Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 441 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip is fully loaded and is totally worth it and with this I mean it starts really early and ends late too.. But the good thing is that you would see so many things. The guided tours inside the Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles were pretty awesome. Our guide, Nancy likewise fed us with some very interesting information on our way to the castles. Overall, I think this trip is highly recommended!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

iswanto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

First of all, the booking choice and process of 4 consecutive day-trips via Viator was easy and convenient. Having read the previous reviews, all the guides seemed to have a very good knowledge of the history and professional in conducting the tour, so was ours. Markus guide and Markus coach driver were 5 stars in taking and guiding us to 3 different locations, Oberammergau, Neuschwantein and Linderhof, timing was just perfect.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Maria F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was incredible and the sites were amazing! I don't know how we would have got to Linderhof had it not been on this tour. We went in the winter and everything was beautiful as it had just snowed a few days before. You spend a minimal amount of time at Linderhof and then make your way to Neuschwanstein. Because it was winter there were only a bistro cafe and the restaurant up the castle hill to eat at, but in the summer our tour guide says more places are opened. The bridge for the viewing point was just down for maintenance but the castle was still amazing. I would 100 recommend this tour and would do it again myself. Do note that the price of the castle to get inside is not included.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Chris M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a great tour that I would recommend for those who have never explored the 3 locations that you visit: Linderhof palace, Oberammergau town location of the Passion Play, and of course Neuschwanstein, the dream-medieveal castle built by King Ludwig II that inspired the Disney castle. Linderhof palace is a beautiful retreat home built by Ludwig II set back into the mountains on extensive garden grounds near Oberammergau. Linderhof is done in the style of Versailles and is truly visually magnificient and over the top!. I would recommend taking the long walk up to the castle Neuschwanstein, as the walk is full of sights both up to the castle and down across the valley that it overlooks. Taking the horse buggy or bus does not save you from having to walk, so you might as well enjoy it! Unfortunately, like many multi-site tours, it felt like not much time was given to each location. One only has about an hour for Linderhof and Oberammergau each, with the rest of the trip being dedicated to Neuschwanstein and getting to and from locations. While this is ok for a first-time visit to these locations, anyone looking to really dig deep into each one should set out and explore on their own.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Phyllis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had a lovely time on this tour, our tour guide Gerda was brilliant and the whole experience from start to finish was carried out with care and professionalism. Loved the journey through Bavarian countryside and was absolutely blown away by Neuschwanstein castle and the breath-taking scenery also the awesome Linderhof palace which was simply stunning. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Mikkel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Trip was wonderful! Gerta was fantastic. I loved her stories and facts about Munich as we drove through to the countryside to reach the castles. She has a wealth of knowledge!

The tour went to a smaller castle in the morning Linderhof then a really cute Bavarian town where we had a quick 45 minutes to explore then the main attraction, Neuschwanstein. We went during the winter - so Linderhof had a lot less to see on its exterior as all the fountains and such were boarded up to resist frost and the landscape was sparse. But still one of the most beautiful interiors to experience and I've seen a lot of castles in my day!.

I would recommend bringing snacks and maybe even a sandwich for lunch. Though there is certainly time to grab a bite here or there time is limited and I much preferred walking around then spending time in line for a pastry. If you have dietary restrictions definitely bring something as most of the quick options in the town around Neuschwanstein was meat bread of some sort.

Just an FYI - there are a TON of photo opps on the grounds and exteriors but you're not allowed to take photos inside either castle.

Also, the additional price for admission for the castle tours was 23 Euro and I opted for a 6 Euro horse carriage ride up to Neuschwanstein, which was worth it! About 10 people can go per carriage ride so they just fill it up with whoever's in line to go up there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Cynthia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although it was a drizzly day, our trip was on time and the guide's cheerful attitude made the whole day worthwhile. This tour visits 3 sites - Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein.
The stop at Oberammergau was a quick on-off -run-shop stop...but it was interesting to hear about the Passion Play and the region.
The tours at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein were very interesting. Just a note that the entrance fees are NOT included in the Viator reservation - I think it was an additional 23 euros.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jonna.vainio

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

All in all, the day tour was great! We would not have been able to do this on our own. The audio guided tour group in Neuschwanstein was way too big so we found the experience somewhat lacking as we didn't get to see everything because of the crowds in relatively small and dark places. Also the audio guide didn't always work so we missed some of the commentary. Linderhof was a much better experience with a very lively local guide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyable trip to visit the castles at Neuschwanstein and Linderhof with a stop at Oberammergau. Our tour guide was outstanding and we enjoyed all three stops. The castles are amazing, and the highlight of our time in Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We went on this trip in October - we were lucky to have a sunny day and all the trees were showing their autumn colours - our first stop was at Linderhof Castle - in comparison this was fairly small - I think it was his summer castle - we only saw this quickly and it was in a very pretty setting. Then off through a little town where we stopped and could have a coffee and a wander around - where we saw some gorgeous german painted houses and a shop full of cuckoo clocks. Then off on our way to Neuschwanstein castle which was HUGE and MAGNIFICENT. We went on a tour though the castle and opulence was mind blowing. We found out a fair bit about King Ludwig II and were sad to hear that he only lived in his castle for 172 days before dying suspiciously after being declared mentally insane. It was beautiful, informative and very interesting.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lisa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A must to see! Our group kicked off and headed to Linderhof Castle for a scenic tour of this smaller castle, then to Oberammergau for time to touring and end at Neuschwanstein. Francesca was fabulous with suggestions to see or do at locations and full of information! We had a GORGEOUS day of weather and so the views were spectacular from the castles. The only drawback was Marien's Bridge Marienbrucke closed for repairs. Still the views are wonderful and well worth the time to visit!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Ma Belen T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I enjoyed the tour of Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles. It was just unfortunate that this time of the year did not really allow us to see the splendor and colors of the so-called sleeping beauty model castle. I should return summer or spring.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Craig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a fantastic tour. The tour guide was great, the bus exceeded our expectations. Large bus, yet only a few seats, maybe 20. We had ten on our tour. Linderhof was the gem of the tour, only complaint was we would have liked more time there, but time is limited since you see Neuschwanstein, Oberamergau and Linderhof. I highly recommend this tour. We did three Viator tours, and gave a 5 star review, a 4 star review and a 1 star review.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Airin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Love the whole experience !! Love Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein and Linderhof.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

