Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 401 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Elizabeth gave a great tour to the castles and kept everything on schedule and was full of information. Linderhof is the small hunting palace of the eccentric King Ludwig II. It was beautiful and the inside tour was short but informative. Very nice walk around the grounds.
Short stop at Oberammergau for cappuccino and apple strudel was fun and a nice break.
Neuschwanstein Castle was beyond imagination. The city where you start was very busy and it is a hike to the castle. We took the bus up to the bridge and then hiked up above Mary's bridge. The bridge will be closed for repair soon.
Alexander did a great job driving thru the small streets.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A good guided tour. An additional plus when our tour guide Maria knows the way to hike up to the bridge to snap picture of the castle from it. Must have stamina for this short hike. Linderhof was nice too plus the Obermagau stop for shopping is a good one.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great trip, everything was super punctual and on time. Picked up from the Karsdat department store in Munich and left promptly at 8.30, Lindenhof was first and even though it was a hot day, the air conditioned bus was a nice reprieve. A little ice cream and coffeebreak in Oberammergau, I would suggest getting your touristy German souvenirs here, they were much cheaper than those in Munich and better quality. Especially the beer steins. Also tax free!
Then off to Neuschwanstein. First Lunch, We chose to walk up the hill even though it was blistering hot. Everyone else was in t-shirts and shorts, and here I am as the girl who chose to wear woollen skirts and a corset with a long haired wig prancing around as Sleeping Beauty to visit the sleeping Beauty castle.
Great fun though! Spend the time going up to Mary's Bridge to take photos.
The interior of Linderhof is more impressive than Neuschwanstein, but they both have their charms.
Then ran for the bus so we can get home. Even with traffic we got back at around 7pm in Munich. Great day.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We liked this tour very much! Our tour guide was great! Very funny and knowledgable. We preferred Linderhof over Neuschwanstein. The trek up to Neuschwanstein was pretty tiring but all in all an amazing fun-filled day.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything is great. Our driver Thomas is awesome his driving is the smoothest I've seen. Antje, our guide, is also very knowledgeable about the castles and Bavarian fields. The only down side is that we spent little time at Linderhof, which I found is extremely exquisite.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

First off, the bus ride was great. Very comfortable seats with adequate leg room. The pick-up/drop-off could not be more convenient.

First Stop: Linderhof -- I really enjoyed Linderhof, a small palace set in the Bavarian Alps, but I did not have time to explore much of the grounds and the smaller houses/buildings on the grounds due to time restraints.

Second Stop: Oberammergau -- We had 30 minutes to look around this quintessential Bavarian town. It was not enough time. I'd suggest getting rid of this stop altogether and adding time to Linderhof.

Third/Final Stop: Neuschwanstein -- It's amazing. We had to eat in a little bit of a rushed manner street food vs. a sitdown restaurant to make sure we got up to the castle on time, but the sight of that castle was well worth it.

Overall, good trip for the price, but it could be better by extending the day 1-2 hours or by eliminating Oberammergau.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience, must do when u are in Munich. Was worried initially that Linderhoff was not worth the time visiting, but am now glad i was wrong. Both castles have totally different style and didn't feel bored at all. Take the shuttle to Neuschwanstein castle from the lunch place or you won't have enough 'extra' time to enjoy the castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent time touring Neuschwanstein, Oberammergau, and Linderhof. Christine was a fabulous tour guide and the luxury coach was well worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I have left individual reviews of this trip on Tripadvisor and they reflect what was a superb day that was organised faultlessly by the team on the coach. The coach itself was more or less brand new and made the trip very comfortable. The 3 ladies running the show were excellent and the day couldn't have been better. We need to visit Linderhof again to see the Grotto etc but this trip gave us a great overall view of Bavaria.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My family really liked this tour. Our guide was informative and funny. Neuschwanstein is absolutely worth the trip out of Munich to see. When you get to Neuschwanstein, I would suggest you take the bus uphill and not try to walk up. The castle is so grand! And as my son calls it tiny baby Linderhof Castle is also beautiful. Overall, a day well spent.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome little day trip. Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are awesome places to visit. Interesting history and beautiful landscape around the castle grounds. Our guide was funny and knowledgeable. No regrets!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

