra paid for this tour over a crowded bus with no leg room was well worth the price. We were a small group and a very good time. For us, this is the only way to tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Radek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the best tour from Munich. Very interesting story about king Ludwig II and his beautiful castles. Both Linderhof and Neuschwainstein castles are worth visiting.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Patricia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend. Linderhof Palace was a winner! Nice stop over villages. A bit disappointed with Neuscheanstein Castle itself ... Expected more, but still enjoyed it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Galen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To visit Munich is to visit the castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. The tour was excellent and Gerda our guide was informative and amusing.

The drive to the castles went through spectacular Alpine countryside. Although the trip was marred by grey skies and occasional torrential rain, the vista was still picturesque and dramatic. It was different from the standard sunny, blue skied portraits of the postcards, but nonetheless wonderful.

Tours within the castles were very informative and the guides were willing to answer any questions. You never felt rushed.

Definitely recommend this tour whatever the weather.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip... comfortable bus, tour guide was amazing and she gave us a lot of information about Munich and the palace. Linderhof was small but beautiful. Be sure to go on a nice day because the grounds are amazing. Oberammergau is a quaint town with shops and cafes. I would recommend this trip to experience the true heart of Bavaria.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

Leah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the one I was looking forward to the most on our 2 weeks traveling around Europe, and it did not disappoint! The first two stops at Linderhof and Oberammergau seemed a bit rushed, but it was worth it to have so much time in Hohenschwangau and to tour Neuschwanstein. When they drop you off for lunch before your tour, I definitely recommend walking to the lake and eating outside at Alpenrose am See. The food is pricey, but probably the best food we had in Germany and the view is stunning!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour. Small group is the way to go!! We had 13 people on the tour and the bus was amazing. Everyone had their own seat which swiveled to be able to look out the windows. We each got a snack box, which was mostly candy. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The lines to get tickets for Neuschwanstein were long, but we could skip the line and go right to the castle. There was plenty of time to enjoy lunch. Linderhof was not as crowded as Neuschwanstein, and quite different. The one negative would be in Oberammergau--we didn't have enough time to enjoy this charming Alpine town.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Desiree L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day touring the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof! We stopped at a gorgeous Bavarian village, Oberammergauand did some shopping. Our tour guide was very kind, and she was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Dana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time! Linderhof was even better than I expected, so I'm glad I chose a tour that went there too. The outside of Neuschwanstein is incredible, but after Linderhof I wasn't as impressed with the inside of Neuschwanstein. Still worth it though. We also did a stop in Oberammergau. I'm not really sure what the purpose was, except maybe to give us a chance to buy some souvenirs. However, they had amazing ice cream in Oberammergau. 1 euro for a medium size scoop of some of the best ice cream I've ever had.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Heidi v

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip, deluxe tour worth it. We had torrential rain the entire day and still had a good time. The loaner umbrellas were much appreciated. We'll book similar tours again without question.

Pros:
Comfy ride
Food/water/coffee/tea/beer/wine provided
Itinerary well communicated, tour well organized
Lots of good info about Ludwig, Munich, Germany in general

Cons:
Wi-Fi never worked gave error message about reaching Max Limit in first 30 seconds of trip
Not enough time at the castles, specifically at Linderhof. Would have liked 30 minutes more at each castle.
Not really enough time to eat and sightsee you have to make a choice between seeing more of the castle grounds and eating.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It would be hard to see both places in one day on your own. This tour had the benefit of taking care of the tickets so that there was no standing in line. Only disappointment was that that Marianbrucke at Neuschwanstein was closed not the tour operators fault and would have liked more time at Linderhof.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Kelly S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was nice and enjoyable but the bus was extremely hot and uncomfortable. Even after we mentioned the back of the bus was hot the ride home was still pretty warm. However, Linderhof was amazing!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michelle C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Love the Linderhof palace, although not a castle it was much more luxurious and elegant than the Neushwantein castle which seemed dark and gloomy. Would have loved to do the grotto at Linderhof but it wasn't an option on this tour. We had about 4 hours in the town ship where the castle was situated and this was probably too long a time to kill. would have preferred more time at Linderhof or the other small town we visited starting with O!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Katherine N

