Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 339 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Imprescindible si visitas Munich, primero llegamos a Linderhof, luego hacemos una parada en una ciudad intermedia muy "cute", y proseguimos a Neuschwanstein. Teniamos dudas con respecto a entrar o no entrar a los castillos (el costo es aparte, no esta incluido en el tour, 22 euros por persona entre ambos) finalmente decidimos hacerlo y sin duda valió la pena. EXCELENTE TOUR, nuestra guia Elizabeth fabulosa, nos explicó cada detalle y nos atendió de maravilla. Realmente te sientes en un "cuento de hadas".

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is WELL WORTH the few extra dollars (or Euro) for an intimate, smaller-group tour. Francesca was amazing, knew her subject matter quite well (and then some), and allowed for quiet time on the trip back to Munich. She arranged for a private shuttle at Neuschwanstein to arrive at Mary's Bridge quicker and with fewer hills to hike up! She gave each tourist a "goodie bag" and drinks and even took pictures of us with our cameras so that both/all can be in the photo. She was a fantastic guide, and our driver was quite capable as well.
The day was planned out perfectly, and the order that we did everything in was the best way to avoid the crowds. The extra side-trip to Oberammergau was a nice time for shopping and getting gelato, or more traditional Bavarian treats! The guide at Linderhof was especially good - the overall impression I get is that they take great pride in the history and artwork in these gorgeous castles, and convey that message accordingly.
I would recommend this tour to everyone and even take it again myself.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Maria was our very sweet and informative tour guide who offered an abundance of information during our trip to Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. The drive out to the castles was one of the loveliest we experienced on our two week trip. Maria recommended a charming restaurant in town and let us know that credit cards were accepted there, which we appreciated since our former tour guide failed to mention this. Linderhof was dazzling and Neuschwanstein was equally amazing but had a different type of style. This tour allowed enough time to eat, tour the castle, and do a little shopping. Definitely one of our favorite tours!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The bus was comfortable (although I thought they had advertised that there was a toilet on the bus, but there was none). Our guide, Monica, was very knowledgeable of the area and attractions on the tour. Linderhof Palace gardens were beautiful and the interior was amazing - wished we'd had a little more time in Oberammergau. The exterior of Neuschwanstein Castle is spectacular, if not magical - opted not to do the interior castle tour due to the physical requirements to just get to the castle. Took the bus up the mountain, then a very strenuous 10-15 minute walk to the Marienbridge and a nearly 30 minute walk, steeply downhill and then uphill, to get to the castle gate. Took the horse and cart back down to Schwangau versus a 30 minute steep walk downhill! I do think Viator should include the physical requirements to visit the castle in their advertisement of the tour (there are signs at the bus stop "warning" tourists of the exertion required to visit the castle). On the whole, the tour was well organized and we enjoyed it very much!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The Castles are spectacular and are definitely worth the trip. The only reason I gave this tour 4 stars and not 5 is that timing was really bad: we didn't have enough time in Linderhof - only 1 hour, which didn't allow us to see much besides palace itself, while there are lots of other interesting things there. In Neuschwanstein the timing was all wrong: we had too much time before the tour in the castle, and only 30 minutes to get back to our bus. The guide told us it would take only 20 min to go down from the castle, but later I read in the guide book it should take at least 40 min! And indeed my 80-year old parents and I had to run down the hill to get in time to the bus, as the guide warned us she would leave without waiting for anyone. We happened to be on time, but we were out of breath, and the people who came after us were also red in face and sweating profusely. That definitely spoiled the pleasure of seeing Neuschwanstein castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed the tour of the castles. It was an entire day, but a comfortable bus ride with a very knowledgeable guide who was there to tell us about scenery and what we were seeing. The bus was easy to find in the morning, right across from the main train station in Munich. We stopped in some great little towns, they gave us time to do sightseeing and purchase souvenirs, and there was plenty of time on your own to get up to the Neuschwanstein Castle and also tour the Linderhof Palace. We really enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very excellent tour. The guide was professional and helpful. The small palace of Linderhof definitely worth visiting.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip! Although the weather wasn't particularly cooperative, we had a great time visiting Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. It was easy to find the meeting point in the morning, our guide took care of all the logistics, and both buildings were awesome. Be sure to walk out onto the Marienbrücke to get the amazing views of Nueschwanstein! Also, I highly recommend using the bus option to get up the hill and then walking back down - worked out great for us!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A fairy tale experience. Our guide was informative and we loved the fact that we had time to spend on our own. The view from Mary's Bridge is brilliant and the tours of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof were excellent. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This trip was very good, our guide was great. She knew all the history and answered questions. I must say the Linderhof Castle was much nicer and easier to tour, and the Neuschwanstein castle was a bit dark and lots of stairs. Be prepared to walk on this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

NEED to delete the village/woodcarving tour and ADD MORE TIME TO THE CASTLES!!!! Especially, Linderhof - the grounds!!!! Make the village/woodcarving a SEPERATE TOUR!!!! Otherwise, OUTSTANDING!!!!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent one day trip to see the Bavarian Alps, Linderhof Castle, Oberammergau and tour Neuschwanstein Castle!! We packed a lot of activity into one day and enjoyed everything. Our guide was excellent and informative. It is very difficult to try to replicate this tour on your own with a car or public transportation. It is well worth the money and day to enjoy this beautiful part of Germany!!! My only disappoint was the lack of time in Oberammergau! Our stop was too short to even walk down the street. An additional half hour added to this stop would increase the value to allow for viewing the town and grabbing a coffee or a quick shopping stop. Also, the lunch in Neuschwanstein recommended was excellent and quick, necessary fuel for hiking to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Superb day. Well worth the money. Elisabeth was a wonderful guide and provided much local and historical insight. Janet did a great job getting us around some tight places. Note, this tour does require a lot of walking if you really want to enjoy the full experience. Linderhof and Oberammergau are both added bonuses

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great and the guide had all the knowledge. The castles are worth visiting, especially the Linderhof. The tour gives you the opportunity to do shopping for the soveniers and enough time to visit the castles on a guided tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved the tour! The guide kept excusing himself for Linderhof not being a big enough castle, but we actually loved it more than Neuschwanstein. Linderhof is small but extremely charming and beautiful, Neuschwanstein is big and impressive, but much more impersonal.
The walk up to the Neuschwanstein (which we eventually chose over the carriage or the bus, due to the long waiting lines) was easier than expected, despite me not being fit at all. The estimate was around 40 minutes, I walked it in about 25 (it was tiring, but nevertheless). It's about 1km of walking, and it's not really steep. The views up there alone are worth the trip.
Don't miss out on going to the Marienbridge as well (there's some extra walking after you reach the castle), the view of the castle is beautiful.
A downside to the castle is that, despite having audio guides, the whole group you enter with has to wait for the audio guide section to finish in order to pass to the next room. We tend to visit places at a faster pace, so the long waiting in every room was excruciating.
We liked the guide, but we disliked that he hinted (not subtly at all even) that we should tip him. I don't mind tipping, but not when it's being suggested to me.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message