PLEASE NOTE: The cost of the entrance tickets is NOT included in the cost you pay on Viator. We needed to pay the ticket price of 23 euros per adult when the bus was already enroute. The tour was wonderful despite our surprise. It was a 2 hour bus ride from Munich but the view was worth it. When we got to Linderhof castle, the tour was quick and not much time to explore the grounds but we did get a chance to see the gardens and take pictures. There are timed entrances to Neuschwanstein so we had lunch where the guide recommended. We also made a much too quick stop in Oberamergau for shopping. I do wish more time was allowed for that because there were many beautiful wood items made by the people of the Black Forest but we needed to make spot decisions on some expensive items and I regret we didn't get more time to decide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great time....LOVED IT! The tour guide was very informative and the driver got us there and back to Munich safely. Wish we could have had 20 more minutes in Linderhof, so we could explore the gardens.
Other than that, everything was fantastic! Thanks.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Bavarian country side was such a beauty to behold. Winding roads, lush green fields, tall trees, massive mountains everything added to the charm of this place. Our first stop was palace Linderhof, which had stunning landscapes. Second stop was the charming old town of Oberammergau with its painted houses and famous wood works. Via the Romantic road, we reached our final destination The Neuschwanstein Castle, such a secluded and stunning piece of work. Our tour guide was so very informative not just about the tour but Munich in general. The coach was very comfortable with push-back seats, toilet, refreshments, TV, luggage stowing and an upper deck for better views. Very much recommended and worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Marcus, was excellent. We were a bus of 70, we were either the best tourists ever or Marcus knows how to handle people, I think it is the latter. Very professional team, both driver and guide.
My opinion of the castles are: pay to tour Linderhof, but found the actual inside tour of Neuschwanstein wanting, felt a bit like a tourist trap thing. Walking and Viewing the castle from the outside At different angles, including being on Mary's bridge is spectacular. Know that this opinion does not reflect on the tour company or any guide of the tour company in anyway, as the tour company guide's are not the same guides you have when you are taken through the the castles. Most likely the tour company has no input to the actual tour as I think they are operated by the state.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Both Neuschwanstein and Linderhof are 30 minute guided tours at set times. We did not have enough time to look around all of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. I suggest the tour for those who do not what to plan everything themselves. Next time I will go without a tour, but I am glad I went on the tour and recommend it. Our bus was late but we got free drinks on board. Tour guide was knowledgeable. Be sure to show up on time or you will be left behind!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved this your! Our guide Marcus was great. We first stopped at Linderhof which was about 1h 40 minutes from Munich. It was beautiful and we got a short guided tour. After that we drove to Oberammergau which is a great village- one of my favourite in Germany. Next up was Neuschwanstein which is my favourite place I have ever travelled too. It was a great trip, but my only reason for not rating it 5 stars is that we felt really rushed to fit this all in to one day. I would have loved to have lunch in Oberammergau and take time to enjoy it rather then a pit stop for coffee and comfort break.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Nice tour of both castles, the time at each castle is a bit rushed especially Linderhof and it is pity that an extra stop is made at a small town mainly to shop - would have preferred the extra time at the castles instead.

A tour to Neuschwastein is a must - it is a hard location to get to by yourself. This was the highlight of our tour and we would do the tour again just for the convenience of having the transportation and tickets co-ordinated for you!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Linderhof is a small castle but nice to see. For older people Neuschwanstein Castle will be a difficult climb, even if you take the shuttle bus up to the castle, it is a long, steep, uphill climb--so be prepared!! I didn't get to go into the castle because I could not find the tour guide to get my ticket, she showed us a restaurant to eat at and left to buy the tickets. However, I could not find her in the crowd to obtain the entrance ticket to the Neushwanstein Castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Full day tour from Munich. Neuschwanstein the highlight with a nice stop for lunch, brief stop in Obergammmerau, and Linderhof castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The guide was professional and knowledgeable and approachable. However, I felt that slightly more time could have been given to us in the village of Linderhof as we didn't really have an opportunity to explore the village.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic. Well organised, nice guide, beautiful weather. Could not be better. I particular recommend Linderhof castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof! Everyone was polite and helpful, the bus was very nice indeed! A relaxing day tour....and we normally do not go for the organized tours. Recommended!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, great tour guide, very comfortable bus. Well worth the money, if you want to see Linderhof and Neuschwanstein this is the way to do it,

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour. Well worth it. Tour guide gave out very interesting facts and info. 8hrs tour. Back in the city by 630pm. Linderhof castle is small but really amazing.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message