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip was fantastic and our tour guide was wonderful. It would have been nice to have a little extra time in Linderhof but other than that it was lovely.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Heather M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Overall, this was a great tour, easy, and the guide was knowledgeable and helpful. It was a bit more rushed than we expected it to be, and we were disappointed not to have any time to look around the castle grounds or to see the Grotto at Linderhof. We especially appreciated the guide's recommendations on timing and where to spend our very limited time for maximum experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Elizabeth S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a nice day tour from Munich. The bus was very comfortable, and offered water, soft drinks, and beer for sale very reasonable price on the bus. The guide was helpful and had lots of advice. You had to pay extra for the castle interior tours, but that was stated upfront and the bus guide purchased the tickets so you don't need to wait in lines. The drive was beautiful. The first castle stop, Linderhof, although small, was amazing, truly stunning. The castle guide a real person, was available for questions. There wasn't much time to explore the grounds if you did the interior tour. The stop in the village Oberammergau was a waste of time unless you are a big shopper. I would have preferred more time at Linderhof over this stop. The last stop was Hohenschwangau village where the Neuschwanstein castle is. Views of the 2 castles in the area were nice, but be aware that the main business there is for the tourists who come to see the castle. We had lunch at a small restaurant not the one recommended by the tour guide, usual German food, slightly expensive, but OK. The castle tour was a little disappointing, the castle is nice and the tour could have been so much better. The 30 minute walk up the hill was a good work-out it is truly 30 minutes for those of my age, but there are other options for getting up there. They let you into the castle in groups, and there were just too many of us in each group. Most rooms were so crowded you couldn't see anything, and it was very dark which was compounded by the rainstorm that hit just as we went in for the tour. The guide is audio, and it never seemed to match up with what was in the room we were going through, probably since there were so many people. No one seemed to be there to answer questions or they were hidden behind the groups of people. The entire tour was inside the castle with no opportunity to go to any of the outside areas. Having said all this, it was worth the trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Suzette O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was a sweet blonde from Germany. She was easy to understand, energetic about her position and very entertaining. The tour of the castles were interesting, and the countryside on our way there was so pretty. Unfortunately it was super rainy all day, making the views not as good. Pus, the famous bridge to Neushwanstein was still closed even though online it was suppose to open a week before we arrived in Germany. I like to ask a lot of questions, and she was easy and open to my questions shouted across the bus and randomly throughout the day. I felt her information was accurate and she was well read. The tour stops at Linderhof castle, then driving to Neushwanstein area. Upon arrival there is about an hour to eat lunch or shop, this is the only time to eat so I suggest you do so. There was a hotel restaurant that she suggested, we went here. The food was very good, very traditional and quick a rarity in Germany. I had goulash, black forest cake and my dad had goulash soup. After lunch you can walk up the hill to the castle or take a bus for a small fee or horse drawn carriage. My dad is elderly and has a bad knew, so he road the bus up and the horse carriage back down. The bus is quick, the horses are fun but it takes longer. He found both of them fine transportation. Once at the castle you enter at your tour time, there are limited souvenirs at the top of the hill. I thought the audio tour was so interesting and I liked it, my dad didn't have any interest in it and found the steps many many steps in a spiral too exhausting. After this castle tour we stopped in town where the passion play is done. We had only 45 mins,but you HAVE to buy some fabulous handmade wood items ornaments, nativity scenes, etc. this is the place to buy a cuckoo clock. Prices are very reasonable. They ship, don't put it in your carry-on. I had my backpack stolen in Frankfurt the last day, they got my camera and some souvenirs etc but NOT my clock! FYI:no bathroom on bus :

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was worth every penny! The castles were beautiful, the scenery was breathtaking. Bus was comfortable, our tour guide and driver were amazing. Neuschwanstein Linderhof combination is a must. Although Neuschwanstein is the more popular, Linderhof is not to be missed. We felt comfortable and loved booking through Viator! :

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Stamatios G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour is an absolute must for those visiting Munich and the south of Bavaria. The lanscape is magnificent and both castles are extraordinary. The bus is double decker, comfortable, clean -all fine. The guide saved us from queuing up in order to get the tickets for the interior of the castles, since he brought and distributed them. I would prefer half an hour more in Linderhof to see the gardens and the shops to 40 hectic minutes in Oberamergau.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

bgildea1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is the way to travel,,nice bus ! Nice guide. Plenty of time to see what you want. Only complaint was not able to see the swan cave at Linderhof...wasn't on tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Nelly United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour even though we got stuck with rain. Our guide was really sweet, I just don't remember her name. The Neuschwanstein castle was beautiful! Even the drive there was really nice. The Linderhof Castle was small but really interesting to see. I would definitely take the Luxury coach option since seats are more comfortable and it's a smaller group. Loved this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Rosario R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Though it was raining, the views were spectacular. Linderhof is a small castle and easy to go to. However, it was hard to go up Neuschwanstein castle even if you take the bus. We took the bus going up and down the castle since it was raining. There will still be a not so short walk to go to the castle itself.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Mark W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

OK The castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof, created by Germanys 19th-century King Ludwig II is a must and the tour guides at these location are great but again The guide charged every person for both location 4.50 Euro's more. WOW no joke ,I went to the box office and they told me the ticket has the right prices. That is not right 50 people 200 euros in there pockets. Will not take any Viator tours that has Grayline

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message