EDWARD WEE YANG L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich was a tour not to be forgotten. Enjoyed the day and the tour so much that the memories will always remain with me. The weather was perfect and our tour guide, Arnoud was great. The only sad thing was the bridge was closed for renovation for the whole of 2015 which was unavoidable.

Still a tour to be recommended highly for all those who are visiting Munich or Germany.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The small tour bus was the most luxurious bus we have ever been on. 25 large swivel chairs made the 12 hour trip very enjoyable and comfortable

The tour director and bus driver were very knowledgeable of the area of Germany we traveled through.
Neuschwanstein and Schwangau castles is in a beautiful area of the Alps The history behind the castles are very interesting. We had plenty of time to explore the area. The tour guide had tickets for our tour of the Neauschwanstein castle at an appointed time.

There was a nice stop at Oberammergau for lunch, snack or shopping. It is a cute little village in The Alps.
The final stop was at Linderhoff Palace. The palace tour is beautiful from the interior rooms to the exterior statues and fountains.

On the ride back we were treated to wine and beer to enjoy while we drove back to Munich.
If I have the chance to take a small group tour again I will The additional cost is definitely worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Lynn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The premium small group tour was wonderful. We were comfortably seated in a bus with one captains chair on each side for great views and leg room. We received snacks and drinks for the ride. Our guide Ursula ? was so knowledgable, pleasant wand made the trip go quickly. The castle was fogged in until we got up close but was still beautiful. We truly enjoyed the beauty of the area with fall leaves to frame the castle. We took the shuttle up the hill to walk down from the bridge closed unfortunately so we did not need to climb up to the castle. A short trip to picturesque Oberommergau to enjoy the scenery painted buildings. A tour through Linderhof castle was also enjoyable and only wished for more time. Couldn't have been a better day.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Gemma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. I have been a big fan of castles since I was a little girl and Neuschwanstein and Linderhof did not disappoint. I enjoyed the interiors of Linderhof the most and exploring the grounds of Neuschwanstein. Unfortunately the bridge at Neuschwanstein was closed for renovations so it was hard to get those breath-taking pictures of the castle but if you go off track a little there are some perfect viewing points. Marcus our tour guide was very good, he provided lots of information about each stop along the tour and made the bus journey very relaxing. We had a great day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Hossam H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This is a wonderful trip to drive to the country side of Munich and visit the royal castles. Both castles are worth to visit and are astonishing. The Tour guide, Marcus, did not provide much information about the visited locations. His voice was most of the time low and the sound system at the bus was not very supportive as we were sitting in the last row. Onsite time was not enough at Linderhof Castle. We had around 45 minutes while it requires around 2 hours to see the whole place.
Marcus got us the tickets for both castles and that was very supportive. Upon arrival at Neuschwanstein Castle, I felt Marcus lost his temper and did not respond professionally to my question to confirm some details about departure time. I do not recommend Marcus for future tours.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Shanna D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very nice area. The only thing I wish they would have given us a bit longer to explore around Neuschwanstein. Linderhof was nice to see and experience but with the walking at Neuschwanstein and the village, it would have been nice to have a bit more time there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Gary

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Tour was well controlled and even with rain in the morning, the views were great. Too little time at Linderhof - - - felt rushed to get back to the bus on time for departure, even though we didn't delay after the castle tour. Will probably skip Linderhof next time, for this reason.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

sue

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A long day but very worthwhile. Linderhof was a real bonus. The bus trip was good but not well managed at the start...we arrived 15 mins early for our tour so were put on the bus for the earlier timed tour which meant the bus was already quite full and our group of 4 were separated on the bus.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Drew

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We really enjoyed the small group tour. The bus was very comfortable. Linderhof was a little disappointing because they have winterized and covered the gardens. Neuschwanstein is not to be missed (but the Marienbidge is closed for repairs),
A great day in Bavaria!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Michael H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

While we did enjoy the tour and our guide on the bus was great, but the tour is a bit pricey for what it offers. The guide you pay for is on bus only and Linderhof and Neuschwanstein have their own guides included with the ticket price which is also not included with the tour. Which leads me to the second minus which is the tour guide collects money from everyone to buy discounted tickets, however those savings are not put back in your pocket but kept by the tour guide. Basically you are paying for a ride and a little history lesson.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Maurice F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great day visiting the Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles, and we had a very informative and experienced tour guide named Sofie and bus driver named Sam. Sofie shared many interesting facts along the way and provided good advice and directions. We had a great experience! The stop in the town of Oberammergau was also nice with souvenir shops and decorated homes.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message